214562 User submitted reviews online!!
Crater Lake RV Park ( AKA Prospect RV Park) was rated 8 out of 10 based on 37 user reviews. Phone: (541) 560-3399
CGID6011

Crater Lake RV Park ( AKA Prospect RV Park)

Camp Information
Sites
57
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$29



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   8   4   10   10   10   9   6   6   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2014
$29
This was our first stay here and was pleasantly surprised. This was our base camp to visit Crater Lake and the surrounding area. The staff was friendly and great. With a little maneuvering our site was level. Wi-Fi was spotty but enough for us to check our e-mail. Large trees everywhere. Even through the campground does not have laundry facilities, across the highway in Prospect is laundry, fuel and groceries. Make sure you stop once a Becky's Diner down the road, great breakfast and friendly staff. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2014
$32
Even though we were literally in the forest there are a few sites that can get satellite reception, and they knew exactly which one to put us in. Took a little maneuvering to point between trees but got a great signal. Utility hookups were convenient although the water spigot inside a plastic pipe was a little awkward. Asphalt roads and site. Great location for Crater Lake and other nearby sites, but a real desolate area otherwise, with only one semi-grocery store, pizza place, and gas station across the road. Beckie's Cafe about 11 miles away can't be beat but don't go there in a hurry. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
September 2013
$29
Park staff were very friendly and helpful, but that could not make up for the lack of cable (which their website says they have), the WIFI that was next to useless, and the sites that are very close together. This is not a satellite friendly park and we would not stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2013
$30
First time staying here and it was a good experience. Sites are nice as there are plenty of trees of varying heights around and between sites. However, maneuvering around the park is easy as the roads and sites are asphalt. One of just a few parks we have been to which turn out to look like their website - which is always great. The hosts are very nice, friendly, and the office has brochures and maps to make the stay and touring the area easy. No Verizon cell service available within the Park except on the porch of the office. However, the Park has free WiFi available. All in all a most enjoyable stay. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2013
$25
Owned and managed by friendly and personable staff that assisted us immediately upon check-in and helped guide us through setup. (The sites are huge!) We were provided maps of the nearby waterfalls, lakes, and trails as part of our welcome packet. They host Saturday and Sunday morning kaffeeklatsches and Saturday night campfires with hotdogs and s'mores at the big fire circle along with live entertainment. By the end of our stay we felt like part of the family. The big bonus is that they don't tolerate rude or unruly guests, so the atmosphere is relaxed, safe, and family-friendly. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2013
$30
This is my favorite RV Park to date. Very friendly staff to help with all your camping needs including guiding you into you camp site. Located about 43 miles south of Crater Lake National Park and minutes away from hiking, fishing, swimming and 200 miles of ATV trails puts Crater Lake RV Park number one on my list. Live music on Saturday evening by the Old West Trio during our stay and music around the campfire by fellow campers every other night. We will definitely be back for another visit. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$30
This park would have received a perfect 10 had the Wi-Fi worked. The folks and long term tenants were all so welcoming and friendly. Everyone seemed happy and the location was amazing. There is so much to do and see if we had only planned a weeks trip in Prospect. There is fishing, hiking and breath taking waterfalls all within a mile. From my entire Oregon adventure this was my favorite. If you love wilderness and peacefulness of being in the forest this is the spot. Crater Lake is only 25 miles up the road and must see if you have never been. We plan to return next year with the family and more time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2013
$35
We stayed for 2 nights. The park is "ok". A lot of rules. For example, no music "boom boxes" outside of RV. We enjoy listening to some music and enjoy a cocktail at night, not here. The bathrooms were small and HOT. One toilet in the ladies, and 2 showers. Spider webs everywhere, hair in the drains, but the toilet was clean. The "hosts" were nice people, only enforcing the rules given to them. The RV park is close to Crater Lake NP, the drive into the park is nice. There are many waterfalls to hike to and explore near the RV park, too. We travel without children, but I do not think this would be a good family park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2013
$28
This is a nice park for an overnight...we had to pay extra for 50 amp service and for a small dog. There are about a quarter of the sites taken up by long-termers or workers. The Wi-Fi was really non existent. When it worked, it was super slow. If you do not have satellite TV, there is no TV. There is a very small area that is supposed to be for cell service; we only got one bar. There is only one place for trash disposal, by the office. There are a lot of hikes and things to see and the pizza place in town is great! It is very wooded (hence no cell service) but close to highway. They say no tents, but there was a tent and another tent off a 5th wheel. The showers and bathrooms were so/so. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$29
This was one of the best stops on our trip. It's not for kids, but great for the older folks. You can only have TV if you have a Direct TV box, and Wi-Fi didn't work while we stayed there. There was just something relaxing about the whole place. If you ever stay here go down the road to Becky's and have a piece of pie. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$30
This was such a better stay than my previous review last year. I gave it a nine rating because there is only direct TV hookups and no cable. The campground hosts were fantastic and much more kid friendly that last year. They were a tremendous help with my friend's 8 year old daughter who required a visit to the urgent care facility in Medford. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2012
$30
We stayed a week at this beautiful park owned and operated by a wonderful couple. It is more like a bed-n-breakfast than an RV park. Pam drove us around the park in a golf cart to help us pick the best site for our large fifth-wheel trailer. They helped us plan our entire stay in the area handing us brochures, maps and giving recommendations for hikes and sights. They even helped us plan the next leg of our trip to Bend, OR. We have been on the road for two months across five states and this has been our favorite place. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2012
$30
This is a great park for people looking for friendly hosts and big sites in a pine forest with full hook ups. Owners and hosts want you to be happy and enjoy your stay while respecting other campers. They offer hot dogs and s'mores on most Saturday evenings with live music. Often cinnamon rolls and coffee on Sunday mornings! This is not your average park & rude, abusive, or unhappy campers are not welcome. It's not rule bound and they'll do what they can to provide a wonderful experience. However, because of carpets of pine needles all over the park if you smoke and throw a butt on the ground you will be refunded and asked to leave. They spend time giving you maps about the area as there is so much to see and do. You can walk to a small lake and fish off the bank. We are definitely going back for a longer stay as we missed so much. Great weekly rates. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$22
The good: Nice clean park, volunteers are very nice and hard working. Owners sponsor Sat and Sun morning coffee, muffins and cinnamon rolls, and Saturday night hot dog and smores with a bluegrass band. Price was for a 3 week stay, they charge extra for 50 amp. The bad: We could not get cell phone service with Verizon, on-site Direct TV did not work, hard to set up satellite due to trees, traffic noise. Would stay here again as the location is close to sights to visit. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$32
Our RVW group (22 rigs) camped here for four nights. The camp ground is beautiful - it's one of the nicest I've been too and more like a state park with hookups - you really feel like you are camping as you are among the trees. There are two "fire circles" with picnic tables for campers to use. On Saturday night the park hosts a hot dog and marshmallow roast. The weekend we were there they also had live music which was very nice. It was very hot while we were there - over 100 during the afternoon (though it cooled off at night) - and one afternoon the power went out to the whole park. They were quick to respond - letting people know what happened and getting the power company in to fix it. I think everyone using their AC overloaded the system. Some people with voltage meters said the voltage was close to being in the red (on the low side). Our site had great Wi-Fi but the site next to us could not get on. I think your location in relation to the trees and the Wi-Fi tower makes a big difference. The only place there was cell phone coverage was right by the office. They only have satellite TV and will rent you a box to hook into their system. It was on the expensive side and we didn't. I heard one of the camp hosts say that the owner is considering running cable TV (25 channels) to all the sites and pulling the Satellite TV as that system is aging. I don't know when or if that will really happen. They do have a large DVD collection they will loan out. Their website is incomplete with many unfinished pages and has been that way for a year or more so don't rely too much on that. It says that there is a whole set of rules concerning dogs, but I never found it on the website and they didn't hand it out with literature at the park when we signed in. However, no one bothered us about our dogs and there are some lovely trails to walk your dogs in the shade of the trees. As some other reviewers have noted, the camp hosts were very helpful but the owner can be difficult to deal with. I had problems with him while setting up this rally, but it worked out pretty well in the end. If you're traveling as a single rig I think you will find this park delightful. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2012
$30
If you are looking for an "upscale" park where people are parked next to each other and disappear into their motorhomes to watch TV each day, this is probably not the park for you. We, however, loved it. The "pool" is a nearby swimming hole. The "rec room" is an outdoor campfire circle, where the owners host a hot dog, s'mores roast each Saturday night, complete with folk music. We stayed a week. It is simply a lovely setting with carefully designed sites that are level. Ours was nestled under some large pine trees. The wi-fi works well (no cell service in most of the area). Cable is not included, but you are able to rent a Direct TV box for a very reasonable fee. We enjoyed sitting outside, just relaxing and looking at the great scenery. Lots of families, which we enjoyed, and it is clear the owners/staff take pride in this park. They provide a list of places we would not have otherwise found in this beautiful part of Oregon. One of the staff members, upon hearing we were craving fresh trout, even brought us fresh fish. How cool is that? Thanks. We will most definitely return to this park again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$35
This place is my new favorite campground. The setting is beautiful among tall pine trees. Sites are the largest I have seen. Office staff is very helpful and friendly (although double check the directions given by the "elder gentleman" in the office). The bathrooms need to be updated and they should have more than one "john" for 57 sites. No cable or cell service. I would surely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2012
$32
The park is beautiful. Spaces are large and the deepest I've seen anywhere. Good water pressure and hookups are in a good location for your rig. The owners got on to several kids for running in a common area (behind our trailers.) Telling kids they can't run in a campground--that's crazy! There is no cable TV, but you can rent a Direct TV receiver. There is a nice fishing lake about a 4 minute walk behind campground. There is a general store up the road for food, ice, and fishing licenses, etc.. There was a very talented country band playing on Saturday nights, and when my kids got up and danced they were told (by the owner) to sit down. I wouldn't say he is rude, but they're just not used to having kids in the campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$28
Nice park, office was very helpful with place to go and thing to see in the area. It is nestled in the pine trees so stays cool in the middle of the day. Wi-Fi was good, no cell service here except at the office. They have coffee and sweets on Saturday morning and campfire, music and hot dogs, smores on Saturday night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2011
$28
This is a lovely little park that is about nine years old. The owners live on the property and run the place. They are proud of their RV park and have an attention to detail. They are very nice and informative. They'll give you ideas on where to go for attractions and the best place to eat. You can't really reserve a particular site and the back row sites seem to be given to people who are staying longer than a week. However, we found a number of nice sites that were available for the mid-October stay here. The owner took us around in a little cart to help us decide which site we wanted. The place is lovely and near a number of attractions and waterfalls. The road noise from the highway was a little distracting and the bathrooms could be updated. I'm not sure about their choice of having showers in trailers instead of building permanent structures. They were clean, however, but lacked some privacy when showering. The rubber mat that you stepped on when getting out was nice, but I noticed that there wasn't a drain on the floor for water to drain when getting out. We didn't have AT&T phone service up here, but we did have the park's excellent Wi-Fi service to use. Only nine out of ten stars because of the road noise and funky showers. We would stay here again in a heartbeat. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2011
$41
Sites are paved and long with paved entry roads. Beautiful tree lined sites, lovely environs. Utilities OK. No cable TV. Could not connect with their Direct TV. Rest room facilities marginal, but clean. No Wi-Fi or phone service. Friendly check-in. Too many published "rules". Nearby Prospect a quiet and lovely town with great dining. Great access to Crater Lake, which is 35 miles away. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$34
Lots of trees. Pretty level large sites. Very nice on check in- they want you to have a nice visit. Couldn't get the Direct TV to work- but they tried. We had VERY spotty service on ATT. Close to some nice hiking/site seeing. I didn't use the shower,it was very clean, and we were told we could NOT run them out of hot water, hundreds of gal... Nice place, would stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$30
This is a real nice park, only about 8 years old. The owner and his wife are very pleasant people who have a lot of pride in their park. They build it and they are proud of it and so they should be. It's level, easy to get around, has tons of tall pine trees, all paved and extremely long sites as in perhaps 80 to 100 feet. You cannot get satellite here, but this man has installed DirecTV dishes all around the park and will loan you the cables to connect up to them. He will rent you a DirecTV box if you want. He is most helpful. He also allowed us to wash our RV which I appreciated much. I would recommend this park to everybody. It is very suitable to large motorhomes. It is quiet and priced fairly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$30
Staff is very friendly and help you anyway they can. We enjoyed our stay and would differently recommend this park to anyone visiting Crater Lake. No AT&T cell service in park but 1/2 mile down road ok. Big Rig friendly although some sites a little tight. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2011
$48
The park itself is a nice place, peaceful and quiet. The owner made us feel unwelcome enough that we will not be back. We stayed for 1 month due to business in the area. We had to move sites the very next day because there was a reservation on the 1st site we had, who never did show up by the way. We were told about the direct TV but not that it costs $100 a month and we were told about the wonderful fire pits but not that they cost 15 dollars for a 2 day period. We were also not told that we had to pay $5.00 for each little bundle of firewood since we were NOT permitted to bring in our own. We were also charged an extra $30.00 for my Expedition to be parked in the park. I am not a smoker myself but if you smoke this is not the place for you. Smoking is not allowed anywhere except by your trailer and you are not allowed to walk around at all. All in all in the hands of more professional management this place would become my favorite place to stay! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2010
$28
We loved this RV park. The owner and the hosts were welcoming, informative and knowledgable about the area. WiFi had a strong signal with excellent speed. Rural, beautiful location with hiking trail access from the park. Central location for all the sites to see: Crater Lake and numerous falls. Rv spaces were large. Satellite TV was available with 300 channels. We would definitely come back again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$24
I don't understand the negative comments about this park. We've been coming here for eight years and the owners and staff have always been friendly and helpful. We love this park. The sites are level and shaded by large pine trees. The restrooms and shower are spotless. You can walk to the river. There is also a hiking trail that goes for 42 miles along the river. We can let the dog off-leash on this trail so she can run and explore. You can hike, bicycle, drive, 4-wheel, or ride your OHV in the most spectacular scenery on earth. There are lakes and the river for swimming, boating, and fishing. There is food and gas in Prospect and the historic hotel serves a delicious dinner. The park is family and dog friendly. It's quiet at night so you can rest up for the next day's adventures. We look forward to coming here every year. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2010
$30
We have NEVER been treated so unprofessional or rudely by a park owner as we were from the owner! 25 years of camping we have always followed park rules and have had no problem with that. This park has way to many unreasonable rules to follow and they made us feel they watched our every move. Camping is made to be fun but we were very disappointed and upset!! Oregon has many beautiful parks to stay at but we would never stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$16
This is also known as Crater RV Park. With one exception this was a great park to spend a week at. Plenty of shade, quiet--although close to the road, the Park Hosts were friendly and helpful, the other employees were too. Wi-Fi signal was strong and had no problems with connections. The only thing that wasn't great was the owner. He has a bad attitude towards people. Luckily, he wasn't around after the first day's check in. It was mentioned that he suffers from COPD--well, in my opinion rude people are just that, sick or not. Would I stay there again? Maybe, if I could schedule my stay for when he isn't around. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2009
$29
This park is also call Crater Lake RV Park and signed as Crater Lake RV Park. The park is very nice but the staff is a little odd. The check-in process took close to 30 minutes due to the golf cart tour where I had to chose a site, and a lesson on all the sites to see in the area and how to get there. My wife had to sit in the car with the dogs during the entire process. I chose a pull through site, and was told they were too small for our trailer. Then I chose a much longer pull through site, but it was only for large class A's with a trailer in tow, so I could not have it either. We ended up with a large back-in site. There are a lot of rules for the campground, especially for pets and the sewer system, but we never received a copy or were told what these rules were. If your jacks leave a dimple in the asphalt site they can charge you $200 to repair the dimple, but the sites and roads are very bumpy because of the roots from all the trees. There is a coax jack, but it is a feed for DirecTV, but we were not told this by the staff I had to ask another camper how they got their TV to work. I think the staff is trying to make the park feel like a resort, but giving tours and making lots of rules do not make it a resort. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
August 2008
$24
Campground very clean. Blacktop sites with big pine trees. Tree roots growing under blacktop in many sites and on main drive. Nothing to do in park. Must travel many miles for activities. Camp host very friendly, and supplied coffee and pasteries each morning. We are full timers and have stayed in many campgrounds. The owner of this campground is rude and very inconsiderate. A very controlling person. We were very happy when our time to leave park occurred. Would not stay in this campground again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$30
The best thing about this park is its trails for dog walking and biking. We have big dogs who require two-hour walks, and we don't like to have to get in the car and drive to an area to walk them. This park had access to a number of beautiful trails with a river running along the edges. Downside: the sites were not as private as we had hoped, they charge for cable, and our site required leveling. If you are visiting Crater Lake, this is the only park with full hookups. I was not impressed with Beckie's Cafe, which previous reviews cite as having wonderful food. It had "bar food" and the pies weren't great. But, the trails make this park worth a visit if you are in the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2008
$30
The hosts were great! He gave me a quick tour in a golf cart so I could pick our spot. The entire staff was friendly and always smiling. The roads are paved and there are mature pines everywhere. Just steps outside our spot was a forest trail that goes along the river. A short walk takes you to some beautiful waterfalls and fishing holes. Clean showers and bathrooms. We'll be back! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
October 2007
$25
We stayed here for more than three months. The park is nice if you don't have to deal with the owner. Check in takes too long, No campfires, come on, whats camping without a fire? The Direct T.V he charges you for didn't work well at my site anyway. The paved sites are nice however the roots pushing up the asphalt on the road to your site are jolting and unsettled even the most secure of items in my trailer. We will not be back to this park We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2007
$30
This is a fabulous park nestled in the tall trees with level paved sites. The restrooms and showers are spotless. There is no campfires at sites due to a high fire risk however there is a large community fire pit with seating. WiFi is free, very good, and is available at each site. The water comes from a 600 ft. well and is very good. Picnic tables and BBQ stands (a large stump) are at each site. The owner is quite the character and takes pride in this park. Check-in was easy and friendly with a golf cart tour of the park to pick out your site and free maps with many local attractions, waterfalls, landmarks, etc. There is lots to see in this area and it's not that far from Crater Lake which is just unreal! Shopping should be done before coming here as mentioned in another review. The closest is in Shady Cove about 22 miles away. Be sure to check out "Beckie's Cafe" as the food is fantastic. Also right next door to "Beckie's" is home made ice cream. As an added note, I felt the most secure in this park versus any other we have stayed in. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2007
$28
We have never given this high a rating before, but this RV park truly deserves it. The paved level sites are widely spaced and nestled in the woods. DirecTV antennas are placed throughout the campground and cabled to the sites. The on-site owner loves what he is doing and it is reflected in the cleanliness and appearance of the park. At check-in he gave us a golf-cart tour of the campground. He is also knowledgeable about the area and is more than willing to share it with his guests. The price mentioned is the nightly rate, but huge discounts are offered for longer stays. This is not a resort, but a wonderful mountain retreat and a great place "to get away from it all." We are already planning a return visit. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2006
$29
Nice park with huge Douglas Firs overhead. Very rustic with lots of needles off of trees everywhere. Very nice and level asphalt pads. New electrical 50 amp electrical pedestals. No cable(one one TV station on antenna). No pay phone or cell service within 30 miles! Clean and nice but just a little rustic for us city slickers! The Old Propect Hotel has great food, kind of upscale and classy. Only Friday, Saturday and Sunday evenings. Call or stop by for reservations. Beckies Cafe in Unionville had great sandwiches and pie. Town of 800 people. Had to go to Shady Cove, 24 miles to get groceries. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com