219007 User submitted reviews online!!
White Pines Campsites was rated 5 out of 10 based on 16 user reviews. Phone: (860) 379-0124
CGID603

White Pines Campsites

Camp Information
Sites
209
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$58



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   2   1   5   1   2   5   7   6   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  no  question  no  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  no  question  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2014
$58
First thing to remember is the name of the park is "campsites" not "RV resort" Which makes it a mixed bag. Staff was friendly, and responsive to emails. Good cable TV connection which was important as trees on edge of field were too high for Dish Network. Have 39' fifth wheel, put us on end lot pull-through which normally would be a good thing... except here the lot was so narrow our front door was only 6 feet from road. Roads were not made for big rigs, e.g., tight turns with tree overhangs. If you have smaller camper, or pop up and don't need Wi-Fi [at your site] or sewer probably be OK. FYI, a killer mountain climb if you try to get there from US 44 BEFORE Winsted. Instead follow US 44 through town to CT 8 then right on CT 20 and finally right to Reballard Rd which becomes Old North. You and your truck will be much happier. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
August 2012
$46
Very disappointing. Came here because it was only camp with vacancies. We can see why. Saw poor ratings online, called management, they said those problems were old and had been corrected. Not. Bathrooms dirty and mildew everywhere. Stall doors do not shut completely and no locks. Huge gaps in walls between stalls; you can see into next stall. Stalls so narrow they only fit skinny people. They gave us a "level" site that wasn't...even though there were many better sites available. A scheduled activity while we were there was Kareoke nite. From 8 until nearly midnight, loud amplified lousy singing could be heard all over the campground, with drunken yelling and cursing. We had young children trying to sleep, but were told the noise could be as loud as they like until quiet hours at 11. On the plus side, pool was nice, but crowded. Most campers here were seasonal. I would never stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2012
$46
The most disgusting place I have seen. Mostly full time Hatfield / McCoy antique trailers. Bathrooms were ancient with plywood covering holes in the floor and broken windows. I wouldn't have used the showers if I fell in the septic system. Roads (if you can call them that) were potholes and boulders where you had squeeze through trees. You need to rent an access card to get back in the front gate after you leave. If the store is closed, you can't get in, even though the sign says access until 11pm. We found that out the hard way at 6pm. Luckily I have a Jeep and they have a poor fence. "Fishing pond" is 50 feet from the pump out. Avoid at all cost. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2011
$45
We had a family reunion nearby so I stayed here. Was only one night and we parked in the "field" area. Staff was very friendly and helpful. The field area is open, so it's good for satellites. Around the edges of the field are seasonal and some permanent units. People were nice: helping to pull some branches out of the way as I pulled up through to get to my site. Dogs were not on leashes and some "gifts" were left behind. The pool seemed very popular and the store was open with a good selection of food and supplies. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2009
$53
Our family was not happy with our experience at this campground. The restrooms are dirty and poorly maintained. The sites seemed very congested and many of the seasonal sites were in poor condition. The snack bar was not opened when it was supposed to be and the office staff was rude to us when we questioned them about this. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
August 2008
$49
This is really the worst campground we ever stayed at for the price. It is clearly not worth $49 a night. The entrance is like coming into Tijuana Mex. The sites are mostly taken by full time campers. They have very wooded sites (you will not see the sun) and a field. There is a nice pool, clubhouse, arcade for the kids, playground, and a nice little fish pond. Everything is old and worn out. The help is very nice, as are the campers, except the volunteer security guard that is a bit like a corrections officer. Considering you could stay in the Keys (Bahai Honda state park)for $25 this is really a rip off, but there are not many choices in Northwest CT. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2008
$39
Campground is mostly on a hillside with narrow and very rough roads. The sites are very close together with most sites having long term permanent trailers, some with strange decor. Appears to be a place families come to escape the city and let the kids run, but it appeared to me they just traded one form of congestion for another. We stayed two nights since just visiting the area, but if returning to the area we would look for a different cg. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2007
$35
Nice campground, lots of activities for kids. Wooded sites are really tight, but sites in the field area have plenty of room. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2007
$60
We stayed in the field area which was not bad. We were supposed to stay in the upper woods in a "pull thru" site. I could not fit my 27 ft. trailer and use my awning. They did let me move. Good pool and lots of activities for kids. Bathrooms and showers were very dirty and smelled horrible, but we did not have to use them. We would return for a weekend stay but not longer then that. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2007
$40
All in all we had a great time here. It was a 2 night stay. The roads are a bit tight, but we asked for a wooded site and got one. Not just a tree or two but we were in the woods. The pull through was easy to get into, but left my truck a bit close to the seasonals in front. The staff was very polite and accommodating over the phone and in person. We had no issues with noise. The playground could use a freshening (some of the Little Tikes items had seen better days) in some areas but over all my son enjoyed it. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2007
$70
We camped in "the field". The sites were tight but had room to accommodate our awnings, dolly, and towed. The $70 per night rate was because it was Memorial Day weekend, and it was $210 for 3 nights. They had tons of activities for the kids and adults to do! The staff was very friendly, the park was kept clean. Some seasonal sites. We would camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2006
$42
The park was very well kept up, rec staff was awesome. We had a lot of fun. Looking at the park, you see a LOT of seasonals, but the staff is friendly to everyone. The store had mostly everything we were looking for. Fresh popcorn, slushies, soup, lots of toys for the kids, etc. Snack bar was good. Pool was spectacular. I'm not sure how they keep it that clean with so many people using it!! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2006
$39
This campground has a lot of seasonals, but we have found them to be very welcoming. On two occasions while we camped there, they have hosted parties for the entire campground, including weekend campers. This particular weekend had a wedding theme. Two couples got married, and we renewed our vows (20 years). The camp staff went out of their way to bake us a special anniversary cake and include us in all the wedding festivities. They roasted turkeys for a reception dinner and supplied wedding favors, decorations and music/dancing. Weeks later, we received a CD from them containing pictures of our ceremony and the other memorable events. It must have been a lot of work. It was a blast. We did have some trouble leveling our RV, so they graciously let us move to another site. The management changed within the last 2 years. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. I would encourage anyone to give this campground a try. It's worth getting to know the people because that's why we will return again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2005
$40
This campground seems to cater to seasonals. Our site was very tight and uneven but was nicely shaded. When we set up our camper, we had a problem with the door and could only stay one night when we had reservations for two. We packed up to take our camper to the dealer the next morning. We asked if we could return the next weekend to use the second day we paid for. The campground did not accommodate that request or grant a refund. We will not return. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2005
$40
We have camped at White Pines on 3 or 4 occasions, in-season and off season. Each time, the staff was always friendly. It can be difficult to level the camper in the field sites but there are worse campgrounds. There are always lots of activities for the kids and those activities cater to various age groups. I have recommended White Pines to friends and relatives. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
2003
$38
It wasn't a very nice looking campground. Our site was very small and hard to manuver into and once we were in it, we were unable to put our awning out. The restrooms were dirty and old. There wasn't enough either, instead they had port-a-potties, which were gross. The playground was ok and the same goes for the pond. The store was not very well stocked, although the staff did seem nice (there wasn't a lot of them though). We won't stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com