214825 User submitted reviews online!!
Kiva RV Park and Horse Motel was rated 7 out of 10 based on 33 user reviews. Phone: (505) 861-0693
CGID6096

Kiva RV Park and Horse Motel

Camp Information
Sites
35
Date of Stay
March 2014
Latest Rate
$14



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   3   9   8   10   9   6   7   9   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2014
$14
One of the most friendly parks we've been in. Pulled in on a Friday night and were invited to their pot luck that started a half hour later. When we said we didn't have time to whip anything up, we were told we shouldn't be expected to since we just got there. Grilled pork chops, steak, and ribs with lots of extras. It was wonderful after a long day on the road. It might not be the most deluxe place I've stayed at but nice people can make up for a lot. Not as noisy as some make it sound. We had a great experience here. Rate was Passport. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
October 2013
$28
After reading the previous reviews, I had to go back and check that we had stayed in the same place! Access is pretty good, except for the very rough cattle guard entry which will really rock your coach. There are signs posted that alert the traveler that there is "no propane", "no camp store", and "no dump station". Interior roads are dirt. Sites are dirt. This place is in the open so the dirt does blow. The sites are very narrow unless you get one on the end. They are so narrow (and divided by wooden posts and thorny vines) that we had to keep moving the coach to get the slides out. The sites are also very short. You will have an issue unless you get a site at the very back of the park so your toad can stick out in the open area. Dumpster is an old open trailer. The dog run is a 10x20 dirt area with 2' chicken wire around it. This place is adjacent to I-25 so there is lots of truck noise (but the aircraft flying overhead and the trains block out some of the truck noise!). The place is very dark at night, and all the signs promoting guns makes one wonder about the security. The horse stables and facilities are far better than the RV park. The saving grace for this place is the location. There are few RV parks on I-25 south of Albuquerque, and if you are coming east on US 60, there is nothing at all for hours. I will agree that the staff is friendly. The balloon festival was starting, so there were no discounts. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2013
$24
This is a very friendly place to stay. We were there on a Friday night and when we checked in the staff invited us to take part in their weekly pot-luck and pool tournament. It was a lot of fun we can't remember when we've laughed so much. That night it was gals shooting pool against the guys...the funny part is that the guys had to shoot one handed! This is a pet friendly place. They have a fair number of rescue dogs who have found a home at Kiva. We especially liked the fact that all of their sites are pull-throughs and spacious. Even with all four of our slides out we could still park our car next to our coach side-by-side. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2013
$14
The rate is Passport America. We enjoyed staying at this campground. Friendly staff. There are several dogs, but if someone rescued them that is all right with us. The sites are dirt. The Wi-Fi was free and worked great! We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2013
$14
We stopped here on our way to Albuquerque, just to ease our way back into a city after lots of state parks. This place is great in that its well run, nice office and sites. Being NM, the grounds are all dirt but sites are landscaped with trees and bushes, all pull through. We are self contained so I didn't use the bath or laundry. We have satellite and got regular network channels from ABQ on air. Their WiFi is good, but we also used our Verizon MiFi for extra access. Lots of areas for dogs to walk but some stickers around. Owner is a dog lover/rescuer, so some old dogs wander around, but I liked that part being a dog lover myself. We were in the first aisle close to the office, and it was very quiet with no highway noise. Ended up staying almost a week as we found good hiking and exploring after getting on the net. Rate was Passport America for unlimited nights, a great deal. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2012
$24
Great place: very nice office staff. We pulled in late in the day, running from a storm ready to hit Santa Fe. Easy off freeway, and no freeway noise. Wonderful stop over. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2012
$28
This is a very odd campground. For GPS purposes, note that it is in Bosque and not Bernardo. No cable. No grass but they have manged to grow some good-sized trees with drip irrigation. This is a very dusty part of the country. The interstate is very close and might bother some people. There are quite a few full-time residents who seem to be working in the area although it is hard to imagine what they are doing. The wi-fi does not work well. The barking dogs complained about in prior reviews are still barking but you don't have to stay near them. Kiva RV park is ok for a stopover - there are few RV parks in this area and this one is trying to be pleasant despite the dust and noise. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2012
$28
This is a good park for an overnight stop. It is an easy on/off from the freeway. The sites are flat and graveled with some trees for shade. The park management is very helpful. The bathrooms and showers are clean, but old. They could use a little repair. The noise from the freeway is noticeable, but not a distraction for sleeping. Cable TV not available, but you can get the local TV channels from Albuquerque very well with an antenna. We have stayed here before and would would stop here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2012
$14
I really enjoyed my stay here. Easy on and off I-25. Very friendly and helpful managers. Large pull through site with ample room for slideouts. Good water pressure and 50 amp electric. I rated it a 9 instead of 10 because the Wi-Fi was slow. Verizon cell and wireless internet signal was good. Did not use laundry or bathrooms. Rate is for Passport America which they will accept for a full week. I will certainly stay here again when exploring this fascinating area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$22
The people at this park are very friendly. We did not have reservations, but had no problem getting in. It is close to the interstate, but we did not have any issues with traffic noise. They do have dogs on the premises, so I asked to be a few rows away from the office, and they were very accommodating. They have a little fenced in dog area, but it is all rock. Finding some grass for my dogs was a little difficult, but we would stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2011
$14
This park was an oasis in the middle of nowhere! It was very clean, had shade, large sites. Very dog friendly. We were not bothered by the few dogs that ran free, but then we're dog lovers. We stayed here 3 nights and would stay here again. The rate reflects Passport America, and they only take cash or check. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2011
$14
This is a small and isolated RV Park adjacent to Interstate 25. Resources for supplies are a long ways off. The motto here is "do as I say not as I do". For certain, the owners and their campground host do not do themselves any favors by allowing their dogs to freely roam about. The majority of the sites sit empty and during our week stay there was only two over nighter who stopped. A few sites are occupied by highway construction workers who are very quiet and there are sites occupied by camp workers. After one night we changed sites to get away from a rude campground host who enjoyed playing the TV volume loud. I would of provided the place with a better rating if not for the dogs. There are at least eight dogs off leash at all hours. The gravel base level sites are excellent and spacious. The wide access roads are gravel. Various trees and shrubs are between the sites. Just avoid the first row due to clubhouse dogs and bright lights of the clubhouse. The grounds are well landscaped with gardens and fountain. The surrounding area is barren with a few rain thirsty shrubs. I-25 is directly adjacent to the east and the noise does penetrate into the RV Park. On the other side of the Interstate there is an active rail line. Our rate reflects the Passport America rate and we stayed here a week. We may stay here again, but not for a week. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$15
Convenient to I-25, good Wi-Fi, and excellent customer service. Sites are clean and offer plenty of room. Road noise present, but we knew that ahead of time. We took advantage of the "Summer Special", thus the low nightly rate for full hookup/50 amp service. If you like animals, this is the place to come. This was the second time we've been here and love it. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
April 2011
$13
Rate reflects Passport America discount. FHU pull-through site with 50 amp electric. Nothing fancy with gravel roads and sites. Decent laundry room. This was a very pet friendly park. Camp host and owner had numerous dogs running free. They barked occasionally, but wasn't a big problem. Wi-Fi available at the office only. We would stay here again as an inexpensive place while passing through. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2011
$14
Another wide spot in the road, convenient PA overnight park in dusty NM. Host does have 5 basset hounds that may bark when you walk by, but are not roaming and were quiet at night (not sure what other reviewer's problem was). Bathroom was clean and little-used. Good stop near Albuquerque. TV reception and Verizon cell phone work okay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2011
$14
Rate reflects PPA. Found it to be a relatively quiet park, with minimal freeway noise. Pet friendly, dogs appear to be welcome. Enjoyed the card games at the clubhouse. Hosts were very helpful with information about the local area. Was there at the same time as the previous reviewer and did not hear any of the dog issues mentioned, perhaps they were not "dog folks". Would stay here again when in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
March 2011
$28
Pulled in on a Saturday afternoon, easy access. The issue with this park is as I was hooking up in the second row, the camp host in the first row had five large dogs tied up in front of their rig. They proceeded to howl for a minimum of 20 minutes, I asked the folks in the spot next to us if I could get my money back, and the wife went to the office to say something on our behalf. Never will stay again, seems dogs run free in this park. The howling and barking went on all day and night. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2009
$13
This is a well kept reasonably priced park. Everything was clean. Sites were spacious and level. The horse motel is a great place if you are traveling with horses. Everything is safe and well maintained. The owner lady was very helpful with things to do in the area and is more than happy to discuss her donkey rescue with anyone. Easy on and off to I-25. Though it's close to the interstate, the noise is not very bad. We would stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2009
$14
The rate we paid was the Passport America rate which is good for up to a week. The sites are gravel, level and easy to access. The Wi-Fi was a bit weak beyond the 2nd row but usable. Some trees could interfere with satellite but it's easy to find a spot in each site that's clear. They have some animals in a zoo next door and there were quite a few flies. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2009
$24
Nice enough place for an overnight except voltage is so low the A/C won't stay on (we are on 50) and it is 99 degrees outside. We have shut down everything else and still drops off. Checked the voltage - it is 108-109 volts. And the Wi-Fi is very spotty. We would not stay here again nor recommend it. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2009
$11
This park is improving every time we stay here. It is a good stopping point from Las Cruces to Santa Fe. The spots are long and wide and have trees in between every site. A nice overnight stop, but not much in the area to see. Spots are level and easy access from I 25 and navigating the park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2009
$18
I am rating this as an overnight park and not a destination park but it could be used for the latter to visit surrounding areas. We stay here to break up our trips to southern NM. It is convenient, easy, hookups work, staff is friendly, nice wide and long pull-through sites, etc. Every time I come, I notice more and more improvements. We always enjoy seeing the animals. The only negative thing is the noise from the interstate. Too bad the park is not further back, I would give it a higher rating. I find that I have to sleep with the windows closed in order to muffle the noise. It is not too bad then but you better be a heavy sleeper if you want to sleep with your windows open. Always a good choice when traveling. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2009
$11
Lucked out on a site during a busy time- everyone going to The Rally in Albuquerque. Very good deal for $11 PA rate since there's nothing here and it's always windy. Gravel roads and sites, no shade. TV on antenna okay, also VZ aircard. Only one shower but large bathroom, also a TV room and library. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2009
$22
Cool little park, they give fresh egg from the chickens they raise, they have the worlds largest donkey, sorta of a small ranch, lot of stuff to keep the kids busy. the staff was great. We stayed one night, next time we will stay longer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
November 2008
$12
For a one night stop en route to a destination it is fine. A Very well kept park. Great helpful folks who run the campground. Only downside is it right next to I-25. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2008
$24
It is right next to the Interstate highway and really noisy. But traffic noise covered up the sound of constantly barking dogs. Bring an electric cord extension if you have a rear hookup. Sewer and electric are at the front of the sites. There are lots of flies. I will choose another park in the future. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2008
$12
We have stayed here a few years ago. This park has much improved. It is very well maintained. The spots are wide and long with trees in between each spot. The owner was very helpful and friendly. They is a place for your horses also. Right off I 25 but the road noise was minimal. A good place to stop on the way south. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2008
$11
The office manger and her husband are one on the nicest office help that we have ever come across. The park is well kept. We would stop again and maybe stay longer. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2008
$18
This park is small, too near the interstate, but wonderful for any animal lover. Lots of dogs, cats, goats, horses, chickens, guinea pigs around. Like a petting zoo. We loved the place. Very friendly management. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2008
$13
The longest pull thrus are right by interstate hiway, and traffic noise is an issue. Park has very easy access and is pretty well maintained. If not for traffic noise we would have given a higher rating. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
February 2008
$10
Small gravel campground next to interstate with minimal landscaping. Access roads wide and well maintained. Flat fairly wide sites with full hook-ups. Office staff friendly and efficient. Limited infrastructure. Good for overnight stop. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2007
$20
We stayed here on the way down and back from our destination. I wrote the other review that is posted for this park and everything still holds true. It is a convenient location. The sites are large so you don't have to unhook. The staff is very friendly. You are not bombarded with a million rules. We enjoyed walking around visiting the animals. Again, the freeway noise can be an issue. I would stay here again and recommend it to others. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2006
$22
This is a no-frills RV park that is located right off the interstate. The people were very friendly and they were very pet-friendly. They have corrals with horses and pens with farm animals that we enjoyed visiting. There were several long-term campsites taken and the sites were very neat for the most part. The graveled pull-through sites were very spacious and had a little landscaping and trees between them. The hook-ups were fine and the sites were level. It looks like the last row of sites were new so were pretty barren of vegetation. The park is in the middle of nowhere but there are two good-sized towns, one that is 20 miles north and one 20th miles to the south. Albuquerque is about an hour north. This is a convenient overnight stop or a good location to check out Salinas National Monument, Bosque Del Apache, and the surrounding area. One negative thing was the noise from the freeway but it was not so bad at night. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com