223354 User submitted reviews online!!
Red Canyon Campground (Dixie National Forest) was rated 8 out of 10 based on 11 user reviews. Phone: (435) 865-3700
CGID6023

Red Canyon Campground (Dixie National Forest)

Camp Information
Sites
35
Date of Stay
September 2014
Latest Rate
$7.5



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   8   10   7   10   6   8   8   9   5   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2014
$7.5
This is a really nice U.S. Forest Service campground. Sites are well-spaced and all have paved areas on which the picnic tables, grills and fire rings sit. Water is easy to find as there are spigots scattered around in the various campground loops. Dump station area was paved. Only negative is the lack of cellphone (AT&T) and Internet (Verizon.). Dish worked just fine. The rate reflects our Senior Pass discount. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$9
Very basic Forest Service campground. Pit toilets, no hookups etc. Very convenient to Bryce Canyon, just down the road. We'd stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2012
$7.5
This campground is a Gem. The colors in the canyon are the brightest red that I've ever experienced. The host was most helpful and friendly. It's quiet there, in spite of being near the highway into Bryce Canyon NP. There is actually Wi-Fi in the loop on the right, but Verizon works adequately for phone and text is the other loop. There is a great trail, some five miles in length, that rivals those in Bryce. It's on my list for a return visit. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2010
$15
This park sits right next to the scenic byway 12, so there is some road noise. This park is NOT very big rig friendly! The loops in the road are tight and they are lined with sharp boulders. We tore up a tire, saw a motorhome bounce over a rock, and later talked to a volunteer at the forest service visitor center who had also torn up a tire in this campground. If you are in a smaller rig, the sites have beautiful views and there are trails right from the campground. A paved bike trail is adjacent to campground and highway 12. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2010
$15
Red Canyon is a smaller version of Bryce Canyon, just as beautiful. Campground is near hiking, biking trails and a great base for Bryce. Only 10 miles to supplies. Cleanest vault toilets I've ever seen. Recycling available, water and dump station. A great value and beautiful! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2009
$7
This is a nice campground but not big rig friendly due to the narrow road and vegetation at roadside, overhanging trees and close trees at sites. Careful planning is needed for the slideouts. We mentioned tree-trimming to the forest service and the host so hopefully some will be done. The area is beautiful. We will TRY to stay again in our 40' motor home and car. There are flush toilets, no showers, no hookups. There is a dump station. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2009
$6
The May 2009 review is indeed not this campground. This is a nice, no hookup US Forest Service campground. The access roads and sites are paved or hard packed gravel. It’s in a forested area with ample space between the majority of sites. There are pit and flush toilets and one shower facility. There are a couple of community water faucets to fill holding tanks. There is a posted diagram of the campground near the entrance: it’s worthless. The left side of Loop B is the place for big rigs with several back-in and three crescent shaped pull through sites. Sites in Loop A vary in size. The campground is right at Red Canyon FS Park and about 20 minutes from Bryce NP. The fee is based on a Golden Age/Access rate discount and the rating is based on like, no hookup campgrounds. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$6
The "Red Canyon Campground" is a NFS "Dry Camping" type campground located approximately 4 miles East from the intersection of Hwy 89 and Hwy 12 on the right hand side going East towards Bryce Canyon. The first review here is not for this campground but for the "Red Canyon RV Park" (a private park)located approximately 1 mile from the same intersection on the left going East on Hwy 12. I have also given the correct website for this campground (hopefully it will be changed as it was wrong also). The $6 rate is for Golden Age Passport otherwise the rate is $12. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$12
A great forest service campground. It's divided into 2 sections, I prefer the Western side. Paved sites with enough vegetation in between to give privacy. Has a very nice double dump station. Beautiful area just a few miles from Bryce Canyon. Be sure and visit National Forest Visitor Center just west of Campground. They have maps of the area along with much more. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2009
$25
This is a rustic campground directly next to highway 12 on the way into Bryce Canyon National Park approx 15 miles before the visitor center and seven miles from Panguitch. The management was friendly and helpful. Road noise from highway 12 dies down after dark. Full hookups. Very pet friendly. The campground appears to have new campground cabins, but the campground itself could use a lot of cosmetic fixing up to make it more attractive. Roads into the park are gravel and the sites are level with no shade. We were level when I parked. We camped there two nights while seeing Bryce Canyon. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2006
$12
This is a National Forest (NFS) campground next to highway 12 on the way into Bryce Canyon National Park approx 15 miles before the visitor center. The closest town is Panguitch which is approx 11 miles from the campground. This is a very rustic campground and the road noise from rt 12 dies down about dark every night. There is a wash at the entrance to the campground which can leave you stranded either inside or outside the campground when it rains hard which it did to us one afternoon while we were inside the campground. Sites are spaced far apart and roomy with picnic tables and fire pits set in a concrete patio. There is an on-site campground host during the season. We stayed there thru the last day the campground was open until it closed for winter on Oct 14th. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com