220693 User submitted reviews online!!
Laguna Seca Recreation Area was rated 7 out of 10 based on 15 user reviews. Phone: (831) 755-4899
CGID6089

Laguna Seca Recreation Area

Camp Information
Sites
96
Date of Stay
November 2013
Latest Rate
$33



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   7   10   6   7   9   7   9   8   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2013
$33
No Wi-Fi or sewer only minuses to this park. Thirty three/night is with senior discount. There was a notice on one bathroom indicating the water had failed testing for arsenic. Fortunately, we didn't need to fill. That said, clean grounds, peaceful, very scenic. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$47
We arrived here for an overnite the day before the Mazda Races. The park is right on the track. Great views of area. 16% uphill grade coming in so beware. GPS will take you 1/4 mile south so keep going. Comes up fast and little signage. So for the bad news. County won't take reservations except for the race attendees so if you pick an open spot during a race it may not be actually open. I would stay here again for an overnighter or for the races. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2012
$33
Beautiful campsites overlooking the rolling hills. Fun to watch the racing schools cars skirting around the track. A little far from Carmel, Monterey, etc., but the beauty makes up for the drive. This is one of our favorite campgrounds and always our first choice when in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2011
$35
This is a decent park, but there are some issues. Many of the sites are very narrow and close together. Some of the sites are very out of level and slope towards the back of the site. Leveling a motor home on one of these would be nearly impossible. The sites very near the gun range next door can be loud with gunfire. The campground itself is very hilly and a 16% grade leads up to the campground. The inside roads although paved tend to be very tight turns for rigs in the 35-45 foot range. The dump station would be difficult on a busy weekend as there is no collector lane to line up. Some of the sites are right on the race track, great for race fans but it was reported that those sites climb in price on race weekends. We were assigned a site that was supposed to hold our 35' foot rig, but we never would have been able to negotiate the turn into the site. We were allowed to pick any site that was open as it was a quiet weekend. We picked site #85 which was also the biggest and most level site in the campground. Site #10, a back in on the hill over looking the valley, was our second choice. I would stay here again, with careful site selection. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2010
$35
This is a nice park. However we camped up in the "Can Am Loop and found that the showers were locked, the water hook ups had arsenic in them above the world health organization limits (10 ppb) their levels posted on the bathroom (also locked) water 13 ppb. I found this lack of information disconcerting. However the views were great. We had front window views of the cars on the race track spinning out on the hairpin turn. Dump station with a nice view of turn 5. Can't think of a nice place to stay in the area. The lack of showers and the water issue are all that keeps this from going up a step or two. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$35
This is a great park, close to everything. Great Views of the valley and race track. Quite off the road. Some weekends you can watch the boys play at learning to drive a race car at the driving school there. Only small draw back is the dump station is at the bottom of the hill. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2010
$35
Lovely spot in the hills about 20 minutes from Monterey. As with much of CA, price just seems to keep going up because of budget crisis. Run by Monterey County. Supposed to go up to $40 soon. Extra star if you like race tracks, as it overlooks Mazda Raceway. Clean, well-kept, self-registration. Definitely would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2009
$30
We stayed here over the Thanksgiving holiday. Very nice views of the hills once the adjacent vehicles moved. Ditto for the view of the raceway on the other side. Showers were very clean. Site was far enough from the road so that we didn't hear any highway noise but there was some from cars and motorcycles on the raceway which some of the sites overlook. There was also some noise from the firing range but it wasn't intrusive. Wife saw a bobcat one morning while walking the dogs. (The animal, not the construction vehicle). Convenient to Monterey and its attractions. We would stay here again: but next time will make reservations. Staff told us on the phone that there "were plenty of spaces" but most of them were reserved. Turned out there were only about half a dozen sites available and only 2-3 of them would accommodate our length. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2009
$30
This is a county park. Stayed here for 6 nights during an usually cool period. Lots of wind at times too. Beautiful location, gorgeous views, although you can hear the shooting range when that is open. We paid $30 a night, but understand it goes way up for racing events. There are 96 e/w sites in the Chaparral and Can-Am campgrounds, and many other no hookup sites in other areas, many of which are probably available only when there is racing. Sites are fairly level, but most will require some leveling equipment. Each site has a fire ring and picnic table. Restrooms and showers are quite clean, although not heated. There is free Wi-Fi but the signal does not reach everywhere. Stores and services are close by in Salinas (7-8 miles), and Monterey/Carmel area is not far either. The grade up into the recreation area is amazingly steep (18%). Would definitely stay here again if visiting this area, over a commercial campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2009
$30
This park is up on a hill with views of surrounding mountains and the race track. Our site was a perfect fit for our large 5th well. Site #36 provided us easy access to the restroom and almost level big pull through parking. This site was adjacent to the group RV picnic area, so on a weekend event, this may not be a quiet place to stay. We played golf at the nearby Laguna Seca Golf Course. During our weekday stay, we had self registration and very quiet days. Nice! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2009
$30
For all you folks that stayed at the campground with the loud traffic noises, where you not aware there is a highway? It was pleasant for me and my family. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2008
$30
We stayed in the Chaparral camp area in a hookup site (No. 40), which had water and electric, for $30 per night. Our site was a gravel spot, fairly narrow (not a lot of room under our awning), surrounded by weeds and trees overlooking the race track. It was a large site - at least 50 feet deep - but I would have been very disappointed if I had the spot next to us, which was literally a gravel parking spot. The grade to the campground is very steep (16%) and the roads are fairly narrow. There is really nothing to do at the campground, but you are only 8 miles from the Aquarium and Cannery Row. I would prefer to stay at Marina Dunes RV Park which was a little nicer, had full hookups, closer to town, and more facilities (laundry, etc.). If you want to watch a race from your campsite, then this is a good place to go. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2007
$22
Very cool being next to the race track. You can go just about anywhere as long as you do not pass the spectator fence. Great views, very clean, friendly staff, and shade trees. Easy access to Hwy 68 (Monerey-Salinas Hwy). We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2007
$28
Nice park about 7 miles east of Monterey, next to a race track. Very narrow roads within the park and 16% grade to get up there. Beautiful views of valley. Gravel fairly level sites. No SEWER. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2006
$28
Laguna Seca Rec. Area has 2 campgrounds with electric and water hook-ups. The larger of the 2 is directly to the left when entering through the pay station, and the other is to the right a little farther up. This rec area has a pistol/ rifle range away from the campgrounds and the race track (road Course) which is very close to the campgrounds where you can watch the cars on the track. I think the quieter of the 2 is the larger campground on the left near the back of the loop. The track is very busy most of the time with a driving school so if you don’t want the noise, this isn’t for you if you just want to sit outside and read. The sites come in various spur lengths and there is room for slides and an awning. The water pressure was great and we had no problems with the electrical. There is a dump station with one sewage drain. We chose this area since it was centrally located to Pt. Lobos, Monterey Bay Aquarium, Carmel Mission, and the shops and restaurants of Carmel. At night is was very quiet and you can hear the owls hooting at each other. Reservations are accepted for a $5.00 fee. Hook-up sites are $30.00, with a $2.00 discount if over 62. Non hookups are $22.00. We would return again but only during mid week when it’s quieter. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com