223325 User submitted reviews online!!
Caliente Springs Resort (55+ park) was rated 8 out of 10 based on 40 user reviews. Phone: (760) 329-8400
CGID6161

Caliente Springs Resort (55+ park)

Camp Information
Sites
891
Date of Stay
March 2014
Latest Rate
$40



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   3   10   5   9   6   10   10   6   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  no  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  no  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2014
$40
Very nice park away from the hubbub of Palm Springs but very easy to find and locate. The golf course is a small executive course and the driving range is sand and sage brush. Very nice tennis facility run by wonderful people living right at the site. The pools and spas were beautiful and busy! If you are a hiker you would love this place. You can hike for miles up mountains or across the desert. Many park models but many RVs as well. We were welcomed and given guides to many places in the area to visit. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
January 2014
$55
If you hate fresh air, and love the scent of fabric softener and laundry detergent, and all the beds in the Valley's laundromats are taken, this is the place for you. We first camped here 4 years ago and really liked the place. When we came back for a longer stay the next year, it looked a bit run down, and one could hardly breathe in the pool area, as the laundry vented out into the pool area. We skipped a year, and when I called this year to ask if anything had been done about the problem, I was told that all of the dryers were newly vented, so we made a short, two week reservation, intending to extend our stay if things were as presented. We could smell the laundry facility before passing through the gates. I guess no one told management that even with new venting, someone had to clean them. The place is considerably more run down than two years ago, and many park models are for sale. Friends who own park models are really unhappy, but apparently, it is very hard to sell them, yet the fees keep rising. We will not be returning. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2014
$25
Passport America rate of $25 a night. Caution: there are "pull-throughs" but the length wasn't enough for our trailer so we had to do a back-in. My only suggestion would be to orient the back-ins at a 45 degree angle from the street. But what a great park. Their rec center with the hot spring pools was wonderful. The park was neat and clean. The people here are friendly and seem very pleased with everything. I would definitely come back again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2013
$25
This is a very large park. This is a nice park. Quiet mostly. Mostly permanent rentals. Close to town, but still in the open. There is no trash can close to the RV parking. My main concern was the fact that where they parked us there were at least 10 spaces open between us and the next RV. They placed an RV right next to us. We could hear there TV and loud talking, dog barking at 6:15 am. There were at least 10 spaces open not close to any other space. Why do people in the office do this? We stayed a week. The price is a Passport America rate. The Wi-fi is good. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2013
$25
This was a very nice campground, or RV park, for a lot of permanent residents. The hot mineral spring pool & spas were wonderful. Sites were level and no shade. Helpful staff over the phone as we didn't arrive until after the office closed. It was not an easy on/off from I-10 which is the reason I am only rating it a 9. We used Passport America for a lower nightly rate. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
January 2013
$25
In general, I agree with other reviewers that this is a nice park, but three of us camped in a row in spaces 323 to 327 and all of us had low AC voltage (100 to 103 volts) coming from the pedestal in the mornings. We called the park electrician and he confirmed low voltage in our older section of the park. He said that this was due to old wiring and possible leakage into their soil. Most of the permanent units are Park Models and the park allows "overnighters" to stay on empty pads amongst the Park Models. These Park Models are "all electric" and in the morning, they are all turning on their heaters (think January!) and using a lot of electricity. We tested voltage the next morning at different locations throughout the park and found the same problem at site 204 and 205 (also in an older section of the park) but the voltage was normal (117-120 volts AC) at sites 445-446. We asked to be moved to those sites and enjoyed the rest of our stay. If you go here, we encourage you to request a site in the "newer" (upper) section of the park. The rate we paid was half off which required attending a "sales pitch" which lasted an hour and was very painless. They do only offer this on 2 days of the week though. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2013
$21
We took the tour rate of $150 for 7 days. This is an excellent park with first class activities, we could not fault anything and plan to return for a few months next winter. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2012
$49
A gated, senior, destination, resort park .Well-marked access off Dillon Rd, south of Desert Hot Springs . Check in is convenient with friendly staff. Located north of Palm Springs in the Colorado Desert with great views of Mt San Jacinto. Paved interior roads with lots of room to maneuver. Wide sandy level sites, no trees and a concrete slab. No picnic tables, fire rings or other amenities. Utilities were located at rear of site and worked properly . Good cable and free Wi-Fi. Unobstructed satellite connection. Park is well maintained, and showers/bathrooms were clean and modern. Great hot mineral pools. There is a store across the street from park with propane. Not a family friendly park-a 55 plus park that enforces the no kid rule. We have been coming here for years, and the park is becoming more of a park model park and less an RV park. It is still the best of the bunch in the Coachella Valley. Lots to do in the Palm Springs area and a great place to stay for the winter. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2012
$49
We stayed three nights and it was a good stay. The laundry was welcome and clean as were the bathrooms. The pool was well used by the local residents. We did not use the hot tubs, but they looked clean. This is a place for people over 55 and includes many homes in addition to RV sites. In the Palm Springs/Desert Hot Springs area this is a good place to stay, although a bit on the expensive side. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2012
$49
This is a 900 unit park model senior resort development which offers a couple dozen RV sites at $49 per night. The residential areas are quite lovely; the RV area is a clean scraped dirt/sand lot with utility pedestals. Back-ins only. The office is only open a few hours each morning and closes at 2:00 pm Friday. If you arrive after that you must drive up to the RV area and pick a spot, then return to the office and deposit payment into a slot, then go set up your rig. It would have been worth the extra hassle at $25.00, but we thought $49.00 was excessive. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2012
$25
Loved it!!! Yes, arriving on a Saturday was frustrating because the office was closed and you only get two hours of WiFi until Monday when the office opens...and yes, the laundry card was a bit frustrating...but...loved it!!! The pool is amazing. The four hot-tubs are lovely. The pool area is very nice. Wonderfully friendly people. Well-kept park. Site was average...but it had all the hook-ups and they all worked. More important for us was the pool area and the people. Will most definitely be back!!! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2012
$15
Rate reflects C to C Good Neighbor rate. Very nice quite park. Pool and spas well kept. Only complaint, area designated for pet walk is accessed by a gate, which we found locked a lot of times. There is a nice pet area outside of the parks main gate. Not a good idea to arrive on Sunday as office and GATE is closed. Was not able to get code for Wi-Fi, since the office was closed. Not too happy with laundry access. Must BUY a CARD for $5 (non-refundable) and load $ on to it for washers and driers. April is not a good time to visit, unless you are very fond of WIND. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2012
$25
Loved the two pools and 4 hot tubs. Tthe temp of the water was just right. The pools and not tubs are large. Used my 3G for WiFi. We would stay here again and again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
February 2012
$26
Small campsites and extremely unleveled sand. Roads are pretty tight when attempting to entry/exit your campsite. Wifi totally useless, unless you want to use it around 3:00 am. The sand gets into everything and when the wind comes up (and it will) it's not a pleasant place to be. On the positive the pools were nice. I would not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2012
$22
We actually Had 3 different rates during our stay here. The first week we got 50% off for taking the sales tour. We extended our stay by 2 nights and paid full price for them ($44/night), then it was March so we could extend again at the PA rate. We had good cell (AT&T) and our hot spot worked, which was good because their Wi-Fi is useless. Completely useless. The people are nice and the hot tubs and pools are awesome-I hated to leave. Seasonal have to buy a laundry card for $5, then load it with money. None of the machines take cash, but the office lent us a card, and we loaded it with money to use, so that was nice. I get very irritated when a park advertises Wi-Fi, but when I get there it's so slow I can't get on the web. Many of the RV sites are sand, so it gets tracked in the rig, but you can wash your rig here and my husband likes that. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2012
$26
This is the second year we stayed at this park. Last year we stayed only two weeks; this year an entire month. It is specifically for people over 55, and the quiet reflects that. The price quoted reflects a rate for a monthly stay, not including electricity, which, if one stays for a month or more, is metered and paid for at the conclusion of one's stay. The cost of electricity for our month, mid January through mid February was $55. We have two complaints about the park. One is internet access. It is simply inadequate for the number of users. Our major complaint is the ventilation of the laundry room. I am allergic to the scent of many detergents and fabric softeners, and these scents seem to permeate the outdoor area where the mineral hot spring fed pools and hot tubs are. For this reason, we will probably not return next year. For anyone who uses these products and is not sensitive to this issue, this is a lovely park with the very nicest people. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2011
$49
We stayed at Caliente Springs on our way to San Francisco. We intended to stay on night and enjoyed so much we stayed for 3 nights. A gorgeous and clean RV Park with lots of activities going on. The sites are quite large and give a great view of the mountains. As we planed to come back to Palm Springs for 2 weeks in January with 3 other couples, we drove around to a number of other RV Park in the Palm Springs area and decided to book at Caliente Springs because of the hot springs, the executive 9 hole golf course, the great atmosphere just to name a few. I highly recommend this RV Park We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2011
$25
Stayed 2 nights under Passport America rates and enjoyed our stay. Would definitely return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2011
$35
We camped at this park for one week. This is one of the quieter parks we have ever stayed at. They have 4 hot tubs and a large swimming pool. Very friendly check-in and all the residents are very friendly. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2011
$49
Used to be the best, but other choices have risen above. I definitely feel Caliente Springs is a good park, but there is a huge emphasis on annual visitors. Streets are tight and spaces difficult to navigate. Wi-Fi was spotty at best. Fantastic pool: truly their most best amenity. Golf course is not worth playing. Our experience was good, just not the best. A little pricey for the experience. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2011
$35
A giant over 55+ park, with space for overnighters scattered throughout the park. It was a little hard to maneuver our 38ft 5th wheel into the back-in sites. The staff were very friendly and welcoming. It is a great area, above Palm Springs, out of the dust storms that hit the valley, and cooler than Palm Springs, yet close enough for all the sights and activities in the valley. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
January 2011
$38
This park was a pleasant surprise. It's not the newest park, but the amenities were nice. The office staff was helpful and friendly. Our fellow visitors to the park were friendly as well and from all over the world. The park has very nice spring fed pools to help you soak away the aches and pains of travel and you can participate in all kind of things if you wish to. It's also a short ride to Palm Springs with all it's fine shopping, dining, etc. They gave us a nice discount, as first time visitors, and a discount coupon for our next visit. The spaces were large and flat. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2010
$45
This is a really nice park with beautiful mineral pools and hot tubs. The pools were different temperatures and so were the hot tubs, and they were very clean. Staff was friendly and helpful and I would definitely stay there again. Easy access to Palm Springs. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2010
$26
Our rate was a Passport America rate for 7 nights and Good Sam for 1 night. This is the nicest park we've camped at so far. The sites are fairly big with 50 amp FHU and cable TV. Wi-Fi was free for up to a month and worked OK. They had a wonderful clubhouse with exercise room, two heated swimming pools, and four hot tubs with varying degrees of temperature, a billiard room, shuffleboard courts, tennis courts and a nine hole executive golf course (extra fee). There are also many activities to join. Many sites are occupied by park models, but there were still a fair amount of RV spots available. It's close to Palm Springs and Joshua Tree National Park. We would definitely camp here again in the future. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2010
$48
A 55+ resort park easily accessible off I-10. Of the 891 spaces approximately 150 are RV spots; the remainder are park models. All spaces are back in with good distance between sites. A raised concrete patio and park model residents' vehicles make maneuvering difficult but doable. All utilities worked properly with 60+ channels on the TV cable. Staff are friendly and helpful . The spa facilities (hot pools, swimming pool, rec hall, restaurant , exercise room, 9 hole golf, tennis) are immaculate and not crowded. Lots of hiking, biking, and walking opportunities for you and pets. Close to Palm Springs and environs with many activities at the park and in the area. If price is not an issue, this is a good place to “winter” or spend several days during the winter season. It is very windy most of the time-never leave an awning up unattended. A small market is located across the street from the park with groceries and propane. We have camped here many times as well as other parks in the Coachella Valley. This is the best park in the Desert Hot Springs area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2010
$23
We stayed 4 days in this 55 or better park. We fully enjoyed the two swimming pools and the four spas. In the beginning of October most of the seasonal people did not arrive yet, so the park and the pool were pretty quiet. The only thing we missed was a table on our site. Wi-Fi was nor excellent but it worked, free of charge. We will come again. The rate is the PA-rate We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
August 2010
$46
This is one of the worse, or maybe the WORSE campground that we have ever stayed in. The sites are not level (way off), nothing but dust and sand. A concrete slab for a picnic table (or I guess that was the purpose for it in the past) but no table. No nothing for $46.00. I made this reservation online back on 07-17-2010 and my credit card was charged the $46.00 at that time, but the website stated that any discounts would be applied at check-in. Well, how the ??? do you get a discount (we have PA and others) when the office has no one in it, and left packets outside the door stating: "If you have a reservation please find the envelope with your name on it." There was no envelope with our name on it, so we just took one and went to the sites available. None of them were any good. All as bad as #204. On a letter inside the packet it stated, "The office is closed on Saturday and Sunday, so please leave your money." This is mainly a permanent resident retirement village, which would have been fine if managed correctly for RVers, and you got anything half way what you paid for, but nada!!!! So, if you decide to stay at this campground, it will be your mistake. I would NEVER recommend this campground (or dust bowl of junk), to anyone. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2010
$23
Rate reflects PA discount which runs during the summer and fall. A nice place to relax for a few days after the snowbirds fled. Tends to get a little windy, but has lots of nice people. A resident even assisted me in bringing down my awning after the wind kicked up. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2010
$23
We are staying here at the PA rate. This is probably one of nicest parks we have been to in the past two years. The front desk people were extremely polite and friendly. The park has a welcome wagon person who was very helpful and informative. She came to our rig and welcomed us to the park: also gave us coupons for % discount if we want to extend our stay past the 7 day PA and for next winter should we like to return. The mineral hot pools (4) are fabulous as is the large flowing swimming pool. This is definitely a destination, lots of Park models but lots of sites for RV'rs. Would definitely come here again!! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2010
$80
We found this to be one of the nicest resorts we have ever had the pleasure to stay in. We have been here for several months, and would recommend a stay here for anyone interested in enjoying natural mineral hot springs spas, friendly people, including the staff, and great amenities such as golf, the spas, tennis, shuffleboard, scheduled activities, and water sports and exercises. We had a fantastic time and are considering purchasing a park model home so that we can stay longer next season. We would definitely rate this resort a 10! We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2009
$80
OMG! If you love hot tubs, this place is paradise! There are 4-5 (clean) mineral spring pools and we just melted into them: got rid of sore, tired muscles. Cabin was very clean and adequate, office staff was super-friendly; made us sad we couldn't stay longer. When we go through here again we will definitely stay at this place. We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
February 2009
$20
The pool and spas are very nice, but always very crowded. The facilities are dirty and dated. The bathroom floors must be mopped with the same dirty mop everyday and the walls of the stalls appear to have never been cleaned. However, the front desk personnel are very nice. We are here for 6 weeks, hence the lower rate. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2008
$45
This is really a park for one who wants to live in a park model home, not for the RV'er. Although the management was nice, it didn't take long to know that they really don't want RV'ers. It is over-priced for the park, the amenities and for what you receive. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2008
$50
Had a end site with nothing behind us but tall pine trees and desert. Very friendly staff. Lot to do in the area with a short drive. Casinos, tramway, Palm Springs. Really enjoyed the stay and the pool complex. Will go back again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
March 2008
$50
Spent 3 nights here in March/08. For the $50.00 rate the campsites were very poor. The winds that blew the dust were incredible. The owners should consider some landscaping with gravel, not course sand that blows everywhere. Also for the price a picnic table would have been nice. The pool area is great, 4 hot pools and a large swimming pool. Front desk staff were excellent. At least we received a refund when we checked out early because of the dust. Cannot recommend this park in the windy season. Very poor wireless internet access. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2008
$45
We traveled with dogs so were assigned a space along the west edge of the park near the pet gate. The pet area, which was a dirt road alongside the park, was large enough to give the dogs some exercise. What was unusual about this park is that even though we were on the edge of the park we were still only 10 spaces away from the office and swimming pools. The pools and spas were clean, comfortable, and uncrowded. Regarding wireless internet, my recollection is that I could not get a strong enough signal from my space to connect. This park was my favorite of those we stayed in on our recent trip through California and Arizona. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2007
$45
An older park but the hot spring fed pools and friendly guests make this a very popular place to stay. I give it a ten as my favorite place to stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2007
$37
Very nice older park, mostly park models, paved roads with sand sites, level with patio. Very nice hot spring pools and spas. Well landscaped. Very friendly residents. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2006
$30
Wide spaces, easy back-in. Sandy sites but clean. Very popular with people returning year after year. Lots of activities available - we liked the short 9-hole golf course on site, plus the pools & spas, billiards room. We had no problem accessing Wifi from our site. A downside is that the Desert Hot Springs area can be very windy but we'd stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2006
$35
Nice Park. Only about 150 sites are for RV's. The rest are park models. Sites are large and level. Sites are made of white sand and there is a small concrete patio with each site. The great thing about this place is the natural mineral hot springs pools and spas. The pools are worth the stay. All the streets are paved and the park models are well maintained. The park is well maintained and neat. Nice palm trees and lawns around pools and clubhouse. We'd love to return here in the future. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com