220250 User submitted reviews online!!
Chewacla State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 15 user reviews. Phone: (334) 887-5621
CGID6

Chewacla State Park

Camp Information
Sites
62
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$29



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   7   8   8   9   9   7   6   8   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2014
$29
So nice since they upgraded to all 50 amp and cable. The cable is limited, but it is ok. Lovely wooded area with lots of trees - almost wooded campsites. Love it here! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2014
$22
This is a great park, not that big, but still has a lot to offer. I would rate it higher except for the lack of cable or WiFi. Will stay here again when we are through here. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2012
$24
52 RV sites in two loops, with 10 primitive camp sites. Gravel sites with tarmac roads in good repair. Clean bathhouse on the loop I was at. I was on one of the two only electricity and water sites; the rest are electricity, water, and sewer. I do not know if those sites were more expensive. Park has a pretty lake with small beach for swimming and canoeing plus trials. A good place for our overnight stay. I would use it again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2012
$30
Great state park very near the Auburn University campus. Easy and quick approach from I-85 down a straight and gently rolling two-lane road. Park roads and campground loops are paved and RV sites are crushed rock. Spots are relatively level, wide, and should be deep enough for almost any rig. A few spots are perpendicular to the road and backing in a big rig might be challenging. The sewer connection on most of the sites was in the back, so you might need extra hose if you have a midship dump valve. Most sites are very well shaded and have plenty of room between to afford some privacy. The McVay Loop bathhouse was always clean, and the staff and host were friendly and accommodating. Firewood and ice are available at the park office. There is no camp store but a Walmart, Winn Dixie and many restaurants are within 3 miles of the park on the north side of I-85. The park has a great system of hiking trails though they could be marked better. I attended Auburn and spent a lot of time here during college. The park gets very busy with day use students and can be quite noisy on fall and spring weekends, so be ready for it. If you want to stay here on a home football weekend you have to get reservations many months in advance. The website lists reservation call dates for home weekends. The only negative comment I have about the park is the noise level from traffic outside the park. You can hear it quite well from both camping loops up until about 9 pm. Other than that, it was a very enjoyable visit and we will return in the future. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2012
$26
Nice Alabama State Park. Very quiet (no football game). Great place for walks with the pups. Good security. Much to explore- will take more time here next time. Level sites and good 30 amp hookup. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2012
$22
Very nice, quiet park. They are updating power to 50 amp. Sites were gravel and we had some ant invasion but were able to control it with granular repellent spread around the outside. There are some off road bike trails in the park and a nice paved bike path right outside of the park. Definitely will return here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2012
$22
We stayed here a year ago, and the park is about the same this time. Our site was a pull-through so we didn't disconnect the towed on this one night stopover. A nearby bike path is great for exercise either walking or biking. The rate reflects a senior discount available to all (including non-residents) over age 62. The park is only a couple of miles from Auburn and malls for shopping. We would stay again when traveling through this area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2011
$20
Our nightly rate reflects week-long stay. This campground does not enforce Alabama State Park's "vicious" dog or "leash" restrictions. In fact, a campground volunteer site posts "Beware of Dog" sign for two large, aggressive dogs. Guests bring as many and whatever breeds they desire. Management is aware but takes no action. Children and pets are not safe here. One very small dog was attacked and nearly killed while we were there. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2011
$24
This is a small campground, with a few very pretty sites overlooking a large wooded area. The bath house and laundry area were very clean and in good shape. It is close to Auburn and stores should you forget anything, but far enough away to enjoy the off-season peace and quiet. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2011
$17
This state park (an old CCC park) is only about 2 miles from I-85, but is in a rural wooded area near a reservoir. The staff inquired if we were using a satellite dish and assigned us to a pull- through with a good view to the south for the dish. Sites were a mix of back-in and pull-through. The price shown, for water, sewer, and electric, reflects the senior discount offset by an 8% sales tax (on food, too!). Each site is covered with pea-sized stone that drained well after a rain storm. The restrooms and showers were "early concrete block," but clean. We used this site to explore Tuskegee University and the airfield used by the Tuskegee Airmen for training in World War II. The campground was very quiet during our weekend stay. A nearby recreation path was great for a morning walk. We'd stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2010
$28
This is a beautiful park with nice wooded sites. There are several large sites; we were able to park our 39 ft toy hauler with room left for the truck. The guys in the office were very helpful. It is very convenient to everything in Auburn, but still feels like you are in the country. If you are looking for a campground with a lot going on during football season, then go somewhere else. This was relatively quiet even after a big victory. (War Eagle!) We had good Verizon service, and AT&T was adequate. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2004
$18
Lots of trees very narrow roadways getting in and out for a big rig. Due to the trees satellite would not work. Folks that like the more rustic state camps with smaller rigs would find this a beautiful park. I will stay in the nearby private park with cable TV next time. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2004
$16
Spent the night here passing through town. Very quiet and fairly clean. Some of the sites are a little small as far as containing picnic tables and fire rings. However, most of the sites are fairly well spaced. The lake is pretty. Would probably not visit this park again just to stay there. However, would certainly stay here again when passing through or had something to do in the surrounding area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2004
$18
Nice Park if you are visiting Auburn or just passing through. Wooded and quiet with several nice trails around a 50 acre lake. Swimming beach and boat rentals are a short walk from the campground. Campground is only a couple of miles from the interstate. Much better than the Private compground at the same exit. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
2003
$16
This state park is located four miles south Of Auburn and is convenient to I-85. It has 696 acres. It features a 26-acre lake, rental boats, picnic areas, and cabins. There is a four dollar charge for use of the dump station. They offer RV storage for $2 dollars per day or 40 dollars per month. They have several nature/hiking trails that lead to the waterfalls - very nice! I think that I would have rated it higher if the sites had been paved (they were gravel) and the rusted hard lock you needed to unlock every night after 8pm to get back into the park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com