223427 User submitted reviews online!!
Fort Hamby Park COE was rated 8 out of 10 based on 9 user reviews. Phone: (336) 973-0104
CGID6036

Fort Hamby Park COE

Camp Information
Sites
29
Date of Stay
June 2013
Latest Rate
$22



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   10   8   7   10   8   5   7   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$22
This was our second visit here. We stayed in site 29. Very large and roomy sites. Lots of trees and well shaded. Sites are spread out for privacy. Swimming beach is a short drive away. I only wish it was in walking distance. Bathhouse was clean and up to date. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2013
$22
Big sites. It is very clean. Site 19 has a nice view of the lake. I did have problems with the water hookup. It wouldn't stop leaking. I tried everything (yes, my washer was the first thing I checked). We went exploring to see the two other campgrounds. This was the best for quiet, big sites with nice views. But the other two are superior also. Shopping, etc is just a few miles away. They said that had Wi-Fi, but it isn't reliable. I had great cell phone service though, so I created my own hotspot. We didn't get any TV. Oh, well. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2013
$22
We stayed here while attending Merlefest. Lovely, quiet wooded park. Big rigs (we are 41 feet + tow vehicle) should unhook before going to sites as the road to the camping area is narrow, twisting and winding. #19 pull thru was only one adequate for our size rig, but we choose a long back in site closer to showers/restrooms. Firewood available for sale at the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2012
$22
Overall we had a good time. We had some issues at the newer bath house with water pressure, and some people had issues with having hot water. From experience, I think they have tank-less hot water tanks in that bath house. They can some times be tricky. The older bath house had wonderful water pressure though. The folks in the check-in office were so nice and helpful. They had life jackets and bike helmets you could use. The biggest issue we had was the amount of poison oak/ivy all around. What was growing up the trees looked like they had just tried to kill some of it, but hadn't died yet, still very green and obvious. There was tons on the ground all around our campsite though, with kids it was hard to make sure they were not in it. It felt crazy making them stay in the road. Don't go in the grass. So we had a large concern about tons of kids in the road with some traffic that would go way too fast. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2012
$22
This was our first time at Fort Hamby. We stayed in site 12 which was very roomy. All the sites were well maintained. The bathrooms were updated and clean. Camping sites are down one road and the swim beach, park, and boat ramp are down another. Because the amenities are down another road it makes the camping area very quiet and peaceful. Sites are very well shaded. The roads are hilly which is why I left my bicycle at home, but the younger crowd enjoys that. Swim beach was clean, and there is a parking lot right next to it. There are some trails to the water and fishing was very popular. There is a Walmart, restaurants, and other shopping about 5 miles away. If you are coming from Wilkes, the Walmart is on the left before you get to the campground. The office sells ice and firewood, and you can borrow life jackets there, also. We enjoyed our stay and would camp there again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$22
Huge sites, typical of COE campgrounds. Three sections: one near the new bathhouse, one hilly in the middle, and one near the water. Some sites have steep hill. We were in very large and level site 3 near the bathhouse, with shade and a nice wooded view. Other loops are a drive to get to bathhouse. It is about a mile (hilly) walk to the swim area. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2008
$20
Sites was good but the amenities were bad. All activities were a quarter mile away down another road. The bath house was still incomplete. It had, in our opinion, a good tent area and that's it. We will not be back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2007
$20
This campground is undergoing development and I think it will be a great campground when it's completed. I hope they plan on a shower/bathroom facility but I didn't see any place for that. The spaces are set up for privacy but not isolation. The roads need improvement in some areas - big washout areas and I noticed a few fifth wheels that scraped when making a turn. The roads are steep in some areas. The swim beach is closed for improvements now but season is a few weeks away. The hiking trails are not marked which should be done. Overall a good park and it's only getting better. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2006
$20
the cg is the nicest of the three on the lake to me very big sites parked a 30ft camper and 3500 crew cab dolly and another truck with boat in site now thats big has a table fire ring with grill top two lantern post and a separate grill for cooking about 90% shaded next site is about 20 to 30 feet away very privet sites level on gravel pad bring dry dock tote no sewer has a dump station has a gate with a card pass to get in and out boat ramp swimming beach playground theater and panic shelter only reason not giving a 10 is that the cg is under going a facelift now and no lake side camping other than that it a great place for us to go the kids love it ride bikes all day there we camp here several times a year we are local call ahead because its small and goes fast even on weekdays for weekends you need to plan ahead for staying here camped here in a travel trailer We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com