223611 User submitted reviews online!!
Ross Hill Park Family Campground was rated 6 out of 10 based on 10 user reviews. Phone: (860) 376-9606
CGID609

Ross Hill Park Family Campground

Camp Information
Sites
200
Date of Stay
April 2014
Latest Rate
$44



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   8   10   5   4   7   7   8   1   3   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2014
$44
We love it here. We decided to become seasonal campers about 2 yrs. ago. We have camped here since 2008 after buying a trailer and discovering this lovely place. It has improved in many areas since our arrival. The park is a dog friendly campground. It offers weekend events throughout the season along with special $$ deals. There are numerous dinners for a moderate price during the season cooked on premises and nicely done! They also do a great breakfast on weekends, also very reasonably priced. They have Saturday night dances with a DJ/live bands. Crafts are offered for the kids along with various specialties like movie night on an outdoor blow-up screen, bouncy houses, water slides, magicians, animal shows etc. The campground is well kept and the bathrooms are cleaned regularly. The staff is wonderful and very accommodating to ones needs. This is a gated park with security on premises. There is a " swim at your own risk" swimming pond and the river is great for all kinds of boating, such as motoring, canoeing and kayaking. The fishing is also great. All in all, it is a very family oriented campground with some great campers. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$33
This campground is on a wide river. You can rent rowboats or bring your own kayaks. Sites are large, and you can have full sun or shade. I opted for shade. Easy access for even large rigs, mine is only an 18 footer. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Activities included bingo, dances, crafts, and a supper. You can buy your breakfast in their very nice restaurant. This was early June, and the season hadn't started yet, so the campground was empty. Yet they still put on these events. Rate reflects a special. It rained very heavily but did not dampen our fun. The casinos are an easy 20 minutes away. I went but lost all my gambling funds pretty quickly! I'll be back to stay here in the future. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2009
$40
Started coming to this campground last year when gas prices were so high. This being very local with beautiful sites. The personnel was very, very friendly and accommodating. Was very relaxing. Love it, love it, love it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2009
$38
Website is a bit deceiving. The good: staff very nice, breakfast on weekends, sites are a decent size, river very nice. The not so good: swimming pond needs a major makeover, a huge tire/2 swings/2 plastic slides & a metal jungle gym do not constitute a "playground", bath house near river is closed for renovations, quiet hours not strictly enforced. If you have little ones you may want to look somewhere else; if your party is all adults and you enjoy the benefits of being on a river you will probably enjoy a weekend here. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2008
$41
This park has a beautiful website. The reality is a little less beautiful. More than half the sites are occupied by permanent residents, some of which were shabby and untended. We felt lucky to get a spot for the 4th of July week, but the rate shown is for a 50 amp W & E only site and the rate for the holiday weekend was $150 for the three nights in the same spot. Our spot was on the hill and was all grass with a few trees, actually quite pretty. The lady in the office was very nice, but we never did receive the list of local fireworks celebrations she promised. They had a small exchange library and a decent reasonably-priced laundry. Their website promised wi-fi, but we never got better than three bars of signal. It was miserably slow when it worked, and many times we just gave up. The bottom line is: too much money for too few amenities. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2007
$40
The campground is not the greatest I've ever stayed in. The owners were very friendly and helpful. We had a language issue with our "neighbor", her mouth was very vulgar and we didn't want our children subjected to it. The owner came down to straighten. The view from our site was beautiful, by the river. Overall it was a good trip. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2007
$38
We definitely plan on going back! Ross Hill has friendly, helpful staff. There were lots of activities, announced throughout the day. Many kids (we don't have any), but we didn't see brats. The campground is on Aspinook Pond which makes it great for canoes, kayaks etc. The man-made swimming "hole" features a sand beach and filtered water - we loved it! Grounds are well kept; can't vouch for the restrooms as we didn't use them. Lots of different sites, some wooded, some along large grassy fields. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2006
$38
We enjoyed our fall camping there in September of 2005. If was a nice clean park on a beautiful lake. The staff was nice, the rec hall was great, nice fireplace. We would definitely go back, I'd like to try it in the summer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2006
$38
I wish I had found this site before we made the trip. This cg is terrible. When you first come upon it you see a nice sign, then pull in to rolling green hills, then crappy buildings start to show up. As we found during our stay, they do nothing to this campground. The website is one big lie. Our sites were across from the year rounders, whose children were loud and noisy during morning quiet hour. We were eaten by mosquitoes on a daily basis. The swimming pond is pathetic. Thank God we were self-contained because the bathrooms were disgusting. This place is actually patched up as things break, you can see it everywhere. Its a shame too because the property (trees, grass, river) are beautiful. These owners simply don't care. We decided if we bought it we would begin renovations by demolishing everything and starting fresh! Ha! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
2003
$33
We have camped nightly and seasonal at this campground. The toilets are never really clean. The showers are pay and seldom have decent pressure or temperature control. We saw one sewer cap that was dug up and covered with plywood for two seasons. It was still like that when we left at the end of the second season. The dump stations (when they are working) are dirty, smelly and often back up on you. The swimming hole is a spring fed hole that is a regular home to tadpoles and pond scum. The roads are all dirt, with many deep pot holes and ruts, and after rain storms some of them wash out and are impassable.The managers take very little interest in improving the park. Overall I'm amazed that they haven't gone bankrupt. I don't think they put very much of their profit back into the park. I can't reccomend it unless you're just passing through and need a one night stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com