218071 User submitted reviews online!!
James River State Park was rated 9 out of 10 based on 17 user reviews. Phone: (434) 933-4355
CGID6054

James River State Park

Camp Information
Sites
31
Date of Stay
November 2010
Latest Rate
$30



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   9   9   10   10   10   8   10   9   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2010
$30
We stayed here with a dog, so the rate reflects a $5 pet fee. Used this as a shakedown trip for a new camper. Wonderful sites with plenty of room. From front bumper of truck to rear bumper of trailer we are almost 50' long, still more room left in spot. Good hiking trails. Good bath house, seemed to be a newer campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$33
This is one of our favorite spots. Rate includes a 10% Va Park pass discount but $5.50 for one dog. Red Oak campground is about 4 yrs old with large (mostly level) sites and gravel is starting to show it needs maintenance. Bathrooms are very clean, with large individual showers. Great spot to spend a few days, be sure to get reservations on the weekend. JRSP no longer assigns campsites, but you pick when you arrive, as is done in the rest of the VA state parks. Looks like the equestrian campground with hookups will be open next year. Great walking trails. Good place for dog to swim in river. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$25
This campground has become one of our favorite places to camp. It is located in the foothills with a beautiful countryside, and the James River is very clear and clean. The park rents canoes and kayaks and has a shuttle that will drop you off 6 miles upstream, and you can float back to the Park's canoe livery and get out. We have our own kayaks and for a small fee they even transported our equipment via their shuttle. There is only one camping loop (RedOak) with power and water hookups, and those sites have plenty of wooded space between them. Only the tent campers can camp right on the river in the primitive sites. The bathrooms and showers in this campground are the cleanest of any campground we have been in. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$30
Beautiful park We stayed in the Red Oak camping area in sites 1 & 2. Large sites with plenty of shade and room to move around. Visited the bath houses although we didn't use them, very clean. Great place to ride the bicycles and take the canoe trip down the James River. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2010
$30
This is a GEM in the crown of the award winning Virginia State Parks. We had a group of 7 coaches of the Cardinal Winnies and ALL considered this one of the best and most enjoyable CGs we have visited. Phone service is almost nil. But with a CG such as this one, you forget about the cell service and tend to relax a lot more. Enjoy !! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$25
We stayed in Red Oak; it was beautiful. A great campground; this is a hidden gem. It is very quiet and all sites are large with a lot of space between sites. The roads are paved. The restrooms and showers were exceptionally clean. Our cell phones worked for outgoing and incoming calls. There is a very clean dump station at the entrance/exit of the campground. We enjoyed this park so well during our stay in July 2008, we returned in July 2009. We plan to visit at least once a year. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$29
Nice park with wonderful river for tubing and kayaking. We had a torrential down pour of 4" on Thursday when we arrived. River rose from 4.5 feet to almost 11' overnight, and speed went from 4800 CFM to almost 11000 CFM. River was closed to rentals for obvious reason, but I have my own kayak and went out with a friend. Still had a blast. Have been here before when water was at 3' and tubed and swam and had a lot of fun. Lots of hiking trails, but a little hilly for bikes unless you are in really great shape. Three ponds to fish in and trails for horses, too. Bathrooms were pretty clean, but showers had a little more debris than I like on the floor. Would not stop me from coming again, and we will. Love this park even though it is a 2+ hour drive for us. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2009
$25
We use James River State Park as our site for the 2009 Virginia Spring Pop-up Portal Rally. We had 16 pop-ups there and over 60 people. Sites are very large and most are very shaded. The campground is not real close to the river but is a real nice area. Bathrooms is nice and they keep it very clean. They have canoe rentals at the park for some fun on the river! This is one of our favorite places to go. We will return again! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2009
$24
Great State Park right on the James River. The RV campground is not on the river. However, tenting is on the river. The RV sites are large enough to fit any size rig. Enjoy hiking, biking, and horse back riding. There is a canoe livery and camp store at Canoe Landing. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2008
$25
We have come to this park since it opened. With the addition of the Red Oak Campground, it is really nice. We come here 2-3 times per year We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2008
$25
This is a great campground. We had a huge site with lots of shade and a lot of room bewteen us and the neighbors. The bathrooms and showers were extremely clean. The showers were some of the nicest I have seen anywhere. The staff and rangers were all very friendly and helpful. You can rent canoes and tubes to use on the James River and there are many nice hiking trails. We will be back in the fall. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2008
$25
This is an excellent State Park. From the moment we checked in to the moment we left, nothing to complain about. The park employees were all very friendly and knowlegdable about the park, its wildlife, and history. The trails are maintained and easy to walk. The canoe livery offers canoes and tubes, either with a tour or on your own. The bathrooms are very clean. The laundry room has a huge stainless steel sink in it and has clean washers and dryers. The camp hosts are very friendly. The sites in Red Oak are shaded with tall trees, plenty of room with our 36" fifth wheel, and mostly level. Each site we saw also had a sand area for tents, and the sites were clean. There was ample room between sites, you're not packed in like sardines. Firewood is $4 for 10 pieces. Bring what you need, nearest town is some distance away. Very well maintained state park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2007
$25
Best State Park I have stayed at in Virginia. Rangers really go out of their way to make you feel welcome. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2007
$25
From check-in to check-out, operation is smooth. We stayed at Red Oak and found site reasonably level, large, and shaded. Bathhouse was easy walk and showers were family style. Plenty to do if you enjoy nature. Checked with canoe livery and they would transport our canoes for very reasonable fee. However, it rained and we opted to head to Appomattox Court House for visit. Fire wood available for $3 for 10 large hunks, seemed reasonable. Only two issues and not fault of campground: 1) had large bee/wasps eating sap from tree at site and some got into camper. 2) We wanted to camp near/next to friends and there seems to be no way in automated reservation system to indicate this. Ranger suggested calling after reservations were in an well before arrival; they would place us close together. It's a bit far from N.VA, but well worth the trip. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2007
$24
Great park! We stayed in the Red Oak section - nice large gravel sites, wooded, level, good drainage. Bathhouse was very clean. Tubed on the river both days we were there. Enjoyed bluegrass music in the outdoor amphitheater one night, visited the Nature Center and spent time with a very knowledgable ranger, hiked and biked on the trails. Trails and entire park is very well-maintained, all rangers and camp hosts very hospitable and helpful. Although there is no pool, at both Dixon's Landing and the Canoe Livery there are good swimming areas that all ages can enjoy. We will definitely return to this park! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2006
$24
This State Park is one of the newest parks in virginia. All roads into the park are paved and well graded...No problems with Big Rig access. All sites are gravel,level,with good drainage. New Electrical boxes with 20,30,and 50 amp service. Water pressure around 40 p.s.i. Lots of trails to bike and hike on. Horses are allowed in most areas of the park also. Restrooms were new and well maintained. This may be our favorite park yet!! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2006
$24
The "Red Oak" camping area is excellent for any camper from a tent to a 40 footer. It has all the amenities listed and we loved it. The down side to it is that it is about a mile from the river. They have "primitive" camping right on the river in a grassy field (nice bathhouse up the hill, pit toilet near the river). I would stay there in the spring or fall when I wouldn't be craving the AC. I understand why they built the more modern camping facility at the top of the hill, the James River is subject to flooding through this area. Most of the time this is a beautiful rolling river. The park offers a livery service with canoes, kayaks, and tubes. They will work with you if you have your own boats to transport. The river rides are two, seven or nine miles(no tubes for seven+ miles). We did the seven miles in our own boats. The river is perfect for any family with little to no paddling skills, at least the day we went it was. Call and ask they are very helpful. Enjoy! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com