223192 User submitted reviews online!!
Whitetail Ridge COE was rated 9 out of 10 based on 12 user reviews. Phone: (706) 884-8972
CGID6028

Whitetail Ridge COE

Camp Information
Sites
58
Date of Stay
April 2014
Latest Rate
$24



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   6   9   8   10   10   9   9   10   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2014
$24
This is a very nice Corps of Engineers park on West Point lake. The sites are well spaced and offer lots of privacy. Water and electrical hookups were fine and I did not experience any problems with either. The front office personnel were very hospitable and helpful. They do a great job. The only objection to the park is that its about 12 miles or so from the nearest city. Other than that, its a wonderful park and we will be coming back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2014
$24
Most of the sites within Whitetail Ridge COE are spacious. Most sites can accommodate large rigs and there is usually a space near the site to park a truck or tow. All of the interior roads were on asphalt. Some of the sites were on gravel while others were on asphalt. The interior roads were pretty narrow. There are only two buildings for bathrooms and only two shower stalls (per sex) for the entire campground. The loop we were in was only a ΒΌ filled and yet the electrical voltage was hovering around 115. I would image that during the summer the voltage would be a potential problem. All sites had 20/30 amp service. The utilities were located at the rear of the site. No Wi-Fi was available. Verizon cell phone and internet access was good. As of March of this year, all sites are on the reservation system. To avoid going through the town of LaGrange take exit 13 off of I-85, then take Pegasus Hwy which is just north of the Pilot truck stop. My GPS did not show this route but Goggle Earth did. I am assuming that this campground would get pretty busy during the summer. We would camp here again but only off-season. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$12
This yet another wonderful Corps campground. This one is adjacent to Holiday, and they are essentially the same: clean and well-maintained camp sites, rest rooms, playgrounds, and all. Many of the sites are right on the lake and the rest are just a short walk away. The camp hosts are very friendly and diligent about keeping the campground in top shape. There are about half a dozen campgrounds at West Point Lake. They are all so nice that even though we live in the area, we frequently go "camping" just because the experience is so good. The stated rate reflects the Senior Discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$12
There are several COE parks at West Point Lake. This one had one of the best AT&T cell phone signals and internet access on our mi-fi card. Sites were level, we didn't have any problems getting in or out with our 40 foot rig. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2012
$24
This is a Corps of Engineers Park, located on West Point Lake, with 500 miles of shoreline. 58 sites with water and electric. Good paved roads, with paved driveways and cement slabs for each site. Most sites on the water. Open March 23rd to November 24th. The "Senior Gold Card" is honored for 50% off campsite price of $24.00/night. 23 walkin sites. 58 sites with 30 amp electric and water, 4 pull through sites. Maximum vehicle length is 65'. Clean bathrooms and showers. Less than 10 miles to great town with good shopping. WWW.recreation.gov or 877-444-6777 for reservations. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2011
$25
We were very happy with our stay in this campground. Another great COE campground experience! The site had all the basics, water electric, level site, fire ring and a bonus lake front. The site was a little tricky to back into. But, the site was plenty big once parked and set up. We will visit again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2011
$10
COE Campground which is very nice. Clean showers and big sites. This is a very peaceful campground and is very well maintained. Staff was very friendly and helpful. The only reason I didn't rate it a 10 is the lack of 50-amp service. I will definitely come back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$24
This was our first visit to the park. We stayed in site 2. This is a COE park. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Virtually all of the sites would handle good sized rigs. I was amazed at the open public area in virtually every site. These were the biggest I have seen. Good group gathering potential. The only reason I gave this park a 9 is the distance between shower houses. There are two in the park and one general bathroom that we noticed. If you do not have a self contained unit, be prepared for a hike to the shower. We look forward to camping here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2010
$11
Fantastic COE park. Combination concrete, asphalt, stone pads which are level. Sites spaced out 50-200' apart. Excellent park just to get away from people. Few trails but lots of good roads and shallow clay sand beaches. All lots are wooded with minimal lights for great dark nights. Restrooms far from sites. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2007
$20
This is a Corp. of Engineers Park. They are always beautifully maintained. We loved staying here with nature, directly on the Lake in a 45' motor home. Though we couldn't get in every site, there were plenty to choose from. We only had to be aware of which sites would allow us to use the Satellite. In the hot Summer months, 30 amp would not have been enough. We will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2006
$20
Very laid back campground. Almost all sites are waterfront. Bathhouse was very clean and also has washer and dryer. You can pull your boats up to a majority of the sites. We did experience ants but it could have been the time of year.. It does have a playground for kids. It also has 3 double-unit campsites. Please don't forget the kids bikes and if you have a boat it would be a bonus. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2006
$20
Whitetail is very nice and quiet.. Very spacious.. If you go in the summer months please bring something for ants. We had treated the ground w/ powder ant stuff but did not bring any spray and they were entering the camper thru the roof area.. I guess they were falling out of the trees. Don't get me wrong w/ love the campgrounds but I guess the ant thing is due to the lack of rain.. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com