219034 User submitted reviews online!!
Natchez Trace Thousand Trails NACO was rated 6 out of 10 based on 26 user reviews. Phone: (931) 796-3211
CGID6062

Natchez Trace Thousand Trails NACO

Camp Information
Sites
494
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$1



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   7   6   3   6   8   5   5   7   5   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2014
$1
Rate reflects Thousand Trails member rate. IMPORTANT: as noted in other reviews, you need to be very careful getting to the campground from the NT Parkway as we saw 2 folks have issues - when you get off the parkway there is an 11 foot overpass that has many RV roof marks on it... It is super simple to avoid though as just to the left is a dirt "bypass" with 13 foot+ clearance. The campground itself is a typical NACO park in that everything is rustic and spread out. The roads are worn-but-paved. There are nice facilities including a pool and mini-golf that has been refurbished, tennis courts (too worn to use), camp store, and other facilities. Also there’s a nice facility called the “Town Hall” which is where a lot of activities happen. Many of the campsites are unsuitable for large rigs but we did not have an issue as it was not very full. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2013
$3
Roads are in disrepair. We camped in off season and very few people here. We are part of zonecamping and the cost reflects that. The lady at the reception area could not have been any friendlier and was that way on the phone when we set up reservations. Top of the Natchez Trail and offered lot of privacy since very few people was here. Will return. No 50 amp service. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2013
$5
Arriving at Natchez Trace Thousand Trails. One exits the parkway and immediately comes to an 11 foot overpass. However, a sort of bypass has been created that gives plenty of clearance. One eases off the pavement onto the gravel beside the road, drives through and then back up onto the road. Once you arrive at the campground and check in you are still a mile and a half or more down a rather worn-but-paved road to the primary Thousand Trails campground. This is away from the pool, mini-golf (needing lots of TLC), tennis courts (needing even more TLC), camp store, and other facilities. However, a quarter of a mile from the actual campground there’s a nice facility called the “Town Hall” which is where a lot of activities happen. A portion of this facility falls under the KOA umbrella. KOA customers can’t use TT campsites and TT members can’t use KOA. None of the KOA sites offer sewer hookups or are close to the lake. Also, there are lots of cabins, so with nice views of the lake. No TT traveler need to expect a lakeside campsite. Those spots are all taken by annual users who have old contracts that pre-date the merger of NACO and Thousand Trails. It may be worth noting that none of the occupied prime lakeside sites have sewer hookups. The rule of thumb is “sewer site=no lake view.” Of course, there are seasonals and annuals occupying many of the full hook up sites too, but if one arrives during the week and not in the middle of a busy weekend they have at least a fair chance of snagging a full hookup/30 amp site. I can’t imagine this place ever being clear full. There are lots of nice campsites for people who are satisfied with a water/electric site. Some of those sites aren’t suitable for a bigger rig, but many of them are. This place clearly needs upgrading: primarily road work, more full hook up sites, 50 amp electric (there’s none), and fresh gravel on the sites. One surprising plus is good Wi-Fi. My Verizon phone signal has been rather poor, but using my Wilson Sleek signal booster it is usable. To us, the draw here is the campground’s being so close to Natchez Trace Parkway. I don’t see it as a destination park aside from it being a good spot to let the kids have freedom to roam and enjoy the playground or simply as a place to enjoy some downtime. I know efforts are being made to catch up on various maintenance concerns and increase the appeal of this park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
October 2012
$24
Apparently this is one of KOAs newest parks. Don’t know how KOA ever approved this mess. Difficult to get to. A mile to get to the KOA sites from the office (it’s still also a Thousand Trails campground). Low electric voltage; no cover on the 30 amp plug, and no outlet switch – switch is live all the time. Low water pressure. No sewer at the site. Poor TV reception – only one network channel. The only positive was very good Wi-Fi. Would not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2012
$1
Better than normal Thousand Trails. Nice facilities, beautiful lake,and lots of space. Typical of these parks now, annual sites have taken over. There are even multilevel decks, carports, and docks built on site. Most all of the full hookups are taken by these permanent guests. It is beginning to look like a trailer park. So plan to only have water and 30 amp electric. With so many sites, you can find one that is level. They had an excellent 4th of July party and fireworks show, hence the better rating than is truly deserved. Membership rate is 0 (annual dues). We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2011
$1
Member rate is -0-. Very nice campground. Big rig access is limited, recommend loop B. Two really big hills before you get to the campsites in loop B. No 50 amp. Not all campsites have sewer. Campground to close end of October for the winter, so not much going on for activities, and CG is nowhere near full. Staff going about their business, but not overly friendly. This CG could be a real jewel, but it needs a major overhaul. So many sites are not even big enough for a pop-up! Many sites are on little "hills" with grassy ditches between you and neighbor. The best sites are taken by seasonals, of course. Most roads are paved, looks like they attempted to fix some of the bad potholes from last year. Bathrooms are very rustic: shower curtains for a door in the toilet area. Over air TV was poor, only received one station ABC. Branches right over RV, so a site in the open probably better reception. Verizon cell 3G, only 1bar. Will return, and hope that they add 50 amp FHU at all sites soon. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2011
$30
The park looked great when we arrived, with well manicured grass at the entry, a ballpark, playground, and pool. We paid a $3 fee for use of these facilities, but they are so far away from the camping areas that it's impractical to use them for a short stay. There are tent sites, seasonal sites, and overnight sites, plus rental cabins. We were given our choice of sites in the Phase 3 area adjacent to a large lake. The access road to this area was bumpy, narrow, and steep, and all roads were patched, had holes, and were uneven but negotiable. Our area was not well-maintained. The gravel/grass sites were fairly level, but many were overgrown with tall grass and had cracked concrete picnic table pads. Many picnic tables were on the grass, and they had mowed around them, leaving grass grown tall underneath. The first site we checked had sewage spilled on the ground around the sewer connection; the toilet paper and waste had been there a while. Other sites we looked at had damaged water standpipes. One circuit box is shared by two sites, so a longer cord may be required. The bathroom facilities were okay, but in need of some TLC, and ventilation was inadequate for humid mornings. They use shower curtains for toilet stall doors. We could not get a wi-fi signal anywhere but the office area, and our Verizon cell signal was weak. Lots of flies and red ants. We would probably not choose to stay here again, but there aren't many full-hookup options close to this part of the Natchez Trace, and it was so hot and humid we wanted these amenities. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2011
$1
You have to use an underpass to get to the campground and it has an 11’ clearance which is too low for us. Strangely, there is a depressed dirt road right beside the regular road and it provides the additional clearance. This is an old NACO park with no 50A service. We are using 30A but the voltage must be lower than 120 because the A/C is very inefficient, running just better than warm. This park has also crossed the line between sites that are generally available and those that are rented for the season resulting in a very poor selection for those of us just passing through. I’ve never seen such steep inclines in a park before. Road surfaces are rough. Very slow Internet with the Verizon card. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2011
$30
Friendly staff. Unfortunately the laundry was not working in one site. Grounds were a bit unkempt. Beach and pool clean and busy. Pool at lodge in need of repair. Roads needed work. Only location for Wi-Fi was in the lodge. It was slow! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2010
$16
Staff friendly. Campground needs some work. Not sure if we would camp here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2010
$1
Most of the sites are in need of some work. Trying to get level was a undertaking. We ended up moving to another site that was slightly more level. Had a difficult time with Verizon coverage but air card worked. TV by antenna didn't occur. Staff were friendly and courteous. This park could use some landscaping detail and road work. Presently the only pool functioning is almost 2 miles from the campsite. They have a very nice Rec Hall in Phase II, too bad they charge to shoot pool. I don't think we would stay here again. Price reflects Resorts of Distinction Membership. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2010
$16
Wow. This park looks wonderful when you look at it from the Ranger Station. Beyond that, it needs big time work. Most of the sites are not usable. Roads have a ton of potholes. Employees don't obey the posted speed limits. Wi-Fi wasn't working, don't know how long it has been down. AT&T phone only works on the hill in front of the Rec Building. The positives: People were friendly, and they serve a good inexpensive breakfast in the Trading Post. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2009
$1
We stayed here in a 40-footer with 4-slides and a tow vehicle. We had been here in 2007. The park needs maintenance, including the road going up to the Phase 2 campground. We were able to get a site that allowed us a satellite signal and a phone signal (Verizon). Personnel were friendly and helpful. We would stay again when traveling the Parkway. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2009
$2
This park has a beautiful entrance and great rangers. Unfortunately, this is where the goodness ends. Once you get to the campsites, it all changes. The sites are disgraceful: overgrown, poison sumac growing right where you need to plug in the utilities and totally uneven. Why can't TT invest some of this cash it charges me for maintenance fees? Oh well... We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2009
$14
I was so pleased with my weekend here. The place was very clean. I loved the pool and beach. My tent camping area was right on the water and quiet. Will tell all my friends: this place is the best kept secret around middle Tennessee for a cheap get-away. Felt safe camping here as a single female. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$14
Do not recall the exact date I was here: tried to review this park before but the review did not come up. Had a wonderful time here. Loved the pool and beach. The rangers were so nice. Some people were not pleased with their sites but, for myself: I was here to camp, not looking for a backyard. Camped right on the water. Site was private and clean. I had no trouble setting up. I have recommended this site to friends and cannot wait to go back again. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2009
$2
This is indeed a park that has seen it's best days . There appears to be no investment in the park by TT corporate. We unhooked the tow, found a place, went back to the RV, drove down to the site and while we were getting ready to back into the site a guy in a golf cart parks his golf cart there and says the site is taken. TT staff said they would make him move but just goes to show you that not all members of TT are decent. We then picked out another site, backed in, hooked up the electric and nothing. Maintenance came and said it was indeed busted. I then moved to another site. The staff was way behind in their mowing also, lots of tall grass which means more insects which were the abundant. This is not a TT park I would recommend. I am sure back in the 80s or 70s this was a swell place to visit. The convenience store which is half on site and half open to the public had an odd smell, I think it too was just old and moldy. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2008
$32
Very nice park. Lots to do & see both in the park and in the area. Two swimming pools operate in the summer, small boat rental, indoor raquetball courts, a nice exercise room and mini golf are also available in the park. The only reason it is not rated a 10 is because there was no cell phone service available at all in the park. (Not their fault, but it was uncomfortable not having access to our cell service.) We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2008
$1
I am so disappointed. I paid all this money for Thousand Trails and the first time we leave Florida, I end up here. This place is run down. The roads are horrible. The sites are better suited for tenter's. Most of them you can not get any sizable RV into. Ticks are everywhere. The rec hall you have to use for Wi-Fi smelled horrible and the A/C was off. I would not return here and will be writing to TT to complain. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2008
$1
We are members of Resorts of Distinction and we were able to stay here for free. Very nice and clean. Everyone was very friendly. We would definitely go there again We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2008
$1
We are Thousand Trails members so we camped here at no charge. The campground is huge and there are some steep hills to climb to get to various "phases" of the park. The main roads are in terrible condition. This was our first visit and we were disappointed that they have been let go without upkeep for apparently a long time. The "town hall" is where activities are held and wireless internet is available. A word of caution: one evening I walked out the exit door to go across a covered walkway to the next building. The door to the next building was locked. I turned around to return to the main building and found myself completely locked out and unable to get off the "bridge" which is many feet in the air above the ground below. Luckily I had my cell phone with me and called my spouse to come "rescue" me. Had I been unable to get a phone signal or had I not carried my phone with me, I would have been trapped out there in the cold rainy night for hours or worse as there was hardly anybody in the park. As the building is supposed to be locked up at 10 pm, I guess I would have been discovered by then. I reported this to the ranger at that time and he apologized and said he may have forgotten to unlock the door. But I saw the same thing happen twice more to two others--including the activities director who said the door lock was defective. That bad experience notwithstanding, we had an absolutely amazingly friendly reception the first time we walked into the "town hall" on Saturday evening of our arrival. A group of people immediately said hello, introduced themselves and asked our names, took us on a tour of the facility (door didn't lock us out that first time!) and invited us to play "baseball" that evening. The ranger who checked us in was also very friendly and helpful. Although it rained and rained most of the time we were there, there was enough of a break in the bad weather to allow putting the kayak in the lake and fishing. Warning--check yourself carefully after walking in the woods. Hubby found 4 ticks on himself a little later. Every site we saw had a concrete patio and was fairly level. We enjoyed our stay here and appreciated the closeness to the Natchez Trace. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2008
$25
Visited in the off season, cold and blustery, but the staff was warm and helpful. Great breakfast in the store/restaurant and Friday fish frys in the summers are legendary according to quite a few locals. Will return!! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2007
$1
We camped here using the Thousand Trails membership. We were in Phase 2, site 2 with full hookups. Would like to have had 50 amp but 30 amp did fine. We had a patio, table, grill. Our internet ,on the roof of our motorhome, worked but we had to use a portable dish for TV due to trees. Our cell phone worked until the last couple days when we had to use the antenna and booster. We enjoy the Natchez Trace Parkway and would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2007
$1
Spent 2 weeks at park while riding the Natchez Trace Parkway via motorcycle. I'm a Thousand Trails member which explains the nightly rate. The exterior roads are getting rough and need some attention. For the most part the interior roads leading to the sites were OK. There is a shortage of rest rooms and I counted only 5 washers and 2 dryers for the entire park. Very few pull thru's and only about 25%-35% of the sites have sewer connections. Plenty of dump sites throughout park. The park and the sites were clean, the workers very friendly, and the lake was beautiful. I enjoyed my stay and would return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
May 2007
$1
Thank God it was only $1 to stay here. The place is an overblown joke. Gravel sites completely ill-maintained. Just an old, rundown, junky has-been campground. Certainly not worthy of the half a million dollar coach that we brought in. What a waste of time. And, they don't tell you that you have to drive off a road and into a ditch to avoid a too-low underpass to get here. This was the first time we had used a Thousand Trails affiliate membership (Western Horizons) and it is definitely the last. To add insult to injury; we had a knock on our door one afternoon while here, from a man soliciting Thousand Trails memberships. When we stay at a park or resort we NEVER expect to be solicited by sales people. This was a complete invasion of our privacy. We'd never return or buy a membership in such a place. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2006
$1
One hundred and twenty six sites are full hookups. Others are water and electric only. We were lucky to obtain a full hookup site. Our site had a patio, picnic table, and standing BBQ. Lots of treed sites. Roads need some repair. Many picturesque sites within an easy drive. Especially the Natchez Trace Parkway. Staff friendly and helpful. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com