220250 User submitted reviews online!!
Rainbow Plantation was rated 8 out of 10 based on 37 user reviews. Phone: (251) 988-8132
CGID6069

Rainbow Plantation

Camp Information
Sites
87
Date of Stay
April 2014
Latest Rate
$18



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   9   8   8   9   10   8   8   10   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2014
$18
WOW, this campground is a dream. The sites are wide and long. We were joking that we expected someone to come between us and our neighbor- but no. We had a shaded site. The sites are on grass so I could see after a heavy rain that there would be puddles. The roads are paved and wide so easy in. They only have back in sites, but no problem backing in since the sites are so wide and long. So many activities and there is a community feel here. At the socials, they ask if there are new people, if people are leaving. You get greeted by so many people saying hello and welcome. The folks leaving get a fond farewell. The location is very countryside. But, its not far from the Gulf Shore, Fairhope and Foley (there is this huge boardwalk there). Good cellphone connection. No cable, but we got all the major networks and some more on the antennae. The wi-fi was OK and you have to pay. But we find that so in most campgrounds. Wi-FI is slow. Unless you are seasonal and get an individual box- it will be slow in most places. Everyone is so friendly. People just stopping by to chat. We had these people who invited us to breakfast before knowing our names. So nice. There is a separate section of private homes that are part of the campground. But they aren't park homes, they are regular houses. Some of the properties have motor homes and trailers that are under "barns" are they call them. But, they are decorated. All the properties are well kept. The only draw back was that the pool isn't open until May. Its too cold there in the winter to open it. But, when we got there it was warm enough, but that's when they open the pool. Also, no tables at the sites. I think if they had tables, I'd give this place a 10. The rate reflects Escapees (we had a 50 amp site so its $3 extra. By the way, they will be converting all the sites to 50 AMP so I guess that $18 for Escapees will be the rate for all sites). If in the area, I'd come back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2014
$17
This is a very nice park with huge shady lots. There are a lot of activities and people are friendly. The laundry is wonderful at 75 cents for washer and dryer with a large table in the middle for folding and push carts to transport the clothes. We had an exceptionally heavy rain and for a while there were large puddles but they were gone by the next day. The Tengo internet is useless. We paid $15 for the week and it was good the first day, not so good the second and third and then disappeared off our menu completely after that. We used our hot spot and should have just saved our money but we thought it would be faster. We are Escapees members and that is reflected in our rate of $17. We stayed here for a week and would gladly come back again. It's not a far drive in different directions to find shopping and restaurants. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2014
$17
One of the best Escapees Rainbow Parks in the system. The utility hookups are adequate. WiFi through Tengo Internet is not free. No mail can be delivered to the park; you must use general delivery at a local post office. Packages must be delivered to your rig in your space; they don't go to the office like most RV parks. The parking surface is on the grass and when it rains, many of the spaces flood. The water drains fairly quickly in a day or two. You don't need to be an Escapees member to stay here but a member gets a discount. There are lots of activities here in the park. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2014
$19
The $19/nightly rate was actually a $128/week Escapees rate. We reserved a site for a week prior to leaving MO. We ended up staying three weeks. Staff was friendly, sites are very large, good $3.50/person breakfast at clubhouse on Saturday mornings. The campground is approximately 20 minutes off I-10, not close enough to the Interstate for an overnight stay. Roads to campground, and in campground are good. We only saw two, single, shower/toilet units, but we didn't search for them since we used the facilities in our motorhome. The pool was not open, the water was not warm enough to use it, during our stay. TengoInternet is available for a fee. The signal was not great at our site. We tethered our laptops to our phones, which worked fine. Lack of a heated pool/spa, poor campground Internet and lack of cable TV access were the reasons I did not give the campground a 10. For the price it is a fantastic deal and we will stay there again if we are in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2014
$18
Rate includes $2 per night for 50 amp service and is the rate for Escapees. Wide, long grass sites. Quite level, but puddled after rain. Great staff and residents. We were immediately welcomed into the fold. New Years pool plunge--49 degree water. Went into the 'teens several nights so I could see why the pool was closed. There was always something going on, and you were made welcome. Excellent location - Gulf Shore, Foley, Mobile all close. Will definitely return. We were there fo three weeks. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2013
$16
We loved this park so much we ended up staying for 20 days. The sites are large, the park is quiet clean, and it is extremely friendly. The pool was closed for the season. The clubhouse always has something happening. There are no gravel pads but the parking spots are quite level. The roads are paved. They have shade tree spots if you want them. This park is very well maintained. Wi-Fi worked well. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2013
$16
This park is in the Escapee system. It is very well cared for and all the buildings except one on the site are well maintained. There is one home that is a total eyesore to the whole place. The laundry was 75 cents per load. Not quite sure how they can still offer laundry at that low a price but I will take it. The sites are large and all the property is well maintained. Only Tengo Wi-Fi glad I bought a MiFi. Great spot if you want to explore the Gulf Shores without being at the beach, Pensacola, Fairhope and Mobile is only 45 minutes away. Lots of good food in the area. Especially Lambert's Cafe in Foley which is a must do. The rate is the Escapee rate then plus electric and if it is cold, propane. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2012
$17
We have stayed in a few Escapees parks, and this is a very nice one. The staff are very friendly. The sites are grass and very spacious, although some have tree trouble. Although the Park is out in the country, the nearby cities offer plenty to do for eating, shopping, and entertainment. The Gulf beaches, wildlife refuge, and state parks are very close. The seafood restaurants were very good. The clubhouse, pool, laundry, and other facilities were excellent. The general maintenance of the Park was commendable. Wi-Fi was available but we did not use it, as well as, the showers and restrooms. We would definitely stay here again for an extended stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2012
$19
Friendly staff Nice campground We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2012
$15
Stayed for two nights. Nice place, nice people. Our Verizon Wi-Fi card had only one bar so we could only check email. No cable but the price is great! The place is very clean and the big sites with trees are wonderful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
January 2012
$18
For us, this park is fine for a night or two, but it has a lack of any real energy and it's not very close to recreation or shopping. Most of the sites are on grass and they get really sloppy when it rains. The people are friendly and the price is right, but we probably won't come back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2012
$15
You have to be an Escapee member to stay here. The sites are huge and the people are friendly. All but a few sites have a big tree and yet getting a satellite signal is easy because all the sites run south/north. A great, quiet place to relax. You can wash your rig and even fix your car or give it an oil change at a "garage" on site. You're encouraged to join in the many activities at the fully-equipped club house. If you stay here, be sure to go eat at Lamberts in Foley. They don't take credit cards and they don't serve alcohol, beer, or wine, but they'll serve you lots of great food, and in three days you may be hungry again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2011
$16
Rate is daily rate for a FHU 50 amp back-in site with metered electric (have added our electric cost into the the rate) based on Escapee discount. Roads paved, sites, all of which are back-in, are on sandy grass with trees at most sites, and can accommodate the largest rigs. Good satellite reception even with the trees as sites are open to the north and south. Verizon cell reception was so so as we experienced several dropped calls, yet smartphone internet searches were very fast and reliable. Typical Escapees friendliness and scheduled activities. It's a little out of the way, but we would definitely stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2011
$12
Very comfortable place to stay while visiting the area. We planned to stay a week and stayed two instead. The sites are large with a shade tree to help block the afternoon sun. Our dog loved the large area for her walks. We thoroughly enjoyed the park and plan to return. The price reflects the Escapees Member discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2011
$15
This is an Escapees park and the rate shown is for Escapees members. The sites are grass but very flat so leveling is easy. They are some of the largest sites we have ever been on. Large live oak trees provide lots of shade but some sites will have problems with roof-mounted dishes. WiFi is available for a fee; we didn't use it. Verizon signal is adequate but not excellent for an air card. The park also has a very nice solar-heated swimming pool. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2010
$15
Nice park, well taken care of. Sites are grass so watch out during the wet season: can be muddy. Associated with the Escapees RV Club, so rate is a member rate with additional charges for electric hookup. Plenty to do in the area: close to Mobile, Pensacola, the gulf, outlet and shopping at Foley. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$15
The price is the daily rate, not including electric, at this Escapee park. The sites are all back-ins, but very accessible for all size rigs. We had 50 amp full hook-ups, all in good working order. The sewer was positioned pretty far back: we needed the entire length of hose to reach it. Our site was satellite friendly, although not all were. The campground could use some better (bigger) signage at the entrance and maybe a sign on US 59 at the turn onto CR 28. We would return if in the area again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$15
This is a real nice CG. Located 6 miles west of AL59 so it's very quiet and in the country. It's 15 minutes to Summerdale or Foley for shopping or restaurants. It's 20 miles from the Gulf beach. Has very LARGE grass sites and paved roads. Has mature trees but no trouble with a rooftop satellite dish. Sprint cell and air card worked fine. Has a very large swimming pool. $15 based on pay for 15 and stay for 20 nights, includes electricity, it was quite hot and humid this time of the year making the pool wonderful. Has a nice laundry room $ .75 wash or dry. Has friendly staff. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2010
$15
This is a beautiful park with large, level grassy sites. Most have a shade tree. All roads are paved and it is very well taken care of. There is a laundry with 4 washers and 6 dryers. There is no LP available and you have to leave the park and drive into Robertsdale for propane. Hence the lower rating. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2010
$14
Nice campground. Quiet, gravel/grass sites. Friendly people in the office. Quite of few activities going on during the week. No cable, but my converter box got the major stations. Tengo Wi-Fi. I had a couple of problems with it, but they were worked out after talking with tech support. I would have rated it higher, but there were only 2 bathroom/shower combination's for the whole park, and only one trash container on the far end - not at all convenient for my end of the park. Had to pay for electricity even for one night. So although the rate I stated is the Escapee rate, I had to add electricity & WiFi. I was looking to see if it would be a good place to spend a month or more but decided with those negatives and the nearest store being so far, I probably won't do that. The bathrooms were very clean. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2010
$12
Nice big sites on grass, but with gravel underneath. Good paved roads and plenty of room to back in large 5th wheels. Some of the sites have standing water in them after rain. Best to get a site on the hillside. Almost all the sites have a live oak tree on them that provides plenty of shade. The WiFi is marginal. It is TenGo and may or may not work well for you depending on where you park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2009
$13
This is a great Escapees campground, the sites are large and nearly level. There are good size trees and good roads. The staff is friendly and helpful. The park is out in the country some so while it is a longer drive it is also very quiet. (In addition to the $13 fee we had to pay for electricity - still a deal.) We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2009
$13
As others have reported this campground is a bit remote, but quiet. Roof top satellite will not work on some of the sites due to the trees, and there is no cable TV . Wi-Fi is available at $3 a day through Tango. Good, wide interior roads and large grass or dirt sites. No problems for larger RV's. There are no sites with concrete patios. Campground is on Road 28 about 12 miles from Summerdale and Foley. New Wal-Mart on Hwy 180 north about 10 miles. Try the small restaurant in Magnolia Springs for lunch. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2009
$22
This park has huge grassy lots with trees, but not so many your satellite won't work. It is quiet. There are activities but most of them are through the winter months. There is shopping within ten miles, and it is twenty miles to the beach. The rate is the non member rate, Escapee members are less. The only downside to this park that I could see is the wi-fi access. There is a charge and that would be OK if the company supplying the service wasn't Tengo who, in my opinion and experience, is the worst service available. $15 a week and slower than dial up if it works at all. I had good to excellent access at all times so no excuse for the service. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2009
$12
Park has nice wide spaces between large tall trees. There weren't any pull-throughs, but the roadways and spaces allowed for a lot of leeway in backing into the spaces. Great flat biking back and forth to office or laundry. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2009
$19
Huge sites but on grass and dirt. It is not in a very convenient location. We stayed for a week through some nasty weather. When we asked the attendant at the office if there was a storm shelter, he told us in a colorful way that there were none. We attended two events at the clubhouse and except for two women and the lady at the check-in desk, we witnessed none of the friendliness we've heard so much about. Our sewer connection was at the very back of the rig and slightly uphill, making dumping difficult. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2008
$14
This is a fantastic park. The sites are huge, most have a large tree on each side. There are no pull-throughs, but the sites are so large, even newbies like us had no problem backing in. We had no trouble leveling. This park is like a giant neighborhood, everyone was very friendly. There is an active social hall, community dinners, hobby get together, etc. The only thing my kids missed is a playground, but I doubt they get enough kids in here to justify one. Also, be sure to eat at Lambert's Cafe in Foley, it was quite an experience. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
November 2008
$15
OK park if passing through. Some like it for wintering. Sites big enough but with lots of road noise if in the back. Nothing to look at what so ever. You pay extra for electric. Wasn't my cup of tea but nothing wrong with it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2008
$13
This park had the widest sites we've ever stayed in, and most every site had a large shade tree. Although they had dozens of open sites, the afterhours board only listed 3, not sure why. When we called a few days before, we were told vacancies were not a problem (which it wasn't, we only needed one site). The laundry, pool, library, video room, billards, etc. is located in the clubhouse, which is central to the subdivision and far from the RV sites. It was very clean, roomy and comfortable. The rate we paid is for Escapees, non-member rate is double. It is located on CR-28 with some traffic noisy but not bothersome at all. The park is acres and acres of grass and trees, very pretty. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2008
$13
This is our favorite Escapees park. The sites are huge! And almost every site has a shade tree, which is great, but doesn't interfere with satellite reception. The current winter staff will be returning for the 2009 winter season and they are fantastic. This is our winter "home." We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2008
$14
Some back-in sites and some that seem to be pull throughs. Very large generous size lots. Nice clubhouse and great social group. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2008
$14
Great Escapees park. We will definitely be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2007
$14
Pretty country setting, yet a short drive from Foley and Gulf Shores. Really huge sites, but all back-ins. Also many houses in the park owned by Escapees members. Nice big clubhouse, library, pool, laundry, tho a long walk from the camping area. Not enough showers for campers. Tengo internet available, no cable but antenna gets networks. At bargain rate, a nice stop for Escapees. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2007
$23
Escapee Park, member discount not applied. No pads, but good level grass sites, many with shade. Rural setting, however plenty of shopping, activities and lots of restaurants within 10 miles. We stay here every time heading across the gulf coast. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2006
$12
Large, level grassy sites with oak trees. Bargain prices for Escapees: $11.50 + electric. Large alphabetized book exchange. Very quiet, with very well maintained facilities. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2006
$13
A beautiful, very well maintained Escapee Park. Spotlessly clean, great people, very friendly atmosphere and a gorgeous location. Grassy level sites with many large trees. Looking forward to returning for a much longer stay. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2005
$12
Rates are $11.50 per day plus electric for Escapee members; $21 per day for non-members, this is a nice country park just south of town with wide grassy sites and some social activities available. We spent a very pleasant week there and will definitely return again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com