217882 User submitted reviews online!!
Marathon Motel and RV Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 54 user reviews. Phone: (432) 386-4241
CGID5986

Marathon Motel and RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
19
Date of Stay
April 2014
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   7   8   9   9   8   8   8   10   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2014
$25
This RV park is tastefully designed and well managed. All personnel were polite, friendly and helpful. The gravel sites are fairly large and most campers are mature adults looking to escape hustle and bustle. A great feature of the park is the relaxing low-light adobe courtyard. For stargazers, the owners have designed the lighting of the property to be low-key. Wi-Fi and cable TV worked well, and the restrooms were spotless. For those campers who might desire a change of scenery, the motel offers duplex cabins that look fantastic. From its retro highway sign to its classy courtyard and personal touches, this is a great stop. The nearby train tracks may bother some, but as a rail fan, it just added to the very cool atmosphere of this business. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2014
$13
Rate reflects Passport America discount. We stayed here one night before moving on to Big Bend National Park. There are only 5 long pull through sites and we were glad we had called ahead to reserve, as all of them filled up by 4:00 p.m. on a Monday night. Sites each have a picnic table, and are pretty close together, but we put our slides out with no problem and didn't feel crowded. A small storm came through shortly after we arrived and really kicked up the dust from the crushed rock, but passed quickly and settled into a very nice evening. There is no grass at the sites and the utilities are placed far to the rear of the sites, but we were able to stay hooked up because the interior roads are wide enough that we didn't cause an obstruction. Shower and bath were very small and old, but clean with great water pressure. We didn't have to pay extra for shower. We would stay here again for a short stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2014
$22
Add extra 5 dollars per person for showers. Beautiful views from campsite. A perfect location before entering Big Bend NP. Nice, clean well kept campground. Would have rated higher if not for the added shower expense. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2013
$13
Passport America rate. We stopped here for three nights to visit Big Bend National Park. The campgrounds are small but the grounds are crushed rock (this is desert country) with level sites. There is a shared courtyard (with motel) which has a rock fireplace and a huge fire ring in the middle of the enclosed courtyard. Sunsets and sunrises are lovely. Great Wi-Fi and cable TV are included. The restrooms are clean and quite nice. The laundry facilities could use some work. We will return if we get back to this part of Texas. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2013
$12
Passport America rate. On our way to Big Bend NP we stopped here for one night. The host/owner was very friendly and helpful. The campground is small but the grounds are pleasant, sites mostly crushed rock. The motel is nice and a shared courtyard has a huge ramada with rock fireplace AND a huge fire ring in the middle of the enclosed courtyard. They will build a fire if requested. Sunsets are spectacular, the campground is mostly level and utilities are easy to reach. Great Wi-Fi and cable TV are included. Laundry and restrooms/showers are clean and modern. Union Pacific tracks directly across the road from campground not too bad, some night traffic through Marathon with required crossing horns. Easily could stay here and access eastern Big Bend NP if desired. We would return if we get back to this part of Texas. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2013
$12,
On our way to Big Bend National Park we stopped for one night on this campground. Very big pull thrus so you can leave your car on the back or in the front. Level spaces and in the evening, if you ask, they make a nice fire in a central fireplace. Very romantic. Dark skies at night. There are trains just near the road and they make noise, but it was not to bad. We sure come back if we have to make a stop over. Rate was PPA. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2013
$12
This is a motel and RV park in Marathon one of the gateways for Big Bend National Park. It is good for an overnight or longer stay. We paid $12.50 with Passport America. There are 19 sites with full hookups and some tent sites. Cable and Wi-Fi are also offered. The sites are on ground hard pack dirt and it is close to town with some cute restaurants and two gas stations. On the grounds there is a bath house with one shower but it is clean. The motel is done in the Adobe style and there is an outdoor little park with an outside fireplace, wooden seats and cacti surrounding it. It is cute! If you want to sit by the fire at night they will light it for you. Very friendly and informative check in. This was a one night stop. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2013
$25
Marathon is a great little town with lots to do, and this is the place to stay. Very friendly staff and great for great for kids. Nightly fires in the outdoor fireplace. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2012
$25
This is a very friendly, small RV park with a beautiful courtyard including a bubbling fountain with a fire place and fire pit for everyone's' use. Cabins are also available. The sites are level and it is centrally located for an easy access to Big Bend National Park, Alpine, Marfa and Fort Davis. We experiences a mechanical problem with our motor home and they recommended Big Bend RV Supply which is located right in Marathon. The owner went out of his way to help us on New Years Eve. When we are in this area again we will stay here for sure! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2012
$20
We enjoyed this park while visiting the Big Bend NP area. The sites are level, packed dirt and rock construction. We had no in or out problems with our 40'. The Wi-Fi worked well most of the time. The utilities worked well, but we did notice the power voltage was a little low at 108 the first day we arrived, it went to 120V the next day. They have a central gathering area and will have a nice fire in the fireplace most of the time. There is only one fuel station here and the prices are very high. Be aware that you could drive for 50+ miles between fuel stations on US90. There is also only one small grocery store and the prices are a little higher than the big chains, but reasonable. Be sure to get a pizza at Guzzi's, it's one of the best we have eaten. The office personnel was very friendly and helpful. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2012
$25
Stayed for 3 nights while visiting the Big Bend area. We chose this park from the reviews posted by others. The ONLY complaint is the noise from the train whistles. Seemed like they went by every two hours during the night! However, we wanted to be able to see the stars at night and we were very pleased with the subdued lighting of the park. Friendly staff, clean grounds and great location insure that we will stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$25
More than adequate for a stopover on the way to Big Bend. The grounds are a bit spartan, but that's typical of the entire area, not just this RV park. There were some trains, but I only heard one during the night I stayed; it probably varies. What I really appreciated about this park was the lighting. There was just enough to see the grounds by, but no insecurity lights glaring through my windows. One could easily stargaze from here. Staff was friendly. Wi-Fi worked well. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2012
$22
If you like trains, you will love this campground as the train tracks are about 20 yards away from the camp sites. I would estimate that there are about 20 trains that come through per day, both day and night. I do like trains so these do not bother me. It is also right next to the road, but there is not much traffic (no big trucks) and almost no traffic at night, so not a problem for us. The campground is not much more than a gravel parking lot, but not much else is possible out here. All of the utilities work well. The campground is often almost empty so you can pick your site. The campground is adjacent to and part of the motel with a nice courtyard. One night we were here there was a wedding in the courtyard, but they were quiet, and it was not a problem. One great thing about the park is that it is dark. Thank goodness they have not put up a lot of lights, so that you can still see the great night sky out in west Texas. There is now a pretty good pizza place in town (Guzi Pizza) where you can get a take-out or eat-in pizza. We have stayed here a number of times and will definitely be back when we are in the area. The rate reflects a Good Sam discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2012
$30
Very friendly lady checked us in. Park is a typical TX RV park, with gravel pull through and a tiny tree between the spots. No shade. It is just outside of Marathon and you can walk into town on a paved walking path if you want. Javelina's and deer roamed around in the morning. There seemed to be a little cafe, but it was not open while we were around. The Gage Hotel in town is a great place for a beer. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2012
$20
OK for an overnight or short stay. Open level gravel lot with hookups. All utilities worked well. Cable TV was snowy. Wi-fi was excellent. Water pressure was good. Nothing in this town, so don't look for this to be a supply stop. Big Bend is about 60 miles away, & other campers said they drove down for the day. No club house, no activities. Friendly staff & campers. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2012
$13
Rate reflects Passport America. This is a lovely little park with an unexpectedly gorgeous courtyard where they hold nightly campfires. The RV spots are basically a parking area with pull through sites and hookups, but those behind the office are really nice. Included in the rate is Wi-Fi and cable TV. The town is quirky and full of character, with a couple of charming little restaurants. It's really out in the middle of nowhere, but if you like solitude or want to go to Big Bend Nat'l Park, it's great. We'd stay again in a heartbeat. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2011
$13
Very good value for the location which is good for overnighting; it wouldn't be a destination for most. Well laid out, clean park. Very little shade but then it's West Texas. 50 amp voltage was reading high; just to be safe, went to 30 amp but others hooked into 50amp with no problems. Very clean if limited (one person at a time) tiled bath. Motel and grounds around the main building done up very nicely. There are trains, but we didn't have many and what are the alternatives (earplugs?). Gets a 9 for offering PPA rates, would be a 7 or 8 otherwise. Incredibly friendly helpful staff - but then again it's West Texas. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2011
$25
This is one of the best places we have stayed at and we will definitely return. The views, peacefulness and layout of the park are perfect. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2011
$13
Rate shown Passport America discount for 30 amp. Site was a gravel pull through. No privacy between sites in the 30 amp section. Beautiful courtyard with a fountain and fireplace. Extensive cable TV channels. WiFi worked, but had dropouts. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
January 2011
$23
Trains, trains, and more trains...horns blowing all night long (five in one night). It was awful. Only one shower / bathroom facility for the entire campground; chipped, old tile. Nice courtyard and friendly office staff. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2010
$22
This place is a veritable oasis in the desert! Yes, it's small, but the owners are intent on making it a pleasant place to stop whether you stay in the cabins or your RV. Sites are level and large; Wi-Fi is great; and the bathrooms are works of art! You have a 360-degree view of the southwest landscape; and as for the noise, give me the sound of an occasional truck or better yet, the BNSF high balling it across the desert rather than barking dogs or screaming kids...anytime. We used it as a jumping off stop for Big Bend NP, but would stop here anytime we're crossing western Texas...in fact, we might even spend a week here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2010
$12
This was one of the better RV parks we ran into on hwy 90 from Van Horn to Del Rio. The Wi-Fi works great. Good electric and water pressure. Sites were long and wide. The Passport America rate is $12.50 and worth ever penny. I would stay here again if in the area and would recommend it to anyone. We stayed in the 50 amp area. I noticed a sign on the front fence that the place is for sale. Would make someone a nice place. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
September 2010
$25
This campground is on highway 90 just at the 55 mile speed limit sign. Opposite there is a railway crossing. We may as well have camped in a truck stop as the noise of vehicles and trains was incessant. Fortunately there was no wind so I ran the fan in the motor home which helped drown out the noise. Yes the showers were clean but this in no way compensated for the noise. The Wi-Fi is absolutely useless. Lucky for this place they have a monopoly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$12
Passport America rate is $12.50. Park is on the west end of Marathon. Staff was very friendly. Solid 50 amp, good Wi-Fi. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2010
$12
I love Marathon Motel and RV Park. We have stayed here about 4 times now and I consider it one of my home bases now. The atmosphere in the campground is one of thoughtfulness and creativity. The adobe courtyard with its fountain and nightly fires in the fireplace is one of my highlights, especially since it allows for a true atmosphere of camaraderie. This park is a member of Passport hence the rate. The owners are some of the best, and there is a true integration with the town. The park is also developing a sustainability component which will allow for recycling and composting: rare in RV parks. And the bathrooms are some of the best that I've seen in my travels. Expect excellent internet unless it is very windy when the speed slows significantly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2010
$13
Regular rate $25, PA rate $12.50. Nice, fairly level, wide, long 50 amp spaces (only 7 of these so call first). Good location for seeing the area. Has good water, power, WiFi (free), cable TV (free) and nice staff. Will stay here again when in area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2010
$23
$22.80 GS rate. Passport not honored in March. I usually don't give rustic parks a score this high, but this is an unique campground. All important issues (to me) were met. Strong electric, good water pressure and taste (well water) sewer, good Wi-Fi. No cell service at all. Bathrooms clean, but rustic. Pretty sights and nice area to walk around to take pictures. Gravel sites. Higher elevation (4,000 ft) so cool in the evenings. We would come back! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2010
$18
The rate reflects a week’s stay while we visited the Big Bend area. The staff was informative and friendly. The courtyard not only had a fountain but a huge fireplace where there was a nightly campfire. The sites and roads were dirt and small rocks. Be sure to visit the eating establishments in town and the art galleries had a lot to offer. The night sky was gorgeous and the train whistle added to the ambiance. We would stay again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2010
$22
This is a good park to stay in for a few nights coming and going from Big Bend National Park. The folks here are all nice and friendly. The sites are level and relatively roomy. The wireless internet is wonderful. Very fast. The trains coming through are interesting. I would not hesitate to stay here. The town is small and friendly. The restaurants may or may not be open. If you have lots of money: eat at the Gage, but be prepared for very poor service and a very big check. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2010
$21
This was a very good place to stay while visiting Big Bend National Park and the surrounding areas. The pull-thoughts can handle any size and Wi-Fi and satellite reception were great. The only set-back was a three "permanent" type trailers in the very back. This was the only thing that detracted from the park. At least we were not that close to them. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2009
$25
The RV park is not as nice as the rest of the motel complex, but still a good place to park for a night or two. The pull through site are long and level, but are nothing but gravel. The pet walk area had a lot of trash and ants, so we had to be careful about where the dogs wandered while on leash. It is a good place to stay while making a day trip to Big Bend National Park. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$22
This park is really nice considering the little town it's located in. The owner has really done an awesome job restoring this facility. The cable was better than most other RV parks. The bathrooms and showers were very clean. The only thing I would like to see is a concrete patio at the sites. When we were there the RV Park restaurant was closed and the Burn't Biscuit was closed as well. Not much to do in Marathon, but it is a good place to park when visiting Big Bend. We would stay again when we are in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2009
$12
We were so pleasantly surprised by this park. The staff was beyond friendly and so professional. The site was level and filled with gravel. We had 50 amps and great water pressure. Wi-Fi was excellent. The patio/courtyard area was just beautiful. Very close to town, in fact easily within a bike ride away. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2009
$14
Nice park in a desolate area. Staff was very accommodating. Best place for day trips into Big Bend National Park. Our site had a number of nails and wood screws scattered around the site, but picked up all we saw and had no flat tires after out departure. Considered ourselves, lucky. The Burnt Biscuit is worth the stop. Passport America park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2009
$23
This place is a jewel! We did not have reservations but called ahead and were told they would make room for us. All their normal spots were full but the owner made room for us next to his house. We had water and electric; that was enough. We originally planned to stay only two nights but liked the RV Park and the area so much that we stayed a third night. Although the park is right along SR-90 we were not bothered by traffic noise. The few periodic trains on the nearby tracks were not bothersome either. Non-RVers should try the motel's cabins or the historic Gates Hotel in town. The little town of Marathon is charming. Don't miss local conversation and good eats at Shirley's Burnt Biscuit cafe. We will definitely stay at the Marathon Motel RV Park if we come this way again! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2009
$23
Nice intimate campground with a lot of atmosphere. You quickly get to know the other RV'ers on the site because of the famous court yard fireplace. REMEMBER!!!!: Marathon is a "one horse town" and you will do well to stock up with all your needs for the duration of your stay, or face the 32 miles drive to Alphine. The only shop in Marathon is "The French Grocer" and this is slightly larger than a camp ground store. Also - gas is expensive so make sure that your tanks are full when arriving. Had the camp ground had a pool/spa it would have been very nice and we could probably have spend a couple more nights there. We would come back to this place again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2009
$23
Let's face it - if you want to visit Big Bend with a full hookup site with services Marathon is the only choice; so it's a good thing this park is very nice. We were given the last space available, which was apparently a former workamper site - no pad, picnic table, and only gravel/dirt which was not very level. The standard 50A sites were pull-through, also dirt/gravel without pads. The free cable TV and WiFi worked well. There is a beautifully landscaped courtyard and fireplace and the owners are exceptionally friendly. Marathon is an interesting little town; good restaurants (try the Famous Burro), and the Gage Hotel is worth a visit. We'd stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2009
$25
Ladies' room & shower clean, but mens' room shower had "pink slime" mold on walls, shower head & curtain. Also, there is ONE bathroom, I mean single - toilet sink & shower together, for each gender. That means if a teenager is taking a typical shower (as was the case last night) there is no rest room to use. Also, maybe due to the "run" on showers by a visiting youth group, there was no hot water in the ladies' for over an hour. On the plus, there is a very good heater in the bathroom - important since AM temps at this time of year are around 32F. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2009
$25
Okay, this has been one of the greatest parks in which we've ever stayed. The staff is incredibly friendly, and practically took our 7 year old son in as one of their own. The whole town, in fact, mimics this ambiance of camaraderie and though we intended to stay for only a weekend before heading to Big Bend National Park, we ended up sticking around for a month. There's a cafe right in the park with good food and bad coffee. The bathrooms and showers are immaculately clean, and the owner has really put his all into adding those little finishing touches all around the park that make it more than just a place to plug in for a day. In particular is this really grand courtyard, all adobe, the key aspect of which is a large fireplace (not just a pit) situated at the north end. The owners supply the wood, you can sit in quaint little handmade wooden rocking chairs and they even light the fire for you if you don't get to it yourself by 6:30pm or so. I really loved this campground and could go on forever about the place. If you're going to Big Bend or just passing through Western Texas, I'd highly recommend this place. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
January 2009
$25
Park is a Passport America Park. We had a problem with the electric that burnt up our surge protector. When reporting problem to office and showing maintenance the problem of ground wire on box was told that would not cause any type of problem. Had another site, but would not allow us to move to that site. Was told to plug back into the electric or run off our batteries or leave. Had friend traveling a couple of days behind us and he said the site we stayed in was shut down due to a electrical problem. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
January 2009
$10
You definitely need reservations to stop here but it's a great stop if you are going to Big Bend National Park. Wifi reception is very slow and the only TV is the Camp's cable. They have a very nice courtyard with a fireplace and a great view of the desert to the south. Very nice staff and the folks in Marathon are very friendly as well. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2008
$13
This is a great little campground for the Passport America price of $12.50 per night. The staff were friendly and helpful. The Cable TV was great and the free wifi a bonus. The trains brought back memories of yesteryear. Its location is convenient for a day trip to Big Bend Natl Park. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2008
$13
This is a very nice park that we felt was more than worth every penny (the amount we quote was our PA rate). In fact, we felt it is one of the nicest parks we have been in for the price. Cable with three movie channels-a courtyard with a fire pit-beautiful scenery--and just very quaint! Staff were very friendly. We loved it. As for the trains, from reading some of these reviews we were prepared for trains every half hour. There were a few trains each day-but it was NOT a big deal at all. Now granted, we are in an Excel,which is the quietest unit we have ever been in due to the insulation. But its hard to see how anyone could be disappointed at this park. (866) 386-4241 We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
April 2008
$23
This park has dusty, gravel and rock sites with no landscaping to speak of. We stayed here as an anchor site to visit the Big Bend National Park. We would try to find another site if we are in this area again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2008
$22
We like this campground even with the noise of the trains all during the day and night. Friendly staff, clean restrooms and laundry. Our site was a little hard to level, but do not know about other sites. We camped in the camp sites nearer the train tracks, but other pull through sites were located to the back of the property. Very convenient for going to Big Ben, even though once in the Park, and at Panther Junction Visitor's Center, telling us that the only campground with hookups in park was full - it was not. However, think I would rather be in Marathon anyway. We camped in Site #19 in a truck/camper. We will return here whenever this way. Gage restaurant at the historic Gage Hotel is only a 10 minute walk from the campground. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2008
$22
Clean, Friendly, Great place to leave the unit to tour Big Bend. In the town of Marathon nice shops. great sunsets. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2008
$23
We were very impressed with this place, good value for the money. $25 less Good Sam discount of $2.50, paid $22.50 all inclusive. W/E50amp/S Wi-Fi and Cable. Cable included HBO and Cinamax. Don't see that very often. Good place to fill the water tank before heading into Big Bend. From here you are 90 miles from the Rio Grande Village. They now have a small cafe here that is open for breakfast Thurs - Mon mornings only. Great breakfast too. Very nice courtyard and sitting area near cafe. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2008
$23
Beautiful location out in the West Texas Mountains. Courtyard and Cafe with Motel brings all the amenities that you could possibly want, with the only downside being the frequent train whistles throughout the day. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
February 2008
$25
This has been the worst RV Park we have stayed at for just an overnight. They park you along the main highway , which was not too bad; but the railroad tracks are across the highway and the train goes by blowing the whistle every hour to hour and a half. You may as well spend the night in a Wal Mart as the train sounds like it is coming through your trailer. For $25 a night it was stupidity maybe $10. But maybe $0 would be too much. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2008
$25
Using Passport America I paid $12.50 for one night. Fairly level sites, friendly staff, great views. Only downside is the train track across the street. Will come back again when I have time to visit Marathon and Big Bend. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2007
$22
If visiting Big Bend Park, this is the place to stay. It is several miles from the park entrance, but the atmosphere of this place makes the trip seem a minor flaw. The restful fire in the courtyard keeps the chill night air at bay, and the lighted fountain is very pleasant, there are also gardens to enjoy. The breakfast cafe, with another covered outdoor dining area, is very quaint with a basic breakfast menu. Yes it is gravel. but the sites are wide, everything is very clean, wifi is great and the staff were delightful. We enjoyed all the RVers and motel guests where everyone gathered around the large fireplace and relaxed in the rocking chairs and benches. Yes, the trains were frequent, but we didn't even hear them the second night. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2007
$22
Very cute courtyard with fireplace. Close to Big Bend National Park (60 miles one way). Close to railroad and trains come through during the night. No shade available. Bathroom needs expanding. One room per sex, includes shower, toilet and sink. If someone is in for a shower you have to wait to use the facility. There were lines for the bathroom in the morning. We enjoyed our stay. Very friendly staff. Recommend they add portable toilets. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2007
$13
We were very impressed with this Passport America campground. We joined Passport America when we registered and got 3 nights of camping/full hook-ups including free wi-fi and cable with HBO for $12.50 per night. The sites are large, gravel and level. The clerk was pleasant and helpful. The small town has a nice grocery, postoffice and bookstore among other shops. As for the trains that go by - so what! They are across the highway at least 100 yards away and they are a non-issue. This is one of the better, cleaner, nicer looking parks we have stayed at in TX. It is behind a very nice looking motel. It sits on a hilltop and the views in all directions are pleasing. Worth the regular rate of $25 and definitely a bargain at $12.50 per night! This park is right off US90. They do not have a laundry so don't plan on doing your wash here. Also they have a very small albeit clean shower. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2006
$20
This park is located in Marathon, one of the gateway towns to Big Bend National Park. The park is a dusty lot behind the motel, which sounds bad but really isn't. The sites are quite large and wide. The motel has been renovated to a 1940s retro chic. They have terrific common areas accessible to motel and RV guests. On certain mornings they have great breakfast burritos in an outdoor cafe for very reasonable prices. Wifi is free and works OK. Cable is free and includes HBO, Showtime, and Cinemax. So why the rating of 7? Trains. The train tracks are really close and the whistles go on all night. I told the people in the office and they gave me ear plugs for no charge. They do help, but the trains seem to never stop. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com