223434 User submitted reviews online!!
Ripplin Waters Campground was rated 8 out of 10 based on 23 user reviews. Phone: (865) 453-4169
CGID6020

Ripplin Waters Campground

Camp Information
Sites
155
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$30



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   9   8   5   6   8   5   8   10   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2014
$30
Nice park, very friendly and helpful at the front desk. We were met at our site and again were made to feel welcome. We soon realized that location was a big plus. It's just off I-40 before you get too far into the horrendous traffic through Sevierville, Pigeon Forge, and Gatlinburg. Tough enough sitting in traffic in your car, but navigating that congestion with an RV would be much worse. Park was clean, and with our Good Sam card the price was good given the heavy tourist interest. Folks were friendly and we went to a church service at the pavilion sponsored by a local congregation. Only problem was with spotty Wi-Fi performance. I wouldn't be in a hurry to go to that area again, but if we did I'd definitely return to Ripplin. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$29
Following a last-minute decision to take the camper out on a long holiday weekend -- and to a typically crowded "tourist spot," to boot -- we believe we made a good choice with this campground. Thanks to a cancellation, we were able to get a riverside site (our rate reflects Good Sam for this type site), which proved to be very pleasant. The staff was very friendly and helpful on the phone and at check-in, and a staffer in a golf cart led me to our site and helped me back the camper in, which is always greatly appreciated. Our site was level and plenty spacious for our 29' TT w/ slideout. This campground was generally very quiet (tho it is across the highway from one of the local helicopter tour operations, which is a sound we eventually got used to while outside), and appeared to be well maintained. Our grandson greatly enjoyed the nice pool (well, we did, too), and the adjacent bath house was very clean with good upkeep. There's also a small playground which we didn't visit. The free Wi-Fi was hit-or-miss while inside our camper (perhaps a function of being near the far end of the property), but no issues while outside. A big plus in my (i.e., the driver's) view was this campground's general location -- close enough to the various local attractions, but not "too close" as to be a traffic hassle, and close enough to I-40 to beat much of the departing traffic at the end of our stay. Should we opt for this trip again (we live ~90 minutes away), we would definitely consider returning here. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$33
My family loved the park. It was clean and quiet. The river site was great. It needs a better playground for the kids, but overall it is a great park for the money. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2011
$30
The staff was friendly, but the campground is not very well maintained. The grass immediately out our door was tall and needed to be cut. All the grass surrounding our site needed to be cut. Other areas that had been cut were full of dried grass clippings. As a result, taking pets out was messy. The sites are gravel, and ours was not level. This is a nice place for an overnight, but not longer. May be better if you have no pets. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2010
$30
We had a water front site with nice grassy area. The office staff was friendly and helpful. The small store was well supplied. I would have given a higher rating but the location was very congested due to the main road construction. There was a constant problem of getting in and out of this park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2010
$32
Good campground we were backed up to a river friendly staff nice level sites. With construction you can only enter the park from one direction and the helicopter rides across the street are noisy. Showers and laundry are not close to any campsite. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2010
$33
Lots of construction on road out front. It’s a real mess right now but should be much nicer when completed. When leaving you must turn right out of the campground and find someplace to make a U-Turn to get back to I-40. Lady in office was kind of sour and yelled at her son while registering us. Sites are cramped but fortunately the park wasn’t full so nobody was next to us. The full-time/seasonal sites are packed on top of each other and some are messy and dirty. Too steep to access river. Level sites, steady electric and water pressure. Small pool, looked clean but a long walk up hill from sites. Only one dumpster for the entire park which was also an uphill walk. Good for an overnight stop off I-40 but too far out and too much traffic and construction to battle to make this a good place to stay if you plan to go to Pigeon Forge, Gatlinburg, Dollywood or other attractions. Think we would try another place next time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$33
The Good 1) Staff is friendly 2) Close to lots of entertainment 3) Bathrooms are pristine 4) River is nice The not so good 1) No privacy whatsoever 2) sites too close together 3) Internet keeps dropping out and slow (I am on it now) 4) Older folks in big rigs the norm. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$32
This is a beautiful RV park, right on the river. The park is well kept with beautiful trees and grassy sites. The roads and parking are gravel but the gravel is tightly packed making for easy driving and walking. The management was friendly and helpful. I would definitely stay here again! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$28
This is a large park situated on a stream and they have a pool. We managed to get in here just before a major thunderstorm, so I was hooked up before the rains came. There is cable TV but we found the All Stars game using the antenna so we left it that way. There are many stations you can get with an antenna. The internet and TV came and went but I have to blame that on the storm. When it back up and running, both ran well. We are going to stay here 3 days. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$33
This campground is a little far out to be used to see Gatlinburg. However, it is within a reasonable distance for going to one of the two main Flea Markets. The smaller of the two is within walking distance. The sites seem to be laid out in an efficient manor. All the sites look to be mostly level. The site (#80) we were in, needed just a little bit of leveling. Most all sites come with a picnic table and they all look to be in good shape. Some of the river sites come with a concrete pad that the table sits on. Plus, some of the river sites have a built in grill. There are no fire rings in this campground. The WiFi worked but was spotty at times. The pool was of good size and looked to be in good repair. There were not enough chairs and table for the number of sites in the campground. The roads were all gravel and were not dusty at all. The river is all but useless. It is too steep to go down to and looks snaky as well. The bathhouse was in good shape but this campground could use another one for the amount of sites they have. We did not use the cable TV. The sewer drained well and the water they had was ok. The only thing I can complain about it the helicopters that flew overhead. There was a tour company just across the hwy. Also, getting back out was a little trouble. You have to make a right and find a place to turn around to get back to the interstate. The owners were more than pleasant to deal with. This campground does not allow tents. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2010
$25
We had reservations at another park, but the ownership changed hands and the new owner's were rude. We contacted Ripplin Waters Campground and they agreed to let us hold our Good Sam Chapter campout here. The staff and the park could not have been any better. Campgrounds were great. I would like to see them add an enclosed pavilion at some time. I will also be glad when the road construction is finished as it is a little hard to return to I-40. Was it worth it? YES. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2010
$28
We stopped there coming down westbound from the Smoky Mountains National Park. This place is quiet even if it is near a main road. Owners are friendly. The restrooms and showers are ultra clean. Lots of trees in the campground but bushes between sites would be great for a little privacy. We would stop there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2010
$33
Very nice campground. Good location, spacious sites, very clean restroom/showers. The staff was very friendly and helpful with guiding us into our spot. The only downer was no fire rings, but it was rainy and cold when we were there. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2009
$29
This beautiful campsite is on the river in the heart of town. The level sites are well spaced and include free cable and wi-fi. There's lots to do in the area and we would come back here for a week's vacation. Down the street is a drive through automatic motorhome wash which we haven't seen before. We'll try it on our way out of town. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$45
This was our second trip to the Gatlinburg area where we stayed for 2 nights. The park is actually a little off the road and that was very nice for the peace and quiet we like when camping. The sites were very close together, which wasn't optimal, and there weren't very many trees. We usually request shady sites. The park wasn't full, so we didn't have someone right next to us, which made it better. The restrooms and showers were excellent, clean and nicely organized. The check-in person the next morning seemed to have no idea that we changed to a spot next to the one we were assigned, and she didn't have a clue who we were or if we had a reservation, completely misspelled our name despite the fact that I spelled it repeatedly for her on the phone. This park is convenient for Gatlinburg sites, convenient for the interstate and quiet. It is clean and has all the amenities we usually need and want in a park and was just fine for a couple days stop. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$40
Very nice level park. It is all gravel with grass patio areas, but not dusty at all. Pool and park are decent. Only complaint is that it is directly across from a helicopter tour company, but you get used to them. It's up away from the action...but also away from the traffic. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2008
$40
Nice park for quick stops. Overall well taken care of. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2008
$22
Cable was not working well. Got more stations on antennae. Wireless not working well. Had to move site and then took a couple of days for them to reboot system We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2008
$26
Clean and pleasant with level sites. Short drive to Pigeon Forge, etc.,and out of the worst of the traffic. Campground was having a problem with cable. Limited channels. Could do without the U-turn leaving. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2007
$26
Sites real nice and level.Staff nice and friendly. Bath house and rest rooms located up hill across from office they where all pretty clean but a long walk from the campsites. Wifi signal great, pool all ready closed. Awful entrance coming from Sevierville, had to go pass the campground and make a u turn, when we left we needed to go to 1-40, so had to go right and make a u turn, no crossover, really bad. The campground is located to far away from any main attractions if you want to go to Pigeon Forge, Gatlinburg, and the National park. It's a terrible drive, just to far and the traffic is terrible. If you want to go to the Smokey Mts and just relax and not do nothing it would be a nice place to stay. From what I saw, the store was stocked with a limited supply of merchandise. I can not recommend staying here if you want to go to Dollywood or any shows, etc, as the drive will get you. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2007
$26
This is our 2nd time at Ripplin Waters. We truly enjoy this campground. Mostly because you do not have to deal with the Pigeon Forge/Gatlinburg traffic just to get to your campground. We used to stay in Pigeon Forge but have decided we prefer Ripplin Waters. We have learned some backroads to get into town when we want and it is must easier to drive without a trailer when picking some of the less traveled roads. The only thing that I would say is bad is the left turn when you are leaving and needing to go back to I-40. You have to go right and make a U-Turn. But my husband says that is not a problem for him, after all he is driving. Park is clean and even though there are some children, it is still quiet. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2006
$25
Very nice park, friendly, helpful staff. Sites were all clean and nicely landscaped, most are average size for a commercial campground. Restrooms and showers were very clean but are located across from campground office and store and are a good walk from most camp sites. Wifi available but I don't know how well it works since I don't have a need for it. Some seasonal campers in park but all sites were well kept with no junk etc. Very good park if you want to stay out of the worst of the crowds in the Pigeon Forge and Gatlinburg area. Be warned, if you stay on a peak weekend, the drive into these area may take an hour or more because of heavy traffic. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com