219007 User submitted reviews online!!
Cove Palisades State Park (Crooked River Campground) was rated 8 out of 10 based on 12 user reviews. Phone: (541) 546-3412
CGID6080

Cove Palisades State Park (Crooked River Campground)

Camp Information
Sites
208
Date of Stay
October 2013
Latest Rate
$21



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   7   8   9   8   9   7   9   10   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2013
$21
Terrific campground. Good separation between nice pretty level sites. Host was very friendly and helpful. Not crowded at all at the end of October. Several sites had campers who brought in boats to go fishing. Host indicated that the campground had been redone about a year ago. Had the best two lane dump station I've ever seen. Slope was perfect for evacuating the holding tanks. Was very clean. Obviously the people who camp here really care about the grounds and facilities. Rangers were friendly and efficient. Has a large off-leash pet exercise area and pick-up bags are provided. We will come back again, but earlier in the year. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$26
We stayed up top this time at Crooked River campground. Deschutes campground is down in the canyon. The hosts were very nice, campground full of children having fun on their trikes, very enjoyable. Only problem was one female ranger who wanted to hold us to the 4:00 pm check in time even though campsite was empty. I guess they wanted to vacuum (!) Highly recommend this campground, but you need reservations in advance. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$24
What a lovely campground. Friendly camp hosts and ranger. Beautiful view of Mt. Washington and 3 Sisters. Short drive to the reservoir where there is boating and beaches. We loved the huge play area for dogs; gated and with grass; big enough to throw a ball. This is a clean campground with activities for kids. Wi-fi is available for a fee. Phones don't work so well here, and we were not able to use the satellite for TV. But we loved it here and would love to return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2012
$26
This state park has two campgrounds, one down by the lake (Lake Billy Chinook) and one up high with views of the mountains. We prefer the one down in the canyon by the lake. (Although it is not on the lake and most will need to drive.) This campground is dry, dusty and in a desert canyon. It is beautiful desert, lots of deer, quiet: just a beautiful site. Beware, it is a 'zoo' in the summer and requires reservations between Memorial Day and Labor Day. there are pull throughs, sewer at every site, and sites for long rigs. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$26
We stayed in Deschutes campground where full hookups and 50 amp service is available. Most sites have plenty of space around them and the website tells you how long they are. Our Sat. worked well at our site but that wouldn't be the case at all sites, there are lots of trees here. No Wi-Fi, but our Sprint Mi-Fi and phone worked well. This is a beautiful area and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this campground. We will return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$1
We stayed here during "Stay Oregon State Park" day for (free). We were even given a free hot dog dinner for this event the first night we camped. This park is divided into 2 sections 5 miles apart. Deschutes is in the canyon down a long, winding road & across a narrow bridge. As previously mentioned it looked a little dusty and the spaces close together. Crooked River is at the top of the canyon surrounded by green fields and awesome views of the mountains with beautiful expanses of grass, large shade trees and very wide spaces. We had reservations at Deschutes but the very helpful ranger on duty cheerfully changed them to Crooked River for us when we arrived. This is one of the loveliest CG we have ever stayed in. Rangers and hosts keep a close watch on the park and go out of their way to make your stay a pleasant one. Beware this CG is very popular with large groups of partying boaters especially on the weekends. Other than that it would be a wonderfully peaceful place to stay during the week. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2010
$25
This park is lovely. We stayed during the off-season and only a few other sites were occupied. We had quiet, privacy, and a great time. It is close to fishing access, and some absolutely wonderful photo opportunities. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$35
We stayed in the crooked river campground and it was great! What a find. It is a ways off of the beaten path, but it is wonderful. No phone or TV other than satellite, but a very well kept park with wooded and grassy sites. All have full hookups and paved roads and pads. Nice showers and laundry room. I hope to return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2009
$23
This is one of the nicest State Parks we have ever visited in the Northwest. If you are a tent camper, 5 star groomed sites await you. For RVer's full hookups to include 50 amp service. The facilites were clean, there is a playground for the kids and a fenced in dog run for your canine campers. The main attraction of course is the water recreation. If you don't own a water craft, you can rent one and still have fun. Designated swim areas with picnic tables near by. Bring lots of sunscreen - we'll be sure to come back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2007
$20
Our sixth and final stop on our recent family vacation was at Cove Palisades State Park near Madras, OR. Cove Palisades is located near th e deep river canyons with towering cliffs where the Crooked, Deschutes, and Metolius Rivers meet behind Round Butte Dam to form Lake Billy Chinook. There are two campgrounds in the park. Both have separate reservation systems although staff works both campgrounds. We stayed in the Crooked River campground which is in a nice shady lawn area on a bench overlooking the lake. All sites are hookups with grey water disposal in the sites. You will have to drive down the hill to reach the water. Our site had great views of the top of the canyon walls and a beautiful view of Mt. Jefferson. Crooked River was packed with kids and families. Reservations are hard to come by here. I believe that campers with a boat reserve spots year after year. Each morning they all pull out of camp with their boats to spend the day on the water. Crooked River camp has nice big lawns, horseshoes, a beach volleyball court, and a basketball hoop if you are so inclined. Our kids loved the family atmosphere, but the main reason we came was to swim and play in the water. There are three nice day use areas at Cove Palisades--we spent the whole day at the Crooked River one at the bottom of the hill next to the marina. Great swimming in a protected area from boats. Next time we will probably rent a boat from the marina and explore the canyons more. The other campground is the Deschutes CG. It is down in the canyon between the Crooked and Deschutes. It is five miles from the top to the campground so it is not as convenient for exploring outside the park. We drove through and it looked nice, but a little on the dusty side. Sites are in a little valley and so views are of the canyon walls rather than the water. The other two day use areas are down near this campground. On balance I think Crooked River is a better place to stay, but others may disagree. Overall, we enjoyed our stay at Cove Palisades. If you boat, fish, or want a good place to swim in a desert climate I would highly recommend it. The amazing Smith Rock SP is an easy day trip from here. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2006
$21
We workamped here for July and August and I have to say it's one of the prettiest campgrounds I've ever stayed in. The upper campground, where we stayed, is Crooked River Campground and has huge sites with gorgeous trees. The campgrounds at the bottom of the canyon, Deschutes, are very near the water. Heavily used by boaters. Family campground. Watched over carefully by the Rangers and just all round wonderful place in the High Desert of Central Oregon. The only reason I didn't give it a 10 is because the campsites don't have sewer hookups but there is a dump station. Cell phones connections (Verizon) are spotty. Oregon parks are wonderful and I heartily recommend the Crooked River Campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2006
$25
This is a wonderful Oregon State Park that has many many activities for families especially on and in the lake. it is a huge lake, with lots of waterskiing, boarding, etc. It can get very crowded at the boat ramps so bring you patience. summer reservations are a must. Shoulder season is more flexible and quieter. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com