214825 User submitted reviews online!!
Cottonwood Camping RV Park & Campground was rated 5 out of 10 based on 14 user reviews. Phone: (913) 422-8038
CGID6058

Cottonwood Camping RV Park & Campground

Camp Information
Sites
100
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$33



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
1   2   5   1   3   8   1   9   6   5   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  no  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  no  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2014
$33
We stayed here one night and that was one night to many. We were in town for a funeral otherwise we would have kept on driving. We missed the camp ground entrance. No signing and construction equipment blocked the road. We had to turn around twice to get back to the so called entrance. Manager was very friendly and offered us a discount due to the reason we were there. The grass was knee high in the whole camp ground, decks with nails coming up and broken boards beside your camper. There was a concrete pad although it is surrounded by knee high grass all the way around. No play ground or anything other than dust and dirt, little bit of gravel. Would not stay here again. I would rather pay the price to stay at a hotel. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
May 2014
$33
Very few RV campgrounds in this area to choose from therefore we stayed here for 5 days out of necessity. Many regular residents and several motorcycles. Rain turned their dirt roads into mud. Used the ladies room once and that was one time too many. It was unclean, unkempt, spiders in all 3 shower stalls, bugs and everywhere inside. Screen doors front and back with no way of preventing unauthorized entry. One bar of used soap and shower water was scalding hot!. No way to get colder water to make it lukewarm. No internet & sporadic satellite TV with bad reception. Spoke to manager the one day she was there about the run down appearance & she replied it takes money to do that. This place needs more than soap, water and paint. A total renovation would be a start. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2013
$35
Spent one night at Cottonwood on our way to Colorado. Arrived around 7:30pm. Missed the turn off into the campground as the road looked like a farm road and signage was minimal. Roads in campground are all gravel. No one at the office when we arrived. Sign on doors said they would open at 8:00 am. We left around 9:00 am and no one was in the office when we left. We left money in an envelope for our nights stay. Sites are okay with concrete pads. Water and sewer hookups were convenient. Sites were large enough to accommodate our 34' travel trailer and 21' truck so that we did not have to unhook. Would only recommend the campground for a one night stopover place. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2012
$30
We had reservations for a one night stop, only planning to stay here because another of our favorite camping areas wanted a 2 night minimum. We arrived mid-day, extremely hot, no one at office and would not be back for 2 hours. No notes on check in, except a list of spots for one nighters (about 5 pull throughs) and some back in sites. After driving through the available sites (all out in the hot sun), we opted for a site that was not on the one night list. After lining up our rig on the very small concrete pad it put our entry steps about 2 foot off the ground and even our extra step wouldn't help us get in. Another camper drove by as we were considering whether to stay and threw gravel and dust all over us. As we considered the miserable location we were in we decided to pay the 2 night minimum at a better campground, and didn't even complete our setup. We left the CG and will not return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
October 2010
$28
This "commercial" campground has very little to redeem itself. Tough roads, small unkempt sites. When we pulled the valves on our tanks, the hose, which was in little more than an open unfinished hole, spilled out all over the ground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$27
Make up your mind what kind of an RV park you are looking for before you book here. If you want a destination park that is pretty with nice grounds and lots for the kids to do, then you better stay away. We wanted a place to park the rig while we spent most of our time with friends and relatives in the area and this was the ideal spot. We wanted big rig access, 50 amp service, a level cement pad and that is what we got. All roads are very dusty gravel with numerous ruts, but at 10 mph they are passable. The turn for the entrance from the main road K-7 is not marked in advanced and at 60 mph you better know where it is or you will not make the turn. Watch out for a very large pothole in the middle of the road just off K-7, it will swallow even a large wheel. The park is well off the main road and close to I-70 but far enough away that the noise is not noticeable even on a warm night with the windows open. The tent only area is much closer to the Interstate and may be affected. There are no R/R tracks nearby which adds to the quiet. My AT&T cell and computer air card worked well to keep in touch. Office hours are strange, closed 2 hours over lunch and on weekends. They will leave a map of the facility with your assigned spot if you have a reservation. An item of importance is a nice storm shelter across from the office. The park was less than 1/3 full in early June during the week we stayed. If you are looking for a lot of nothing this is the place for you. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
May 2010
$27
This is a difficult to maneuver, hot dirty park. We did not feel welcomed or safe here, will not return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2009
$15
This campground was a blessing. I was in need of a place to get mobile RV repair work done, and ended up staying here long term while the work was ordered and completed. The management went out of their way to help me with whatever I needed. I was grateful beyond words for their kindness. The grounds are quiet and the restrooms were well kept. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2008
$15
I stayed here for 10 weeks from March to May so my price per night reflects a $450 monthly charge, which is very pricy considering no cable TV, no Wi-Fi, un-kept gravel access roads and no clubhouse area. The sites are concrete pads which are fairly level. The manager was great. The laundry facility was sub par at best. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2007
$29
We stayed a week visiting friends nearby. Park facilities are OK, but overpriced for unprofessional management. Tone of many signs, office hours (M,W,F 2 hours in AM, 2 hours in PM) & lack of any evidence of work or attention to facilities, clearly indicates that owner/managers are burnt out. Most sites are paved and have a 20ft tree, most of which are in need of trimming. No CTV or WIFI and many roads have ruts. Beside ours, only saw one other dog confined to a leash. If you are looking for a park to let your dog run loose, this is it despite harsh rules & signs that indicate otherwise. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2007
$26
This campground is more like a trailer park than a campground. There is nothing for kids. The only thing they do have is a pool. The one seat around the pool was covered in mildew. There was some old seats from a bowling alley around the pool also. Most of the campers there were set up for a long stay. There is very little room between the sites. I could not even put out my awning. In order for me to access my pass throughs I had to go in other sites. The wireless internet did not work and the staff did not seem to care that it did not work. This place is a dump. They cut the grass and what they do not get with the riding mower does not get cut. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$31
Clean park located very close to the KC metro area and convenient to I-70. Friendly staff. Price above is full hookups; discount provided for AAA, military (maybe others?). Laundry and pool in season. Large grassy area for walking pets or watching deer in the evening. Gas station, fast food, bank/ATM, grocery stores, Walmart all within a mile of the campground. Side note: fuel at the nearby gas station (at the exit from I-70) was priced 10 cents/gallon higher than other stations in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2006
$25
Having left a nearby campground that was so noisy, sleep was impossible, it was very refreshing to be at a quiet campground. Noise from the nearby highway was almost non-existent and very far off train noise could occasionally be heard. The sites are very close together with most not containing a picnic table. The campground is primarily gravel with concrete pads. There are very sparse trees, making it not very aesthetically pleasing, however, a walk over to the tent camping area is a whole different story, with a beautiful lawn and forest setting. The owner was very nice. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2006
$25
Newer campground (1998) just off the K-7 exit of Kansas Turnpike in far western suburbs of Kansas City. Very close to Kansas Speedway, RenFest, and Verizon Amphitheatre. Easy drive to Johnson County, KU Med, downtown KC, Ft Leavenworth. All necessities within 1/4 mile of entrance. My wife and I just used for cleanout and winterize but surprised by well kept grounds/facilities and nearly level concrete pads at all the pull through sites. Lanes are gravel though. Our site even had a wooden deck. No fire pits but didn't need one. TV reception is very good being just outside city on high ground. Could be lots of noise from I-70 but didn't notice inside with TV or fan on. If your passing through and need a place to park for a while don't pass this place up. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com