221717 User submitted reviews online!!
Cross Creek RV Park & Campground was rated 6 out of 10 based on 18 user reviews. Phone: (573) 365-1211
CGID6164

Cross Creek RV Park & Campground

Camp Information
Sites
64
Date of Stay
September 2014
Latest Rate
$32



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   7   8   5   5   2   5   8   5   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2014
$32
This campground is on a one mile very rough gravel road. Once there the park has very narrow roads and would be difficult for a large rig to maneuver if the park was full. We were lucky the park wasn't very crowded. We stayed one night and that was more than enough. If in the area again we would look for something closer to the highway. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2014
$35
Good hookups and great fishing on the pond. The roads into the campground are pretty rough. Campground seems to have a lot of fun family things for the family to do however it rained most of the time we were there so we were unable to enjoy any of them. Friendly campground hosts. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$18
Would recommend only 4WD for 5th wheel and bumper pulls, very steep gravel road. Beautiful setting, although it is on a pond, not the Lake of the Ozarks. The bathrooms and showers were clean and very well kept. One of the best showers we have been in, liked the recessed floor in shower so feet and shoes dry. Swimming pool was great!! Mini golf was fun. Sites were level. Playground, basketball court, volleyball, shuffle board, game room, had live band on Friday night. Friendly staff. We had no trouble getting out, used 4WD and went slow and steady. We would stay again, we will look for campground on Lake of the Ozarks. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2012
$30
This site had some pluses and minuses. We had lot 55 which was located near the back of the resort. Lots of permanent residents, which we would rather not see. Water, electric and sewer were fully functional. Wi-Fi was almost none existent. Our kids enjoyed the pool and fishing in the lake. The boats for rental were a joke, as was the mini golf. The store had a lot of daily supplies, with some items being very expensive. Most of the staff was friendly and helpful. The site is located on a steep hill, so be prepared to climb. The lake area has some flat areas. The street into the resort is mostly washed out and very steep. Before entering the hill, get out and recheck your equipment. Downhill going in and, of course, uphill leaving. The showers and restrooms were clean and bright. I would be hesitate to suggest this site. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2011
$30
The park was OK. Getting to the campground was on a one mile gravel road. It was very rough, I had to drive about 5 mph. There is a steep hill. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
May 2011
$32
I wish this park would not claim that that they have a lake as there is only a big pond. It is a big pond good for kids that want to paddle around in a rental boat but this is by no means a lake. The pool is very nice and so is the staff. They have clean restrooms, a little grocery store and a mini golf course. It's a very family friendly park. The hiking is limited. We stayed here in a 32 ft 5th wheel and as we entered the park, we would have died if we would have followed the GPS. After calling the park to clarify where to go exactly, we found that the only entrance to this RV park is down another VERY long, steep grade. This park is well off the beaten path of town and if we had not had 4 wheel drive, we would not have been about to get out up the VERY steep, gravel driveway. We loved Ha Ha Tonka State Park for its hiking but next time we are in this neck of the woods, we will camp at Lake of the Ozarks State Park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2010
$30
We so wanted to give this place high marks. Has great owners, who strive to please but there is a long dirty, hilly road to get to the campground; permanent dilapidated RVs that are behind the office. The bathrooms are basic. Not the place to bring your new motor coach, more a place for families with kids. The four sites by the lake are ok, pretty view. The owners need to get rid of the permanent RVs, only then will they get more customers. We would not stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$15
The park is in a beautiful setting. The people are very friendly and helpful. Laundry and restrooms are spotless. We were apprehensive when we saw the road leading into the park. We should have stopped there. Don't get me wrong. The park was great. It's the road that needs work. Remember, what goes down must come up. That's where our trouble was. We tow with a 2008 Silverado 1500 2wd and got to within 200 feet of the top of the hill and had to be towed the rest of the way. The closest tow company was 30-45 minutes away. Backing up did not work either. I'm not a newbie. I have over a million miles behind the wheel of a tractor trailer. The wheels started slipping on the gravel and there was nothing left to do but sit and wait for the tow truck. Thank God for On Star. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2010
$14
This is more like a low budget camping resort than a RV park. Most of the sites have permanent RVs parked and the it appears that short timers are used as fill ins on less desirable spaces. There is a steep gravel road to reach the park and you need to be sure that your vehicle is sized correctly. Bath houses are very clean. We would not stay here again as an overnight location due to the difficulty of the entrance road. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2010
$16
This is a beautiful oasis in a sea of tourist activities around the Lake of the Ozarks. It is a Coast to Coast affiliated park and we would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2009
$27
Our stay was absolutely outstanding. We enjoyed our stay so much that we have already planned our next trip back. While the road to the park is gravel and there is a hill, this is what is expected in the Ozarks. So no shock: just slowed down as we were instructed to do when we made our reservation. The hosts are absolutely the best. We were treated like old friends as soon as we pulled up. The front porch was full of people just sitting and chatting. If felt very homey and welcoming, as you would expect in the Ozarks. The restrooms and shower building were so clean and cared for that it was a topic of conversation while showering with the other guests. The scenery and the little lake were so beautiful and while we didn't catch a fish it was fun and relaxing trying. We were lucky to be here during their annual Winter Texan Shindig celebration. The country and gospel jam sessions were so entertaining and fun. The campground hosted a hog/turkey roast potluck and the food, fellowship, and entertainment was great. We hated to leave so much we actually had to give hugs to the workers for making us feel so welcome. So if you are looking for a country life, laid back atmosphere, and an all around down home feeling: this is the park for you. It was well worth the drive down that gravel road and I can't wait to travel that trail again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$30
This campground was great. The staff was very polite. There are many things to do here: fish, swim, paddleboat, shuffleboard, and even mini-golf. It is a great place for kids. There's a big hill one must go down to get here, but we made it fine. The lake was beautiful. We will definitely be returning and have highly recommended this place to friends. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2009
$27
To get to this campground, you travel down a horrible gravel road with large rocks for a mile. The cars driving up the hill to get out have to keep their speed up otherwise they will just spin their tires. The staff are very friendly and helpful with anything you need. We did run into problems our last full day at the campground. My husband complained about other campers walking through our site. We have 4 girls and when adult men walk through the middle of your site drinking and carrying their grill to their friends across the road, I have a problem. We didn't have people walk through once but several times. I guess the problem really came when one of them was the daughter of one of the staff members. It rained our last evening and the girls were playing in our site with water right after it rained. They went into the restroom at some point and came back to our site. Next thing we know, one of the staff members came over asking about all the mud in the restroom. I went in there to see what he was talking about and it was a "normal" amount of mud and grass. I actually had more in my camper from one coming in than what was in the restroom. I have a feeling we are were being nit picked because one of the people walking through was his daughter. This is a decent campground but we will probably not return. They do have scheduled activities, pool, miniature golf, shuffleboard, etc but quiet time does not start until 11PM and ends at 7AM. There are 4-wheelers that run constantly during that time and there is music playing right up until the minute quiet time starts. We were right across from the office and the pavilion is right next to us making this site very noisy. We do not drink or party so maybe this is just our problem. There is some kind of wireless but you have to get the code from the office. It is by satellite so it runs very slow. The sites are really close together and there are several family members that seem to live here. Restrooms are clean and the laundry room is clean as well. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2008
$21
I'm still trying to figure out why Trailer Life gave Cross Creek such a high rating. Your introduction to the facility is via a rough mile-long gravel road that descends alarmingly upon entering and ascends challengingly upon exiting (our transmission fluid overheated so a red light came on on the dash board). When we reached the RV park we stopped to look for a sign for the office. When we found it we started up a hill only to find our one-ton truck would not make it up the steep hill so we backed down and parked so we could walk up to the office. Most of the 60-plus sites are up there but fortunately there was room in one of the four back-in sites below. After much hassle backing into the spot, which was nice and wide though didn't have a lot of maneuvering room, we had a nice perch with a view of the small lake. We eventually went to the sites up the hill and found them to be mostly tight backins, not particularly attractive or comfortable-looking. There is a lot of activity stuff available-- boats for the lake, fishing, a decent swimming pool, shuffleboard and the like. Fortunately they accept Passport America and Campclub USA so two of the three nights were $14.50 and the third was $29. As we were leaving I found myself wondering why they even bothered putting an RV park there in the first place. Not the worst place we've been to, but certainly among the also-rans. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2007
$8
It's a bit steep getting to your campsite, but the sites are terraced and we didn't have any trouble getting leveled. The staff here are among the most pleasant people we've experienced. Sitting on the porch to use the modem hookup was actually a plus -- getting to talk to other campers was very enjoyable. This is a beautiful place with tons of trees and therefore lots of shade. The pool was very nice with a fabulous view. We spent a full week here and would definitely stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2007
$20
If you want to risk your RV or trailer driving down the steep dirt road to this place you will find a run down campground with a tiny tiny pond and lots of run down campers crowded into a steep gravel hill. I left and camped somewhere else giving up my money just to get out of here. Felt dirty and nothing at all like the website photos. Not for anyone with a nice rig or camper. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2007
$25
This is the park we drove to from Va. to pick up our camper that we bought off the intermet. I cannot tell you how friendly the staff was and helpful, why we had a private mechanic on call! We only spent two night here but we would go back. There is a good cafe here and all you need to really relax. I heard that they may have had some storm damage. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2006
$12
We used our "Happy Camper" discount of 50% off for this price. After all the problems, breakdowns and weather not cooperating it was really nice to finally be on the road again and making good time. We drove a little off the beaten track to get to this campground and if we had been planning to stay a few days this would be the place to do it at. Because the season was just about over the work campers were already gone so one of the owners was attending to the store. During season this park has to be filled up every weekend because of the beauty, many activities available and the friendliness of the people. The bathrooms were spotless and the best design I have seen this far in the shower area. There was ample room in both the changing area and the drop down shower area, nothing got wet except what was intended. They have one special campsite that is a glorified tent site, having water and electricity and is located on your own private island and up until just a short time ago was only accessible by a row boat but they have since built a bridge to it. They also have cabin rentals but most of the available campsites were not very level and getting to them was a steep climb but otherwise everything was marvelous. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com