218896 User submitted reviews online!!
Frank Jackson State Park was rated 9 out of 10 based on 19 user reviews. Phone: (334) 493-6988
CGID61

Frank Jackson State Park

Camp Information
Sites
32
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   7   9   9   9   8   8   9   8   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  no  no  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  no  no  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2014
$25
This is an outstanding state park, full hookup 50/30 amp, good cable TV, and very good Wi-Fi. The grounds and the facilities are all very well maintained and clean as a pin. Very nice large and level sites, most on the lake. A nice sand beach swimming area, great kids playground, boat ramp and small dock. Management was very friendly and helpful. As I said the bathrooms were as clean as a pin, but the only negative was that the water was never more than lukewarm during my 4 day stay, but I would certainly stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2013
$27
The campground park is a good park and the spaces at each site will accommodate two vehicles side by side. The sites are level, shaded (next to lake) and all utilities work. The only problem was little hot water showers and the bathrooms need to be better cleaned. The bathrooms appear to be less than ten years old and there is no reason to not keep them clean. The lake is a nice lake and we will give this state park another chance. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2011
$16
Very nice small park. Most sites back up to the lake and some even have small docks for boats. Cable TV was available but we didn’t use it. Sites have good line of sight for Direct TV. Several trails are available for walking or biking. Sites are level with crushed gravel surface. Some handicap sites are available with concrete surface. Five minutes to Opp. The only issue I had was that the showers seemed to have drainage problems that left standing water on the floor of the bathhouse. Other than this minor point, the park is a gem and I would definitely go back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2011
$24
State park with cable TV and Wi-Fi, although the Wi-Fi is not great. Full hookups. Roomy sites. Ignore site 16 in the fall with the acorns dropping. Scarecrows in the park is a hoot during Oct/Nov period. Great walking areas. Bike paths are super. Will camp here again. Town of Opp close and very convenient to 331. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2011
$23
Spacious sites; some relatively private. Clean. Beautiful and peaceful setting; "in the woods" feel. One of the best state park campgrounds. Somewhat off the beaten path and not real easy to find. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$31
The park was great! I think there were only three to four pull through sites. The service was just fine and the staff was nice. There is no military discount! The bathroom and showers were clean and close to just about all the sites. Overall a great park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2010
$28
This is one of the few State Parks that have full hookup with both cable and wireless internet. Most of the lower sites are gravel sites and are lake front. They include picnic table and fire rings.The staff is very helpful and friendly. Excellent opportunity for boating, fishing and hiking. Reservations are accepted and are recommended since the park is usually full on weekends. The park has a locked security gate at night. It’s an easy 5 minute drive to Opp. We will definitely go back to this park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2010
$15
Nice park in a beautiful setting. Large level sites, most of them on the lake. Very good value with the senior discount. Not much to do in the surrounding area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2010
$28
We had another great visit here at Frank Jackson. The only concern was the checking-in part. Since the price has increased and different according to when you stay make it kind of confusing. Now weekend cost more then the week days. However, it is a good place to camp out. The staff seems to help in any way possible. We had a good view of the lake. The internet work great with no problems. We will camp here again! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2009
$27
We have camped here before a few years ago. As always the park was very well maintained except for the showers they needed some extra work. With all of the rain we have had in our area it was no wonder the grass was tall but not so bad you couldn't walk around and enjoy yourself. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2009
$25
We live in the area and stay on several occasions with church families for a time of fellowship and fun. It's a great little campground if you just want to R&R. The staff and hosts has been great to help in any way possible. The sites next to the lake are an extra two dollar charge, but it is worth the price. The bathhouse is kept clean. I would recommend either to come and stay a few days or just pass through, it is a good place to stop and camp. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2009
$25
Frank Jackson is a small park on a 1,000 acre man-made lake. Fishing is good if you have a boat, but not from shore when we were there. We stayed for a month. A good share of the people who camp there are local families. A nice friendly park. Hosts are nice and have been there for several years. Most of the staff are nice, helpful and friendly. There are good walking paths and trails. Camp sites are large and include a fire/grill ring and picnic table. Most sites are on the water with three sites "lake view" and six new sites up on the hill away from the lake. The campground is close to the small town of Opp and about 12 miles from Andalusia which has a Walmart. It is a nice park and we will go there again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2008
$26
One of the few State Parks that have full hookup with both cable and wifi. Wifi is moderate speed and has occasional dropouts on sites 18-20. Most of the lower gravel sites are lake front and include picnic table and firering. Excellent opportunity for boating, fishing and hiking. Reservations are accepted and are recommended since the park is usually full on weekends. Locked security gate at night. Easy 5 minute drive to Opp and 30 minutes to Florala. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2008
$17
A very nice state park. Sites all along the lake shore, and laid out reasonably well for privacy. True 50 amp service. Wi-Fi is only available in spaces 4 through 20, which are closest to the bath house where the antenna is. We will come back here when we are in the area again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2007
$14
A real pearl. Right on the lake with the water a few steps away. Large sites with plenty of room for the dog. Washer/dryer at $1.00 load. Cable tv is extra, but I did not need it. My dish could see out between all the many tree's. Very shady. Quiet and well managed. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2005
$18
We overnighted here on the way to Destin. Sites are large and gravel. Most sites are on the lake. Bathhouse is nice,new, and clean. This park is convenient to Hwy 331 travelers, and would make a nice weekend trip. I will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2004
$18
This is one of Alabama's hidden jewels of state parks. Not much to do in the area but relax. Every one for their own thing. Good overnighter when traveling on HWY 331. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2004
$18
Great place for peace and quiet. Large pavilion available. Separate tent camping area with its own smaller picnic shelter. Laundry facilities and pay phone at restrooms. Restrooms/showers very clean. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2003
$18
This park is one of the best state parks in Alabama, Good lake for fishing and there is a roped off place to swim, I have fished several times and have never seen any gaters but you never know. I understand there is plenty of room for expansion, the park needs to be espanded in the worst way, Its hard to get a reservation on holiday's, I would like to see a golf course added, there appears to be plenty of land to do it and it would add to the whole package, I will go back if they make any changes or not, great place to just relax. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com