206628 User submitted reviews online!!
Strawberry Park was rated 6 out of 10 based on 57 user reviews. Phone: (860) 866-1944
CGID616

Strawberry Park

Camp Information
Sites
450
Date of Stay
June 2013
Latest Rate
$99



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   5   5   10   8   7   1   10   3   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$99
This is a very family friendly campground. Loads to do for all ages at all hours. Lots of seasonals. Price reflects $198 total for a 2 night minimum stay weekend. 3 very clean pools to choose from. The one with hot tubs is for adults only. Staff was extremely friendly and helpfull. Lots of paved roads for bike riding. My one complaint is that they seemingly begrudgingly allow pets and the 2 dog parks available are tiny. With all the space they have it would be an easy and welcome upgrade and made this place perfect. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2013
$94
We are early so all the facilities were not open yet, but the site was clean and very quiet. We are looking forward to returning in the summer. The park is very conveniently located for many local attractions like Mohegan Sun and Foxwoods casinos. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2012
$82
My family and I stayed here for a few nights at the end of July through the beginning of August. This place is massive and has a lot going on. Our children enjoyed themselves, and my wife enjoyed the pools, but we felt that it is too much going on; we felt like we could not relax, especially with all of their rules. The rates are also very steep, especially in this economy. It is a beautiful place but we prefer "campgrounds." Don't think we will be going to any more "Resorts." We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2012
$85
We have been going ot this park for many, many years and we love it here. I know that it is on the expensive side but there are so many daily activities planned for the kids that it is well worth the money, We go to this campground at least 2 times a year and park our trailer there for about 3 weeks over the summer. Everyone has a great time here. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$1
This park is in the midst of bankruptcy, but, was a great place while I was in that state. Close to casinos, Mystic Seaport & Aquarium. Season rates offered. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2011
$35?
Nice park, stayed here off season. Park is big with lots of seasonals. Lots to do for families with pools, jumpy pillows etc. Since it was off season hard to tell as many things were not up and running. However they do have well organized kid's activities. We were situated in the the Cedars or 80's site was average size with lots of trees. Nice location to the casinos and the local roads were beautiful with lots of quaint farms. Nice park, would stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
February 2011
$76
Campground is in foreclosure. Future is uncertain. Some reports that Elite Resorts of Florida is managing the day to day operations of the park under court order. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2010
$76
Great RV Park, a little expensive but there is always something to do. There are pools for the older people, a wading pool for the little ones, and a couple of other pools for all the swimmers. There is always things for the kids to do and the adults as well. The staff is excellent and always there to answer questions or help you find what you are looking for. If you want to just relax that you can do and if not there are activities going on all day and into the evening. Cable TV is great as is the Wi-Fi. Great place to take the family. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2010
$40
I thought they were pet friendly but realized when we arrived that they are far from pet friendly. The campground itself is OK, but because traveling with pets is key to us I can't give them a better rating. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$40
We stayed at SP for a few days last week. They do have an incredible amount of activities going on all day for all age groups. The kids love meeting other kids and playing and hanging out with them. Bingo is huge with about 400 people playing at night! It's a big place with lots of seasonal campers. The site we had was nice and shaded. Nothing to complain about there. Restrooms and showers were substandard for a 5W park. They weren't very clean and there needed to be more for all the campers they had at the park. WiFi is $5 a day and spotty at best. For the time we were here, a tree company was cutting and chipping trees in the camp near our site all day. Dog friendly it isn't! We had to rent a golf cart at $60 per day to transport our Bichons out of the park to the Bark Park (it was about 1 mile from our site). You can only keep the dogs on your site only walking them at the Bark Park. Strawberry Park is a big park with lots of campers and lots to do. It's like a summer camp for families. Non-pet owners will love this park so much more than pet owners. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2010
$79
We are 4/7ths of the way through our trip to CT. I have never heard of rules as stupid as the ones here. You can have a dog, but only on your site. Huh?Either it is dog friendly or it isn't. They have a dog walking trail, but your not allowed to walk your dog to get there, so why have it? They put us in a field behind the giant septic leech field, so it was like camping on the surface of the sun. NOT ONE TREE! The constant sewer odor was an added bonus. The grounds crew decided to weed wack around all of our campers, ripped a hole in my potable water hose and got grass on everyone's camper. Then the staff was complaining about my camper mat being too big, they want it to be 2x4 max??? Why, so I don't kill the crab grass? All this for the bargain price of $599/week. WOW We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
June 2010
$39
We called ahead and told them we had a dog. They put us in the back of the park. Then we were told that we had to DRIVE our dog to the front of the park to go to the bathroom. I called to complain and they said it was in our paperwork. I never received such paperwork or I would have not camped here. Not to mention the roads inside the park are VERY narrow, it's NOT big rig friendly. If you have pets or a big rig: go someplace else!!! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
May 2010
$60
WAY TOO crowded, sites are almost on top of each other. The seasonal campers grab the better spots leaving the transient visitors to take what is available, and thus often not ideal locations. The cleanliness is spotty and there are MANY kids driving golf carts often without proper supervision. The overall value is not great, the pool is not very clean and access to the pool is poor if you are stuck in a far-away site. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2010
$48
This was my first stay at this campsite. I attended the "Oldies Weekend" where Joey Dee and the Starliters performed. The campsite offered a "free" Thursday night stay with the booked weekend which was a nice perk. The campground is huge. It is so big that they rent golf carts. You need one, or a car to get from some sites to the office. The campground was clean. There were three big pools, a soccer and baseball field. I hear that there are a lot of children during the summer months, and that it could get quite busy during the peak summer months. I wasn't too impressed with the campground due to it's size. I really thought it was too big. I would recommend Odetah which is around twenty minutes away. If you don't mind a big campground, you'll enjoy this one. The staff was friendly. I would return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2009
$80
I am ranking this park purely from the standpoint that I booked it for. It totally met "my" needs! That being a fun place to take my 3 grandsons (7,9 & 11) on a guy's camping trip. It happened to be the maiden voyage in my new 40' plus M/Home in mid July 09 (post says Nov but had to fiddle w/dates to get post in). My wife took our 2 granddaughters and our oldest daughter on a girls trip to Cape Cod. The boys were really excited to be with me in the new M/H. The activities were boundless. I was really impressed with the staff and how they got so into the scheduled activities that occurred throughout the day. Very orderly, patient and inviting to all of the kids. The boys really loved the great pools, arcade, moon bounce, snack bar and athletic fields. That was exactly what I signed up for! They were so tired at night that they slept until 8:30 or so each morning. They asked if we could come back again? So this summer I have reservations for Grammy & our youngest granddaughter to join us. I even wrote a book about the experience. The boys said it was the best place they could ever hope to go to!! If there were any negatives. I certainly didn't see them. I was too wrapped up in being with my grandsons. Grandfathers take notice! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2009
$30
I agree with the positive reviews listed earlier but as a dog lover I found the park policy of not allowing a dog to be walked in the park very disturbing. You have to transport your dog via car to a gated area outside the park for his constitutional. There must be fifty signs in the park prohibiting dog walking while there did not seem to be one with street names or spot numbers. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$90
While relaxing under my awning, surfing the web on my vacation here: I read some of the other camper reviews about this park. I know everyone has different tastes and values on camping. Strawberry Park does boast about receiving the prestigious “5W” rating from Woodall’s RV ratings. I look at Strawberry Park like a 5-star hotel. While I know camping is different, I would expect perfection from a 5-star hotel, and Strawberry Park to be nothing less. My family and I have been camping here for a good many years. We started out in a tent, moved to a popup and now to a travel trailer. We enjoy camping on Red Maple road to be able to watch all the games out in the field. All the employees we have encountered have been awesome, helpful, well maintained and polite: A+ on all staff. I don’t know how they do it but "hats off" to them. The bathrooms are always cleaned. They do need a rest room down near the horseshoe pits. I have two pet peeves that bother me about Strawberry Park. First and foremost is the speed and rudeness of people who choose to drive cars, trucks and golf carts around the park: whether they are going to the store or pools or sightseeing or just lost! The owners should install a good number more big speed bumps! There should be three on Red Maple road alone! Most people don’t have a clue on what 8 miles-per-hour is. But they do slow down or stop at the speed bumps. While relaxing one Saturday evening: I counted a guy going around the upper block 10 times without stopping at any of the cross roads. My other pet peeve: while I know the turnaround time for the camping sites are tight, they need a good cleaning. The pea-gravel needs a good raking and I always have to clean out my fire pit and pick up papers. I know I could go to the office and have the site tidied-up but that’s like calling the front desk of the 5-star hotel and asking to have your room cleaned when you want to check-in. Anyone can look all around and find faults about this park but we will continue to camp here. To us it’s still an awesome place to enjoy our vacation. I believe you get what you pay for; I’ll just have to bring my own speed bumps. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$75
Probably my only complaint about the park is that some of the sites are extremely difficult to back into. We were lucky that the campers across from our site were there to move their vehicle so that I could back in; I'm pretty experienced at driving my trailer around, so that was fortunate; I managed to get it in fairly easy. I imagine a longer trailer would have been impossible to maneuver into place. Other than that, my family loves this place. There are a ton of activities for the girls (they are teenagers 17 and 15) and we enjoy the bingo and hypnosis shows. The staff is friendly, the store is well-stocked, and they have a pretty good handle on the rowdies. It is an expensive place to go, but to be honest, with the number of activities and amenities they provide, there is little room for complaint. The snack bar and ice cream stand is well stocked and although the service can be slow (a lot of teenage workers), it is worth the wait. We are thinking of purchasing either a co-op site, or getting a seasonal for next year. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$75
I have been camping at strawberry park for 11 years and every year it gets better,The owners and staff are sooooooooo friendly and helpful makes you feel nice and welcomed when your there. The other campers there are very nice also and the campground is beautiful and very well kept. The pools are very clean and well attended to for the amount of people there the water is always sparkling. The bathrooms and showers are super clean and would not hesitate to use them if my camper wasn't complete with them. Their store is always well stocked and beer is always ice cold. The pavilion is so clean and the food area is emasculate and the food is always fantastic. Their activities coordinator is the best guy in the world to run these events and games, and barn fires, simply the BEST. Overall I highly recommend this campground as the best campground I have been to in all my years camping. See ya there. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2009
$99
I have been going to Strawberry park for 7 years and this was the last time I will ever step foot in this campground. I was there for the 4th of July weekend and it cost me $315.00 for Thu - Sun, which in itself is ALOT of money. I had my camera and cell phone stolen, I could not believe that the manager could not have cared less. There was no type of an "I'm sorry that happen to you" or any compassion coming from him. My children went on to do the activities and found that when there was money involved (tie dye) the shirts were given and the staff was gone, nobody there to guide anybody on what to do or anything. This place could not have gone farther down hill. When we went to use the rest room, they were dirty as if the staff only came around in the morning to clean. The pool chairs had towels on them first them first thing in the morning with no people sitting in them, they would leave and come back so there was no place to sit. If you would like a NICE & CLEAN campground with friendly staff I have found Normandy Farms in Foxboro to be all that. I am taking my business there in the future and it you don't want to pay too much and have things stolen you may want to go there also. Sorry for the harsh comments, but everyone of them are accurate and truthful. Good luck if you chose to come here. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2009
$80
This place will suck the money out of your wallet. First of all, this place is great if your bringing the kids. Not a great place if you're just wanting a quiet place to hang out if you want to explore the area. Not only do they charge you for every little thing, my family who live in the area had to pay $18.00 to come to the campsite, which they got $10. back if they were gone by 11pm. Internet is free only 1 time a day for 1 hour. After that they charge extra for. They rent golf carts for $60. a day. No folks, that's no typo and you can't bring your own. They do offer lots of activities, but they really are geared for the kids. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2009
$70
We had a blast at Strawberry Park Campground. Activities all day. Very safe campground for children. All children under 18 must wear bike helmets. Our whole family wore them to set a good example. We won at bingo too. Friendly staff and clean restrooms. The showers were very cold, no hot water. There were a couple of issues that really needs to be addressed. The park was very limited to people with disabilities. The upper restroom had no handicapped bathroom or shower. The doors were not very wide. Forget about reaching the sinks. If you wanted to attend a function in the upper rec center, forget it. Too many steep stairs and no ramp or lift. I do pay to attend all the events not just a select few that I can access. Aren't there laws? The second is the prices at the grill. Very, very expensive. The kids wanted to eat there but it would have cost over $75 for four of us to eat. We did find two options thanks to a nice lady who told us about a restaurant that delivered both pizza and meals to the campground. The pizza was very good and cost 1/3 of the price. So remember this name if you want take out Surrell's, good stuff you can afford. McDonalds a couple of miles down the road. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2009
$64
I first came here as a child with my parents and now I bring with my children. It is an Excellent campground for families there is so much to do I have never once heard my children say "I'm bored" at Strawberry Park!!! The staff is excellent, the park is very clean, it is expensive but it includes most activities unlike other campgrounds. we usually get there 2-3 times a year and we wish we could afford to go more often. Weekend rates vary depending on the events going on we tend to go in April, May, & June.when the rates are lower. During the summer we try to go during the week as the bonfires are on Thursday nights and there is nothing as great as a Strawberry Park bonfire and weekend summer rates are too expensive for us. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
October 2008
$30
This park is grossly over-rated. The focus is on park model sales, and the RV traveler is being tolerated as they sell their park models. The paved roads are peppered with speed bumps, the gravel roads are pothole ridden, and you're on your own when trying to find your way in or out of the park. The rate was a weekday special - it costs $196 for the weekend! And the dog policy (see other reviews) was a first for us! No thanks - won't be back! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2008
$75
Had to go to Strawberry Park because we have heard about it over the years. Finally made it mid-August this year and if I had a family of kids, it would be mecca--but cost me an arm and a leg. I went with my husband,my 75 year old mother and my dog. We had to rent a golf cart (costing over $300 for the week) because they don't allow you to walk the dog anywhere except on your site-or at the dog bark which is about 3/4 mile from our campsite. Not too smart in planning if you ask me. Site was good size but due to the closeness--we had no privacy from our neighbors. Everyone staggers their site the same-so you could look down the sites and see everone at night at their campfire. It felt like I was at a drive in for campers/travel trailers and motorhomes. Beautiful park if you are there as an extended stay person. Many activities-nice pools and snack bar. I won't return--it wasn't my idea of camping. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2008
$75
Awesome place to camp. Very friendly family orientated atmosphere. My kids look forward to this trip every year. This is our 4th year going. You can't ask for better! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2008
$55
This is one of nicest campgrounds around. If you have kids you won't see them from sun up to sun down due to the amount of activities. They cater to all ages! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2008
$30
Our second time here because it’s convenient to "The Casino's" (6 & 12 miles). Very large CG but about 85% filled with fulltime camp cabins and all-season weekenders. The size of the park dictates that somebody will be far from the recreation facilities. Unfortunately, it’s us short-timers. Most of the “perms” have golf carts. Many places that have a lot of full timers tend to get run down and messy; this is NOT the case here. All facilities and grounds are well maintained. Many of the "festival weekends" increase the rates excessively. Off-season and weekdays are reasonable. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2008
$84
Awsome Awsome Awsome! Staff was extremely helpful as I pulled into the park with a flat tire on the 5th wheel and they assisted me with the tire change, I also was unfamiliar with un-winterizing the camper and the staff assisted me with getting the hot water heater back on line. Big Thanks !!!! Tons of activities for the family and very clean. Definitely a favorite. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2008
$60
Beautiful park with tons of activities for the kids and adults. The horseback riding is reasonably priced and very scenic. I would highly recommend this campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2008
$30
The activities are great for the children & adults and are done on time according to the schedule. They have everything well planned. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2007
$37
I camped at Strawberry Park many weekends throughout this season. We had different spots up by the pool and recreation hall. They don't provide escort service. The sites are very close together. Since this campgrounds has many sites not near the recreation hall and pools some people might find it a long walk. They do rent out golf carts. The dog area is a nice feature even though you have to put you dog in the car to get him there. This is a great campground for someone looking for lots of activities for the kids. My son 16 loved the dances, nice basketball court, and softball. Halloween weekend was great, with lots of people who decorated, lots of kids for trick or treating. Bingo always seems to be packed. Ice cream and food all reasonable and good. Lobster dinner weekend was good, the food was well cooked and worth the money. Nice Country Music that weekend. In the summer the pools are spotless. They even kept one pool open and the adult hot tub during this warm spell. The staff is all friendly and very helpful. This is a very active resort type campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2007
$84
I couldn't think about camping anywhere else. The campground is spotless. There are so many activities for the kids to do. There is an adult pool complex with 2 hot tubs, two other pools, many playgrounds, a ballfield, free hot water showers, and the most friendly staff you will ever find. I have been camping exclusively at strawberry park now for 9 years. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2007
$64
We found the campground very commercial like. Main parking lot inside campground not centralized to campground store/rec hall/food court/pool area which made doing things very inconvenient. Most of the privately owned park models were well landscaped and maintained but most of the transit sites that we saw were plain dirt with no grass and very unappealing. Our site was also very dusty with no grass at all. We found the staff friendly. Plenty of activities for the family. Rest rooms and showers were clean. We were disappointed in the pet play area that you had to drive to. It was just to small for our dog to get any real exercise,and you could not walk your dog anywhere at the campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2007
$30
The ultimate park for groups, reunions, jamborees, ralleys, etc. My only complaint would be that you could be parked in the far reaches and find it difficult to partake in all the many many activities. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2007
$78
We have a family of 6 and we have used Strawberry Park for over 15 years. We started with tenting and have moved up (as the children grew) to their park model homes. There are more things to do for the kids (soccer, water polo, volleyball, Frisbee golf) than they can imagine - also plenty to do for the little ones too. Adults have a separate pool to use. Just 15 min. away (if you choose) are Foxwoods and Mohegan Casinos, 25 min. more are the Rhode Island beaches. But why leave because you have everything there - the staff is beyond friendly everything is always clean (bathrooms and all) and the other campers respect each other - our highest recommendations to stay here. We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2007
$50
My family & I have camped at Strawberry Park, Preston, Ct for past several years. The staff are outstanding people. The programs for the Kids and Adults are outstanding. You don't have to leave the park for anything except food shopping. They have games for the kids, bingo's everyday. They have three pools plus a wading pool. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$75
Great location. Friendly and helpful staff. Many activities for both children alone and families. Restrooms/showers are cleaned often. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2007
$70
THIS IS ONE OF THE BEST CAMPGROUNDS WE HAVE EVER GONE TO. THERE IS ACTIVITIES FOR THE WHOLE FAMILY. THE STAFF IS WONDERFUL. I CAN NOT SAY ENOUGH GOOD THINGS. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$90
While it is expensive there is no shortage of entertainment for the whole family. Upon check in you are presented with a schedule that includes all sorts of fun. Other reviews stated some of the sites were too far to enjoy the entertainment but I disagree. I personally do not want to be close to it. I would rather enjoy the peace and quiet. The park is very close to Foxwoods Casino and about a 1/2 hour - 45 minute drive to Mohegan Sun. The staff is great and we always enjoy our stay. I wish there were grassy sites but it is shaded so it is hard. Fun is always by all in our group. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
June 2007
$60
Overrun with outside visitors. Great activities. Not dog friendly. Has gotten to expensive. Overrated. I've stayed at many RV Parks, this one used to be really good. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
June 2007
$30
Let me start by saying this is the most over rated park I've ever visited. We took advantage of a "spring special" which wasn't special at all. NO activities, no snack bar, no nothing. During our week it appears Strawberry Park is into the money making business. They sold the park for the day to a school field day. Buses filled the campground. Kids everywhere. Fighting, swearing, littering, etc. Too many kids to even use the pool ourselves. They seem to have forgotten to mention this when I reserved and "PAID" for my site. Also, you can't walk a pet here. They have to stay on site. You can't even walk them to the designated spot, which by the way, is outside the park. Rules say "no carrying pets." What? Stay away. Seems they are filling this place with mobile homes trying to get rid of the travel trailers. Look else where. I'm gonna make sure I do. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2007
$45
The campground is in a great location, only about half hour to Mystic Aquarium and the ocean. The campground itself was great. The sites were a good size and level. However, there was a semi-dried up little creek behind our camper that smelled awful and was a breeding ground for bugs. We had a non-sewer site and paid for a pump out at 9am but didn't receive the services until 7pm that day. So we were backed up all day. There were tons of seasonals and most were park models. Although the volume of seasonals was overwhelming, they really took great care of their properties. The roads were perfect for biking, and well used by all the kids. The pools were over chlorinated, but clean. They even had a toddler pool that was 1.5 feet deep. Was opened on time, and was supervised. There were activities all day and for all age groups. They had bingo, for adults and children, several playgrounds, an inflatable parachute, family washer toss, softball, and much more. It was a great campground with nonstop action. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
October 2005
$50
If you have pets, do NOT go to this campground. Your pets are confined to your campsite only. There are signs everywhere stating that you can't walk your pet!!! A responsible pet owner walks their animals. You can't even carry your pet to visit someone!!! This campground is very overrated. It's not worth my money to go to a place where I can't walk my dog. If you don't like animals then just say no pets and I won't bother spending my money here. But to get me here, take my money and then tell me I can't walk my dog? I will not be camping here again, nor will the 6 other families that we went with over the Halloween weekend. Strawberry Park's loss, not mine! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2005
$36
This was our trial run of this campground, and I must say I was impressed with the cleanliness of the entire place!! After reading some reviews here, I was on "guard," but I did not experience many negatives here. We rented an RV, it was immaculate, and our site was great! It was private, and close to activities as well. The bathrooms are limited though for a campground this size for sure. The bathrooms near the pool are clean. Playgrounds are a little small, and activities are short - so we didn't go to many since it was so hot! We just wanted to relax! There are alot of permanent sites, however, I did not have a problem with that!! In fact, one of our perm neighbors gave us a golf cart tour aruond the entire campsite and offered to go to Dunkin Donuts for us. I mean, I don't have friendy neighbors like that at home!! There were many children, and I must say for all the children here it was relatively quiet. Security was good, they came around every so often checking things out. Trash pick up was good. Pools were clean, and my 10 year old daughter had a blast there. The staff was friendly and we had no problem with them. The counter girl at the snack bar made me a fresh pot of coffee every time I asked her without a fuss! :) The only thing I can complain about with this campground is I believe they are overpriced a bit, and I do not like their check in/ check out times!! They are strict about it also. We arrived at 3:40pm and we could not get our key to the exact time!!! So we waited in camp store hung out, and then got our key! Checkout is early for what you pay too. They do need more bathrooms to accommodate all the people here, but I believe many have RV's with shower themselves here. The Arcade for the children was not great at all..You can get better at a Walmart! LOL other than that, what can I say? I definitely enjoyed it and would go back!! A safe, nice place for children too!!! If you do not feel comfortable with alot of children around, do not go here! It's not for you at all!! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
May 2005
$35
We are the friends in the motor home that were with the couple in the fifth wheel that visited Strawberry Park in May of 2005. The spot was not only a muddy grassless hole, the farmer nearby was spreading chicken manure. You could not smell it from the spots near the office, the ones with grass. But we were in the dreaded hole. Very messy park, the shuffle board courts had so many birds nesting in them we were afraid to enter. We could not have played anyway as there were boulders on the courts. we will never return. we did write for a refund, never heard a word from them. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
May 2005
$38
We visited Strawberry Park in May of 2005. We made reservations ahead of time even though it was May and it was Monday thru Wednesday reservation. We had visited this campground roughly twenty years ago. It was a wonderful place to take our children and they enjoyed themselves and the activities. So we were anxious to return. We talked our friends into going with us. Man, was that a mistake. We were the only campers there who were not on a permanent site. Our sites appeared to be in a new area. There wasn't a blade of grass in sight. It was a mudhole!! There were other sites at the campground which would have been nicer and were not occupied but they put us in this open area for some unknown reason. We were assured the hot tubs were available when we called for reservations. They weren't of course. Also, the pool wasn't open. We were not offered any explanation or any type of discount because these features were not available. The bathrooms were deplorable - dark and dingy. Then we found out that our little Bichon was not allowed off our site! She didn't understand why she was quarantined to the camper for three full days. We are responsible dog owners and were happy to pick up our dog's messes and had planned on doing so. However, there was a cat roaming around the grounds. The picnic tables were probably originals from our stay back in the 80's. All in all, it was the worst camping trip we had ever had. Our poor friends in their motorhome couldn't believe it was the same place we had to described to them. Needless to say, we will never go back there again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
April 2005
$30
Our second trip, main bathhouse was locked up, the other bathhouse is an old 70's style and dirty. More park models than last time, very restrictive dog policy (no dogs off your site, no walking), very small camp store, and no checkout on Saturday. The brochure touts "One of America's great campgrounds" but I just don't see it that way. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
2004
$54
This park was a disappointment. The pools were clean but the sites were ridiculously small. There were scads of people packed in like sardines. The kids liked the activities, but the playgrounds were lame compared to what I expected. The worst part was that I got a COLD shower. Apparently, the hot water ran out pretty quickly. Our cable was not working (the end was stripped to bare wires) and we were told that we weren't paying for cable, just water and electric. HUH? So they wouldn't fix it. It was just plain not worth the price. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2004
$38
Hello: I'm a former visitor of this park! I am 13 years old and I have been to the park a lot of times. Its cool!!! I recommend it a lot for familes who have kids! Because they have alot of fun activities that go on through out the day! Such as softball, egg tosses, grease pole climb, BINGO, etc, anywho. There is a cool guy who works here, we call him Giligan cuz he looks like Giligan from Giligan's Island. He is the recreation director, and keeps things moving smoothly. I would say the only down part about my trip to the park is having to leave at the end of the week! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
2003
$49
I arrived 8:45 PM and Office was dark already and was supposed to stay open till 9:30. There were no signs helping direct you to your sites, and they were not well numbered you have to walk up to the electrical box to find number written in magic marker. The site was full of leaves, and we were wedged in between to permanent sites. The E/W/S was so spread out, bring extensions. Cable did not work, I reported it on Thursday, and I left on Sunday still no cable, even though they said they would take care of it. Went to check bathroms which were clean, got undressed for shower and it did not work, so on to the next. Not very pet friendly, there was no dog walk and your dogs are not allowed off your campsite. To top it all off my neighbor decides to burn his mattress since the campground did not pick it up off his lawn, which left ashes on my new truck and camper. I sent a e-mail to management and never heard a reply, it was very disappointing unless you like to stay in a trailer park with your neighbor real close and the sites being very dusty and dirty. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
2002
$35
After hearing from friends how wonderful this park was, we decided to go during one of their Halloween weekends. What a mistake. The sites are not easily marked. The roads are narrow. The sites are very small and close together. We had difficulty parking our 30 ft. TT which has never happened before. The prices for pony rides were expensive and definitely not worth the money (only one trip in a small circle). There were activities for the children but not enough for us to have made the trip. Bathrooms and showers were dirty. Seasonals had the run of the place. Not a fun trip at all. We promised ourselves we would never go back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
2002
$25
This is one of the worst campgrounds I've been to in a long time. My parents warned me (their visit 4 years ago was deplorable), but I didn't listen. Many things went wrong with our visit. They have 3 pools, but what campground closes one of the pools in the middle of the day (noon) to treat and clean the pool. I've never been to a CG that closes a pool at the height of the swimming time. (Here comes my favorite one): Children aren't allowed in the pool with any type of flotation devices (that includes bubbles, arm bands or floatie suits) unless it is a US Coast Guard Certified life jacket. Of course, they sell them in the store for $25! What a scam! While we were out exploring, we bought one for each of our kids for $5 each. The teenagers hired to be lifeguards were a joke. We witnessed one child (approximately 7 years old and with a lifejacket) being literally tortured by his older brother and practically held under water. My cousin and I had to speak to him several times. We even mentioned it to the teenager/lifeguard, who basically didn't want to deal with it. Of course, the boys' mother was in the "adult only" pool, and not watching her children. It may be one of their rules - that no child should be in the pool without their adult supervisor - but they obviously don't enforce that. Don't even get me started on the bathrooms. First of all, there were too few bathhouses for the number of sites they have. I believe the ladies room that I had to use (which was quite a hike) had only 3 shower stalls. The ladies room was constantly dirty. I think I saw the bathrooms being cleaned once during our 5 day stay. If there is a door on the bathrooms, it was always propped open because I never saw it closed, which resulted in some mighty large bugs in the bathrooms. Also, the shower heads are so far up (approximately 7-8 feet), that you have to run in circles to get wet. The water pressure is low, and with the shower head being that far up, it's practically a mist by the time it hits you. The men's room had a urinal that was constantly covered by a plastic bag because it was almost pulled off the wall. (By the way, we were there Sunday through Friday, so there should have been a plumbers available to fix this). One of the urinals overflowed and almost soaked my son's sneakers with backed up urine. The men's rooms didn't have doors on the shower stalls, so my oldest son was not too happy about that (neither was my modest husband). The CG offers cable service, but you have to buy a connector (minimal $5 charge, I believe). But when we hooked it up, it didn't work. They claimed the cable was out. Did they offer to refund our money? Of course not. Another scam! They have a few playgrounds, but they're small and not very fun for the kids. They did have plenty of activities to do, but the seasons over-run the park, and are very unfriendly. They have too many permanent trailer / seasonal sites that the people have chosen to decorate (I should say "over decorate") their sites with everything from benches, to water fountains, to gardens, to trains. Yes, a train was running through one site's front yard. (I have to say, though, the man was very friendly and didn't shoo us away when the kids were checking out his masterpiece). We did choose to attend a bon fire while we were there one night. That made me very nervous. People running it were too young to be in charge of a large fire with children in attendance. All in all, it was a bad experience and I definitely will not go back, nor would I recommend it. The campground owners need to remember that unless they want to be called a trailer park, they need to start catering a little more to the non-season people and clean up their act. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2002
$35
We go to strawberry park every year. Mostly for the activities for the kids and adults alike. There are three swimming pools, one for adults only. The campground is mobbed with children all over the place. It is a very safe place to let your kids roam. Security is tight and the campground is closed in by a security booth. Roads are a little dusty but kids can easily ride their bikes along the paved streets. We have seen a strong effort to keep this campground clean with workers sweeping the streets of loose pebbles and stones. The activity director is number one in keeping the events going and safe. We go every year as the kick off of the end of the school year. It is quiet, clean and lots of fun. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
2002
$45
I've read lots of favorable reviews of this campground so I wanted to post our experiences to "balance" things out. Just got back from there after spending 4 nights. As a frame of reference my opinion of a good campground is Four Seasons in Delaware and Lake George RV Park in New YORK. CLEAN, CLEAN, CLEAN !! Strawberry is NOTHING like these. The interior roads are dirt (actually more like dust which gets all over everything). And ridden with pot holes. The sites are so close together that one can hear a camper two sites away burp ! Another great thing is that apparently you can have as many tents as you can fit on each site, which means that some of these sites had upwards of 20 people on them. Also, many of the sites have trees on each side of the site and because the sites are so narrow it is a real challenge to back your rig up without hitting a tree. From the looks of some of the trees it appears that some are more successful at this than others ! Big Issue: Only two bathrooms in the whole campsite. Which is apparently two too many as they were cleaned just once during the four days we were there. I know this because there was a certain toilet that needed plunging (only three to begin with!). If you like to walk you'll like this place. On Sunday when it seems most people arrive, your shoved into a giant hay field and lined up two and three rows wide. You are then told to walk about 1/2 mile (yeah really 1/2 mile) to the office to stand in line with 50 other campers to sign in and then walk back to your rig where upon the magic hour of three o'clock the RV roundup begins where the other end of the hay field is opened up and all the rigs are shot out the gate to find your site. They adverstise this as the best campground in CT. That full page ad in Woodalls certainly must of helped guarantee their 5 "W" rating. If in fact this is the best campground in CT., then we are done camping in CT. We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2001
$30
Excellent Family Campground !! a full slate of recreational activities from 8:30am until 9pm for both the kids and adults. Superb staff are there to lend a hand at all hours and 24hr security keeps things peaceful all day and night. The only major negative is the laundry facilities are quite limited with only 6 washer/dryers. We have camped here over the years and have had a positive experience every time. We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2001
$35
This is an "ownership" type campground where many of the sites are owned by seasonal or year round campers. Lots and lots of park models with very permanant landscaping, exterior lighting, add on rooms and decks. The campground needs bigger and more bathhouses, the key word being "more". Activities all day long for all ages including adults, the director of activities is the best of the best. Lots of fun for everyone at this place. Close to Foxwoods and Mohecan Sun Casino's if you like gambling. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com