218071 User submitted reviews online!!
Gentile's Campground was rated 2 out of 10 based on 11 user reviews. Phone: (860) 283-8437
CGID615

Gentile's Campground

Camp Information
Sites
110
Date of Stay
June 2012
Latest Rate
$42



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
1   3   1   2   1   2   1   3   1   1   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  no  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2012
$42
Called ahead for reservation. Told them the size of our motorhome. Told no problem with full hookup. Got there, and we were "too tall" to get up the hill for full hookup. Because of low hanging power lines had to stay in no sewer site. Campground is terrible. We bent our tail pipe coming in due to driveway not graded or kept in good condition. They wanted to charge $5 per person to visit. My family was coming for dinner. Guests are not allowed to use the pool, so why the charge? Probably because of the low life looking, permanent campers at the campground. Lots of aggressive dogs tied up outside of old, run down, dirty campers. This was absolutely the worst campground we have ever been in. Please take my advice and don't camp here. I only used this campground because it was the closest to my relatives. Next time, I'll drive 50 miles if I have to in order to not stay here! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
April 2012
$25
Tight turns to RV sites, poor hook ups for sewer generally run down, not worth the money spent. We didn't have an option at the time as other parks were not open and we were visiting family in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2011
$20
I second what others have said about this park. Not worth the $$. Would not have gone out of the way to reach this PPA campground if it was free. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
June 2011
$20
Bad campground, old, unkempt. Showers cold. Had to pay extra to take shower. No privacy in showers. Junk trailers all over the place. Don't waste your money. Passport America. Find another place. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2010
$18
If you have a nice class A do not even consider this place. First, you won't be able to make it in the drive without either taking off your back end or worse. The road has so many big holes from RV's scraping the pavement. If you're in a small trailer, class B or class C rig you might be able to get in without problems. Second, the place is a dump. With all the other places in CT to camp, this should be a last resort. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
May 2009
$17
As previous people stated, this is an old campground filled with old campers rotting away campers. There are very few available transient sites and they are small and not level for the most part. The entrance is totally unsuitable for a MH and we tore off our rock guard entering the campground. The regular rate is $35, this is a passport America place and we paid $17.50. Not worth $10/night. We will not return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
September 2008
$35
This place is awful! I wouldn't recommend this place to a skidrow bum! We were told where to park with no information asked for or given a chance to ask. We wanted full hookups but were only given water and electric. There are trees you have to get around and many, many dips as you try to get into your site, and the sites aren't numbered. They have electric hookups nailed or screwed to trees. You have to be very careful when driving through because the electric lines are very low. You also have to watch when you raise your TV antenna because of electric lines being low. They have tons of super old campers and junk that looks like they have been here since they opened in 1968. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
September 2008
$35
Religious signs everywhere, but only a very few campsites are numbered. Most full hookup sites occupied by long term residents. The rest of the sites have gray water hookup only, which merely dumps the sewage on the ground in your site. The office is rarely manned so we went a 1-1/2 days with no sewage but was charged the full hookup price, including another $2.50/ day for air conditioning. Their 50 amp service gave you a 30 amp circuit breaker on one pole and a 20 on the other. When I ran my washing machine, the water heater would come on and blow the 20 amp breaker. This is hardly 50 amp service. This is not a campground that I would ever consider coming to again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
May 2008
$35
This place is a dump. It is like driving through an RV junk yard. Do not attempt to bring a big rig in here. There are 110 sites in here with room enough for maybe 40. It was established in 1968 picture an RV Woodstock you return 4 years later and the people and RV's are still there! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2005
$35
Do not go to this campground. It is very dirty, old and run down. The only campers that were there have been there for ages. Too many people live there. Trash was everywhere, the sites were filled with cigarette butts, broken bottles, and old rusted cans. The fire pits were half full or more. The management accepted cash only and no refunds were given. Low lying limbs makes it impossible for larger rigs. We could not run A/C if other appliances were running. This campground is a dump! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
2004
$30
Many locals have seasonal sites here and use it to get away to a usually quiet spot. They occupy almost all the full hookup sites. Larger rigs can get in here but it is tight. The two "pull thru's" that are usually available just means you drive over a grassy area. They are not really pull thru's. Much has been done to clean up the place recently and remove the junk but much more improvement is needed. There are signs everywhere but no maps or other information to help find a site when the entrance is unattended. The entrance is unappealing and congested. People frequently block the entrance. Owner and staff cater to the seasonals and keep no fixed hours. A small pool, several play areas, and an arcade are available. Water pressure is low. Experienced some undervoltage problems. Extra charge for AC $2.50/night. Phone and cable hookup is available through SBC and Tele-Media as regular subscribers not as a service of the campground. Propane is available at the campground but service is unpredictable. Portable toilets are often oderous. Showers are near the entrance and are remote from many of the tent areas. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com