221664 User submitted reviews online!!
Sumter Oaks RV Park was rated 7 out of 10 based on 27 user reviews. Phone: (352) 793-1333
CGID6151

Sumter Oaks RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
99
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$20



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   1   6   8   7   9   7   8   8   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2014
$20
Rate reflects Escapees discount. Nice park. Sites level. Shade trees, nice roads and very friendly people. Indoor pool not open while here. Very quite and restful. Will stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2014
$27
We paid before pulling through, which was foolish on our part. Once we started driving around, the park looked like it is falling into disrepair. Buildings needed repairs, grass was high, weeds growing around some of the long term tenant vehicles, signs old and faded. We had asked for 50 amp, but were given a site with only 30 amp. Went back to get the correct site, and asked how to get into the indoor pool. The pool is closed and the person said it would not be reopened again. No WiFi, apparently no cable, either. Since we had just barely paid, we were able to get our money back and go somewhere else. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2014
$21
Low price for Escapees members includes 30 amp, water & sewer hookups. Located 1.3 miles from I-75 and traffic noise can be heard, but OK for overnight. Helpful staff. Mostly open sites. Planned activities for seniors but apparently the snowbirds have mostly departed by April. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$21
The park was nearly empty, but it appears in the w,inter it is full of snowbirds. It is convenient to the National Cemetery a few miles away which is why we were here! Park was a little run down and needed some updating, but staff was friendly and helpful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2013
$21
Escapees park, but others also welcome. Large sites, lots of live oak trees, but branches trimmed so no low overhangs. Some sites have 50 amp. The first one we tried the 50 amp did not work, so always a good idea to check if this is important to you. Some sites good for satellite, but the tradeoff is that they're mainly unshaded. A cypress swamp in the rear of the property harbors mosquitoes, but county sprays, so not too bad. Very quiet in the summer. Facilities older, but very friendly staff. Convenient to I-75. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2013
$20
We stayed here earlier this year and loved it. Great park, wonderful people, lots of activities and good management. Would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2013
$17
Good friendly campground that is old but maintained. Roads a little rough. Many live oak trees. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2013
$17
Typical of most Escapees parks, the staff were very friendly and helpful. We stayed here for a week, and saw a few old friends and met some terrific new ones. The park is clean and well maintained. The hookups were well placed, and our site had a concrete patio, although not all sites do. The lack of cable TV and Wi-Fi were negatives for us, but our Verizon cell phones and data service worked very well. Our over-the-air antenna received 6 channels plus their sub channels, but the programming was limited with only ABC of the 3 major networks receivable. We will return here in the future. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2013
$17
This is an older park. Yes, but not run down. We spent two months here, and loved the park and people. The mangers were top notch, and the help were also. The pool heater was down for a couple days, but repaired when the part came in. The sites are level and roomy. We will be back again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
January 2013
$18
This feels like one of the oldest parks in the Escapees club system and it's looking and feeling older every year. It is the only Rainbow park that doesn't offer Wi-Fi and the nearest hotspot is at least 8 miles away. However, it does offer a phone line hookup in the club house for anyone who can still use dial up to go online. The indoor pool is closed because the heater is broken. There is no cable TV and we were unable to pick up any of the networks with our aerial. After we were set up we discovered that less than 10 feet from our door was an unsealed sewer manhole cover. We were only staying for one night so with threw a big mat over it to stem the stink. There were many other sites available and we couldn't help wonder why they would park us in that site. Having said all that, the people are very friendly. We've stayed here before but we'll check to see if anything has changed before we return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2012
$17
The rate is the Escapee rate without factoring in electric and propane that one uses. No Wi-Fi is an issue for me so likely would only go back to this park if I had a Mi-Fi. No cell phone service was also an issue. The park is very tired looking and needs some updating. The managers were very friendly and we had a wonderful Thanksgiving dinner there. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2012
$18
This is a very enjoyable park to stay in. The park is very friendly and it is always nice to visit with neighbors with similar interest in RVing. There a a good social program with games at night, and several dining opportunities during the week. The RV sites are generally well spaced. The park is in a rural setting and there is some wild-life to be seen: sand hill cranes, and an occasional owl or deer. That said, the park is still not perfect. Many of the sites have only 30 amp service. There is no cable TV, and one has to pick his site carefully, to have a clear view for TV satellite. Parking big rigs can be problematic in many of the campsites. The caveat is to scout out the campsite you are assigned, to be sure it will meet your needs. In spite of my negative comments, we enjoy our stays at this Escapee park. Have stayed here many times in the past, and will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2012
$18
We really like this older campground. As an Escapees member, we look for parks around the US. This is similar, only larger. It has more sites and a larger clubhouse. The roads are gravel but will maintained. The grass is cut and the clubhouse and office are in good condition. The people at the front office are friendly and helpful and the neighbors at the campsite are like wise friendly. I think it comes with the territory --most Escapees folks are friendly. We can wash our rig here. The scenery is pleasant, the hook ups are fine, and the site is level. The grass is mowed and the place is tidy. Very nice way to spend a few days and enjoy this lifestyle! We will return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2011
$19
This park had some of the nicest, friendliest people we have ever encountered. Even though the facilities are older, the community spirit here made this park a great place to stay. We also enjoyed all of the wildlife - there are three resident Sand Hill cranes that visit the CG. Our pull-through site was slightly unlevel; grass with packed soil. More permanent sites had a concrete pad and were back-in. Electrical was very good (124V) and water and sewer were fine. Most sites have oaks trees for shade. Bathroom was clean. Laundry room was affordable ($1.25/load) and clean. We did not participate but they have lots of daily events and activities. This is a great quiet CG and we really enjoyed our visit. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2011
$16
We stayed here as Escapee members so we were given the lower rate plus electricity. We arrived after the main office closed and were helped by a few of the nearby RVers. Nice park but we just over night. Will return for a longer stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2011
$16
This is a wonderful older park with mature trees and many shady sites. We camped here as Escapees. There are lots of activities for adults; it doesn't seem oriented towards families and kids. Not that children wouldn't be welcome but the only activity for them would be the pool. Site sizes vary a lot; ours was a large one on a corner. All sites have paved patio areas and some have paved parking for cars. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2010
$16
This is a great park. We were here as Escapee Members for a month and a half. It is very homey. Some sites are not huge and rather tight, but have nice concrete patios. Some have full concrete slabs to park on. People are very nice and park workers are always busy. Does not have paved roads, but they are well maintained. Nice laundry facilities with 6 washers and 4 huge dryers. Very clean. We hated to leave. LP available. There is a charge for electricity. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2008
$14
Lovely setting with lots of oak trees and grass. Very quiet. Clubhouse great with lots of planned and informal activities. Great swapmeet nearby in Webster on Mondays. EVERYBODY friendly here. Called in a water leak and they fixed it immediately. Roads old, narrow and in need of repair. Propane very reasonable. Good launch place within an hour of lots of attractions. Lots of Geocaches around. Sprint aircard worked great here at full broadband speed for Internet. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2007
$16
This is an older park with small sites and narrow roads. This is an Escapees campground so there are lots of activities. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
November 2007
$14
Current Escapee rate is $14.50 plus electricity, a fair rate.But this is a pretty basic, rather rustic, quiet place in the country. Hard to believe I-75 is nearby. Front office guys were super nice, and friendly park residents & travelers were having food events. Grounds were lovely, with live oak, pine trees, palmetto, fruit trees, hibiscus. Too bad the mosquitoes and ants were plentiful, bad enough to make us glad to leave after 2 days. Nothing much to do here anyway, and the pool was pretty bad. No cable tv, no WiFi. Nice Library plus a modem connection. don't expect too much and you'll be okay! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2007
$18
An old campground with roads and sites in disrepair. Large sites with nice library ,computer area and rec room. The indoor pool was dreary and cold. Staff helpful. No tables or cable and you have to pay for your electric. For $18.00 I can stay at a first class local campground and I don't have to join escapees. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2007
$13
Great staff and lovely park. We had a great time here. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2007
$24
Escapee park, members get discount. Park very friendly. Park needs some work done to sites and roads. Indoor pool is great as is activity center. Quite a few sites are used as seasonal rentals. We stay here whenever in area for a few nights. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2006
$13
Spotlessly clean Escapee Park. Big sites, grassy and surprisingly level. Lots of trees. A beautiful, well maintained park that we thoroughly enjoyed! Will be back here for sure! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
November 2006
$13
No WIFI, TV reception poor and no cable. Lots of trees, tight entrance and interior roads, check out site first if you need satellite access. Very friendly staff. Lots of in park activities. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2006
$12
Older park now owned by SKPs. Great staff! Used this park as an overnight before going WDW Ft. Wilderness. Wide grassy site - indoor pool - clubhouse w/evening activities. Many snowbirds; but, always space for SKP members. Even though this park caters to FT RVers, our family felt VERY welcome. Propane fill was quick and elec was fair metered price. Will use this CG for all future launches to WDW. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
January 2005
$13
This is an Escapee park with warm and friendly service. Sites are mostly gravel and a gravel road. Gets pretty dusty when it doesn't rain. It has a small indoor pool. Not much going on around Bushnell. Major city, Ocala, is one hour away. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com