219007 User submitted reviews online!!
Hammonasset Beach State Park was rated 9 out of 10 based on 25 user reviews. Phone: (860) 424-3200
CGID610

Hammonasset Beach State Park

Camp Information
Sites
558
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$20



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
no
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   8   7   9   8   10   8   9   10   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2014
$20
This is an outstanding state park. One of the best I've camped at in the northeast. The sites are spacious and wide open. Unfortunately, as in many state area's, you must go through ReserveAmerica which slaps an additional $10.00 fee on the charge bringing my 2 day total to $49.00 (still very reasonable). There are water and electric hookups available but searching for them with ReserveAmerica is virtually impossible. They are in the Beach Road area. The beach is on Long Island Sound with lots of room. I expect it is quite full on weekends. Lots of kids, no pets and very well maintained. Get off 95 at exit 62 for direct access. Visit picturesque towns along US1. Enjoy!! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$54
These sites were huge! You could put 2 big trailers on each site. They were so nice. The bathrooms were close and very clean to everyone. The staff was nice and friendly. It's a beautiful park. I wish someone would have told us that you have to bring your own fire-ring to have a fire. There is lot's to do at this park. Something for everyone in the family. We will defiantly be back. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2012
$48
We are not CT residents and not CT registered campers. This adds to cost of a night. We'd been better off at other camps in the area at lesser cost and higher service. Camp has outside sink to clean/rinse dishes. This camp is attractive because it is wide open with lots of room between sites and areas and it is on the sea shore. We would not stay again. From 10 -1 not level, -1 water faucet leaked, -1 value. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$20
We stayed in an ADA site which had electric.(U17) Our section was beautifully shaded, immaculately groomed, and large. The beach is within walking distance, and there is a small playground. On Saturday night, 2 children's movies were shown at the amphitheater. The rangers cruise the campground regularly and quiet hours were...quiet. The beach is gorgeous. This was our first time here and we plan to return. I didn't give a "10" because of the "no pets" policy. They should have some pet loops, as in other state park campgrounds. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$33
This is right off I-95 between New Haven and New London and is situated on the Long Island Sound. Easy off and on. We camped here for one night since we were so close to home in RI. Came in on Memorial Day while everyone was going home. We did not have reservations but no problems during this week - they were totally booked for the weekend. 558 open sites but some are nicely shaded and so many different loops. There is a small section with hookups but we dry camped and had a very nice site. Three comfort stations were in close walking to our site. Great for riding bikes, three main beach areas and hiking areas. They have a concession, dump station, salt water swimming and fishing. Fireplaces not provided but you can bring your own. CT has been increasing their prices every year and for an out of stater $33 for dry camping is expensive and $3 of it was for a reservation fee even if you didn't make a reservation. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2011
$18
I've been camping here every summer since I was born (30 years). It's a great place to bring the family. The campers beach is private and close by. I can't say enough about Hammonasset. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$20
Number 1 turn off: a fire pit is not included?! Really? That just doesn't make sense to me. We had to rent one for a fee, which meant emptying it and cleaning it out to return it the day of departure to get our deposit back. Which meant no fire in the morning to cook breakfast since it wouldn't have time to cool. I've never camped where there wasn't a fire pit provided before, and was caught off guard by this. On the other hand, the sites were large and grassy, several bathrooms are nearby and conveniently offered a large basin double sink outside of each bathroom to wash dishes. The showers were somewhat outside and not very private. There is a stall door, but no area to dress. We remedied this with wearing bathing suits or bathing suit-wraps. Short walk to the beach (or easier drive). It was very quiet and relaxing when we went. I'd go again. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$30
Stayed overnight from NY to Rhode Island. Site was large and clean. Maintained toilets and bathrooms. 5 minute walk to lovely Hammonaset Beach. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2009
$15
Our family has been camping here for 4 generations! It's the best boondocking around. The sites here are enormous. The only complaint is not being allowed to bring pets. With the size of this place, the State of CT could certainly section off an area for "families with pets only". They just built some camping cabins, but failed to properly vent them, so plan on boiling in there! Best "stay-cation" in CT for families with children. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$15
Large sites at this State Park: great for beach camping. Only drawback for us was they do not allow pets. They do in the park itself but not in the campground. Bathroom facilities leave a bit to be desired. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2009
$20
Plan to boondock, although running of a generator is allowed between 8am and 10pm. Weekdays are less crowded than weekends. The sites around number 35 are very uneven and are of grassy earth. Basically, the sites are in an open field. Even with a negative the site allows plenty of room to relocate as desired to try leveling your Rv unit. Bathroom and bathhouse are within reasonable distance of sites and are regularly maintained. There is access to beach and fishing as one desires within driving distance. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2009
$15
We have been camping here for years (over 10) and always had a good experience. Will definitely go back We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2008
$16
I've camped here for 50 years. Nice large (huge) sites that will accommodate any size RV. We have a 40 footer. There is NO hook ups or pets. We only go here when we can find someplace for our Pug to stay. Two jetties to fish from. Beach is ok. The Long Island sound is really dirty. It can be very hot here as there are mostly all open sites. Camp fires allowed on off the ground tubs. Three week maximum stay. But many manage to stay all summer taking the best sites! Great place to take the kids. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2007
$20
This is one of the best state parks in Connecticut. It has a very nice beach with a nature center. The sites are large enough that you aren't cramped in. Bathrooms were fine but we did not use them much. Mystic is about 45 minutes away and Guilford, the next town over, has a very pretty Town Green with an Old New England feel to it. There are some nice shops and boutiques in Guilford as well as the Town of Madison where the park is located. Outlet shopping is only 5-10 minutes away down I-95 also. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2007
$40
If you want a good place to stay withdecent prices then Hammonasset Beach State Park in Madison CT is a great place to stay. They have Bathrooms, Boardwalk, Car Top Boat Launch, Concessions, Nature Center, Picnic Shelters, Picnic Tables, Showers, everything you need. We have 6 in our family and have always had a great time. For a State Park we recommend it! We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2007
$15
This is a very nice park. The sites are really large and easy to access. The other campers were very friendly. The staff were helpful and friendly. It was a short walk to the beach from our site Nipmuck X, but it would be a hike from some others. The campground is clean and the showers were clean but didn't have shelving for your soap, etc in the shower. It did get hot without electricity for a/c but nonetheless we will definitely go back. It states that it doesn't allow over 35 feet campers but there were some very large rigs there, one huge motor home, easily over 40+ feet, and no one seemed to complain and they seemed to fit fine. Overall it's a great place! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2007
$15
Took the family to this park and had a wonderful, wonderful time. Even though we got the last site available, we had a fantastic site with shade!! We have already booked for July 4th 2008!!! Plan on going back again this year. Kids had a ball at the beach and the nature center which is free. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2007
$15
Love it here! We had such a great time! They have huge sites and you are a couple minute walk to the beach! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2007
$15
Loved this place. Roads are great for the kids to ride their bikes, scooters, rollerblade or whatever. This was our second time here and it won't be our last. Very windy. Make sure you bring clips for table cloths. Showers were decent: not immaculate but not disgusting. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2007
$15
Great Park. Even though I am used to more trees when camping, it was very nice. We camped in a tent and it rained a lot, but we still had a pretty good time. Great beach for kids, not many waves. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2007
$15
We had a great time here! The camp ground was immaculate and the beach access was great. We only stayed two nights, we all wished we could have stayed longer. Most sites are Huge and you can find sites with shade over in the W & U loops. They even showed a movie on Saturday at the amphitheater. Reserve you site well in advance, they fill up quick. We will be staying here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2006
$15
This is a state park that is just beautiful. "Beach Road" is the best. The sites are very large and can fit any rig. Short walk to the ocean. Good paved roads and grass sites. You do need your own fire ring or can rent one. Camp fires are great. Located 2 exits from up- scale shopping. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2006
$18
The two miles of beach is what sells this one! We went to sleep with the sound of the waves pounding at the beach which was just a short walk away. We had to get back on the road, but it looks like there is a lot to do here with a nature center that offers programs. The bathrooms would have been cleaner if someone had shut the doors at night. Everything was filled with bugs in the morning after they were attracted to the lights. There were also items left in the shower area ranging from clothes to beer bottles. The sites were big - you did not have any reason to be on top of your neighbors. In fact, there was room to set our pop-up sideways with the door opening to the beach area walkway, and was able to turn our van & camper by just making a U-turn. The kids had the opportunity to fish for small crabs on the beach and to see some bigger ones along the walkway just outside our tent. We only spent one night here, but all left wishing we could have spent two. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2005
$18
I have to echo previous review. Excellent place to dry camp. Our kids have a great time here every year. Although dry camping, water faucets are positioned between almost every other site, so it is real easy to fill water tank. You may need 100' of hose. Camp store has lots of snacks and very basic camping supplies, few RV supplies. There are RV dealers/repair garages in nearby towns. No ground fires allowed, you need to either bring a "portable fireplace" or rent one from the camp store. Excellent place to bike ride. Also, great access for kayaking on Long Island Sound. Reservations are recommended, holiday weekends are almost impossible to get a site without reservations. Security is 24/7, and visible. Campsites are huge. There are a very limited number of electric sites (like maybe 4 or 6), reserved for handicapped unless still open at the last minute. We camp here every year. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2004
$15
If you're looking for a place with direct access to the ocean, this is it. Can't say enough about how nice this place is. No, there are no hookups, but it has spacious sites, a play area for the kids (and kids at heart) and, did I say, direct access to several miles of beach on Long Island Sound for fishing, swimming and just plain walking. There is also a nature center nearby, an interpretive trail through the sand dunes, a beautiful boardwalk. All in all, a great place for dry campers. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com