214355 User submitted reviews online!!
Paul Bunyan Campground was rated 7 out of 10 based on 17 user reviews. Phone: (207) 941-1177
CGID5950

Paul Bunyan Campground

Camp Information
Sites
52
Date of Stay
August 2012
Latest Rate
$32



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   1   5   10   6   7   10   1   7   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  no  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  no  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$32
This is the second year we've stayed here on our way to and from New Brunswick. The management here is very friendly and the all the facilities are very well kept. I see some very trivial complaints in the reviews and wonder why the negative comments. It's supposed to be a campground not the Hilton. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2011
$34
Well, where do I start. We have stayed at the campground over the past few years, giving positive reviews. I don't know what happened this year (maybe a new owner?) but it has gone DOWN HILL. Partying until 3-4am, people DRUNK in the campground walking around and disturbing others, the owner complaining about people yet choosing to do nothing about it. The owners were extremely unprofessional and rude. We will never stay here again, nor will we recommend this pitiful campground to anyone again. We are so disappointed in the ignorance of the owners (maybe new ones). We have also noticed that many of the people who use to frequent this campground have left and gone with the other campground up the road in Bangor. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2011
$34
Rate is with Good Sam discount. I would not describe this park as Big Rig Friendly as our "pull-thru" site required disconnecting the toad before making sharp turns on a grassy "road", dodging a surface rock, before entering our site. Even with his CDL experience, my driver found it necessary to back-up before pulling into this narrow site. This park was okay, but the necessary unhooking diminished its close to the interstate advantage. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2010
$30
Another great year at Paul Bunyan CG. The Wi-Fi worked great, and available throughout the campground. The staff are wonderful. The campground is kept very clean. My kids love the pool and all the friendly Canadians that also equally love this campground. I HIGHLY recommend this campground - and believe me I rarely give such a glowing recommendation. We always will be returning next year. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2010
$29
Wi-Fi was available in the campground, but we were down in a hole from the office and we could not pick it up. Sites were on grass with trees/bushes between. Fire rings were around and people were using them and it was a little smoky. Why do people have to have fires especially when no one is around them? For an overnight stop this was OK, but not that great. Good thing it was not raining. The roads were dirt and looked like they could get muddy quick. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2009
$26
This campground is conveniently located off I-95 on Union Street. There are 52 shaded and sunny sites with some pull through’s 30 & 50 amp service, water, electric, sewer, dump station, restroom, showers, children s play area, rec hall, large pool, camp store, lending library. Good for touring the Maine “Down East” areas and Bangor itself. Campfires are allowed. This campground is convenient to everything in Bangor – it is a small campground with some seasonal sites. Nice playground and pool for children and easy and friendly check-in. We passed Stephen King’s house with his black gates and birds on top – interesting. Went to the new super Walmart in Bangor for food shopping and also went downtown Bangor to the park where the huge Paul Bunyan Statue is. We have seen this statue over the years and both of us believe that they must have painted it again within the past year. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2009
$27
We were very happy with this campground. The pool was great, the owners were great, the other campers were nice. The campground was quiet - yet it was a family campground that we and our three children LOVED. The only drawback is the air planes that fly over, the last one flew over around 9:30pm or so and then you do not hear any til the morning - around 6:30am. The lots were spacious, and fire rings at each site. The hayride is a nice event for the younger kids. We will definitely stay here again and again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2009
$31
Beware of this campground. Sites are not level and as another reviewer wrote they are grass and very muddy when it rains. When we pulled out of our site, my rig looked like I had been off road in it! We were given the wrong direction to pull into our pull thru site. The campground is old and in need of repair. A couple from Florida had to back their rig to a point where they could turn around and leave as the site they reserved had somebody else in it. NOT a campground for Big Rigs. Our motorhome is 37' and I would not want to be any longer and still get around in it. And there is NO WI-FI not to mention the low flying Jets landing at the airport just make this campground a DO NOT STAY HERE. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2008
$35
We chose this campground because of listed Wi-Fi availability. As is so often the case it was not working. Otherwise this is a decent campground with large open spaces. Sites are big enough with enough space between. Nearby airport gets quiet early enough in the evening. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2008
$18
We were glad this campground remained open in late October as we headed south out of Canada. Sites are grassy and got really muddy in the rain, but the 30-amp utility worked fine (50 amp costs extra to unlock), and we were able to get Dish satellite from the open site that we selected away from the trees. The wifi did not work at all, even next to the office. The property is pleasant enough, with a big grassy field that they have a music festival on during Labor Day, a pond, and lots of trees. It’s close to the airport so when the wind is blowing in a certain direction the airport noise got fairly loud. It’s also convenient to Bangor attractions and shopping. Best of all they accepted our Passport America for two nights, which brought the cost way down. Several old rigs scattered around diminished the atmosphere, but not badly. I would definitely stay here again at the Passport America rate. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2008
$28
The campground is somewhat old, but we were treated well each visit and the price is reasonable. Amenities were about average, the pool was clean but cool (outdoor pool) Wi-fi didn't work on our site. The kids loved the wagon ride. There is some aircraft noise as the campground is near the airport. It is convenient located for shopping in Bangor or a stopover on a trip south. We'll be back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2008
$28
Very nice clean campground, easy access from the I-95. Wagon rides for the kids, nice clean pool We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2007
$27
This place is a fine home base if you need to get business done in Bangor, or use it to see Acadia when the park is booked. Other than weak water pressure, we saw no problem whatsoever with this park. Yes, the pull through sites are somewhat tight, but not as bad as some KOAs we've been to. Sites are wooded, but we were still able to get a satellite signal. Grounds are clean, laundry facilities work great, staff is super friendly, and the scenery is really pretty. Sure it's not the beach Maine scenery, but it's a lovely park-like setting. We liked it a lot. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2007
$26
Stayed 1 night going home had no problems like last post staff helpful, very clean, near airport but not much noise, easy in easy out. Nice campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2007
$26
This is a nice park but has several drawbacks. The people are friendly and do a good job of maintaining the grounds. We stayed in a full hook-up site. 30 amp service kept shutting down (With only coffee maker and electric hot water on.) The big problem was that when the circuit breaker kicked off I had to go to the office and have the maintenance man reset it in the office building. Water pressure never got above 30 PSI. The roads are gravel and in bad shape. The biggest problem was living with "The sound of freedom" That is how Bangor chooses to refer to the jet noise from the Navel Air Base. The jets came thundering over at all times of the day and night. They are so loud and so close that our rig shook violently. I am really sorry to report the negatives of this park. But you should know and be prepared. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2006
$30
This is a large campground with pleasant grassy sites. Adjacent woods with trails for walking dogs. Our site was soft after recent rains, and we almost couldn't get out of it. We left deep ruts. The sewer connection was about 10' behind the motor home, so we ended up using the dump station on the way out. We would stay there again, but we would inspect the site before accepting it in wet weather. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2005
$28
This is a smaller campground. It's located about 10 minute away from I-95. On the down side it is near the Bangor Airport so you will here planes coming and going. It's not too loud but you hear it. Other than that it's a nice place. We've camped there several times and will probably go back again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com