220830 User submitted reviews online!!
Jedediah Smith Redwoods State Park was rated 9 out of 10 based on 10 user reviews. Phone: (707) 458-3018
CGID5990

Jedediah Smith Redwoods State Park

Camp Information
Sites
106
Date of Stay
July 2011
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   7   10   10   8   10   10   10   10   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$35
Right in the Redwoods! That says it all. You are surrounded by old growth redwoods - one in our site was at least 15' in diameter. Some sites are small but ours was big enough for a 28' trailer and tow. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2011
$35
Much of what the previous posters had said is still true. I will just modify a few statements. The cell signal with our Verizon air card was present, but spotty. It actually worked better taking it out of the router and external antenna and plugging directly into the computer. This may be due to being a roaming area for Verizon. Cell phones do work, but don't walk around too much or you will drop the call. Satellite TV is nearly impossible due to the extensive tree canopy. I tried with a portable dish, but couldn't get enough signal to lock on. The visitor center opened for the season on May 29th. Funny since they totally missed the Memorial Day crowds a few days before. They did have a few Ranger programs, but we left as they were more geared towards children. In the rains such as we had, the grounds can get pretty muddy since the trees prevent the sun from getting through. In the warmer summer months the shade would be a welcome benefit. All staff at the park is helpful and friendly. Many tenter's frequent the park but all were considerate. We adhered to generator hours of 10 AM to 8 PM, and that made the tenter's happy. One issue though, I didn't see a lot of sites that would hold a larger rig. It's not the size of the site necessarily, but the room to turn into the site with the trees and rocks along the narrow road. My 35' motor home just barely made the turn. I would camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2011
$35
One of the best places to stay if you want to camp among the giant redwood trees. The camping spaces are nicely nestled in the middle of an old growth grove of trees. We had a 35' motorhome, and there were quite a few spots we would fit. The road is narrow and twisty coming and going. I would not recommend if you have anything larger than 35ft. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$35
This is a great location if you love dense forest and lots of space between you and your neighbor. My kids loved it. The river is a close walk from the campground. If was flowing pretty slowly when we went at the end of July so all the kids played in the water for hours. Not easy to drive around park. I am about 51 feet total with travel trailer. Had to go slow but made it. Camp host suggested I come in the opposite way shown on the map to get into my site (#8). Would not have been able to back in driving the way the arrows showed on the map. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$20
The price was $27.50 with the reservation fee. The redwoods are tall and the sites are pretty, with picnic tables and fire pits at each. We preferred Prairie Creek Redwoods State Park to this one because there you get hot water in the restrooms, the visitors center is larger, and there are elk nearby, but Jed Smith was quite pretty, too. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2008
$20
Beautiful setting along with rustic camping, although some folks managed to get some fairly large RVs through the trees and cars along the narrow interior roads. We were glad to be towing a small rented travel trailer instead of our 35' 5th wheel. This park was built by the National Parks Service, so it has the typical narrow roads, small campsites, and no RV facilities other than a dump station at the exit. Our site was perfectly level and very private, even though the Visitors Center was next to it. The sites along the Smith River are the best in the park, and probably hard to get. The restrooms and showers were typical NPS style, and were in need of some refurbishing, although they were fairly clean. It was quite cool in the morning, and I was surprised to find that the heat was on in the restrooms. We would like to return to this park in the shoulder seasons and spend a few days exploring the trails through the redwoods and along the river. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2008
$18
Absolutely beautiful. Reservations are essential any day of the week. Not sure why others indicated that it's ok for big rigs. Campground road is narrow and windy and parking in many of the sites is tight. There is a fee for the shower. Water is available at the dump station although there are unthreaded faucets scattered throughout the campground. Very quiet. Sites are cozy and private. Most sites will require leveling equipment. Our Verizon cell service didn't work, not sure about other carriers. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2007
$22
Of every campground we have ever camped in, this one was our hands down favorite. Heavily wooded and shaded, very private, the real deal. Lots of huge trees surrounding all the campsites. We camped in a 40' RV, and we were towing. It was tight, but doable. No cell phone coverage. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2006
$20
This campground is one of the most beautiful campgrounds I have ever been to. It is set among the redwoods - we had some huge trees in our campsite. There are waterfront sites along the Smith River - most of them look pretty small - if our trailer would have fit they are definitely the best sites. There are trails that go throughout the entire camp which are nice, but no dogs are allowed on them. There is a large group tent site that looks awesome. The showers were not open when we were there. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2006
$18
Gorgeous campground in the heart of old growth redwoods. What a treat! We were able to get our 30ft class A plus bike rack through the campground. The sites were large and obviously shady. The fire pit was elevated and quite large. The campground host was very friendly and helped us to back into our site. We will definitely stay again if we are in the area. Note the showers were closed and the sign stated they were unlikely to open. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com