219099 User submitted reviews online!!
Loose Caboose Campground was rated 6 out of 10 based on 7 user reviews. Phone: (717) 442-8429
CGID6155

Loose Caboose Campground

Camp Information
Sites
68
Date of Stay
May 2014
Latest Rate
$40



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   9   6   7   5   4   5   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  no  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  no  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2014
$40
A work in progress. We had tried a couple of other campgrounds and they were full. These folks were very friendly and we stayed with them three nights. Once you get to the sites for transients, it is quiet and peaceful. Getting there was hair raising, zigging and zagging up dirt/gravel switchback roads. We were three levels up. Many permanent sites on the lower levels. The utilities were on the wrong side on our site although others were OK. Power supply was only 105 volts and kept kicking the breaker. Only 30 amp service. Luckily we didn't need the air at this time of year. Site was level and there was a nice/steep beginning walking trail. The restrooms need major work, probably replaced. Hubby checked them and said privacy was non existent with shower curtain dividers. At $40 it sufficed but probably won't return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$40
Very friendly and accommodating. Large private sites. Playground is at the lower end and seemed to be nice. We did not come to Lancaster to use the campground facilities we came here to explore the Amish food, shops and the Sight and Sound Theater. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2012
$40
Very small campground appears to be new owners trying to make some changes. Huge sites, definitely not your average site layout. They go everywhere. Switchback road through the campground. Absolutely nothing to do here except what is at your site or in the area. May be better in a few years. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2012
$40
We camped at the Loose Caboose for the first time over Memorial Day weekend 2012. We were concerned about some of the reviews of the water, but we had no trouble. It is apparent that they are working on updating everything in the ground. The location is perfect, the sites are large and the staff is extremely friendly and helpful. We did have a little trouble with our electric the first evening. However, they were quick to make it right. The bathrooms need some updating, but are clean. The sites are on a large hill but they are level and fairly easy to get in to. We would recommend this campground and we are looking forward to going back to see the updates they make! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2007
$29
We were met by a steep hard left turn to enter the campground. My advise is to come in heading east so as not to wrench your hitch and suspension. The staff is friendly. The sight we had was pretty level. We arrived for Columbus Day Weekend and had hot, humid weather. I backed in to my sight and plugged in so I could turn on the A/C. The sight only had 20 amp service. When I tuned on the A/C it ran for a minute then tripped the breaker. You cannot reset the breaker yourself. I had to go to the office and ask to have it reset. This happened three more times until I gave up on the A/C. I checked the electric service at my site and a few other sites with a volt meter and found that the campsites were only putting out 100 volts, not 120. I would not recommend using any appliances here or you might damage it. Leave your fridge on propane and turn off your air. The next problem was that the water was brown. I thought it would clear out but never did. Bring your own water! It had a playground next to the office but I thought is was to close to the road. There was no safety fence and there was a 10 foot drop down to the road where cars were going past at high speeds. Watch your young children closely!!! We left after only one night. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
May 2007
$29
Overall: An affordable place to park your camper if you plan on being out and about most of your stay. There are plenty of things to do within a hours' drive of the campground. Bring drinking water for coffee and cooking and bring a very good water filter for bathing. Pros: Fair rates, good location, wooded sites, most sites seem level, train museum and outlet malls are very close, a strip mall with delis, a grocery store and pharmacy are about a mile away and there are several diners and thrift stores within a short drive of the campground. Cons: We were greeted by a steep hill with a hard left turn when entering the campground, the blacktopped hills have numerous potholes, some you can't avoid, easy to lock up trailer brakes when coming down the upper most hills, a very foul odor coming from bathroom water that didn't clear all weekend, luckily we still had a half tank of water from our previous stop to take NAVY showers, most of Saturday we had the owner driving a tractor back and forth on our road and the next road up, a majority of the traffic turned out to be the owners from 8am until almost Midnight during our "Relaxing Weekend", we began to feel extremely uncomfortable on Saturday and ended up staying inside because of their constant lurking, like prison guards making rounds every hour, luckily we were visiting family that was familiar with the area sites where we spent Friday night and Sunday morning. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
November 2006
$25
A very simple campground. Nice location. The campground is on a STEEP hill and may be difficult for very large rigs although with my 35' and truck I had no issue. The bathrooms were okay, but needed some work as well as the showers. Very reasonable rates. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com