206628 User submitted reviews online!!
Aces High RV Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 71 user reviews. Phone: (860) 739-8858
CGID607

Aces High RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
90
Date of Stay
September 2013
Latest Rate
$53



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   10   5   9   8   5   9   9   9   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  no  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2013
$53
The site was level, all utilities worked, and the area and restrooms were extremely clean. The only bad thing about this campground is its staff. They were very unhelpful and rather rude. We will look for another place next time in CT. The Pequot Museum in Mashantucket is a must see while in this area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2013
$50
Good check in, lots are level, spaced out good, roads good, utilities could be better spaced, but OK. Overall a good park, pool looked good. Fire rings and table at each lot. Quiet and easy access from I-95 about 3+ miles. Small playground, park better suited for adults. Some longer term residents, but all units well kept. We will return if in the area again. Stayed 4 nights. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2013
$50
Advertised as a "luxury resort". This is a basic, acceptable campground but not a resort, in any way. The roads are not paved and dusty; there are some tree issues for large rigs; the pool is not heated; the restrooms are not air conditioned; the staff is not friendly (often posted about) and the laundry facilities are not in good repair. In addition, you have to pay to use the showers. The positives are it is off the road, so it is quiet, no train or plane noise and close to sightseeing, shopping, etc. The sights are of good length, but the back section is not completely level. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$48
Very nice park. I agree there is limited activities for kids. I would have rated it a 10, but was never able to log into the Wi-Fi as the signal was too weak. We plan to return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$48
This was our second stay here, I consider it a park, not a campground. The park has received major awards in the past two years. It is quiet, and while there is a playground and pool, it seems to primarily cater to adults. The sites are wide, level and well maintained. It is hard to not give it a 10. BUT..I had major problems with Wi-Fi, and totally gave up the last day; there were major problems with cable that we should not have had, and needed up having to attach a special box. Park personnel were less than helpful, in fact surly is a better description in dealing with these issues. I do not understand the rationale for $ showers to begin with, these showers have no hooks or shelves, to avoid putting your belongings on the wet floor you must place a plastic stacking chair in an already small space. You have 7 minutes (maybe) to adjust the water temperature and shower before the water runs out. I was willing to overlook much of this and go with a ten until I had to use the laundry. It is stuck in the walk ot basement of the owners house/office. It is dirty and the machines are not in good repair. I expect the ARVC park of the year to be a 10 in all areas. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2013
$50
Clean & convenient-- yes, but nothing to do. We spent two nights in middle August with two children (10 & 8). No activities at all. There is a pool, but it is freezing - even in middle August? It is small and is in desperate need of a heater. Seems to clear out during the day. Adults will enjoy the campground if they want quiet, but families will struggle to keep their children entertained. We will not be back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$54
Very clean , nice park , we will be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$45
I mostly concur with all of the good reviews of this campground. It is spacious, clean, and convenient to the beach areas and continually well maintained. The front desk will let you use a beach pass for one of the local beaches and that was a great plus. The only negative I have is that the wi-fi is basically useless. It may be because my site was too far away from an existing antenna, but I had no wi-fi reception. Otherwise, I would recommend this campground to anyone looking to visit this area of CT. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$50
This big rig friendly park has hard gravel roads leading to level gravel/grass sites. There are no sharp turns or low branches in this park, making it easy to get to any campsite. The trees do cast some shade, but none should affect your satellite reception. Most pull-through sites are very long and wide, we had plenty of room setting up our 40ft class A with 4 slides and awning in a 50 amp full hookup spot. There was also lots of room left for parking our toad as well. Our sprint 3G phone and hotspot worked well. Bathrooms, showers (coin operated) and laundry were clean as well as the pool and pond swimming area. Long term residents’ sites were also kept tidy. This is a very quiet park with no road noise. There is a prox card security gate at the entrance. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2013
$49
Owners continue to take pride in having a clean, well-maintained campground. Entrance is paved. Beyond the gate, the roads and sites are gravel, and the sites are long and level. Lots of space between sites. Utilities are good. Have stayed here before, and would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2013
$48
This is an excellent campground to stay in. It is extremely clean with plenty of wide spaced sites and level ground. The lake is an outstanding place for fishing. Because of their catch and release policy, we caught plenty of bass, sunfish, and crappie. We didn't have a single complaint, other than we had to leave this campground because of our schedule. We will be coming back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2012
$54
My family and I stayed here for a weekend in August. My wife and I enjoyed our stay, and it was convenient as our children had soccer games nearby Saturday morning. The sites were large and level and the grounds were well kept. The only real complaint I have is I wish they had more activities for children; however, we liked it here, and we will come back, especially if our boys have soccer games in the area again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$64
Nice appearance, convenient and open all year. High rate obviously due to prime vacation week BUT place not full: perhaps due to high rate. And you would think for the rate charged you wouldn't have to pay 25 cents for seven minutes in a shower. Some kids here, a nice pool: but if you want kid activities this isn't the place. You kind of get the flavor from the sign in the office. "If you don't like the rules, buy the campground and make your own rules." We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2012
$54
We camped here on a Saturday, Sunday leaving Monday. This was our first stay. The campground is easy to get to and only a few miles off 95. Construction heading north on 95 was brutal. Once we arrived we were surprised at the small; however, well stocked store. In fact, the whole campground was compact. I don't want to give the impression that the sites were small. We stayed off Tens Row in spot 28. The "pull through" site was large, level, and easy to navigate. The campground was clean. Our shower's diverter broke forcing me to use the 25 cent shower which was both clean and hot. Be careful to turn the temperature down. The quarter bought me enough time to take a shower and turned off just after rinsing off. One inconvenience was that no one picked up trash. There were dumpsters conveniently located throughout the park. Two items: If you are a "Good Sam" member you will receive a discount off the posted rates. I didn't see too many children at this park which is fine by me. There doesn't seem to be many child friendly activities. I highly recommend this park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2012
$45
Close to I-95 - 3 miles or so - easy access - beautiful grass & trees. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2012
$55
Made our first trip of the year this past weekend to Aces High. As usual the place is in tip top shape. It is one of the cleanest parks my wife and I have been to. There aren’t a lot of kids, it draws and older crowd. Nice and quiet, the way I like it. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2012
$40
A friend of ours who camps mostly in our state of CT, mentioned this place to us. We had an occasion to use it when the now famous Halloween storm of 2011 hit us with over a foot of heavy wet snow. We lost power for 8 days. Fortunately we hadn't winterized our coach so we headed an hour south to this campground. What a pleasant surprise! This is a very nice park. Located in rural SE CT it has long level 70' gravel pull through sites. Hooks ups were placed well. Good cable TV and WiFi. Groceries were 3-4 miles down the road in the lovely shoreline town of Niantic. The owners were very nice and helpful. Many other R/Vs due to the storm were present. They had a nice pool onsite (closed for the season) and a great little fishing pond. Our grandsons enjoyed the playground and vastness of the campground. We hiked all around its up and down hills and stream. Neat place. Not a lot to do otherwise but a wonderful base to enjoy Casino, shopping, great shoreline and restaurants. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2011
$55
Continues to be our favorite park in this area, in fact: New England. Large level sites, good utilities and cable TV. Good SAT signal. They recently added a pool. Its QUIET, even on the weekends. Well maintained. About the only place for big rigs. Shopping, etc, is close by. Do breakfast at the Shack, in Flanders. Look for the crowd. Like everything in the Northeast, it ain't cheap. Our rate reflects weekly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$49
A class act! The facility is/was very nice. Sites were level and spacious - lots of room between sites. We really look forward to an uncrowded environment. Aces high does that and more. Amenities were good, albeit the hurricane knocked out power. Even so, the grounds were safe and the owner-managed park gets lots of "kudos". Should we again be in the area, we would most certainly return to this campground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$77
Nice location, decent sized site for big rig RV. Easy access to/in park, gravel roads and site, sketchy Wi-Fi, didn't use bath house. Asked for a pull-through and was put in the back of the park (over the bridge) - site not level and really sloped down in the front, but we made do. Also, that area of the park has very new, minimal landscape - mostly just open field with some fairly small trees. the main area of the park is much prettier, with a couple small ponds and nice mature landscaping. Tried to move but was told they were full, however, I saw many open sites throughout the weekend. We camped here over a holiday - 4th of July - and there was a three day minimum. Would go back to again if I was in that area, but only if I could stay in the main campground area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2011
$45
We hung out here for 3 days. Beautiful old park. Nice size sites that were level. Plenty of water pressure. Room for big rigs. Nice pool, lake (pond) and stream. Large recreational area for the dog to run, though it is not fenced. People were nice in the office. Secured gate entrance at night. Quiet place, no road noise. Good restaurants near by. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$60
Great park. Check-in lady stayed a few minutes late to get me checked in. Huge sites, well-manicured grounds surrounded by hills so it feels like it is deep in the country. Did not like the pay showers, but they were clean and had good hot water. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
December 2010
$45
The park itself I would rate a "9", but there is a lot of baggage that comes along with this campground. If you want to be treated like part of the furniture, by all means go and enjoy. Sites are clean and have an upscale feel, because most are high end MH's going to the casino. However, after our stay we booked a future 2 day stay which was accepted by their staff. A month later I called to confirm the site, and the owner said she canceled the reservation since it was a required 3 day stay weekend. We were not informed before, and were coming that weekend. I offered to pay a half day extra that would allow us to stay till 5, AND offered to book an additional weekend in their off season. To all of this she said rules are rules and she would not change them even though she admitted that this was her mistake. I booked at another campground. (When I posted this on another web site, the owner had the nerve to go on and said we should had just paid her for the extra day, since it would have been cheaper than staying at the other campground.) This was not about dollars, it was about paying for a non service and being treated civilly. This owner does not understand either. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2010
$45
We stayed at this Resort during peak season for the Autumn Leaves and it was beautiful in every way! We had a very nice site which backed up to the lake. This RV Park is one of the most big rig friendly resorts we have seen with many pull-through sites. We were thankful that tents were not allowed having just come from a rather large noisy, smoky park! This park is large and has a beautiful walking trail that encircles the lake. All utilities worked well. Wi-Fi was terrific! Cable was great!! Our site was spacious and had a good size fire pit with a grill top. The park itself was very quiet and the staff members we spoke with were very friendly and helpful. We used Enterprise to rent a car. There is a little Fish Market called Flanders Fish Market right down the road about five minutes and we had a great meal there! The grocery store across the street was clean and very well stocked. We hope to be able to stay longer on our next visit. It was terrific! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2010
$45
This is a nice looking park, but oh my gosh, the rules are ridiculous. Park is big and has a very nice walking trail that encircles the (stagnant) lake. Wi-Fi was very good. There is a $10 refundable charge for a gate card; you do get it back at check out. Guests are charged $5.00, whether here for 5 minutes or 5 hours, and must leave their vehicles in the general parking lot. There is a sign in the office that describes the attitude: "If you don't like the rules, buy the campground and make your own rules!" There are lots and lots of rules and they enforce every one. We felt as though we were in a prison camp and could not wait to leave. We won't return here, but will gladly go back to a campground in Mystic next time we're in the area. We felt it was too expensive for the amenities offered, the attitude to deal with, and the rules one must put up with. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$48
Nice quiet campground, more adult oriented since there are few kid activities. Fine for us since we don't have kids. We stayed over this past weekend with heavy thunderstorms, overall very little mud and it drained extremely well. Took 1 point off for non paved roads, and 1 point for not having a swimming pool. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2010
$49
Clean, wide open, easy access. Not a great place for kids. The pond was stagnant. However, for a $40 refundable deposit you can get a pass to the Niantic town ocean beach which is a nice park (get your Flanders doughnuts on the way). Park is in a good location to get to many places, so it makes for a good home base. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$45
Nice park, with huge pull-through sites. You can pick up a beach pass from the office for the day. Good location to go sight seeing to Mystic or the casinos. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2010
$49
Our second visit to this campground, and it is still as well-maintained as before. Paved entrance, with gravel roads and site, which is level and long. Gated to the campground. Excellent for satellite reception. Attention to detail is evident. Office staff very helpful. Only negative: WiFi is very weak. Rate reflects a partial holiday rate. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2010
$40
Stayed here the weekend of May 1st. This was the first “official” trip in our new class C. We took the in-laws up for a visit to Mohegan Sun, which is approximately 10 miles from this campground. We had a very nice site (#43) backed up to the lake. This RV Park is big rig friendly with many pull through sites. We saw Plenty of large class “A’s” & “5th Wheels” and only a few “C’s” & Travel trailers. No tent sites are offered. Park is big and has a very nice walking trail that encircles the lake. Lake is stocked with Trout, Bass, Sunfish and pike (didn’t figure on a pike until my 16 year old pulled out a nice 6 incher) and is catch and release. All utilities worked well. Wi-Fi was the quickest I’ve ever seen at a campground. Site was spacious and had a decent sized fire pit with a grill top. Very quiet at night and the staff was friendly and courteous. There is a $10 refundable charge for a gate card, which didn’t bother us in the least; you do get the $10 back on check out. Used the Enterprise rent a car in New London (6 miles away & they pick you up) for our trip to Mohegan. Very convenient if like us, you don’t have a toad. In the future, we wouldn’t hesitate on staying longer and visiting Mohegan, Foxwoods and Mystic Seaport, which are all local. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
September 2009
$55
This campground got several awards when it was new in the early 2000's, I'm not sure for what. First it is expensive for what you get. They charge extra for everything: $2 per hour if you check in before 3pm, and $5 for a guest to even come to your site to have a cup of coffee. We had a new motorhome and had friends in the area, if we wanted to bring them into the park, even for a few minutes there was a $10 charge. Overnight fees are $10 for each adult and $5 for children. There is a $10 fee (in cash) at check-in for your key card to get in and out the gate. And only one car per site: we are in the middle of moving and have two cars, which would have easily fit in our parking space, but I had to park it in an unsecure area out by the highway, at least 1/4 mile from our site. Not fun in the rain or at night. There are a few lights by the office, otherwise the parking lots and campground are dark. There is a sign in the office that sets the tone, "If you don't like the rules, buy the campground and make your own rules!" There are lots and lots of rules and they enforce every one. I felt like I was in a prison camp and could not wait to leave. In September the place is all but deserted: lots of empty rigs of the seasonals, just a few of us actually staying in our rigs. I will look for a campground in Mystic next time we come to the area. And by the way: don't let the name fool you, it isn't very close to the casino's either. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2009
$44
Overall a very nice campground for big rigs with large, level spaces. No problems getting into sites. If you need internet access don't depend on this stop: it's poor. Yes, you can get it at your site, but they restrict bandwidth, so it's basically email. Otherwise it's slow/unusable. If you need it for business on the road, look elsewhere. For the price of the place we were disappointed with this little issue. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2009
$48
We just returned from camping with our friends on a waterfront site at this park and loved it. The sites were very large, wide open, had very nice fire pits and excellent water pressure. A very quiet campground: not many activities but very relaxing. The campground staff was excellent. There is a well stocked camp-store with very good prices! There is a small swimming pond, a playground and they had paddle boats and row boats for rental at $5 bucks for 90 minutes: not bad! We would camp here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$55
About the highest priced park in the area. But it is quiet, level, secure. And well located. We've stayed here a few times: from a few days to a few weeks. Wi-Fi works, but frequently slows down. Large spaces, gravel pads. If you are looking for a good local cafe, go to the Shack, about three miles away just past the first red light going toward I-95. Pretty much everything you need is within 10 miles. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$45
There are nice big sites, some activities, very quiet at night. The only drawback to this RV park is the showers, bathrooms & game room are not air conditioned, it was so hot and humid. We asked and they told us it was too expensive to run! We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$49
We stayed during the week and the park was empty, mostly the very big class A's. Quiet, well kept CG, not much there for the high price. Beach needs to be raked, weeds are taking it over. Restrooms were very clean. Casinos are nearby, and I did win enough to pay for the camping! I felt the sites were above average in size, had easy access, and high quality connections. I don't use the Wi-Fi, so can't comment on that. The cable signal was fine, heavy rains left us without much else to do except watch television. Camp store had a nice selection, at reasonable prices. I'd stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2009
$55
This park has little shade, wide open is good sometimes. The staff is not too friendly. Visitor policy is totally unacceptable. NO vehicles are allowed in the campground AND guests are charged $10 per person!!! Mind you, to just stop by for a visit! We have local friends who wanted to stop by for a drink and visit for less than one hour. We had to pay $20 and they had to walk into park. On top of our nearly $60 per night charge, that is crazy. When I asked staff if they had a visitor problem or for an explanation they said, "All the campgrounds in Connecticut charge for visitors." Well that is not true. I would try Old Mystic next time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2009
$49
Very nice campground, even though it is a bit pricey. The sites were level, staff was friendly and there was a reasonable distance between sites. If we are in this area again, we would definitely stay here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2009
$60
Neat, clean and manicured campground. Hollywood could film an RV commercial here. The only draw back for us was lack of privacy between sites. Felt like being in the town common with a bunch of RVs. We would go back to stay over for a night or two. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2008
$50
Level spots, close to many popular areas of Connecticut. This is the only good thing. Owner very rude. Very expensive and everything was extra, even showers were extra. Wifi is available, but if you download a couple of pictures and exceed the Owners idea of a daily limit, the connection is slowed down enough to be basically unusable. Cable is, of course, extra. Do not bring an extra car; it will not be allowed in the Park. If I ever return to the New London area, I will be pulling into a Motel. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2008
$54
Stayed for a week over Labor Day weekend (that is why the high rate) This is a very nice park that seems to cater to bigger rigs. Nice staff and they had a pig roast over Labor Day weekend incl in the price. Only downside are the roads are pebble size gravel and it gets in the unit for a mess. Minor inconvience when considering overall facility. Will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2008
$68
They did not keep my reservation for a pull thru site so I had to back in and unhook for a one night stop. Lady could have been a little nicer when she realized they had made the mistake on my site. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2008
$44
We stopped here three nights to visit the Mystic Seaport area and this was a excellent campground. Well landscaped, almost all sites appeared level, very clean, no trashy type RV’ers allowed (no tents at sites, no hanging of clothes, no parking on the grass and dog leash rules enforced). It is gated and controlled with cards. There is no pool but we saw some families swimming in a pond within the campground. There was some problems with the wireless internet connection sometimes not working or very slow. This is a campground we would return to. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2008
$44
We stayed here for an overnight on the way to FL from NH. Easy access from interstate. Very clean, spacious and well kept park with a lovely stream, fishing, swimming and boating. We had a level pull-through site with W/E/S and cable. Free Wi-Fi with good strong signal. Although we did not use restrooms and facilities, there is no doubt that they were spotless based upon our observations of the rest of the park. We will return and use tis park as a base to check out Mystic Seaport, CT casinos and the general area. A little pricey, but sometimes you get what you pay for. ALSO, open all year. We always have trouble finding something in the area March and November. This is a great location and park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2007
$42
Very nice park with hiking trails, nice store, big sites and well kept. My only complaint. We made it all the way from Alaska and this was the first time we were charged for early arrival. The park was nearly empty. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2007
$40
These poor campground owners. Tthey mean well but have their business structure all wrong. Far too high camping fees, but worst of all their Wi-Fi which is sub contracted out, has so poor bandwidth, that it was totally ineffective. It took us over 2 days, 30 minutes to download a simple TEXT email. Poor owners do not really understand the problem. If your Wi-Fi does not work, DO NOT advertise it. Enough said. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2007
$35
This is the best RV park overall we have stayed in and we traveled 26,000 miles last year. It is clean, secure and has all the things for a transient. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2007
$40
Look in your dictionary under “Rip Off” and you’ll find this park. Very pretty, good Cable and nice, level sites. Want WiFi? Pay extra. Want a shower? Take your quarters. Hands up all those who truly enjoy being nickeled and dimed, having paid too much to start with. In the total absence of instructions, it took me a while to figure out how to make the pay shower work. My wife, who has two college degrees and 6 years’ camping experience, couldn’t get it to work at all. I think it’s their way of preserving the park for the seasonals – who predominate – and keeping out the great unwashed itinerants. With a shower like that, they’re doing their best to keep us unwashed. The desk lady, while certainly not rude, was in my opinion rather perfunctory. Nice park, long on location, short on philosophy. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2007
$40
A park with a lovely, comfortable 'feel'. Well looked after and obviously cared for. Extremely well spaced out sites. Lake with back-in sites. We have a dually/36' fifth wheel and our pull-through site was HUGE and level. Light tree shade. Excellent 50A supply, good water pressure, good cable TV. WiFi was pay @3.95 per day - not used. Good laundry. Easy on/off of I-95 and nearby places of interest for visits. Would have no hesitation in using again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2007
$45
We were first here in the park eight years ago. They have added more sites. The pull-thru's are big with plenty of room. Sites also have plenty of room and are level. For a deposit you can get a pass for the town beach which is a plus. Well planned out park and we will return again. Not far from Mystic or the casinos. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2007
$45
The campground was clean and well kept. The site was very large and very level. We would have liked more shade on our site (31), but were very pleased with the location and size. The staff was not rude, but also not very friendly. They seem to want to nickel and dime you. They require a $10 cash deposit if you plan to leave the campground for an access card to get you back in the gate, a $2 deposit for a bundle of $5 wood because they are in milk crates and they'll give you $2 back when you return the crate, a $40 cash deposit for the McCook's beach pass that must be returned that day before the office closes or you forfeit the $40, and the shower's required quarters to use. For $45 a night, I shouldn't have to give them the extra money. Have me sign a slip that says if I don't return the access card or the beach pass, my credit card will be charge. For the other fees, come on: cost of doing business! You got my $45 a night and my credit card number. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2007
$45
Where do I start? This is not a "family" campground. The $45/night fee is high considering what they have. Game room consisted of 3 games -- 2 of which were broken. Pool table had only one working cue. The pond is for swimming and to use paddle boats, but it was filthy! Beach was super small. There was a playground - but it consisted of swings and one other piece of equipment. I was over charged when I checked in (by a night's fee), and when I went back to question it later that day, I was met by a stern woman at the front desk who was rude -- basically was trying to tell me that my nightly fee was higher than it should have been. Another woman came out of the office and corrected the situation. She was nice and eager to fix the situation. Their activities consist of fishing (there were no fish when we tried - even though I believe they said it was a stocked pond), cheese & wine parties (of which you bring your own wine, they provide the cheese & crackers!), and other minor "activities" that basically cost you money (purchase chowder in the front office and card games.) They have wi-fi, but it costs. This is definitely a place for campers who want to just park their large RV someplace, and go on day trips. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$45
Our only criticism of this park would be the management. We made a reservation for Sat/Sun but later learned that we would only have time for one night and called a few days before to advise them. No pleasant discussion at all. It was a case of "well we'll charge you for two nights anyway". Accepted that, but the attitude was rude. Arrived at 1pm on the Saturday and was charged an extra $5 for being 2 hours before check-in time. Been on the road for a year now and this has never happened. Especially when we've paid for two nights and only staying for one. Tried the wifi that was advertised and it did not work. Back to the office and they gave me the tel. no. of the wifi co. - Linkspot. They told me the park is off the air. Back to the office and they called Linkspot, but it was obvious that the system had been "down" for some time as they told Linkspot that they were unhappy with repeated complaints from campers. The park is very pleasant with lakes and excellent pull-thru sites. Shame about the penny-pinching attitude and we would not be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2007
$47
Not the family campground we were looking for, more geared toward adults. Nice park nonetheless. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2007
$45
Very nice park in a great location. Lots to do near by (casinos, restaurants, Mystic Harbour, waterfront towns, Newport R.I. close by as well). Smartly managed and well maintained; albeit I don't personally like pea gravel on my campsite. I would highly recommend. Made for really big rigs 40-45 footers easily accommodated. WiFi is poor; however. Needs more antennae and updated backbone software. Fishing in campground stream and lakes spotty. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2007
$40
We love this park. Close to the ferry which is convienant for us. We also LOVE the fact that they have full hook up on the lake. My kids went fishing here for the first time. There is a river that runs through the property, and the kids loved exploring with nets to see what they could catch and later release. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2007
$42
We stayed in this park for two weeks and truly enjoyed it. The park is quiet, very well kept and has plenty of elbow room due to the large sites. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2006
$40
We camp here a half a dozen times a year for the past five years and have always found the owners to be professional and polite.An excellent location to be at to tour local sites such as the casinos nearby and popular restaurants. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2006
$40
Beautiful, clean, quiet! Nicely landscaped, grounds were well taken care of. No planned activities for kids, but for us older folks it was pure heaven. Very tranquil. I would have rated it a 10 but they didn't have a pool. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2006
$45
We made a reservation 2 months ago for a 1 week stay. Due to flooding along the way we called to see if we could get in a week earlier for a stay of 2 weeks. The lady assured us we could come in and she would find something and we may have to move a couple of times which we understood. The following day we received a call from her and she had a full hook up site for us beginning on June 30-July 13 and we would not have to move. Needless to say, we were thrilled and feel that this lady went above and beyond to accommodate us especially over the 4th of July. She was also extremely helpful with directions to various places. Great park, good sites, would return on next visit to CT. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2006
$48
Nice park with a bad attitude. Owners are very rude. They should retire and sell the place to someone who knows how to treat guests. We will not be back. The nearby casino is putting in an RV Park and we can't wait to stay there. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2006
$45
This is the worst management that I have ever experienced. We reserved for a month well ahead of time and were quoted $843.00 for one month of water sewer and electric pull through site, and cable TV would be extra (no mention of any extra electrical charges). On check in we paid this amount with a credit card and we declined the cable TV (still no mention of extra electrical charges). After 10 days of our stay the owner informed us that we were also being charged for $0.20/kwh for electricity on top of the high monthly rate. According to her that is their policy, however we were never informed of this on reservation or at check in. She did offer to charge us the higher weekly rate which includes electricity rather than the monthly rate. In addition, there is an extra charge for every other little thing they can think of, such as, gate key for the automatic gate system, showers cost extra, wifi costs extra, cable cost extra, high prices on the washers and dryers, charges for any visitors even to just come and pick you up. The dumpsters are not emptied frequently enough and the sites are infested with ants. The staff treats the guests as if they are the enemy. No hospitality what so ever. This type of management style is what gives the RV industry a bad name. This is really a shame because the park could have such a different atmosphere with the proper ownership. I will not stay here again. Do not recommend this park to your worst enemy. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2005
$42
Aces High is a very nice RV Park. It does not have a swimming pool, however, they do have a swimming area. The back comfort station was locked so I cannot comment on the cleanliness of the bathroom or showers. The brochure said showers cost a quarter for 7 minutes. I think the hookups could have been arranged better (put the sewer connection towards the back of the site). Owners seemed friendly. I thought it was going to be deserted, being November, but there was 45 units there Saturday morning! I checked in about 15 minutes early and was not charged extra. Site was fairly level. The only discount they offer is Good Sam, nothing else. No discount for being off season either, it is $42 year round. I would stay there again if I needed to, but I would rather check out other campgrounds first. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2005
$38
Nice park in quite setting. Lighted hookup posts, not much light at night otherwise. This park can handle any size rig, and has both shaded and open sites for people wanting to use satellite internet. Very nice playground, and looked as though much planning went into entire park. There were concrete drains below water hydrants, concrete collars around sewer connections, cable-tv hookup in the lighted hookup boxes. We were just overnighting there, but it looked like a good destination park with the lake for fishing, nice playground, and swimming pool. The family that runs the park seemed nice enough at check-in. I didn't give it a 10 because it lacked paved roads and concrete pads on the sites. I didn't notice the dust previously mentioned, but I'm sure with a long dry spell it could get dusty. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2005
$65
The park was very nice, sites had goose crap all over so it was like tip toeing thru, also owners where very rude and changed rules as they seem fit will never go back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2004
$42
This is a very nice campground, very clean and quiet, it is more of an adult campground as there is not much for youn children to do other than fish. The area itself does have alot for children tho so having something for them to do should be no problem. We stay here several times a year and really enjoy this place. The seasonals are nice to us as well and always look for us when we come back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2004
$38
We really liked this park. It is very accommodating to big rigs with slides and an internet dish. Compared to other parks close to Foxwoods Casino and Mohegan Sun Casino this one rates the highest. It is only 6 years old and the spaces are large. Others in the area don't even have sewer. We would definitely come back if we ever travel this way again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
2004
$40
This could be a world-class RV resort but, unfortunately, it is not, primarily due to management. The park has very long pull-throughs and excellent turning room for big rigs, and all sites are level. The grounds are very attractive and it is surrounded by lakes and fairly high hills. The problem is there is dust--dust everywhere. It gets into everything. It is due to very, very fine rock on the roads and on the sites and it is like dry powder when the wind blows or when someone drives by. It is terrible. You would think they would at least pave the roads in a park this nice. The second problem is they fee you to death on top of already healthy camping charges. Fees for showers, fees for guests, fees for early arrival, etc. They have set a check in time of 3 p. m. and, one Saturday, I watched at least ten vehicles arrive and get hit with these fees even though the park was two thirds empty. This is unfair and is nothing but a fee generation system. The third problem is garbage. We were here five days before they emptied the dumpster, and it smelled to high heaven. Finally, the store hours are totally unpredictable. Time after time, I watched people go to the store during the hours they were supposed to be open only to find the door locked. I would have given this park an 8 or a 9 but, with these problems, all I can give is a 5. Even having said all this, I must admit this park is still better than the nearby one in North Stonington. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2004
$45
We camped here for Easter. The campground is very nice, with large sites, good cable t.v., great water pressure and we had a nice view of the pond right behind us. Since it was Easter Weekend, the activities included egg coloring and a egg hunt for the kids. When we checked in we were informed that both were cancelled due to not enough kids. Instead my daughter received a small bag of candy on Sunday morning. Part of the reason we camp is because of the activities that the campgrounds offer. I checked their list of activities for the season and found that they do not offer much. We feel that because of that we would not like to go back to this park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
2003
$30
I was on a job in CT for one month. When the park was contacted originally cable and electricity were included in the package. When I arrived they had jacked up the monthly to 700 plus 25 for cable and your electricity charge. I assumed it was because they had a large number of arriving contractors. I didn't appreciate the rate change especially considering it was off season. There were two bathroom/shower houses. Without notice the one in the rear of the park was closed for the season in the middle of my stay with not even a note on the door. Additionally the bathrooms have no locks so good luck during showers. Showers also cost 25cents for approximately 5 minutes. I did not get my key deposit back because they closed before I pulled out. The payphone had a port to plug in your computer but you would have to have an 800 number (so the month cost me 129 for dial up toll free access) Overall the park was fine, the rate changes and diff in what was originally included versus it being a seperate put me off, friends of mine staying there were also charged an additional 25 dollars a day for a third person traveling with them. Most likely despite the convienence of it to my job site if I go back I will most likely stay somewhere else. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2002
$32
Sites were good sized and open. Bathrooms were very very clean. Owners very helpful. This was just a very comfortable place to stay to see the area and visit the casinos. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com