206564 User submitted reviews online!!
Wolf's Den Family Campground was rated 6 out of 10 based on 16 user reviews. Phone: (860) 873-9681
CGID606

Wolf's Den Family Campground

Camp Information
Sites
200
Date of Stay
October 2013
Latest Rate
$22



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   9   1   1   9   3   9   1   8   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  no  no  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  no  no  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2013
$22
NOT BIG RIG FRIENDLY We have a 40' motorhome. The turns are very tight, but doable. You REALLY need to bring your A game when driving through this park. The problem that we had was the low branches. Nothing says 'welcome to our campground' like sound of woods grinding into gelcoat. Someone needs to take a chainsaw and trim the low branches. I will not be coming back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$20
My parents brought me to this campground as a child so I thought it would be a cool idea to bring my own daughter to the same campground. Keep in mind this campground has been around since the 1950s. It's not a resort so please do not compare it those that are. This is a great place for good old fashioned camping, where you would have to think about how to entertain yourselves. This is now my daughter's new favorite place to camp. She loved the fact that the available activities weren't so regimented like in other campgrounds. She could play games whenever she wanted outside of the schedule. The cost to use the equipment is a nominal deposit. From a parent point of view, the grounds were clean. The pool bathrooms were so-so. The pool was clean, large and great temperature. The landscaping appeared to be kept up. The store prices were extremely reasonable as compared to other places that multiply the prices because they are convenient. A box of crayons .99 cents. Candy bar $1.25. Bag of ice $2.00. Bingo .50 cents a card. Kids bingo buy-in was a candy bar. Just to name a few. The staff was very friendly, helpful and accommodating. Quiet hours appear to be respected, at least during our stay. Seasonal residents were friendly and welcoming. We will be returning. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2012
$65
Pool was very dirty, mold on inside edges. Prices were very high. Staff was unfriendly. Campground was mostly empty considering holiday weekend. Bathrooms were a old and not clean, even considering there campground was almost empty. Appears even seasonal campers are pulling out unhappy. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
May 2012
$65
We actually didn't camp here, just vising friends that made the unfortunate mistake of camping here. We are campers. Anyways checking in to visit for the day was frustrating, they charged $20.00 just to drive in to drop off our things at the site. We sat at the gate waiting for them to let us in, had to call twice. The campground was not very appealing, bathrooms disgusting. Lots of seasonals here, not very friendly and the campers are run down and dirty. Activities they had for the weekend either didn't happen or last that long. Our friends would never go back, and I wouldn't camp here either. Would not recommend. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$22
Just got home from a nice weekend at Wolfs Den. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Security was present but not demanding. Everyone followed the curfew rule to the minute and it was very impressive. At 10:58 pm, you can hear quiet music, laughter, kids on the playground, and people laughing. 11:01pm, total silence. It was weird. Wi-Fi is available near the office area. The pool was closed for the season, but it is a good sized olympic pool. My 4 year old daughter had a blast at the fishing pond and partaking in the crafts activities designed for her age. The only complaint I had was the lack of trash cans in the campground. Next to no litter can be found except for the stray piece of paper or wrapper. Very clean campground and I am looking forward to returning next year. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2010
$42
As other reviewers have suggested, this “campground” is mostly seasonal and semi-permanent residents. I would go so far as to call it a trailer park. While it seems relatively well kept and maintained some of the trailers in this park have been here for a very long time (flat tires, rusted trailers, etc.) While they go out of their way to advertise this campground as a recreational site, we were one of only a handful of recreational campers when we arrived on a Thursday night. The weekend boasted many more recreational campers (many in tents). There are no sewer hook-up and showers at the bath houses are coin operated with very limited water pressure. The site had an asphalt pad, but would not accommodate my 40 foot 5th wheel and the back in was difficult. I questioned the judgement of the staff after they assigned tent campers with a 135 lbs Rottweiler to the site next to us (we have two very small children). The pool looked clean and well kept, but we did not visit it. They held an “Old Fashioned Day” with carnival type games for the kids (for a fee) and charged $2.50 for a hotdog and $3.50 for a hamburger (a bit steep in my mind). The Wi-Fi advertised was non-existent. We could not even get their router to register on our computers, and we camped less than 100 meters from the office. The area around East Haddam is lovely and nestled into the countryside of the Connecticut River: this was the only upside to our visit. Needless to say we spent little time at the campground. At $42 a night for water and electric this campground was hardly worth it. We will not return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2010
$42
Check in went smooth, although we had the trailer in the way. As you enter, pull through those stop signs and go around the mini golf. We stayed for Spring Special so we camped 4 weekends. Well worth the money and we left the trailer on site. Weather ended up to be great. Our site was pretty level with gravel and grass. The hookup were easy to use and well kept. We had water, electric, cable TV and gray-water hook-up. The site was by the frog pond so in a Hybrid is wasn't ideal. If you pick a sites in the upper 100's they are located down hill. Bikes are not allowed down the hills. The top area of the campground is flat and ideal for small children riding bikes. Playground is small and well maintained. Pool looks adequate but I didn't swim in it. They have tennis, horseshoes, a wooden wall the kids were hitting balls at, a game room with pool tables, ping pong, arcade type games. They also have basketball and a large field for playing games. The showers (pay), bathroom and laundry clean as a whistle. If you want WI-Fi it's by the office or you can boost with a Pepwave on the top sites. It's free at the moment. I went to Mother's Day Wine and cheese, it was very well done. Easter weekend was ham potluck: lots of people attended and again a nice gathering, tables set and very welcoming. This campground is located near Devil's Hopyard State Park, this was a nice 1/2 trip to take a hike and go exploring. You are also not far from the shore. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2009
$55
Management was Rude, Lady that runs the place was making many rude comments about the seasonal campers in campground. Campground was overall clean, although dump station was out of order, they refused to post a sign to let incoming campers know this. Security Guard was very rude to the children, almost to the point we were going to call the police and have him arrested. Managements comment was well if you don't like it here, why don't you leave! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2009
$35
We camp the end of April 2009. It is a well kept campground. It was very rainy but we only stayed one week. Very clean bathrooms. Pleasant managers. Good amenities. We are our way to the northern part of New York to meet up with our friend who said the Adirondack Mountains are beautiful. We would recommend this campground to others. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2008
$42
There is a very high percentage of seasonals in this park. However most keep their sites in absolutely pristine condition. We happened to be there for their early Halloween/Columbus Day weekend. The CG did not hold back on events with an excellent haunted house & a competition by the seasonals for decorated sites. Very good. Some areas are difficult to get into with a large rig. Firewood at the office was very old, wet & difficult to burn. Wi-Fi available would have earned a couple more points. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
May 2008
$38
There is potential for a very nice campground - it's in a beautiful area with lots to do. However we felt that the seasonal campers really run the show here and did not feel welcome during our stay. There were heavy rains before we arrived and they were pumping out the pool right by our site so it was very muddy. We noticed that the pool is, in our opinion, in some serious need of repair. There are lots of very large cracks in it. We also noticed a well that was left uncovered close to the playground which could be a disaster. The fishing pond was good and our son had a blast there. There was a bees nest in our campsites' gray water connection that clogged it up with lots of dead bees. The bathrooms on the last day were filthy and one of the toilets was overflowing. Overall, I'd choose somewhere else in the area to stay first. But again, it does have a lot of potential. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2007
$35
We love this campground! Tried it in August and went back in September! We are even returning for Memorial day weekend this year! The sites are HUGE and, depending where you are, have grass! Some even have concrete pads. The staff was extremely friendly, the pool was one of the biggest I've seen and the bathrooms were clean.. The seasonal sites are beautiful and the people are very friendly. Some work in the office. The activites are cool. Last year they had a helicopter land! This campground has become one of our favorites from day one! Would definitely recommend to anyone. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2007
$35
Although the park itself was mostly nice, we wouldn't go back. We were camping with others (4 campers in one spot, plus 2 more through the campground). It was pretty crowded where we were, towards the front in grassy spots. We had some problems with kids walking/bike riding through our site. Since it happened so much I wondered whether seasonal kids considered it "the norm." We also had our camper unplugged while we were at the pool. It did appear deliberate as the cord wasn't just laying next to the hookups, but looked like it was thrown back towards the camper. No, we didn't complain, as we figured there wasn't much the staff could do about it with no witnesses. However, we did take issue with the quiet hour enforcement. The roving watch warned us about quiet time about 20-30 minutes beforehand. He came back 10 minutes beforehand and gave us our "second" warning. I know we were talking a bit loud as there were about 10 of us, so I understand the need for a warning. However, I also observed this gentleman visiting the seasonal campers across from us who were loud and drunk (and had been drinking since mid-morning); he had no issue partaking in their festivities. Pick-and-choose enforcement bugs me! Otherwise, the pool was nice (but terribly crowded), and some of the wooded sites seemed much nicer than where we were. Friends stayed in a rental 5th wheel and it was well kept. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2005
$35
While I had been many times as a kid, this was the DWs first visit. My own visits were many, many years ago so it was like a first trip. We pulled up and went to check in. It was about 3:45 on Friday night of the long Labor Day weekend. In the middle of checking in the campgrounds phone rings and the lady assisting me answers it. After she got off the phone we both had a good laugh. The call was from a gentleman looking for a site for this weekend. As I said, it was 3:45 on Friday of a holiday weekend. After being told that Wolfs Den did not have any available sites, he asked if she knew the phone numbers of any campgrounds in the area that would have a site. On with our check in. The lower area of the campground is the former Safari Field and has a lot of sites shoehorned in around the old pavilion. Literally shoehorned. Very small grassy sites with fire rings and tables. This was not an area that we thought a lot of. Over the weekend we walked by a bit and people were always sitting in the smoke from each others fires. Does no one know what dry wood is? At least half the campground is permie sites. The DW and I were on a side road that was all permies who never showed all weekend. This left it just us and one other camper a few doors down. Brand new Jayflight. I think this might have been their first trip. In breaking camp at the end of the weekend they seemed just a tad bewildered by it all; Also they all just stared when I walked by and said hi. Like they were not sure how to respond to a friendly stranger. Anyway, with basically no one around, it was very quiet and calm all weekend for us. We enjoyed our nearly smoke free fires every night. Thankfully, we were not on a busy road as the fire ring is right on the side of the road. This would have made it difficult to relax AROUND the fire at night as one side of the fire ring would have had us sitting in the road. Nice gravel in our site from when a permie was there. The backside of the campground has a couple of nice mixed-use loops with what I would think of as normal sites in them. If we went back, this is the area I would try for. The campground does offer a lot of ongoing activities, many with a fee attached. Horseshoes seems to be a major adult event here. Lets see, fabulous weather T-shirt and shorts during the day, nightly fires and an occasional furnace cycle at night, nice quiet site, clean restrooms and showers, plenty of activities if we wanted. Sounds like a great weekend to me. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2004
$35
We had a great time here. Our kids want to return. Pool is large and very well maintained. Bathrooms are basic and clean. The "swim" pond is just for wading (if you really want to), but the kids had a ball chasing frogs and tadpoles that are in it. Ping pong, basketball, a couple other things are free with a $1 refundable deposit for equipment (a nice way to do it). Mini Golf was $1. Ceramics was a little expensive (nice figurines though), but staff was knowledgable and very helpful, so it was worth it. A lot of seasonals that are very well cared for. Rules are strictly enforced, but staff was polite about it. Sites by the pool are very large, surprisingly so for a private campground, and most sites have grey water hookup. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2004
$33
Well managed and run park. Very family oriented. Country setting with peace and quiet. Rules strictly enforced. Ice cream is great. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com