219007 User submitted reviews online!!
MacMillen RV Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 29 user reviews. Phone: (432) 426-2056
CGID6148

MacMillen RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
27
Date of Stay
March 2014
Latest Rate
$30



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   9   9   9   2   9   8   8   9   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2014
$30
Nice campground for a few days. We were here to visit MacDonald Observatory and Marfa "lights". Internet good. Cable good. 50A only so bring 50-30A pigtail. If necessary, camp manager in Site #29 will loan one,. Fuel before arriving, perhaps Pecos or Fort Stockton, if coming from the East. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2013
$30
This park has a new owner/manager who is very friendly & helpful. The roads & sites are gravel. Each site is wired for 50 amp. If you have a 30 amp unit, the park will loan you a 50-30 amp adapter if you don't have one. The voltage was excellent & the Wi-Fi worked well. The bath house is very clean & contains 2 women & 2 men shower rooms. Each room also contains a lavatory & toilet. The laundry room was very clean. Most of the sites are pull-thru of sufficient length to stay hooked up to your trailer or toad. The few long term sites were very clean. The entire park appeared very neat & clean. The credit card machine was being repaired during our stay, so I paid by check. We will definitely return when in this area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$30
We stayed here three nights and would highly recommend this campground. The spacing between campers is good. The spaces are level with good hookup locations. Grass, some small trees, gravel roads in good condition, and a great picnic table on a slab with a cover (very nicely done). Good laundry and bathrooms. Owner and camp host friendly and helpful with things to see and do in the area. Easy walk to downtown Ft Davis (about a mile). Don't miss this one, we'll stay here again! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2013
$25
I spent two nights at this park. Park host was very friendly and allowed me to select a site and get hooked up before registration. Pull-through site was long enough for my motorhome and toad, and it was easy to get in and out of. Hook-ups were well-placed and worked fine. Plenty of open sky for my satellite dome. Wi-Fi was fast, but was not secured with a password. Park accepts cash and personal checks, but no credit cards. Have stayed here before and would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
January 2013
$25
Sign only had partial lettering, more dirt than gravel resulting in mud everywhere, we stayed one night after paying for 4 and went to the state park instead. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2012
$25
Family friendly park. Host was very pleasant, friendly and helpful. Gave information about places to visit in area. Clean restrooms and property well maintained. Sign outside the park is rather hard to see, must be going slow. There is a County park down the road to the South that has a walking path and to get to the park you do not need to drive, there is a walking path on the opposite side of the road so you can actually walk to the park. Traffic noise was a loud during the day but quiet at night. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$22
Very nice little unassuming park. Basic amenities, but what there is is very nice and well-cared for. The bathhouse has private rooms with toilet, sink, and shower. Gravel pads with plenty of room for maneuvering, easy for big rigs. Great Wi-Fi and friendly camp host. Not much signage, easy to find during the day but you might need to look carefully at night. Rate reflects weekly rate, would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$25
Friendly people, big site and a lot of space. While we were here it was quiet. Easy access to State Park and Fort Davis National Park. Not a very good sign on the road but you cannot miss it. Quiet at night, no road noise. Beautiful night skies. We stayed here three nights. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2011
$25
I spent two nights here while in the Big Bend area. The sites are large and easy to get in and out of. The WIFI worked great and the restrooms/showers were exceptionally nice and clean. While I normally stay at Davis Mountains State Park, this is certainly a worthy alternative. Staff was very friendly and helpful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2010
$28
Stayed here for 5 days/4 nights with two grandsons ages 6 & 7. The park has no facilities/activities for children. Our grandsons took their bikes and scooters, so they kept themselves occupied, but the only paved areas were around the office and bath house and laundry buildings. We arrived after hours so no attendant on premises, but we had been in touch with him several times during the day (we had never been in that area and thought we were lost several times). We tested three sites before we found one with electricity and it was 50 amps (our TT is 30 amps). We plugged into a 15-amp receptacle. The next day when the attendant arrived, we were loaned a 50 amp adapter. The website requires updating, but the park is clean. It is definitely not what we consider a "resort". The attendant was friendly and helpful. He provided us with information on the surrounding area and we enjoyed the time we spent there. We would stay again, if it still there in the future. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2010
$25
Easy access to the park. Had nice long, wide spots. The spots were very level. We had to wait until the second day to check in. The office was not well covered. WiFi, cable TV, low bars on Verizon phone, we couldn't get our Dish to work. Beware of strong winds. Only improvement would be a pool. Note there is a for sale sign on the property. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
March 2010
$25
Having stayed here several times in the last couple of years when the original owners were foreclosed by the Bank a interim manager took over and did nothing but make this RV Park nothing short of wonderful. Very accommodating to everyone that entered the Park. Just to make this short but the Bank henchmen came and basically escorted this dear lady out and did nothing short of running her out of the County. Such a travesty and injustice. This RV Park is not worthy to come into any longer and would not recommend it as a worthy destination while in the Ft. Davis area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$14
We thought that this was a very nice campground. It is small with only about 30 sites but the sites are very nice and large. It is convenient to nearby attractions. We will stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2009
$28
This was a small park. The park is in foreclosure. This is a mom and pop type of park and the manager that ran the park was very nice. The laundry facilities were very convenient. The park was neat and near many tourist attractions such as the McDonald Observatory. We enjoyed our stay there. We received information about a scenic drive around the area which was very nice. The information was given to us by the manager and she also gave us information on tourism attractions. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2009
$25
Stayed 2 nights to visit the observatory & the historic site. Very nice park with a very pleasant manager. Only negative was the spotty cable service. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2009
$10
We enjoyed this park. The manager was very enthusiastic, and provided a good map and useful information for the surrounding area, even a good place to have breakfast. There are 2 washers and 2 dryers which cost $1.00 each. There is even a TV in the laundry along with a big screen TV in the commons room. The sites are spacious and level. There is free cable and good Wi-Fi. There are grills at some of the sites and picnic tables on a patio. The bathrooms were clean and well-maintained. We would most certainly camp here again. This is a terrific location to visit Fort Davis and The McDonald Observatory. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2009
$14
This is the nicest of the private RV parks in the Fort Davis area, much nicer than Overland Trail. At the $14 Passport America rate, including free wifi, it was an amazing deal. The park is for sale, so beware of policy changes. Spots are level spacious gravel pull-throughs, with covered picnic tables and bbq grills in the grassy areas between sites. The 50 amps worked well, as did the wifi. Views are of the surrounding high desert countryside with mountain views, about 3/4-mile south of the quaint historic town, which you can ride your bike to via a flat bike trail. Deer and javalina frequent the campground, so pet owners need to beware. There are no large trees, so satellite comes in fine. They also offer free cable TV. Facilities are very nice and new, although there are only two washers and dryers, and four private bathrooms with nice stone showers. A common room has a big screen TV where they have occasional events. The manager at the time was extremely friendly and helpful. It’s a nice campground to spend some time at and tour the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2009
$14
This is an excellent park! Level gravel sites each have their own grassy area and picnic table. Wifi is excellent, so nice to have it right in our rig and it works. It is a quiet location, and the camp host/manager is a lovely person--so helpful and welcoming. The office also organized with a booklet of info about the area etc. It has a nice laundry facility complete with flat screen TV and second TV in the common area. It is a good location to see the Ft. Davis, Marfa, Alpine areas and the observatory. I would have liked to stay longer here but must move on. Javalinas and deer roam the site so do be careful if you have pets. There is good cell phone service here. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2009
$14
This is probably the nicest RV park in Fort Davis aside from the state park. I hope they are able to sell it to someone who can make it go. Would be a shame to lose this asset in this town. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2008
$14
This is a good campground for a short stay to see the surrounding sights. The nightly rate is the Passport America rate and is good for 2 nights. The campground is clean. We saw a wild Peccary/Havalina in the campground. The satellite TV has limited channels (14). The Wi-Fi is free and had a strong signal. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2008
$14
Al tho it’s a nice one, the campground is taking some liberty calling itself a resort without having all the extra amenities found at one. The sites are nice long, level pull thrus with plenty of space between them. Each site has a picnic table and some have a charcoal grill. There is a separate tent only area. Water pressure and voltage was good. Wi-Fi is free and an excellent signal. Antenna is in the middle of the campground. Bathhouse is very nice with individual bathroom/showers similar to home bathrooms. There is a clean laundry room. The one and only staff employee/host doesn’t spend 24/7 in the office, but there is an obvious note indicating which site she is in. She provided excellent customer service with area info and printed handouts. There isn’t any billboard signage for the campground, but the town is only a couple miles long. It isn’t that hard to find. The rate reflects the half price Passport discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2008
$25
We missed this park the first time around and drove 30 miles north to Balmorea state park before we were sure we'd gone too far. There is absolutely no signage for the park anywhere except at the entrance to the park. When we finally arrived, the office was closed. We were left a plain white sheet of paper with a site number, our name, and no directions to it. Fortunately a very nice monthly camper was out walking his dog and directed us to our site. There we discovered that there are only 3 sites in the whole park that have 30amp electric hookups, everything else has 50amp so you better have a pigtail. We didn't, but the nice dog man was kind enough to loan us one. Interestingly enough all the sewer risers stick about 6 inches above the ground so when you dump your tank you must help it along so to speak. We learned that the park has been foreclosed on and is for sale by the bank. The woman who "manages" the park is paid by the bank and could care less about the customer service or reputation of it. Everytime we went to check in there was a sign saying she'd be back later. Finally at 6pm the day after we arrived we finally caught her to give her the funds we owed. The weather here is amazing and the park has great potential but the people who built according to the longtime residents of Fort Davis say they had no idea what they were doing (this is very obvious with the electric hookups and sewer risers). The contractor whose doing some repair work here and there doesn't know what their doing either. When comparing this park with the others in the area this is definitely a cleaner place and more open (no shade trees though and still watch out for the wind). Fort Davis is a very cute little town with some cool shops, lots of history, and a very cool McDonald Observatory! San Solomon springs pool at Balmorea State park is a must. We would stay here again, but hope for a better experience. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2008
$14
We got the Passport America rate for 3 nights (as opposed to the two nights listed in the PA book.) Very efficient and friendly check-in. Sites are long and wide with picnic tables. Shortly after setting up, we were getting into the toad to look around when the desk clerk came up to us and suggested we take in our awning because the winds here are unpredictable. Laundry was exceptionally clean and reasonable; the free wi-fi was the best we have ever had in a park (we are fulltimers). The cable was only 12 channels, but it included the networks, CNN and the weather channel. We’ll be back. Unfortunately, the place is for sale. Let's hope the new owners keep up its high standards. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2007
$18
These are really nice folks and they have the potential of having an exceptional park, but they are so focused on building/expanding/improving, that they are not maintaining what they already have. There were dead plants everywhere (grass, trees, potted plants), although it had obviously been gorgeous when planted, especially the overgrown water feature and the sitting area with fountain. The showers and restrooms were beautiful, but in a 3-day stay, one of the two men's rooms never had toilet paper; in the other, the shower did not work. Ladies' rooms were operational, certainly not filthy, but not particularly clean, and the lingering smell of stale cigarette smoke was everywhere. When told a woman had fallen because there was a hidden hole in the grassy area behind the restrooms and laundry, it was not filled, marked, or acknowledged 36 hours later. Perhaps our experience was the exception, rather than the rule, because the owners were focused on completing an expansion of the on-site convenience store. For that reason, I would stay here again, giving them another shot. The on-site restaurant, Pop's Grill, was very good, especially the Margarita's. All utilities were functional and sites were quite wide. Most had grills, picnic tables, and gazebos. When weighing the good and the not so good, we think a rating of 7 is generous, because it has the potential of being a 10. We hope these nice folks get there. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$26
Pretty new park and the nicest one in Fort Davis. The owner is very accommodating and seems to only want to please the customer. There's a very nice restaurant on site so that is also a major plus. Will stay at this park if in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2007
$27
The site is windswept and pretty barren -- but this is west Texas! The folks running it are doing a wonderful job of putting together a clean and comfortable RV resort. The restrooms/showers are first class and clean; ditto the small rec room and garden with water feature. Laundry room also clean and pleasant with a flat-panel TV attached to cable. It clearly is being well taken care of and receiving a lot of energy and attention by the owners. (We only wish it had a spa.) Fort Davis has a small grocery store but not much else for the traveler (other than the fort itself and state park and observatory nearby). We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2007
$26
Could miss this park if you hadn't got one of campground directories as limited signage on main roads around Fort Davis. New campground (less than a year old) but a lot of investment made by owners both on buildings and sites and this is continuing. Access in and around the campground was good. Sites were flat and wide. Electricity and water pressure good. Sewer pipes slightly too high to allow good flow. Quiet location. Owner very efficient and very helpful. A good place to stop in Fort Davis. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2007
$28
This is a very new park but they have done it right. The bathrooms were the best we've seen in any park. Satellite TV was limited but with several premium channels. The free Wi-Fi worked great. They have a small selection of grocery items in the store/office and a very good full service restaurant at the entrance to the park. The Friday night and Sunday buffets were excellent. There is big screen flat panel TV everywhere, even in the laundry! It is easily the finest RV facility in the area and we would highly recommend it. Be aware that the elevation at Ft. Davis is over 5000 ft. so breathing will take some adjustment. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2006
$28
This is a new park - open only 7 months. Located in a quiet grassy valley, surrounded by small rocky bluffs, it is far from any main roads. We received a very friendly welcome from the owners that live on property, manage the park and operate a locally renowned grill also on the park property. Although this is not a resort, the facilities are delightful and well thought-out. The four showers are in private 10' by 10' rooms with individual toilets and pedestal sinks. There is a large plasma TV in the well-stocked social room (puzzles, games, books). There is a grocery mart (in the process of being stocked) in the office area. The small laundry (2 washers, 2 dryers) has comfortable waiting area with bar stools & a television. The Office, social room and bathhouse surround a small courtyard with bistro style tables and a small fountain. Satellite has a good picture with a 12 channel line-up including 3 HBO's. Free WIFI is intermittent at this time, the owners will be installing an omni-directional booster. The park accepts mail for campers and the owner will deliver to your site. There are no extra or hidden charges [unlike the Lost Alaskan RV Park, another nearby park). The interior gravel roads are wide & easily maneuvered. There is no pool, but there are future plans for a spa. Nicely spaced gravel sites are large and level, some have BBQs, ramadas and picnic tables – there are slabs for the ramadas, but no entry-side patios. Each site is separated from its neighbor by wide grassy areas. The park is nicely treed with young maples and birch - one tree between each site. As the trees mature they should provide shade for the campground. This little gem is a work in progress, a definite “must-do” if you’re in the area. The owners sincerely aim to please – this a great home base for visiting Big Bend Park. p.s. [We had originally thought about staying at Overland Trail Campground in Fort Davis until we talked to the manager who was rude and seemed to be having a really bad day (we later drove by and it looks like a real dump)- glad we came to MacMillen in the Highlands! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com