206873 User submitted reviews online!!
Whip In RV Park was rated 7 out of 10 based on 46 user reviews. Phone: (432) 393-5242
CGID5991

Whip In RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
48
Date of Stay
March 2013
Latest Rate
$32



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   4   6   5   6   7   6   8   9   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  no  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  no  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2013
$32
Nice folks at registration once you contacted them. Sign on door gave a phone number and they were there very shortly after calling. Very basic gravel/sand/dirt, tight sites (could not extend slide out due to neighbors awning - and I was bumped up against the power mast). OK for an overnight if you absolutely have to. Appeared to be lots of full timers when I took my evening walk. I was out and gassed up at a fully automated station cross the highway before dawn. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
March 2013
$28
This is an overnight stop only. The sites are long enough for big rigs and a tow. Pro: utilities work and water pressure is OK, but could be little better and does fluctuate a bit during peak times. They do have a nice line up of cable TV choices. The internet was fast and stays on. Management apparently does enforce a leash rule. There is a fenced in area for dogs to play, but not everyone picks up after their pets. The cons: too pricey for what you get. The spaces are incredibly close together; they are within 12-18 inches of each other with slides out. No place to sit out and no place to cook out. This is largely a permanent live-in and workers park. There are only 6 or 7 spaces for travelers. There is noise from the freeway. The road is gravel, dust is horrible. The managers are the worst offenders at stirring up the dust as they race around on the park cart. Sites haven’t been mowed or trimmed in a while; some grass is so tall it almost hides the utility poles. Some very old and derelict looking units here. Sticker burrs are everywhere! Very surprised that this park rating was as high as it is with Trailer Life. Would not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
January 2013
$25V
Very convenient location on I-20. Some road noise from interstate, but not objectionable to us. Mostly long term residents. All sites are gravel & fairly level. Only have 7 sites with 50 amp service, so be sure to check availability prior to arrival. Wi-Fi & cable TV worked well. Restrooms & laundry were clean. Very friendly manager. Would stay here again for an overnight stop. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
January 2013
$25
Small, old park, nothing to write home about. Bathrooms were not very clean and needed updating. Staff was very friendly and helpful. OK for overnight, especially since there I are not many RV parks in west Texas on I-20. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
December 2012
$25
THIS PARK IS AT EXIT 184, DO NOT FOLLOW GPS UNLESS IT IS TAKING YOU TO EXIT 184. After we got lost and called, the man who answered the phone stated that the GPS always sends people to the wrong location. It would be nice to find that information on a webpage. Rate reflects Good Sam discount. Man in office was friendly and escorted us to our site. They do "pack them in" and the sites were a little closer together than what we prefer, but the neighbors were quiet. Hook ups worked well. The one thing that put us off was that there was dog waste everywhere in the park, even though there are signs posted requesting that you scoop. The dog area was full of waste too. The park does have easy access off I-20. Sites were hard-packed gravel and leveling was not difficult. Note from admin: GPS address is 32.27391 / -101.37013 to office. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2012
$23
Arrived after dark. Office was closed. Called number on the office door and a nice man sped up in a golf cart. He had us follow him around the park and eventually into our spot. The spots were a little closer together than I would have preferred, but neighbors were quiet, so no problem. There was cat roaming around and I was afraid it was going to leave paw prints on our car. Nope, wasn't a problem. I even accidentally left our car window down No problems. Hookups worked fine. Cable had lots of channels. My only complaint is that the park access road was right behind our spot and was noisy. We kept hearing vehicles driving back and forth over the gravel as they came and went from their spots. Other than that, it's a good overnight stay kind of place. We'd stay there again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
November 2012
$25
Park has gone downhill in the past few years we have been stopping here. We probably won't stop again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$25
Nice little park right off the interstate. Heard train a few times, but noise didn't bother us. Sites close together. Friendly management. Has a fenced doggie area, laundry, free wireless internet. We have stayed here previously. We would stay here again for an overnight. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2012
$28
Right next to I-20. Good maneuvering room, level spot. Friendly staff and clean facilities. I'd stay again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2012
$22
Glad I made a reservation, manager was turning folks away as I was signing in at 4:00 pm. Oh, when you are signing in, beware of the "greater cat". She will jump up on the counter and if you pet her once pretty much that's all you're going to do during registration. Manager was great. All she had left was 50 amp but only charged us for 30 amp. She guided us to our site which was pea gravel but level. Easy on/off from I-20; the highway noise was tolerable. Many cable channels and Wi-Fi was great. Sites are a little narrow but got all three slides out and didn't feel cramped due to herring bone layout of CG. Great overnight stop and will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2012
$23
This is our third visit and each time the park has improved. Whip In is a simple, overnight park with easy access and a short driving distance to shopping. It also has really nice management. We will definitely return. Rates reflect, TACO/Escapees/Good Sam rates. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2011
$20
Small RV Park. A very nice lady checked us in, very friendly. The site width was adequate. The site is gravel and was level. The road is packed dirt, wide enough to maneuver. Wi-Fi worked well enough was slow, due to our location in the park. We were parked in the back area, made it a bit quieter from the Highway. They are pet friendly, have a little area for the dogs to play. Overall the place is clean and cared for, very reasonable rates. Nothing fancy, good for an overnight stay. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2011
$23
Rate reflects Escapees. Owners are nice: said they recently bought it but have owned others. Many spaces obviously were long-term residents: normal in this area. Landscaping work is ongoing; the dirt interior roads in dry West Texas were as usual. The spaces are Very Narrow. The 4-slide guy had to move or touch the neighbor; only 7 have 50 amp. Access from I-20 was easy. This is not an RV Resort, but we'd stay here again for an overnight. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
November 2010
$24
Revisited park which is under new management. Park roads are dirt and gravel. Sites are as narrow as possible. My table was next to my neighbor's utilities. The utilities worked as designed. Park is big rig friendly as we didn't have to unhook our tow vehicle. Wi-Fi was excellent. Used as overnight only. If you want to park and stay in your RV it is fine. No room outside. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2010
$32
We stayed here one night but would gladly stay here again. Spaces were long, a little narrow, but level. Office personnel were friendly and hospitable, she met us at our site and made sure our wheels were on the most level spot. Cable for TV was at the site and plenty of it. Restrooms were exceptionally clean and showers were spotless. There were a lot of workers living here but their spaces were well kept. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$23
We stayed in this park for one night in route to New Mexico. We were satisfied with the park for a one night stay. The park had some permanent residents, but there were several sites open for traveling RVer's. We would stay in this park again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$30
Even though this is a small park, with close spaces, and all gravel and dirt, it is one of the best places we have stayed. The baths were cleaner than most bathrooms in private homes. It was unbelievable. When we checked in we were told how to get to our site and she would meet us there. She guided us in and explained all the hook-ups, even though we have been doing this for about 12 years. One nice thing is they provide the cable for the cable connection. There was plenty of it to reach our connection on our rig. The dog run is great, however some people still do not have the courtesy to pick up after their dogs. The laundry was inexpensive and clean. The only reason we did not give it a 10 is because there is no pool, even though that doesn't matter to us. We would absolutely stay here again and would recommend it to anyone being in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$22
This campground was a pleasant surprise. Staff is very friendly, gravel sites are long and fairly level, and it is right off Interstate 20. The dog area is grassy and fenced in. Traffic noise was not a problem. We'll stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2010
$22
Sites are real close together. Voltage is good and water pressure was good. Gravel roads and sites. It served the purpose for us as a stopover for 2 nights. Sites were fairly level. They do have a nice fenced dog run. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2010
$21
We pulled in with no reservation and the lady said no problem. They were very friendly, directed us to our site. Cable TV has 63 stations, Wi-Fi worked perfectly, lady even checked on us after we hooked up to make sure everything worked to our satisfaction. Would stay here again most definitely. Has some road noise, but what do you expect right by a highway. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2010
$19
Easy access off I20. A little road noise, but tolerable. Easy maneuverability. Level, gravel sites. Owner very friendly and helpful. Cable TV (63 channels) and WI-FI worked perfectly. They even supply the cable TV hookup cable, neatly coiled on the utility post. Rate reflects the Escapees discount. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
December 2009
$22
Perfect overnight stop right off I-20. Level pull-thru sites, friendly owners, road noise is not burdensome. Spotless laundry with excellent new machines (washer $1.00/40 minute wash and dryer $1.00 for 60 minute dry) that actually get things clean unlike most campground machines for more. We will always stop here for overnight when this way. Sites close but for overnight, who cares? We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
October 2009
$22
Not much of a park for anything other than a place to park for the night. The park is located just off the interstate so the road noise is constant. Gravel sites, some sites are large enough for big rigs, some picnic tables. Most sites are very close together. Sitting in a chair with the back of the chair against the coach, my knees were five feet from the truck beside us. We would only stay here again only if something happened, and we couldn’t travel farther. Free WiFi with a very unstable connection. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$20
I agree with other reviewers: this is a nice park for an overnight stop. Friendly owners and level sites. Escapees discount was a nice bonus. Extremely reasonable price compared to other parks in this area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$22
We were very pleased with this for an overnight stay. The attendant was very helpful even though we arrived after hours. Would definitely stay there again if in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2009
$19
Perfect place for overnight stop. Very convenient access to Interstate 20. Older facility but clean. Sites are on the smaller side but again, OK for overnight. Restrooms and showers were clean. WIFI and cable TV worked very well. Good area for walking dogs. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2009
$21
Great place for an overnight and is easy to get to and back onto the interstate. The attendant was very pleasant and helpful. Sites are tight, but easy to get in and out. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2009
$20
Nice park, nice staff, full hookups, pull throughs,lots of highway noise. Best cable TV setup we have ever seen. Each site has a rack with about 20 feet of cable wound on it; very easy to connect. We will go there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2008
$20
Convenient campground with easy on/off freeway access at exit 184 of I-20. The sites are gravel/rock and are very level however some are very close together. Owners live onsite and are very helpful and responsive. They have a good high speed WiFi signal and a great Cable TV lineup. There is no meeting room or pool. The laundry room is open 24/7 and is very clean with new machines. The restrooms are clean and have coded locks on them so are quite secure. This park has considerable road noise from I-20 but we dealt with it by using the Air Conditioner. We feel its the best in the area and would use it again if in the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2008
$21
We were here only overnight. We had phoned ahead to make sure they had space. Since we would be arriving after the office closed, I was told to call back when we got close and they would meet us. She was in the office already so we would not have to wait. Very accommodating. If we were in the area, we would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2008
$20
This park is OK for a stop-over. It is just off the freeway, has grass/gravel sites, and had what appeared to be several sites with transient populations. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2008
$18
The rate reflects the Escapee discount. The park is right off of the interstate, but road noise was tolerable. The lady running the office was very friendly and escorted us to our site and explained the hookups. The sites are grass/gravel and very close together - our step hit the power pedestal of the spot next door. The WiFi and cable are free and work well. Overall, a good overnight, but very cramped. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2008
$18
The staff member was friendly/courteous when checking in and directed us to site and pointed out hookups and new dog run. Good WiFi and cable. I-40 nearby but noise was tolerable. No sign for exit so we had to go back from next exit. We would stay here again if in area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2008
$18
Nice for a one night stop or more. We normally don't make reservations here but this year we did call first. We got the last 3 sites. Each year they get more customers and even though a lot of people use them for a one night stop, they are running out of space. The owners go out of there way to help you get into your site and make sure 5th wheels are not put in sites with trees with low limbs. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2007
$22
Ideal park for the overnighter. Easy in - easy out. Friendly staff helps get you to your site. I'm glad we made a reservation early in the day; the place was packed. Cable and internet service was satisfactory. If there were other amenities, we didn't use them. However, as with many parks, the dog walk area was full of stickers. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
November 2007
$20
Visited park & found it to be big rig friendly. Staff was very friendly & helpful. All roads & sites were gravel which were a little dusty. Sites were so narrow that we were within 5' of our neighbors on each side. Utilities were modern & well placed. Free wifi was usable and the cable was very good. Next to interstate, but noise was not a factor. Most of park is utilized by full timers. Park is good value considering location and we would return for an overnighter. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2007
$19
What a nice surprise to find the owners so helpful and eager to please. They really did walk us to our site, explained how things worked and where everything was. Free Wifi that was very fast, great cable TV with plenty of stations. It is very close to the I-20 highway, but the road noise was very tolerable. There is no pool, so if you're really in need, you have to go somewhere else. I would return here the next time we are driving through. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2007
$11
The weekly rate was $75.00 (75/7=11). We gave this park an overall rating of 9 because the RV Park was clean, secured, and all amenities that were advertised worked. Our Verizon internet card did not work in Big Spring, TX, so we asked if the Wi-Fi actually worked or just sometimes worked. Management assured we would have NO problems. Wi-fi worked GREAT! The cable channel line-up was incredible! The place was clean! And the management was extremely nice! The reason for not getting a rating of 10 was because of location. Big Spring is an oil producing town, but they are not reaping the rewards of high oil prices. Approximately 50% of the businesses were closed. The town actually looked like it was on the economic down cycle. On a great note, we went to Big Spring Mall and bought several designer clothing for 20% of retail price of what we would have paid in any other town that was in an economic up cycle. This is NOT a destination area of Texas but this RV Park is a GREAT place to rest for a few days! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2007
$22
Nice little park for the area, easy in and out. Owners have really turned the park around from the last time we were there a few years ago. Very friendly and helpful. Only down side are the grass burrs, they are everywhere in this part of the country. The management are constantly trying to correct this daily. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2007
$19
Nice park for overnight stop. Gravel roads. Our gravel site was one of the most level and quickest to setup on our current trip (6,000 miles since we left Baton Rouge on March 21st). Grassy patio with bench seat. Easy off and on the Interstate, but with little road noise. Friendly management! We would stay here again. Price paid is Escapees price! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2007
$18
Owners have been the most helpful and attentive that we have encountered in any park. bar none. As mentioned by other reviewers, this is not the prettiest campground, but nicely laid out and extremely well run. Rate reflects good sam discount. Extensive line-up of cable channels and wi-fi that is free and WORKED!. Right on the I-20 service road so you will have some road noise, but we did not find it bothersome and it certainly did not keep us awake. Site was gravel surrounded by grass and was level with easy pull-thru access. These are the first campground showers that my husband found clean enough to use. They were well appointed and spotless. The only reason that I did not give it a 10 was the lack of pool and rec. facilities, but for an overnight stay was perfect. I would certainly recommend to others and would stay again if in the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2007
$20
After over 30 years of Rv'ing, I have had customer service and customer commitment defined for me: It is this campground. In all my years, I have never run across such incredibly customer oriented people. It starts with a warm greeting when you arrive, followed by a personal escort to your site. Then you find out that, despite several incoming and outgoing faxes, they hesitate to charge you because they consider that customer service, and on and on and on. These folks truly are committed to their customers. The campground, although not beautiful or great, is nicely laid out, has deep spaces, has excellent restroom facilities, and so forth. No swimming pools or kiddie entertainment but just down to earth good value and good service right down to ample hooks in the shower areas (for the poster who recently said they didn't have these.) This may not be the nicest campground we have ever visited, but it is the best. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2007
$18
This is a GREAT park for an overnight stop. The owners couldn't be more friendly and helpful. They have only been here about 1 1/2 years - are working on upgrading park. Some road noise, but not bad. Nice pull throughs that accommodate coach and toad. Will definitely stay here again when going through West Texas. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2006
$18
Easy on/off I-20. We had a pull-thru gravel site that could accommodate our 38’ motorhome with tow. Sites are narrow and fairly level. Very friendly hosts, showed us to our site and made sure that we had everything we needed. When the host noticed a branch close to our motorhome, no time was wasted in cutting it down. This is an older park with newer owners who appear to be working hard at keeping it clean and fixing it up. It isn’t a fancy park, but is a good overnight or short stay park. Wi-Fi is included in the price and worked well. Cable TV is free and they even provide the cable for hook-up. This is a Good Sam Park. There is some Interstate noise, but tolerable unless you are a really light sleeper. We would definitely stay again when passing through. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2006
$22
For a park that does not have a pool or other entertainment amenities it is very nice. You are directed to your site and get all the help you could want. The sites are long for those that wish to pull in with the tow attached. The overnight or weekly sites are narrow and there are no hooks in the showers. The proximity to I20 is good for getting in and out but there is the downside of high way noise. We stayed a week to see some things in town and get caught up on house and book work. The WiFi worked very well. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2005
$18
We have used this park several times as a one night stop over. It is handy to I-10 and easy to get in and out of. It is close to I-10 so noise road noise may be a factor but we slept with the windows closed and the air conditioner on. Staff is friendly and escort you to your site. They even furnish the cable for the cable tv. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com