223192 User submitted reviews online!!
Shakamak State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 8 user reviews. Phone: (812) 665-2158
CGID6056

Shakamak State Park

Camp Information
Sites
122
Date of Stay
July 2012
Latest Rate
$23



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   10   5   6   9   8   8   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2012
$23
We have stayed here many times since I was a kid. This is a great park. The pool is very clean although it is on the other side of the campground so you have to drive there. The sites are mostly level but some need a little tweaking. We stayed in site 20 and our 32' RV fit in the spot without much difficulty. There are some areas of the campground where water is some distance away. I would recommend a few more water hydrants in the campground. We had a great time and will definitely be back in the fall. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2011
$17
Very clean and quiet campsite. School is resuming this week, so there were mostly adults camping. Our site was level and graveled. Fire ring was clean and worked very well. Camp store was closed when we arrived on Sunday evening, but the attendant on duty directed us to Jasonville, where we were able to purchase a few supplies and fire wood. Did not have any issues concerning the campground or park. Rates are very reasonable. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2010
$17
Although Shakamak is a beautiful state park, we had a couple of issues during our stay over the Labor Day weekend. The sites are not tent friendly. We had trouble staking our tents down due to the concrete/gravel surface and lack of grassy area in the site. Also the DNR is not effective at enforcing the quiet hours. We had people down the road partying very loudly till after 1:00 AM. The pool/camp-store is on the opposite side of the park so we had to drive there. We did appreciate the delivery of wood to the site. The shower house was very clean. We would possibly camp here again but would inquire about the site before reserving it to make sure it is tent friendly. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2010
$27
We camped here Memorial Day weekend, so it was crowded but mainly family-no issues at all. Shakamak State Park is a very nice park and the CG is too. Some sites are more spacious than others- it's very wooded. What was a problem on some sites is the mud. Seems like some of the sites have crushed gravel and others do not. A firewood truck drives around selling bales of hay to put down so that you aren't walking in mud. We were in 109 and our friends on 108. We had room, but sites were VERY muddy. 109 was hard to get our '35 TT in, it took a couple of attempts to have room to open the slides. I thought back-in sites were actually roomier, with the exception of only one of the pull thru sites. Cons: campstore is all the way on the other side of the state park by the pool/waterslide (nice amenenity) which is inconvenient for CG; Mens shower house is a community shower instead of individual stalls; not enough to do at the CG itself and there are no trails or bike paths to get you to the other park amenenities which means driving everywhere. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2009
$17
This is a very beautiful and nice state park. Since it was late October there were very few other campers so it was very quiet. The sites were mostly level, although some of them were too small for our 36' 5th wheel. We didn't use the restrooms but did look at them and they seemed to be clean. In addition to the $17.34 a night there is a $5.00 park entrance fee. We wished we had more time to spend there. The only negative thing we found were ladybugs that showed up on the second night, camped out on our slides and invaded the trailer when we closed up. We were still trying to get rid of them six days later. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2008
$25
We liked this campground. The pool was very nice and clean. Campsites were wide and level. The fishing was great and the whole family liked the horseback riding. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2006
$25
We like this state park and campground. Have stayed here quite a few times. The new Maple Loop has a nice new showerhouse. We have stayed in the older part of the campground too. It is nice as well but the showerhouses are very old and need replaced. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2006
$25
Very nice park. The sites are well spaced. They have a new shower house in a new section of the campground and they are putting in a new dump station. There is a fishing pier accessible from the campground that has pretty good fishing. The campground was clean and the facilities were well maintained. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com