219074 User submitted reviews online!!
Thousand Trails - Hershey was rated 8 out of 10 based on 13 user reviews. Phone: (717) 867-5515
CGID6132

Thousand Trails - Hershey

Camp Information
Sites
250
Date of Stay
July 2013
Latest Rate
$1



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   8   10   8   8   9   9   10   7   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$1
Thousand Trails rate. Geese, many geese. The lake is covered with filth from all the geese and they leave droppings all over the place, sport courts, pavilions, and parking lots. Otherwise, staff keeps the CG in good condition. Following the heavy rains some of the roads were plagued with deep runoff ditches, but the day following the rain the maintenance folks were out filling and smoothing things out. HDTV is pretty bad and no cable. Wi-Fi is available in the lodge and one pavilion; otherwise, it's not good. The lake is in the midst of the CG but there are no waterfront sites. The CG is quiet and peaceful and access is fairly easy. We would return when in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$50
Stayed here for the Memorial Day weekend. The park is a membership park, part of the Thousand Trails system, thus there are a good proportion of permanent campers. They keep a number of "retail sites" for non-members. We stumbled upon this park after decided on a whim to camp for Memorial Day. They do this to drum up new members, so we were visited with a sales pitch a few times. Not a problem, the gentlemen was knowledgeable, and their "zone pass" seems to be a decent bargain. Location is good, pool and recreation facilities are good. However the Wi-Fi did not work in our Loop F. Several reviews mention excessive droppings from the many geese on the property. We didn't see any in our visit. We would return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2011
$1
Beautiful Park, staff very friendly. Only negative was the weather!!! It started thunder, lightning & POURING down rain as we were getting parked,the ranger came to unlock 50amp-we told him it could wait 'til am since it was raining so hard but he got out there and took care of it anyway! We were bummed that we weren't able to get good pictures because of weather - would definitely come back if we are in the area again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2011
$1
We had a pull through site in the "H" section. It was gravel fairly level. Some roads are paved. It was 50 amp full hook up. No shade and on our patio side, we faced the south for full afternoon sun. No shade, could be very hot in the summer. Because of fairly steep hillside sun was below our awning most of the afternoon. No privacy between sites. Site was long enough for our rig, car and truck. Big rig friendly. Each restroom building has a small clean laundry. No cable TV. Over the air TV was fair, we could not always get the major networks. We did not use the WiFi. Our Verizon cell phone was fair to good. We did use our Wilson antenna and amplifier with our Droid phone and our signal was good to very good. Like most Thousand Trails they have a very active list of planned activities. There is a large outdoor pool (not opened at this time). There is a small lake for fishing and kayaking. Very active with families. Located about 5 miles from Hershey and about 8-10 miles from the major attractions in Hershey. Nearest large grocery is about 8 miles. There is a small grocery about 3 miles, but it was closed on a Saturday afternoon when we stopped. It is about 8-9 miles from the PA Turnpike. About 15 miles from I-81. It is a country setting. Summary: this is a nice, very active fairly large RV Park. It could use a little upgrading and more paved roads. The Canada goose population could be reduced, as there are way too many goose droppings in the park. They could better spend their money on improvements rather than radar guns for the rangers. The manager is very nice and all the staff very, very friendly. Bonus: the city of Hershey and all its attraction. The Amish country about 30 miles. Hollywood Casino about 20 miles. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$1
Loved this park, nice sized sites, GREAT water pressure. Close to everything, AT&T data and voice OK. Friendly staff. Still cleaning up and repairing after earlier tornado ripped thru this area. Need to get rid of the Geese, lots of potential e-coli because of them. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$1
We were expecting a great park, but it exceeded our expectations. Our site was on the hill in H section, not the easiest to level, but well worth the effort. The layout is like three separate campgrounds: 50 amp, 30 amp, and W/E, and each area offers beautiful scenery. There were very few planned activities and we never saw very many people in the activity center, but with so much to do and see in the area, it was understandable. The pool was large, clean and in good condition, but there was no shade except for a few tables with umbrellas. Lots of geese, but they didn't bother people at their sites. The mowers were out almost every day, and all the sites were in good condition. This park would definitely rate a ten, except for the low voltage we experienced, once it got hot and people cranked up their A/Cs. We turned ours off rather than risk damage. We really enjoyed the farms and farmer's markets close by. We'll definitely come back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$1
As others have mentioned, this is one of the better 1000 Trails Preserves in the system. We THOROUGHLY enjoyed our stay here and are looking forward to coming back. Power and water were outstanding, sat TV available from some sites., some shaded sites and some in the sun. Nice folks and great activities including a luau and Polynesian dancers. Management is top notch and very friendly and accessible. Two nice pickle ball courts being used every day. One slight drawback is the number of Canadian Geese in the park, but not sure what can be done about them. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2008
$1
Without a doubt, Hershey Thousand Trails is the finest preserve that we have visited in the system. Sites are well maintained and have plenty of space between. All facilities are in excellent condition. Would stay her again if in the area. Lots of places to visit in the area, especially the Hershey Chocolate factory and visitor center. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2008
$1
We stayed for three free nights with the requisite sales spiel. Nice campground, although we stayed out of season, but the pool seemed nice. Playground equipment was okay--kind of old, but in good repair--safe but boring. Mini-golf course needs to be upgraded. We won't be buying a TT membership, but would go back to the Thousand Trails-Hershey location. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2007
$1
This is a members only park and we went on a free weekend. The park was very nice, our site was very large and pretty close to level. The bathrooms were very clean, although they could use some minor updating. Other campers were very friendly. The pool was closed due to the time of year we were there, but it was a pretty good size. The campground is in a small valley and is very quiet. We have been thinking about becoming members to maybe go here more often. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2007
$1
Nice park. Paved roads. Most site are pretty level. A lot of activities. The satellite dish thing mentioned before is about grass cutting. You can put them in the grass, but move them on grass cutting day or they will be moved for you. And they don't like that. I was told about sewer hoses being cut with weed wackers, so move them, also. A problem I ran into is bad electric in Loop B. Voltage leak to ground. I got zapped while touching bare metal on the coach and the ground a little wet. I measured 26v between the coach and the wet grass. I moved to a different section and it's OK. I heard the problem has been there for a while. Other than that it's a nice park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2007
$1
We stayed for nearly three weeks and enjoyed the lovely campground and Hershey chocolate world. We only had one grievance and that was we were told we could not put our internet satellite dish on the grass. Not only did other campers have their satellite and/or internet dishes on the grass (we counted 19 in driving around the resort), a camper in front of us had theirs on the grass when we checked in. Management was not friendly about the situation. Although we are TTN members, we can't say we'd stay at this resort again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2006
$1
This is a time share park and we sat through the 90 minute presentation to stay at the park. The campground is nice and has a nice family center. Some of the sites are close together especially for a "private" membership campground. The staff was friendly until we said not thanks! VERY expensive membership. This park is okay, not spectacular like the membership price would dictate. The park is easy access from US322 and is big rig friendly. The facility was okay, but on a walk we undercover a set-up in the woods section that had all kinds of exposed wiring and Satanic symbols painted on the backdrop of a stage. Odd. Maybe for Halloween, even so, this is NOT acceptable as in a family campground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com