223354 User submitted reviews online!!
Denver East / Strasburg KOA was rated 6 out of 10 based on 34 user reviews. Phone: (303) 622-9274
CGID596

Denver East / Strasburg KOA

Camp Information
Sites
68
Date of Stay
October 2014
Latest Rate
$41



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   7   8   6   6   9   3   7   10   1   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2014
$41
Somewhat typical KOA-- gravel and narrow interior roads and gravel sites. Very friendly staff. Sites are very close together. One thing to know us this campground is a long way from Denver. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2014
$36
Nice little campground with a great staff. Had planned on stopping at another campground, but that did not work out, so called KOA and they had One spot available with 30 amp,water, but no sewer which was fine as we had dumped that morning. It appeared to have a lot of long term residents. Easy in and easy out. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2014
$39
A welcome port since the campground in Denver where we had reservations did not bother to answer their phone or even clear their messages. We hoped to be able to arrive a day early there. Since the office was closed, we decided to keep driving. This KOA was very pleasant and we were able to get a water and electric spot on a holiday weekend. Sites are tight, as most of the campgrounds are in the Lower 48. After spending three months in the north country in provincial parks and some really spectacular private parks, I admit we have been spoiled. The dog run is large with lots of toys for the furry kids and I might add lots of welcome shade. They serve breakfast for holiday weekends. Staff is very nice. Sites are level and in all the park is very clean. Interstate noise can be a problem. We stayed two nights. We would definitely stay here again if traveling this way again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2013
$39
We made plans at the last minute and this was the only decent-rated park "near" Denver. It is OK. But there is a lot of noise -- freeway traffic, trains, planes. We've stayed near the highway before. But for some reason this place was much louder. Staff was friendly. The roads are a bit tight, but manageable. I wouldn't stay here again unless we couldn't find something in the metro area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2013
$31
We are a full-time RV family with two kids (13 and 12) and two small dogs. We look for family friendly campgrounds but also quiet ones too! We stayed at this campground for one week, so this rate is based on a 7 day stay. Pro's: Dog park is very nice and large for your pooch. Wi-Fi is good and Verizon works well here! Cable worked well and received decent channels. Con's: Campground is a bit small and the roads are a bit tight to move through. "Long Term Residents" have a lot of "clutter" all over their sites. Pool was not clean and very over-crowded as the pool is extremely small. Sites close and not much room between them, as some were so close your awning could not even open. Work campers not very friendly but more overbearing in nature when asking questions. Restrooms were clean some of the time. A lot of local "workers" there had BIG work trucks that took up room when moving through the park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$39
The staff took genuine pride in the facility, and it looked like they had a very complete KOA. They sold fresh cooked pizza and various types of ice cream in the store. Many camping cabins had a large concreted back area with a patio table and chairs which we have not seen at other campsites. My only complaint was the proximity to the highway which is understandable considering the late hour that we called and that we got one of the last campsites. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
April 2012
$30
Okay for an overnight. Sites were very close together and owner stated that park was nearly full of semi-permanent/pipeline workers (whose sites were cluttered and unkempt). Would stay again but only as an overnight. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2012
$32
Nice campground. Friendly staff. However, like most KOA's they are high priced for just wanting a place to spend one night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2011
$35
Management at this campground are probably the friendliest and most helpful I've ever encountered. To say, "they went the extra mile" would be a gross understatement. My wife and I were there for only about 10 days but enjoyed every minute of it, due largely to the helpful staff. Well done! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2011
$42
Only gave them 1/10 because there is no 0/10. Keep driving. This park is located between train tracks and the interstate. It's also next to a refinery. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
May 2011
$32
Such nice people to be COMPLETELY CURSED by what must be the worst location in America. WOW, the noise is deafening: from the highway and from the train tracks. Nothing like a train horn from 100 yards away at 5:00 A.M. to jolt you right out of your skin. Staying here is TORTURE. It's a shame because the people are nice and the facilities are nice. If only sleep wasn't part of what we needed to enjoy our stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2010
$38
We've stayed at this park several times because of relatives in the area. Being located so close to the interstate: it is very, very noisy. Due to the lack of rain in the area, the grounds are dry and grass is brown. Owners are nice, and the pizza and ice cream are very good. I think its a bit overpriced, but its the only game in town. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2010
$43
Without a doubt, this was by far the noisest campground we have ever experienced (and we have been in a bunch). I-70 is very close, and you get the bonus of the train tracks even closer by. Fortunately the trains were not that frequent, but this morning we got a nice whistle at 6 am. Otherwise, this is a very typical KOA: overpriced with too many sites packed into the property. Our neighbor on the patio side was 12' away and our slides were probably 8' apart. There was not enough room to extend our patio awning. Our site was not that level and we ran out of jack on the front while trying to level. Some trees need trimming. There are several long term residents and lots and lots of vehicles scattered around. On the positive side, the adjacent BBQ joint was quite good, the onion rings were amazing. The primary atrtributes of this KOA are their close proximity to Denver, and the adjacent BBQ joint. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2010
$35
This park is located between the railroad track and the interstate, and the sites are placed quite close together. The staff was all very friendly and helpful, but the price is really out of line for the other parks we have stayed at along I-70. I guess the premium is because Denver is near, but Cherry Creek State Park in Denver is a much better RV park if you want to be close to Denver, and another campground even has wireless internet. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2010
$30
The new owners are doing a great job and want their campers to be happy: they are working so hard! The sites are level and ours was plenty long for our 40 ft motorhome, although it was a bit narrow. This is easy on & off Rt 70 so it is convenient for an overnight stay. They make pizza right inside the main building and it looked great! The campground is right by the train tracks so you could hear them when they passed through, but it was fun to watch. There is a great little BBQ place right next door so you don't have to leave the campground if you are just there for an overnight. It's about 30 miles to Denver which was convenient. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2009
$32
I am a loyal KOA camper. I saw the reviews on this one after we stayed there and was saddened by what I read. We stopped here on our travel going west. This is an interstate campground! How can you complain about the noise, when the campground was built for easy access on/off the interstate? Of course you will hear the traffic. I was happy to hop off I-70, pull into an easy to set up campsite, then unplug and leave in the morning. (After having a mocha from their coffee bar.) The owners and all of their staff were caring, happy, wonderful people. In fact, they were so friendly we stayed and visited with them for almost an hour. We ate at the BBQ, walking distance from the campground, even the locals love "the new KOA owners". The bathrooms were very clean along with the laundry room. It cost $2 to wash, but they were brand new front load washers that held more clothes than a top load and used half the soap! The dryers worked great. Again, after reading the other reviews, I want campers to know that this campground is perfect for what it is meant for: an overnight, interstate campground. Give this campground a chance. The owners and staff are great! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
November 2009
$30
First of all, let me say that all the staff here were very friendly and helpful. It was a surprise as I was not expecting much after reading some of the other reviews. I found the restrooms and laundry area to be older but clean. How come those shower curtains are never wide enough? I thought the laundry was a little expensive at $2.00 per load. The dryers worked extremely well though. I took some points off for the size of the sites. Our picnic table was over the sewer of our neighbors. Boy, KOA’s love to pack them in, don’t they? Planes, Trains, and Automobiles this place has them all! If you like the sound of crickets, this is not the place however, it does make for an easy trip into Denver and that is what we were after. They have a great playground that my daughter loved. Wi-Fi was usable. They also have a Hunts Brothers Pizza on site. Not the best pizza and wings I’ve ever had but after a long day driving and not wanting to cook it was passable. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2009
$60
We had a great stay! The staff and owners were awesome. The campground itself is nice and has a lot to offer for families and couples: hot tub, game room, etc. We did hear the train at times, but some noise should be expected, this is an interstate campground which is here for our convenience while on the road. I witnessed the owners being very generous with campers who had concerns. The point: Denver East KOA is a great park and so are the owners! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2009
$63
My comments stem from a policy which is very unfair to a person or family on the road. We booked a cabin at Strasburg, CO at a library on the road. We could not make it to the campground that day so I had cancel the reservation. The reservation was made and canceled within hours. When I got home I found out I was charged the total cabin fee even though I called to cancel. I called Strasburg and had an unpleasant conversation with a clerk & told the manager was out & they would call me back. They did not. I called again the next day & had an equally unpleasant conversation with the owner. To me it seems all they were interested in was the money. They could have refunded a portion of the money but held fast to the "7 day cancellation policy", which did not even apply in my case. If this is the national KOA policy travelers beware! As far as staying at Strasburg campground' I would not do it if you are on the move on the road. If for some reason you can't get to the campground they are going to charge you the whole rate. Most unfriendly people too. We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
May 2009
$38
KOA gives out an annual award to the best KOAs, called the President's Award. I would nominate this campground for the Janitor's Award, but I don't want to insult the janitor. We made our reservations far in advance but, when we arrived here, they told us we might have trouble getting into our site because of overhanging limbs. When we got to the site, we were able to dodge the limbs but that wasn't the only thing we had to dodge. This campgroud is so tight, and so jam packed, we were dodging other vehicles along the roadway and, we we got to our site, we had to dodge literally a year's supply of dog crap (a big dog). Then we went to hook up the sewer hose and notice that the sewer connection was at least 40 feet back of our motorhome. We then turned on the water and it was chocolate brown. (We remembered another camper saying the sewer was "bubbling over" at this place and that got our thoughts going.) Then, as we were finally getting settled in, we noted airplanes coming right over the top of our motorhome. Seems we were in the glide path for a local airport. We thought we had seen the worst, but we were wrong. That night we were treated to a symphony--a symphony of truck noises from the interstate on one side of the campground, and a railroad track with frequent trains on the other side of the campground. If you have a choice between camping in the middle of a collapsed septic tank and this campground, pick the septic tank. You will like it better. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2009
$35
This campground is conveniently located off I-70 east of Denver. The staff is helpful and courteous. The sites are level, CATV and WiFi all work. On the north border, about 50 yards from the campground, is an active railroad track. A train rolled through at 9:45 PM and 2:30 AM. The train's vibrations did rattle the windows in our unit. Unfortunately, there isn't much to choose from to camp overnight in this area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2009
$32
Pulled in after a day's drive through Kansas with severe windstorms in West Kansas. Staff very helpful and nice. A snowstorm was due so we stayed for four days. Everything worked well at our site. I don't know why some campers fuss about trains. It's not like it runs through the town hourly. There was 1-2 trains around 8-9AM and a couple in the evening. The whistle blows about three times and if you have the radio or TV on that's about all you hear. Very easy in and out. They are making improvements in this KOA all the time (stayed here one night in 03/08 also). Most KOA's are tight and cramped. This KOA handles our truck and 5th wheel easily (about 65'). Would stay here anytime. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
March 2009
$29
I must admit that my overall experience at the Strasburg KOA was not a very good one. The campground is a charming place with lots of trees on the otherwise bare plains of Colorado. It is located about 30 minutes east of Denver, but there are very few campgrounds to be had. The campground was clean, and had lots of room to move around. The staff was friendly and courteous. Now for the bad news. We pulled in and got hooked up to our site with no problems. About ten minutes later, the water started to boil out of the sewer hook-up. I'm not really sure what happened, all I know is that I had not even opened any of my valves yet. They offered to move us to a different spot, but we had plans and no time to move. The other drawback of this campground is the TRAINS. There were trains running a stone's throw from our campsite. We will only camp here again as a last resort. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2008
$36
The hosts were very nice people. I little noise from I70 but would one expect that. They made me a great mocha the morning we left. The town of Strasburg, is small, but they have a great Mexican restaurant. We would stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2008
$37
The office was closed when we pulled in at 3:30, but our reservation was waiting for us on the board outside the office with a map to our site. We had a long gravel site that was easy to get in and out of. There are trees in the park, but I asked for a space that we could get satellite TV off the roof and we had no problem in the space we were assigned. The park has WiFi, but my Verizon air card worked so well, I didn't use it. The only downside to this park are the trains that run right behind the park. There is a crossing near the park, so the trains all blew their horns right behind the park. The upside is that we didn't hear any trains from around 11 at night until the next morning. And although we are not light sleepers, they are loud enough that we would have heard them if they had come by! In spite of the train noise, we would probably stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2008
$29
A bit far from Denver, but the closest on the east side of town. Seems most of the parks are located north of Denver, but since we wanted to be through the city when we left and not have to deal with traffic this was a good location for us. The staff was very friendly, sites were clean and level. The park had a nice charm, we would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$36
Long, level sites. Good cable and Wi-Fi. Some sites could have satellite. Park is close to interstate and railroad, both of which are quite noisy. Regardless of the name (Denver East KOA) this park is NOT very close to downtown Denver (At least 35 miles). We would stay here again for an overnight stop. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2008
$35
Nice Park, very easy to get (just off the interstate). Excellent managers, very friendly. Small store on the grounds with good selection. Site was very nice. WiFi was great & lots of TV channels. Ours is a tall rig so we were careful to check tree branch height. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
January 2007
$37
Wasn't there very long, arrived at 3:30am, and departed about 11am. Just needed a place to get off the road, charge my batteries, and take care of my tanks (dump and fill). Got it done, and out the door. Everybody did seem nice enough. If there after hours, pull to side of building (nite checkin) and see if there are any sheets in the slots. If there are, then there is space available. If you don't see anything, and no reservation, then your out of luck. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2006
$29
The restrooms and laundry room were spotless. They looked like a barracks awaiting inspection. This was a full park mid-week, we had one of the last two non-reserved sites. Only two things kept us from rating it a 10 - there was not full hookups at the site we ended up with, and the road noise from the freeway is very loud. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2006
$37
This was a very clean park. There was some road noise which did not bother me, but then we sleep with the a/c on. They have nice store with an ice cream parlor. If you are traveling with horses, they allowed people to have them there as well. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2005
$30
Right next to Interstate 70. We just stayed overnight. They gave us a site that was barely long enough for us to stay hooked up. The pool was decent. There is 24 Channel satellite TV through DirecTV available. The sites at this campground are okay. If you are looking to visit Denver there might be better options because this campground is quite aways east of Denver (at least 30 miles.) Overall, this is a decent overnight stop. The staff is friendly and helpful. They told us the best time to leave in the morning to beat the Denver rush hour. I would probably recommend this campground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2005
$27
Campground is well maintained and the new owners were friendly and helpful. Offers Free WiFi. Long level pull-thrus. Unfortunately for anyone trying to sleep, it is sandwiched between I-70 and a freight train line. If you're a light sleeper, it's not the place for you. If it wasn't for the noise I would rate it a 9. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2003
$25
Semi-shady level sites, hot tub, laundry facilities, clean restrooms, well-stocked store and friendly staff. Great stopover on your way to the Rockies. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com