217876 User submitted reviews online!!
Evangola State Park was rated 7 out of 10 based on 9 user reviews. Phone: (716) 549-1802
CGID6014

Evangola State Park

Camp Information
Sites
80
Date of Stay
May 2014
Latest Rate
$37



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   6   5   8   8   6   9   7   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  no  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  no  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2014
$37
Good state campground fairly near I-90 and Buffalo. Lots of weekenders with their kids and dogs. There are 3 camping loops: 50 amp, 30 amp, and tents. No water or sewer at sites, electric only. There are sewer dump stations available. Location on Lake Erie is exceptional. Park staff is very helpful and nice. Only complaint is too many poorly behaved and unsupervised kids and dogs. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2012
$23
This was a one night stay on our way home. There was no one at the gate, no instructions to leave your payment if leaving early in the morning. The 50 amp sites are just long enough for a big rig, but very narrow. The gravel could be replenished, and it appears not too much attention is given to RV sites. The view of the lake is beautiful, but being on a bluff, wisely protected by a metal fence. You have to pay a $2.75 surcharge for not making a reservation!. Living in New York State, we were disappointed that a beautiful area such as this is not given a priority by the State to better maintain the grounds. The sign coming in could use some paint. Gravel is inexpensive, and the sites could certainly use it. The sites are quite narrow and could easily be made wider since they are nicely spaced from one another. The picnic tables are very old and need replacement...not a big cost there. We would stay for an overnight, but would have to consider moving on if wanting to stay longer. Other states have much nicer campgrounds. Well worth a try if you're passing through. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2011
$28
$28 included our $5 non-resident charge and $2.75 non-reservation charge. We camped in MH in 30amp area on outer ring overlooking awesome Lake Erie. Aside from the filthy, unkempt, bug infested, trashy bathrooms and showers, this is a wonderful location and recreation area. My wife showered early, and I about 8:30 on a Friday morning. There were NO cleaning or maintain persons to be seen. Shower curtains torn, window screens falling off and broken, shower heads non working properly: a mess. Crushed rock site base with grass/dirt patio. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$22
Living in the Western New York area, my wife and I decided to try a "Lo-Cation", camping in our own neck of the woods. Evangola State Park has been around for some time. We have camped here before for weekends so we decided to spend a week (7 nights) and commute to our daily jobs etc. This park has a very friendly and courteous staff (as do most or all NYS parks). The outer perimeter sites in the two RV loops are for the most part shaded and level, with gravel pads for your rig. Again, like most state parks the sites are large and very spacious with each site having a post type grill and fire pit ring with grill grate atop it, great to do corn or potatoes in foil. A short walk along a waterfront trail brings you down to the sandy and well groomed beach area, though it appears most campers choose to drive the mile around from the campground which is off to one side of the overall park setting. Weekends can be somewhat crowded with large family groups covering two or three sites in a row with multiple tents set up on each site along with a RV of some type, though it gets pretty quiet by 10 PM. Bathhouses are clean, with cleaning staff getting in them by 7 AM some mornings to spray for bugs, power wash and re-supply before the morning shower etc. rush. Only complaint here is there could be another bathhouse because the aforementioned weekend crowds can tax their toilet tissue supply or available shower stalls (3 showers and 3 toilets for the men for whole campground) though there are additional facilities at the beach area. This park is near several beach bars well known in the Buffalo, NY area where you can get the feeling of being more in Florida than WNY. Overall my wife and I really enjoyed our week stay at Evangola and would highly recommend it to both locals and folks traveling through the area. We will return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$28
This park took a little getting used to. It could be so much more with very little effort and money on the part of the State of New York. They had put in new electric, which made my decision on it over Lake Erie State Park. We finally settled on a site that had a beautiful view of Lake Erie out our front window. The sites are spaced nicely apart. It is quiet. Cell service is marginal. I was a little put off by the extra $5 per day as an out-of-state visitor and the $2.75 one-time charge for not making a reservation on Reserve America with its $9 fee. Like all state parks, I believe the states should be charging more to keep them funded and maintained. Why not just charge a slightly higher amount to everyone and make the non-resident feel welcome? The nightly rate is the average over 5 nights. The restrooms need work; however, they were clean. They have recycling. Would definitely stay again. By the end of our stay, we came to love it and were sad to leave. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2010
$35
The park itself was very nice -- a peaceful waterfront location with good views of Lake Erie sunsets. The deceptive and offensive use of an assortment of extra fees make a joke of the published basic rates and make me unwilling to come again. While this may be true in NY state parks generally, it was truly ridiculous in Evangola -- extra charges for out of state visitors, an Indian tribal toll, a "walk-in" fee for those who manage to avoid the costly "reservation" fee, etc, etc. Charge whatever rate you want, but be honest about it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$24
Evangola State Park is a favorite among my children. We first visited this park in the summer of 2007. The beach is awesome. On our first trip to this park my oldest son, 11 at the time, asked if we were swimming in the ocean. To this day my children refer to this park as "the one with the big water." I would not say that this state park has the most organized family activities, but there are many other things to do. There is a paved bike path that runs from the campground down to the beach. There is also a disc-golf course. The park recently underwent some revitalization. Each site now has brand new electric hook-ups with 30 or 50 Amps. The bathrooms are getting old, but are kept reasonably clean. There are a few excellent sites. My favorite is site #41. It is off in a corner next to the park's only cabin. It offers a wonderful view of the lake (there is a fence since there is a cliff here) and the sunsets are fabulous. This park is also close to Niagara Falls. We visited Goat Island this summer, and I was surprised to find that I did not have to pay the $10 parking fee since I was a registered camper at Evangola :). We visit this park a few times each year. We are actually going there tomorrow for the weekend, but unfortunately someone beat me to site #41. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2007
$25
The rest rooms and showers were reasonably clean (if not odor free). Electricity could have been a problem with only 20 amp circuits, since the heat was unbearable. A few sites were more than 20 amp. So whenever the A/C and refrigerator were both on, I needed to heat our water by propane rather than electricity. The campground is situated only a short 10 minute walk from a small beach on Lake Erie. Only a few sites are fully shaded; some are partially shaded but the vast majority are in the open with no pull-thru sites. Surprisingly, there is a tennis court (although not lined) which was never used. Weekend reservations are advised ($9) since this campground begins to fill up on Thursdays for the weekend. Only one dump station and a couple of places where water tanks could be filled. Laundry washers are available. Don't miss the pretty sunsets over the lake. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2006
$13
Electrical connections were inconveniently placed and most were a long distance from RV requiring long extension cord. Poor drainage in several sites. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com