223474 User submitted reviews online!!
Happy Traveler RV Park was rated 5 out of 10 based on 20 user reviews. Phone: (813) 986-3094
CGID6038

Happy Traveler RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
224
Date of Stay
April 2014
Latest Rate
$18



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
1   1   4   10   7   7   3   5   8   3   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
April 2014
$18
Where do I start? This park is very convenient to attractions, shopping and outdoor venues. That's where it ends. The park is old, depressing looking, and spaces are very tight. A lot of permanents and seasonal people that have accumulated a lot of junk and mold. The RV storage area is neater looking than most of the park. They might as well throw away the rules, since they are not always abided by. On a daily basis three of the seasonal guests near us allowed their dogs to bark and run loose. One of the violators is a staff member. Lastly, the office Manager seems to be very organized but needs some "friendly" training. I have never graded a park this low and would never stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
April 2014
$24
We stopped here to visit some friends that were staying for a short time as the park is close to their family. Pros: Close to a Winn-Dixie and a huge Flea market, that's it. Cons: The "new" office manager is the most abrasive and condescending person we have ever encountered on our travels. I'm 100% certain that her goal in life is to turn away and discourage anyone from staying here that is not a seasonal customer. The park is mainly seasonal's with a lot of permanent looking 5th wheels and travel trailers with built on decks and tent/storage buildings and "stuff". Older population, have only seen one child in the 10 days we've been here. To add insult to injury, we had our fairly expensive bicycle stolen. A few others in the park suffered thefts, and our neighbor also had their golf cart stolen. No apologies, no updates from management thus far. We would never recommend staying here nor would we ever return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
January 2014
$30
This could be a nice park, but there are a lot of units that have been here for awhile and have a lot of accumulated "stuff" around them, giving it a run down look. Sites are not paved and are extremely tight. No cable. Lots and lots of sand to contend with. We found out the hard way some of the long term residents don't adhere to the leash law on pets. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2013
$32
We have been seasonal campers here at Happy Traveler for 7 years and have seen many positive changes in the park. It is conveniently located to everything: shopping, doctors, nature parks, amusement parks, and museums. The staff is very friendly and courteous and the campers are also. There are multiple activities to be involved with and/or participate in, even if only a short-time camper. We do not, or would not hesitate to recommend Happy Traveler RV Park to anyone. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2013
$26
I have stayed here before and we were not too pleased. We returned this year and the park is under new management who have done some wonderful updates and are busy with many more. The management and staff are very friendly and helpful. What we love about this park is the close proximity to the I-75 (no interstate traffic noise) which enables you to be able to access everywhere in Tampa Bay so easily.(including Busch Gardens, Moffitt Cancer Center and the VA Hospital). There is a Winn Dixie supermarket right next door and the Big Top Flea Market is across the street. This park also has great huge Oak trees which are a blessing under the hot Florida sun. We did notice that there are only a couple of pull through sites and because of that plus the fact that most sites do not have cable TV, is the reason why I did not give Happy Traveler a higher rating. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2012
$28
Park is an older one, but staff and fellow campers were very helpful and nice. Dog friendly. Park is nice and quiet, site was fairly level, and wide enough for our slide and awning. We didn't participate in park activities, park is deceivingly big. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2011
$26
This was our second park in Tampa, Fl. This park is quite old but everyone here are friendly. We were made to feel very welcomed. Lots of large trees, lots of dirt on sites. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
January 2011
$38
We've used this campground on and off for the past 10 years and it is extremely disappointing to see that repairs to the bathrooms have been neglected. Why? The Rec Hall has severe water damage but nothing has been done to correct the problem. Why? while the park caters to seasonals, there were a number of empty sites. Price reflects Good Sam discount and $3 a night charge for cable TV. I think it's time for us to look for another campground in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2010
$32
Our campsite hasn't been used in a long time. We couldn't find the sewer connection because grass had grown over it. Once it was uncovered by a park worker it was ants, ants, and more ants. I spread some comet around the tires to keep the little intruders out of the MH. The site was not level and the weeds needed mowed. Many permament Rvers here and all of them were friendly and helpful. The staff was very helpful in pointing us in the right direction to the places we needed to visit. Would we return? Yes, but we want a site that's level next time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
December 2009
$30
I wish we would have had more time to find a different campsite or driven around before committing. We were planning on staying in the area for a few days, but we won't stay here again. Cons: 1. Advertises Wi-Fi but you have to pay for it. 2. Asked for a concrete pad because I'm allergic to ants, the manager said there were no ants in the park. Our pad and grass were covered with lots of ants and anthills. 3. Smells like poo due to sewage treatment plant. 4. Very, very crowded: the sites are so close to each other. 5. There is only one dumpster. 6. Lots of signs telling you to clean up after your dogs, but no bags made available to help you out; or trashcans along the way to put the bags in! 7. The laundry in front is really old and pretty gross. There are tow others, but I didn't check them out. Pros: 1. Price is decent and you get a Good Sam discount. 2. They have an ok rec-center with games, a library and free coffee. 3. Located close to some fun things like MOSI (Museum of Science and Industry). If you're just looking for a cheap place to stay for the night, it's fine. But if you're looking for a clean place with good amenities, this is not it! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
November 2009
$32
Not a place for kids. Under 18 or 19 only allowed for 2 weeks per year. They have activities for snowbirds and everything seems to be catering to them. The park wasn't very clean; the leaves and branches from the trees were all over and not cleaned up. There were many empty sites but we were only given a few choices. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2009
$38
An older campground but well maintained with fairly nice sized lots on a gentle slope. There is plenty of shade. Place is almost exclusively seasonal or all year. We were only one or two short term campers. Park is not for kids. Stay is limited if you have kids under 18. They must be accompanied by an adult, but that doesn't matter as there are not any activities, no playground, etc. Pay for service Internet connect was okay, but kept dropping out. Bring ant spray: the ants prevented us from spending any decent time outside. I did not mind this CG but my wife and kids hated it. Nothing for the kids and my wife said many of the seasonal sites were unkempt looking. Some were "junky" (despite all the CG rules), but most seemed alright. And, the cleaning service decided to clean the ladies room from 8 to 9 am: an inconvenient time! Personally, I do not like being the only visitor amongst seasonals: it feels odd. There is no camp store. Located very close to Busch Gardens. If all you want to do is spend the entire day at BG and sleep here, it's fine. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
March 2009
$38
If you are under 70 years and do not need a walker, cane or hearing aid and have children in your group, this is not the place for you. The campground is old and has not been renovated in some time, there is no garbage pickup or other extras that most campgrounds provide. The campground is not handicapped accessible at any location, pool, bath house, etc. The bath house needs to renovated and made more accessible to person with special needs. The pool is not lighted and closes before most campers can return from a day of sight seeing. The permanent residents are eager and waiting for someone in your group to make a "violation" of campground rules so they can complain to the office or security personnel. The office personnel either via phone calls or in person are not very friendly or eager to assists campers. We would only stay here again as a LAST RESORT! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
December 2008
$36
This park is not the place for us. It's dirty and has too many oak trees that shed leaves all winter long. In March the green stuff that comes from the trees is terrible and covers everything you own. The office people are the worst, not nice at all,. Also the water smells like rotten eggs and has some kind of material that plugs filters and screens. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2008
$25
Crowded and tight, although a nice place overall. Many trees, so satellite may be an issue. Would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2007
$26
This campground is more slanted to adults. The many long term campers that are here are all older people and the activities were slanted toward them. The campground is quiet, and generally well maintained. We didn't use the restrooms or shower, but many others did every day. The pool was not open while we were there. The staff was friendly and helpful. We were there for a week. The close proximity to Tampa allowed for easy visits to town. When we were there the state fair was at the fairgrounds just at the intersection of I-75 and I-4. The sites were fairly large,however the many large trees made them seem smaller and in some cases, hard to get into. WiFi service was available at an extra price. In the site where I was, it was easily accessed, available and fast. Not a site that I would use again, except as a last resort. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
January 2007
$39
Mainly for people who stay there for permanent. However, very nice staff. We were parked way out in back. Back in stares right into the other back in rear windows. Really close. Lots of Club activities. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2006
$13
We stayed here for a couple of months. This park is very accessible to shopping, restaurants and the I -75. Our campsite was a little tight with our neighbor being very close on our patio side, it was also in 100% shade. I would say that the only downside about this campground is that they don't have very many large campsites in the open, most of their campsites are in the shade. The management, workers and other campers were extremely friendly and helpful. They have a good swimming pool and planned activities during the season. We would definitely stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2006
$30
This was an "Okay" park. They have a number of permanent residents, but was fairly well kept. Could be cleaner, but certainly not as clean as some. Not a lot of room in park, but livable. Staff was friendly, but forgetful. They did have a long list of "Rules" which seemed to be enforced at will, and only onto those that didn't frequent the park. We would go back if we did not have other options. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
January 2006
$30
Park is very crowded with many full time residents. Our site had the only picnic table for several sites and it was situated over the next sites sewer dump. We returned one day to find many of the neighbors sitting at the picnic table, enjoying their afternoon libations. The pool was not open during our five day stay. There was a fenced in open water reclamation pond in the middle of the campground that smelled awful. We would not stay at this campground again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com