206527 User submitted reviews online!!
Mystic KOA was rated 7 out of 10 based on 67 user reviews. Phone: (860) 599-5101
CGID611

Mystic KOA

Camp Information
Sites
150
Date of Stay
November 2013
Latest Rate
$42



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   9   2   8   6   6   10   7   8   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2013
$42
We got there a little early. Absolutely grateful. They had us just come straight in and gave us a free night. They gave us a nice pull through that was open for satellite services. The sites were all gravel, pretty level, with grass areas, brick patios, BBQ pit, a rocking bench, and table with chairs. The laundry room was real clean with newer appliances. Not far from local shopping and tourist amenities. We would come here again! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$70
Great park if you have kids. Incredible amount of things for them to do. Bit of a problem leveling our rig, once again, front tires almost off the ground and still not level. Extremely friendly staff. No problems with utilities except for the cable receptacle didn't fit properly. This is a very busy campground, many activities going on. Sites were large enough not to be right on top of the next camper. Easy to get in and out of. If in the area again we would stay here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
June 2013
$80
Never again. Overall the campground was good. Problem is with visitor rules and common sense. My sister-in-law, traveling with us called her son, who lives in New London, to come and pick her up for a day out. The office person wanted her son to park his car in a lot that was more of a swamp than parking space, and she wanted him to pay the visitor fee before he could walk from the main gate to the motorhome in the pouring rain. The park wasn't anywhere near full at the time. We were parked up on the hill facing a field. Also, the office person would not allow her son to bring her back to the site at night due to the one car per site rule. Rules are rules but some common sense and courtesy when the park is not packed tight should prevail. The personnel that were out and about doing maintenance were extremely courteous and friendly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2012
$52
Very nice place. Since it was so off season, there wasn't anything going on. We were in the safari field for a family reunion. We rented 4 sites and 4 deluxe cabins. Kids loved the bounce pillow and playgrounds. Sites were level with water and electric. No sewered sites in the field, but dump station was convenient and clean. Great restrooms. We chose this place for it's proximity to Mystic Aquarium and it's ability to site our whole family together. We will go back again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2012
$70
We stayed at 5 campgrounds while in Connecticut and while this one was quite nice, the cost was exorbitant, and the staff exhibited the typical cockiness we have noticed in most KOA parks we have stayed at in the past; it was quite off-putting. We may stop again if we need to but not for more then a day. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2012
$63
This is a typical KOA, but much too expensive for what you get. We paid $63 after the KOA discount, for a 30 amp water/electricity/ sewer site that was not level. The check in was ok, but no information was given unless you specifically ask for it. Restrooms were clean but in need of a complete cleaning (spider webs, etc). The campground is a 15 to 20 minute drive to Mystic and I think we will look for other places if we return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2012
$80
Beautiful Park. This was a last minute reservation for us and we were very happy with our site. The staff is very helpful. We had a repair we had to tend to and there is a full service RV sales business right outside the main gate. I would recommend unhooking if you are flat towing as some of the sites have a bit of a sharp hill that could cause you to scrape for a bigger rig. We will delfinitely return to camp here for a longer stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2012
$60
We spent the weekend and found this campground to be perhaps one of our favorite ones this season. The staff was friendly but not intrusive; the sites were clean and maintained; the play area and pool area very nice. We will be coming back here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$62
This is a very well run KOA corporate site. The camping sites were a little on the small side making it tight when you have your vehicle parked as well. The pool, kids playground, jumping pillow and entertain are great if you are travelling with children. A very well stocked store and friendly staff. Mystic village is a lovely place to visit but for me the best day I had was when we visited Newport, R.I. which is only a short drive away. It was gorgeous. We would definitely camp here again. I am not a very big fan of KOA, but this is a good site. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2012
$55
This is a very pretty KOA, but if you look past the immediate surface you see some issues. The cable TV was very fuzzy, so we weren't able to use it. My husband and kids had to take Bleach wipes to the shower house and clean before taking showers. Very dirty with mold, dead bugs and cob webs. I refused to shower in there facility, i showered in the RV. Also there was left over towels that were never cleaned out or removed until we complained multiple times. The playground was awesome for our little ones. Easy access to the freeway, but nothing around within walking distance. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2011
$71
Very pricey but not much available in area. The store and repair service next door was great. We had mangled our steps and they fixed them for a reasonable price that allowed us to use them. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2011
$49
Rate reflects Value Kard discount. This is a fairly nice KOA: a corporate park. The staff was friendly and helpful, but didn't offer information unless asked. Our site was mostly level, the bathrooms were basically clean, the grounds were for the most part clean. Hmmm, I see a pattern here. It felt like just enough was done to be OK, but there was no need to be GREAT. I don't understand why KOA pushes their franchisees to follow the KOA G.R.E.A.T. standards, but fail to live up to those same standards in their corporate parks. Just to be clear, this park was fine, and we wouldn't hesitate to stay here again. However, it was nothing to write home about. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2011
$55
Level, but muddy site that was barely long enough. They have better sites, but we didn't know, and they were out of sight. The people in the next site built a fire two nights in a row in a fireplace that was too close to our site, leading to annoying smoke. Marginal roads within the park; big rigs assigned to sites via roads that were too small. Lots of children during the weekend, but not really disturbing. Way overpriced. Power and cable boxes coming apart. Not much to choose from in this area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2011
$51
Super friendly and helpful staff. We needed to switch sites and they came out and helped. All the staffers went out of their way to greet you when they see you out and about. The location is convenient to Mystic right off 95. Even though it rained the entire night and evening our gravel site pad did not become soft and our jacks held. Always a plus when you aren't stuck in the mud. There is a reasonable distance between the sites for a private campground. The kids jumping pillow and play area seemed to be getting quite a workout from the kids and they had many activities for families during the weekend. Hope to go back soon. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2011
$60
We had stayed here before so we were expecting more of it. It's still an attractive campground, but if you aren't in the Premium sites it's only an average campground. The first site we were assigned was much too small for us, and that should have been obvious by the information they wanted when making the reservation. We were given the choice of 5 other sites, none of which were full hook-up, or 50 amp service, which we had requested. Our site was fairly level, but we saw one motorhome today with it's front wheels a good 2 feet off the ground. We will be looking for another campground in this area as we probably won't be coming back here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2011
$58
Typical KOA - Facilities were clean and in good shape. There was a lot of family activities, even midweek. They had some very large pull through sites with new grills and patio chairs, though $85 for a field site is a bit much in my book. Sites were all dirt and not level, most RVs had to have block pyramids under their jacks to level. No matter how I tried I could not use the sewer connect at the back of my site, poo just will not flow up hill. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$35
Overall this campground was very good. The only thing i suggest is that they need more adult staff patrolling at night. The kids were down in the play area jumping on this huge trampoline well after mid-night making all kinds of noise. Other than that I would definitely stay there again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$60
This was a great KOA, just off of I-95 and really close to Foxwoods and the Mohegan Sun Casinos. The stay was good until breakfast time. We cooked and ate outside, but the lawn mowers and weed eaters felt like they had to mow and weed eat during our breakfast??? Couldn't wait 15 minutes, come back later? Very disrespectful. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2011
$60
Overall not a bad campground, a great place for kids and they are everywhere here, no shortage of them but that's OK. The main problem we have with the place, upon checking in we were told the state has them under a boil water order, drinking water tested positive for E.Coli, Really, nice. I understand things like this happens but why wait until check in to tell us. If you couldn't tell us when we made the reservation at least post it on your website. Drive 7 hours to get here then couldn't even get a drink of water. If we would have known this before hand we still would have came, just filled our water tank from home, I can carry 100 gallons, in this day and age there's no reason not to communicate with your customers. I mean come on, E.Coli is serious stuff. They have a lot of activities for the kids, they keep them busy. Restrooms not so clean, could be better. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2011
$57
We came to this KOA to visit family but they had to pay $6 a person per day just to come in the park. The park was clean but we couldn't enjoy having family over for dinner. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2011
$53
Rate is with KOA membership card. This park has everything KOA usually has: pillows, pools, and pancakes, aimed at providing entertainment for children and totally unnecessary for the rest of us. Although named the MYSTIC KOA, it really is in North Stonington and approximately 10 miles from Mystic, and 8 miles from the Foxwoods casino. Our preference is to stay in the Safari area, not so close to neighbors. We do recommend that you ask to stay on the side farthest from the I-95 traffic noise. Staff is friendly. Note the 350 year old tree in the Safari area. The Mystic Seaport historical living history museum and village are worth a visit. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$80
A nice small campground that has a lot to offer. Very friendly staff. Two nice pools, mini golf, jumping pillow, store, pavilion, arcade, etc. Its a small campground with most of the amenities located in one area near the front. Most sites are small and offer little to no privacy. There are some better sites located away from the attractions, but most of those don't have full hook ups. Good playground and some decent activities. I have no idea of why we like the place so much. I think its because it has a lot the fun stuff bigger parks would normally have without all the madness that bigger parks create. At night its perfectly quite. It attracts a respectful crowd with quite hours at 10pm and very little drinking/partying going on. Close to many other attractions if you would just like to use it as a base camp. A lot of people do. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$60
Not many campers. Not many planned activities. Clean restrooms. Friendly people. Good if you are looking for a location close to casino and Mystic. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2011
$60
Beautiful restrooms. Close to Casino. Would come here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2010
$50
This is a beautiful campground. We were concerned about satellite reception at our first site, so the staff upgraded us to a premium site without additional charges. They have a nice laundry. The campground is a wonderful location to see RI and CT. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2010
$51
We have been to this campground before it was KOA. It is old and sites are difficult to pull into with toad attached. It is way over priced. The RV dealer on site was more than helpful and honest diagnosing a battery problem I was experiencing. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2010
$53
This place is well maintained. Staff are friendly and very helpful. They went out of their way to find an especially good site for satellite reception. Bathrooms and Showers were very clean. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2010
$62
We loved our stay at this campground. The magician and the ceramics were enjoyable. Office staff was friendly. We originally wanted a patio site, but opted for a site near the pool. Traffic noise from route 95 was noticeable from our site, but not a major problem. We will definitely come back, but pay the extra fee for a patio site located further away from the 95 section. Our site was level and water pressure and Wi-Fi were great. The camp store is well stocked and the RV dealership on site was nice to purchase RV items. Price payed reflects KOA membership. One thing I notice was an tire air pump at the entrance, one amenity I have not noticed at other campgrounds. We will definitely return. Will make reservation for next season before we leave this trip. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2010
$70
We stayed at the Mystic KOA to celebrate my Birthday. What a clean and well maintained campground. The sites were close, but not so close your were uncomfortable. The playground was my childrens' favorite spot, unfortunately, it was too cold to swim, but the pool was clean and inviting. The whole park overall was very clean and well maintained. I liked how each person is escorted to their site, huge plus. The camp store was stocked with whatever you needed. However, I found the staff not as friendly or helpful as I anticipated them to be, and the gated entrance made me not feel as welcome as other ungated campgrounds. This campground is still one that we would revisit when in Mystic again. Their location to the Aquarium, Seaport, Town and Walmart was a short drive. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$60
Nice park close to the Mystic area. Left one day to Kayak Mystic River and spent a day in the Mystic Village. Great location and nice park if you want to visit the area. Nice pool and some scheduled events for kids and adults. I am a local, living about a half hour away and I didn't realize how nice this park was. Will return again. Price was with discount. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2010
$81
We called to say we would arrive late. The staff accommodated us and left the gate key for us. The site they tried to put our 38' RV was way too small. So we stayed in a side lot with our generator running. No big deal, they were trying to help. At first, they wanted to charge me for the night, but I explained we did not use the facilities and they accepted that. It is a good place to stay the night. Wouldn't want to do an extended stay. Need to work on the facility cleanliness. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2010
$59
This is a well maintained and well run campground which definitely caters to seasonal folks. My only complaint is that we made a reservation for a 50 AMP site and were willing to forfeit a sewer hookup to get it, however we were given a 30 AMP site and were not given any excuse, apology or concession. Bottom line, we paid $59 for a site with 30 AMP and water. Would stay again, but will be sure the confirmation states exactly what amenities are included. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2010
$50
We had a good time here. Plenty to do in the area. Near the casinos. Nice sites. We stayed here Memorial Day weekend. I have never seen so many kids. My only complaint is that I did not see Julia Roberts at Mystic Pizza, it must have been her day off. The KOA manager was really nice too. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2010
$54
I happen to be a seasonal at this park and have no idea what that person in November was talking about. Why would a swimming pool be open in November in Connecticut? We left the park mid October of 2009, and everything was clean, tidy and in order. This is one of the most beautiful KOA's there is. We love this park. The whole laundry area has been re-done and all the people who work here bend over backwards to help you with whatever you may need. As far as the I-95 noise: it is much more noticable in the fall when the leaves are off the trees. Some people are NEVER happy: the person who wrote in November sounds like they are one of these. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
November 2009
$59
Wow. First time visitors here, and I must say, worst campground experience ever. We arrived this past Saturday with friends and our families, and were welcomed well enough at check-in. We inquired what was available for the children (ages 3 to 7) since the pools were closed, and was told the playground was open but the receptionist (whom I believe was the owner) said she didn't know about the Jumping Pillow and Miniature Golf since, "all the managers are away at a big KOA convention." Hmmmm. We were given tags for the campsites and we rolled in. Our sites were a disgrace. OLD leaves were drifted like snow everywhere. The fire pit was filled with trash and leaves, and the planters and general grass areas were overgrown and overrun with weeds. Never mind the fact sites were unlevel, and what spartan trees that were around were not trimmed correctly, so you know you're going to drag them across your roof and down the sides of your rig. Never mind all that, but they are jammed on top of each other. Enjoy dining to the site of your neighbors waste line hookup? And the smell. I doubt they emptied the septic either. As for the view, well let's say it conjured up images of the front yard of the house in Hitchcock's Psycho. Yeah, you know the one with all the overgrown grass, rotting piled up leaves and dilapidated structures? Except here, the dilapidated structures were the seasonal camper's RV's. Do they have ANY policies regarding neatness??? Doubt it! Shameful. We crossed the weedy plain to the playground. Utilitarian at best. The run off tracks from the rain water cascading down the hill to it had carved channels that were hazards for the kids. And here, as everywhere, the grass hadn't been cut, planters not trimmed or kept up, and old leaves piled 2' high at the fence around the playground. And "Whoopty Doo!" The Jumping Pillow was on. Did I tell you this place sits right next to route I-95? I can imagine that during the summer with your AC running its not much of a nuisance, but outdoors was a different story. THINK airport. Here's a good one for you. 3 spots down from us was this really crappy RV all hooked up. Seems the jokers in this one, were happy to have new neighbors so they cranked up the music, and kept making, "WHOOP!" sounds. The mess surrounding their RV suggested they were partying. The empty Natty Light 22's and 40's sort of gave it away. Well you know, whatever, right? Well then they came walking around. Two guys that looked like escaped convicts and some old hag with a nice fresh black eye. I kid you not. They made a comment to my friend, "Hey. You gots a lotta kids huh? Like 10 of 'em? Heh heh heh!" The old hag chimed in, "eh eh eh!" and the other guy just grunted. Nice bunch here. Honestly, it was the start of some movie. You know the one where the campers are slaughtered mercilessly in their sleep, type movie. Well I had enough and went to discuss the issues with the receptionist. Her response to the disgraceful shape of her campground; "Yeaaaah, we need to work on that." And when asked about her choice of guests was, "Well am I supposed to tell them No?" Yes! Tell them NO. She informed me that she was leaving at 5pm and nobody would be here until 9am, so if we needed anything to shop now. Oh: she left us the number to the Connecticut State Police. Just in case. All in all, there were about 5 normal RV'er groups. Some looked happy to see us, as if we were going to be more defense against the Hatfield family in the crappy RV. My friend suggested we stick it out, but we made a plan to get to another campground, "just in case." Would I stay here again? Heck, for another $20 bucks I can stay at a Motel 6, and I know they take care of their facility, and would in a moment deny accommodations to anybody who looked as remotely bad as that group did. So ABSOLUTELY NOT. My intelligence as a consumer was insulted so bad that I absolutely had to put pen to paper on this one and warn you all, to avoid this campground like the plague. And for those of you who do go, all I can say is: "good luck." We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2009
$54
For the area, this can't be beat. While the price is a bit steep, we found that it gave us everything that we wanted, a good, level site, reliable electricity, good Wi-Fi, and a feeling of security. When we are back in this area we will definitely stay for more than 3 or 4 days. This is one of the best KOAs that we have experienced in a long, long time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2009
$52
Easy registration, security gate is nice with key card - although site given was not level - possibly overnight or few nights sites - otherwise a very nice RV park. Staff is most helpful and friendly, good cable, water pressure good, and traffic noise is minimal or non-existent. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2009
$48
This is a typical KOA, but much too expensive for what you get. We paid $48 after the KOA discount, for a 30 amp water/electricity site that was way out of level. We asked to switch sites, but all of the sites we were shown were just as unlevel. The sites were adequate in size, but nothing special. The cable TV worked OK as did the free Wi-Fi. We would try to find another place to stay if passing through, but the selection in this area is pretty sparse. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$55
Fabulous time here at this KOA! By far, the best KOA we’ve visited. Most every event, activity and entertainment is included in the overnight price (other KOA’s charge separately). We were here with a large group and were able to get our sites close together and next to the cabins (cabins are top of the line accommodations). Our site was roomy and level with moderate amount of shade. Kids really enjoyed the pools and hayride. Our large group will make this the location for our annual event! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2009
$53
We camped in the Safari Field. I liked this site as we were away from the hustle and bustle of the rest of the campground. Our site was large and grassy. Although I-95 was to the rear of the camper we were able to ignore the noise. If you are very sensitive to noises then stay away from this area. We had electric, water and cable and Wi-Fi was great with a strong signal and no extra cost to use. All the facilities were clean and the grounds were tidy. I will definitely return to this campground when I want to stay local. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2009
$54
One of the nicest KOA 's we have stayed in. The people who checked us in and led us to our site could not have been nicer. There are great amenities and activities. There is a wide selection of site types, with clean restrooms and wide roads. You will get your moneys worth here! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$55
The bathrooms were very clean and the kids had a lot to do. They loved the pool. We were even able to have our camper repaired by Highland Orchard Sales & Service when one of the vents broke off the camper while traveling on the highway. It was one of the best trips we have taken this year. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$79
This campground was very nice but I found it pricey. The pools were very nice and our site was big. The seasonals are very friendly. My kids really enjoyed the jumping pillow and mini golf. The week before we arrived the campground had a lot of rain so when we were there our water was an orange/rust color. We spoke to the security and they said every site was like that and it was because of all the rain they had. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$56
This was our second visit and we will continue to visit in the future. It's a clean, family friendly facility with many activities. It also happens to be in great proximity to many tourist attractions and beaches. The downsides are the noise from the highway and the sites are a bit close together. However, the pluses far outweigh the minuses. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2009
$50
We had a nice time! Loved the site privacy. The kids loved the pool and the playground. They also had fun doing the camp activities. Would definitely go there again. This was my second stay and both times were very nice. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2009
$56
Extremely nice family type park with lots of stuff for the kids. The park was very clean and the staff was very friendly. The wi-fi was free and had a good signal. Showers and restrooms were clean and free. The park is under new ownership this year and has become a K.O.A. campground. Conveniently located next to Highland Orchards R.V. sales and service. Nearby Mystic Connecticut, has lots of stuff to do, as do the Foxwoods and Mohegan Sun casinos if you are so inclined. We had a fantastic time there breaking in our new fifth wheel, and will definitely camp there again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2008
$55
This was our first time at this KOA, formerly a privately owned Campground; which is now in the KOA system. Access off of I-95 was very easy. It is VERY family orientated, and everyone seemed very well behaved; with a lot of local Connecticut residents in camp. Even a few large but well mannered get together. About 70% of the CG are pull through sites, and a good 30-40% of them seem to be seasonal. It seemed very clean and had "pass card" security gates at the entrance. Saturday night featured an outdoor Disney movie under the stars. Our pull through seemed among the wider ones, not huge but very sufficient for a 4 day stay. The roads were gravel and paved. Actually, most of the sites were up on a hill, over looking the (two nice) pools; so there was a pleasant breeze and a nice view of the sunset to the west. We paid $55 a night with 30 amp, water and sewer; which is pretty typical for a KOA. There is a newly remodeled store with camping basics and there's an RV dealer and supply shop next door to the campground as well. To close, I would have to disagree with the negative reviews posted here and we would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2008
$45
The Mystic KOA is your standard run-of-the-mill KOA. The sites are pretty close together, and the grounds were pretty wide open (no trees). The facilities were clean and functional. The store was lightly stocked (still the slow season). Our site was no where near level and rather muddy. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2007
$48
This nice and pretty park with generous sites is way overpriced. The Cable is great, the WiFi is strong and the pools looked beautiful; unfortunately they were padlocked closed in mid-Sep. Most of it seems to be given over to seasonal towables, but they’re refreshingly junk-free and there’s lots of room for itinerants. Much infrastructure for kiddy activities is evident, but we’re kidless and we didn’t see anyone using the facilities on a Wed in Sep. The bath houses are modern, beautifully tiled and very clean, but beware: the second one in the main building had no cold water, making for a scalding shower. Altogether a good place to stay while exploring Mystic, but it should be priced about $20 cheaper, particularly mid-week in the off season. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2007
$48
This nice and pretty park with generous sites is way overpriced. The Cable is great, the WIFI is strong and the pools looked beautiful; unfortunately they were padlocked closed in mid-Sep. Most of it seems to be given over to seasonal tow ables, but they’re refreshingly junk-free and there’s lots of room for itinerants. Much infrastructure for kiddy activities is evident, but we’re kidless and we didn’t see anyone using the facilities on a Wed in Sep. The bath houses are modern, beautifully tiled and very clean, but beware: the second one in the main building had no cold water, making for a scalding shower. Altogether a good place to stay while exploring Mystic, but it should be priced about $20 cheaper, particularly mid-week in the off season. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2007
$55
Now Mystic KOA. Please see reviews under this name. This campground is horrible! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2007
$55
Save your money and stay away!! I have been camping for 30 years and this is the worst campground experience I have ever had. You are unable to enjoy the pool or playground due to the awful non stop smell of the septic. When you call to make a reservation they tell you about all of these events that happen but don't tell you that everything costs extra (including the jumping pillow, go to Strawberry Park its free!) or that they cancel things for no reason and that the game room is only open for 3 hours per day and that is if they have someone to man it. (Find me another campground that has someone in the game room all the time.) If you ask a question to someone that works here, you better not hope to get an answer because all they tell you is they don't know and that headquarter in another state tells them what to do. The manager is a joke!! If you have a problem don't ask him he'll say it isn't his fault and if you don't like it leave. Well that's what we did and I plan on making sure everyone I know that camps know not to come here! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2007
$45
Beautiful campground on approx 250 year old farm, was Highland Orchard but was sold and is now is Mystic KOA . Grounds are well kept, security gate, restrooms kept clean, quiet campground, sites were flat and easy to access in the grassy section, but a little on the tight side, nicely laid out with lots of pull through sites. The wooded area was had some tight sites and some fairly spacious sites. Dirt was a bit over whelming though, and some of the tent sites in the wooded area turned into a major pond after a heavy rain. The previous owner did not use these sites, but Mystic is now using them but I am sure that too will end with enough complaints. The staff was warm, friendly and helpful. Some planned activities for the kids as well as family meet and greats on weekends like group campfire, ice cream social. Fire rings provided at each site along with sturdy picnic table. Wi Fi worked great, cable tv was full cable not just a few select channels. Jumping pillow a new addition was a plus for kids (slight charge for it) banana bikes, pool, Mini Golf (available with charge) Outdoor Cinema (Family Friendly movie on weekends) Hay wagon ride candy bar bingo, tie dying just a few of the activities. This campground is open all year, and I plan to return in the late fall early winter * skunks nightly so we locked up our trash in the car over night for pick up in the morning. But that's part of camping (smile). We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$50
We only stayed here for the weekend. Most of the sites are set up in rows with campers pretty close together. We drove through the campground and noticed an area with more trees in the back, mostly for tenting and small hybrid trailers. The office was clean, neat and well stocked. The staff was friendly and helpful. They rent some bikes that look like a lot of fun. The kids were having a great time. Koa has just recently taken over this campground and they have built some nice cabins. We didn't notice a lot of extra activities going on. I would definitely try this campground again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2007
$50
My family & I have camped at Highland Orchards Campground. We found the staff to be very helpful. The have a large pool. The campground was very clean and quiet. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2006
$40
Park was generally quiet, sites were flat and easy to access, but a little on the tight side. Was not able to book a full hook-up. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
September 2006
$44
To say this park is a "resort" is really pressing it. Unlevel dirt pads. Tight. This is the first park I have been in this summer that actually charged me for my second dog.. Talk about nickle and diming. I would never consider returning here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2006
$37
Stayed at site F2, level site with lots of room. Free Wi-Fi. Little to no organized activities. Lot of rules for sites no mats, eventhough they where everywhere. Very quite during the week, busy on the weekend. Car restrictions a little stiff. I would camp here again, close to alot of attractions; ie casinos, waterford speedbowl, mystic seaport & aquarium, dinosaur park. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2006
$42
30 amp site and the electric was very poor, not even enough amps to run the AC. Site was backed up to Interstate 95 so we had a lot of road noise, wife had to wear ear plugs to sleep. There are better sites up front farther away from the road. On Friday and Saturday the campground was about 90% full, come Sunday it was empty, seems like it is used more on weekends. Where we are from the campgrounds stay full in the month of August so I found it funny that this was so empty during the week, just an observation. The women working the desk could use a lesson on how to be nice, very cold and a little stand offish, not mean just when someone is taking my money I at least like to be looked at and maybe even a Thank You would be nice. We think the rates for this place is on the high side, $42.00 a night for a E/W site and the electric wasn't even good enough to run the AC, lots of road noise, no shade just a big open field is to much money. If the sites up front with E/W/S/C and shade was $42.00 it would be worth it but they are $55.00 a night. We have no plans of returning, there are better parks in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
October 2005
$37
I was not impressed with this place. Close to Casino's but for $37.00 (off season and GS discount) this facility is way overpriced. The sites were tiny, rocky and unlevel. (My 3" boards couldn't compensate for the 8" drop over the length of my vehicle). The inner roads were rocky. Nice store, gated entry and kids playground. Two pools and mini golf but out of season when we went there. We wouldn't go back for that rate and the little site we were on. I had more space and privacy in the Foxwoods parking lot. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2005
$40
I had a problem with electricty on more than one visit where the super sites are located. The voltage rarely got above 90 volts. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2004
$45
Don't know about the previous reviewers. The rules that they have at the campground, are routine that you find at most campgrounds. The sites are more than average, especially their premium sites. The campground is located within an apple orchard. This is not a busy campground with a lot of activities. It's a place where there is quiet, and a great place to camp if one is hitting Foxwoods, Mohegan Sun or other tourist areas. Have been doing a weekend each of the past few years, and believe the previous two reviews are unfair. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
2004
$38
This campground is nicely laid out with lots of pull through sites. Thats where it ends. There are more rules than I have ever seen. Not to mention fees $15.00 early arrival, $10.00 per visitor, $17.00 to get pumped out. I'm surprised they don't charge to use the pool. Ooops probably just gave them an Idea. Customer service needs some serious attention. There is nothing to do there, no activities for the kids or adults. We will not be going back and do not reccommend going there. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
2004
$35
We toured this campground as a possible future location but, after driving around it, decided against it. The roads are unpaved, the sites are dirt, and the overall park is very, very dusty. Sites are small, close together, and tight in many respects. Also, they have enough dumb rules to fill a big, big box, i. e., no unloading of car at site, no use or your washer or dryer in your coach, no awnings connected to other awnings, no doormats unless 2'x2' breathable mat or smaller,a charge of up to $15.00 for early check in even if your site is vacated, a $10.00 per person visitor, charge if you have friends come by and say hello, and so on. Life is too short. Stay somewhere else where common sense rules and greed is not the order of the day. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2002
$38
Well maintained park. RV parts store on site. Both pull throughs and back in sites easily accommodate a 40' 5th and truck. Laundry room was small for resort this size, but clean. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
2002
$35
I have mixed feelings about this campground. The facilities were nice. The pools were good and well maintained. But the grassy sites are on top of each other and located close to the highway so you hear the traffic. We had a wooded site and had a very very hard time backing in our little 17' trailer. Lots of rocks and trees in the way. And our truck has a few scratches from tree limbs. The site was an OK size and secluded, but it was nothing but dirt and dust, lots of it. Our feet were always very dirty so you can imagine what the camper looked like after only three days! Everything we took home was covered in dust. The location is great though, close to RI beaches, Mystic, Foxwoods Casino. I am not sure if we will return or not. That dirt was really hard to deal with. I think if they put down some gravel it would be much better. If you don't mind dirt, or close sites on grass, then this is a great place to come. We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
1998
$37
Nice park, centrally located, close to attractions right off I-95. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com