206486 User submitted reviews online!!
South Toledo Bend State Park was rated 9 out of 10 based on 22 user reviews. Phone: (337) 286-9075
CGID6114

South Toledo Bend State Park

Camp Information
Sites
79
Date of Stay
October 2013
Latest Rate
$20



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   9   10   9   10   9   9   6   9   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2013
$20
We will stay here again was in site 35 - awesome view of lake. Some site had decks. If you look at map - our site around where we stayed was the best lake sites. Before September 30, prices are $28 after October $20 for premium $18 for not. We like South Toledo Bend more than North. Lot more to do and you are closer to lake. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$14
Beautiful campground set on the banks of the Toledo Bend reservoir, a very large clearwater lake. An easy 10 if they had sewer. Fishing is great. Park was very nice, ranger was friendly and informative. Camp hosts nice, kept campgrounds clean and neat and could answer questions about stores, restaurants, local attractions etc. Other park staff were friendly. Park was quiet, even on busy weekend, quiet hours are observed. Sites are fairly level, a lot of them have wood decks; there are gravel paths to floating docks for fishing or tying a boat up. There are two trails, both easy to walk and offer great views of the lake and surrounding area. Lots of birds here. Will camp here again in the future. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2013
$18
South Toledo Bend State Park has plenty of shade for those hot summer days. The fishing is off the hook. There is a boat launch, fishing peers, a swimming beach, paved walking trails, a playground for the kids and beautiful views of the lake. It is a good drive from the interstate. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2013
$23
The lady at the gatehouse was super friendly and helpful. The park is very well laid out and easy to get in and out of. The bath house and laundry rooms were very clean. The fishing piers were nice to use. There is a small beach area as well. There is a nice playground for the kids. Park rangers made several trips per day through the park so the residents were not rowdy. Quiet time started at 10PM and everyone observed it. Overall I had a very nice stay at this campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2013
$22
This is our second trip back to this park in less than two months. This trip we were in site #29, which had a nice lighted pier attached to it that overlooked a cove and the swim beach. This park is absolutely gorgeous, the only possible improvement would be to install sewer in each site. Our site required about 3 inches of leveling on one side but was large enough and clear of trees to accommodate our 43' RV with four slides and the awning. The park has very nice walking trails, plenty of beautiful bald eagles to watch, and very nice facilities for park guests. We will camp here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2012
$26
We spent 3 nights here. The campground is very nice and clean with well spaced sites. We had a water site, but the best places to get to the water are the easily accessible floating docks. There is a nice paved walking trail and a beautiful information area with nice displays and a beautiful view of the lake. Some sites are quite sloped, some have a nice wooden deck, and all are very private. The quiet hours are enforced, and the camp host did do a drive by at 10 pm. We would definitely stay here again...just loved it! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2012
$18
We were in site 33 which has view of the water. All sites appear to be very large, but some are on angles and will require you to level your unit. There are 55 spaces and we were only one of two campers in park! This place is clean and QUIET. The hosts were especially friendly and helpful. We had no problem with the Wi-Fi. Can't say enough about the cleanliness of the restrooms; it was a 12 out of possible 10! We are already making plans to go back next year. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
December 2011
$16
The staff was very friendly and the park was adequately maintained. I thought the wireless internet worked unusually well though they block a lot of sites, some for reasons that weren't obvious to me. My site, 44, and several others around it were very out of level from front to back. The park has several nice trails, though some were poorly marked. One was totally paved and should work well for somebody in a wheel chair. It was cool so bugs and such weren't a problem but I suspect that various creepy, crawlies would be an issue during warmer times of the year. I have a gauge before the pressure reducer on my water system that goes to 100 psi. It was on the peg. A ranger told me they intentionally try to keep the pressure at 90 psi but, if my gauge was correct, it was well over that. There's not much nearby but a couple of gas station/convenience stores. The nearest supermarket was 23 miles away at the intersection of routes 171 and 8. It was brand new and very nice. I had trouble finding propane. "Norm's RV Park" about 18 miles away on route 171 south of Anacoco was the nearest. Its a dump you'd never want to stay at but they do fill tanks. I wouldn't say my stay here was unpleasant but I doubt if I'll be back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2011
$26
Great campground. This campground is very clean and the staff was very friendly. Most of the campsites offer a very large, brand new wooden deck. There are short trails throughout the park that lead you down to the lake where you will find brand new piers for boat docking and fishing. There are also canoe rentals available, which came in handy because we were unable to tow our boat. The washer and dryers were FREE!!! Very clean bathhouses. Only thing missing is a swimming pool for the kids. We definitely plan to revisit. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2011
$26
A beautiful State Park set on the shores of Toledo Bend Lake. The campsites are wooded with many offering views of the lake. The park also provides free wifi and free washers and dryers. The visitor center is very nice and the paved trail system is good. Some negatives is that the trash containers are not in the camp area, but near the entrance requiring a long walk to dump trash. Also, many of the campsites are not level. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
January 2011
$20
We really enjoy camping here and they have added boat docks close to the camping sites. They also have free laundry now and are improving the camp ground which is wonderful. They removed all the trash cans from around the campsites so now you have to drive to dump your trash (not sure why). We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2010
$17
We love the park, the Wi-Fi was a treat. The lake was low but fishing is available. My grandson enjoyed the trails, we walked and rode bikes all day. The visitor center inside the park is amazing with all the native plants and animals and interactive activities. We didn't participate but the park rangers had activities planned for the weekend. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$24
This State Park is really great! The park was clean, the camp sites were very nice and paved, some even had decks attached to the site because of the slope of the site. They had Wi-Fi but cell coverage was a little spotty in areas. The hiking / biking paths were awesome--they were paved!! There were several docks and bridges in the park that you could fish off of and my kids really liked that. There was a "beach" with parking. The only thing this place was missing was a swimming pool. Although, you could drive down the road and pay to swim at Bass Haven's pool (although, Bass Haven has not been taken care of and is falling into disrepair). The visitor center is amazing and we got some beautiful sunset pictures of the lake from there. We would definitely go here again! Its a super great place! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2010
$25
Plenty of room with outstanding view of lake at the site we had. Also had a cool breeze blowing in from the lake. This is one of my top two favorite camp grounds in Louisiana. If it only had cell phone service. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2010
$16
Great park as always, clean restrooms/showers nice staff. The new decks at some of the sites are real nice and make a big difference. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2010
$18
This is a very nice park. The comfort station was extremely clean, the staff was nice and helpful. The park also has lots of walking paths with a museum. All very nice. We will definitely return soon. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2010
$18
This is an outstanding RV campground, in an outstanding State Park. The RV sites are perfect with water and electric service. The park management is upgrading the sites with nice wooden decks that really add to the quality of the camping experience. Hiking is great and there are lots of water sports to enjoy. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2009
$9
Friendly staff. Paved roads and sites, some with steep drop offs. Some not too level. Most sites will take a large rig. Only 4 pull throughs. Great big lake. Boating, fishing and water sports are very big here. Needed more paved parking as many people had a extra car and boat trailer. It had rained for 4 days and the few grass areas did get torn up. They are installing a WiFi system. They have installed 11 WiFi towers in the park. I asked when it would be ready and if there would be a charge. I was told soon and not sure if there would be a charge. The rate is for the Golden Age Pass. Many water view or sites that back up to the water. Verizon phones work fair in some parks of the park and not at all in other sections. Our air card worked just "OK". I would rate this park a 9 if they had sewer hook ups and better more level and laid out sites. Although this is one of the best State parks we ever stayed in. About 30 miles from the hospital and from large food stores. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$9
This is the best campground in the South Toledo Bend area. Asphalt roads and sites are in good condition. We always get one of the premium sites that has a waterfront view. Sites are spacious. Some sites have a drop off that makes it a little hard to navigate for those of us with bad knees. Staff is friendly and helpful. There is a swimming beach, a boat launch, and good hiking trails. The campground is well maintained. The only drawback is the lack of sewer hookups, but we would not stay at any of the other campgrounds in the area. Our rate reflects the Golden Age Pass discount. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2007
$18
Very nice campsites that are spaced well and maintained. The fishing is good with over 1200 miles of waterfront to Toledo Bend Reservoir. We specially liked the paved trails with bridges over to other park areas. The restrooms, laundry, and other public areas were clean. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2007
$19
We loved this park. The park is fairly new and the staff is very helpful. Nice view of the lake and very nice boat ramp and beach area. Some of the sites have a drop off and are quite unlevel. Last time we were out though, we were told that there is a plan in the works to correct these sites. There is also a kids playground being built. The park has scheduled activities for the kids throughout the day and on holidays they have things such as hayrides. The cabins here are also very nice and spacious. As well as the park bathrooms and showers are very nice and new. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2005
$12
Beautiful park with a large lake running through it. Trails range from concrete walks trough the woods to undeveloped trails out to eagle nesting areas. The staff was great and opened the visitor center just for us as the park was mostly empty. Sewer hookups not available but they do have a dump station. They have 55 sites with hookups, but they also have other tent sites and new cabins. The park is new. We camped here in a Tent.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com