214854 User submitted reviews online!!
The Woods RV Park and Campground LLC was rated 7 out of 10 based on 82 user reviews. Phone: (334) 356-1887
CGID6169

The Woods RV Park and Campground LLC

Camp Information
Sites
105
Date of Stay
March 2014
Latest Rate
$27



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   4   6   8   8   8   7   7   9   3   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2014
$27
I called for their PPA rates and asked to make a reservation. They said to just come in. I did and was told they not longer had 50 amp PPA but I could now pay full price. I then asked for their Good Sam rate and paid 10 dollars more then I expected. WiFi is too week to work on cell phones or tablets, but lap top okay. The large rig sites are pretty level and covered with large stone style gravel, kind of like you are going thru a truck escape lane. Water pressure is high and they warn you of it at arrival. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
January 2014
$30
The park is in the midst of truck stops beside I-65 on the south side of Montgomery. Very convenient to hop on/off of I-65. Gravel sites are level and OK for just traveling through on I-65 but not as a final destination. You will need to have a city water regulator for your unit because the water pressure is very high and will be reminded of at check in. You will receive a key for the showers & restrooms at check in. Nice people. Park did have Cable TV but did not have WIFI. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2013
$29
This is nothing more than a decent place to spend the night when travelling thru. The campground is well treed around the parameter but sites are simply stacked side by side in rows on gravel. Fire ants were horrible. Utilities and wifi all good. People were friendly. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2013
$16
Very good park. Easy to find if you concentrate on the road between Arby’s and BP. Showers rate a 10 except for the type of mat/pad they use in the dressing area. Bath House requires a key. We also had a few ants, the first time in 30 + years of camping. Excellent Wi-Fi and cable. No picnic tables. There is a 50 cent charge for each Credit Card swipe. Nearby Gateway GC is a very nice Muni course as is Lagoon Park in the NE side of town. We stayed 3 days at the PA rate and would return again. PA members are put in the front row, next to the road and further away from the bath house. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2013
$30
Passport not accepted on weekends. Easy to miss sign on highway so be aware. Easy in to spots. Level led with jacks only. Cable very good...lots of channels. Wi-Fi worked well. Fishing available. Good for a night or two. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2013
$16
Good value with Passport America. We paid $16.20 after tax for a 30 amp full hook up pull thru with a very good cable lineup. There is a very excessive $5 surcharge for 50 amp service, we used our 30 amp plug instead. The site was packed stone and level. As mentioned in an earlier review, we also had a lot of ants. So it might be wise to use some ant dust before setting up. The Wi-Fi was very good during our stay and they have a nice library. We were pleasantly surprised as we were not expecting much. However, this is not a very good area of Montgomery. We drove about 15 miles east on US-80 looking for a place to have a drink. We could not get over the amount of closed businesses that we passed. But we did find a place about 7.5 miles east of the park just past the 'Auto Mile' and across the street from the Home Depot. It is owned by a former Miami Dolphins player Baumhower who is from this area and also played for the Crimson Tide. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2013
$34
OK for an overnight stop. If I were staying in the area for more than a couple of days, I would probably look elsewhere. Sites are level, and long enough that we could have left our toad connected. No shade, and the grass needed mowing. I would stay here again if I needed a stopover and this park was on the way. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2013
$30
Good directions from a very friendly office staff. Site 403 was great! Long, level and all utilities worked well. Easy in and out. Would definitely stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$15
This is a very nice park, contrary to the previous reviewer's comments. Its location is excellent being just off the Interstate and across the road from several fuel stations. It's big-rig friendly, surprisingly quiet, managed by an attentive staff, and the packed gravel sites are firm enough to support your levelers. Good water pressure. The Wi-Fi signal was strong and worked without any issues. The TV cable was an added plus. We paid the Passport America rate, which included 50 amp service. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
May 2013
$32
The Passport America rate was about $15 bucks. Basically a large field with gravel sites. The internet access was terrible. We also had an ant invasion at this park. A lot of ground ants. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2013
$21
Rate is Passport America which includes an additional mandatory charge if you have a 50 amp rig. Nice ,long, level pull-throughs. Easy access from I-65. Good water pressure and electricity. Clean laundry and nice playground and pavilion. Well maintained. No shade trees. Pleasant staff. We will return again We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2013
$35
Right off highway. Near restaurants,etc. Motorcycle rally the night we stayed and park was still quiet. Staff was friendly. Would recommend for overnight stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2013
$27
Great place to overnight, convenient to interstate. Level gravel/grass sites. Nice staff. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
February 2013
$17
Rate is for Passport America. This is an OK for 1 night campground. Gravel sites and entire area needs some TLC. Staff was friendly and helpful with directions. It is quite close to interstate 65 and also to a major highway. It was difficult to see the entrance after dark. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
October 2012
$25
This is an older, slightly run-down park just off a very busy road. We had trouble spotting the drive into the park and had to do a u-turn, which was not easy. The site was level, the office person nice, but don't think we'll stay again as it is just too difficult to fight the traffic. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
August 2012
$35
If you just need a "parking lot" for your RV, this may suffice - but Zoiks, you could really do better. It seems not to be in a nice area of town. It is also not very tidy & they could do with a weed whacker. There was a decrepit plywood "stage" in the middle of the grass, which was splintering and had rusty nails everywhere... Of course my toddlers were attracted to that like flies, so I was envisioning tetanus shots in the ER before the day was done. (Thankfully, no puncture wounds actually occurred, LOL!). The bathrooms were perfectly nice, but the "playground" was one lifted from the nearby Burger King (no joke. It said Burger King) and it was a faded shambles. Oh, and the name "Woods" is simply the owned family's last name -- it is not treesy or woodsy in any way, just flat & fairly bare. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$30
Easy access, all pull-through sites, fuel and food within walking distance. We experienced a tire failure and were able to get it replaced shortly after we pulled into our site. Would definitely stay again, especially if we were staying longer than overnight. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2012
$29
Staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Sites were spacious and clean. Bathhouse was clean. Wi-Fi was slow and cable TV channels limited. Overall a good place for an overnight stay which is what we did. Not located in the best part of town: a little nervous about the area as we approached the campsite but once there never felt uncomfortable or unsafe. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2012
$30
Nice park, it was clean and well kept. Restrooms were clean. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2012
$15
Don't understand the 3* review. Place was clean and had new looking bath houses. Great water pressure with plenty of hot water although women's toilets didn't flush very well. Nice folks. I do agree I wouldn't want to pay $30 for a night though. We spent 2 nights here midweek. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
March 2012
$30
This park is a dump. It is extremely overpriced for what is there. Check in was very, very slow. Interior roads are pea gravel and puddles. Sites are narrow but we fit in well enough for one night. If there was a convenient park to stay in other than this one we'd never return. It's on our route north. Many full time residents with junk piled everywhere around their sites. There was not a level of security at all. I hope we never have to return to this place, but fear we will have no choice. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2012
$15
This a nice enough campground. Nothing special, just very adequate. It offers easy access to downtown Montgomery. Drainage is a problem when it rains. There was a puddle at our front door for a whole day after it had stopped raining. The $15 is the Passport rate, which is only available on weekdays. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2012
$24
Nice park with no trees for shade or ambiance. However, the folks at the front office were nice, it was quiet, cable and Wi-Fi worked. Good park to stay for a night. For the price a good value. We stayed for one night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2011
$16
Very nice overnight stop for us: headed back to NC from Gulfport MS. Very nice park, well taken care of by owners. I notice that some thought the older lady in the office was a bit rude. Once the business was taken care of, she engaged in conversation with me and was very nice and helpful. I think she just might be one of those people who doesn't exude personality but is really a very nice person if you will take the time to warm up to her!! We will definitely stay here again. The showers/bathrooms (men and women) were very clean and neat looking. Had everything we needed! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
November 2011
$30
We have stayed here in years past and it was okay. But this year was much different. The electric power was bad, the circuit breakers on the 50 amp kept turning off and were hot, we had to keep resetting it. The cable at our site did not work either. It is clear they are not taking care of this campgrounds power needs and don't understand running 30 amp from a 50 amp cord. We left early because they would not give us the Passport America rate even with most of their sites empty. We will try them again in a year or two to see if they have fixed the campground up. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
November 2011
$15
The rate is a Passport America rate. This park is well kept and just off I-65. Sites are large with gravel on them. Easy in and out of park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2011
$30
Friendly staff. The park is lay-out of the park is excellent, with all pull through sites. The sites are a little narrow, with some having large pieces of concrete (used to be part of a road, stripes still on them) laying on the ground, with about 8-10" above ground. We have a bus with a front door, and they were not positioned so that we could use them as a patio, and have their hook-ups positioned close to the location on the coach. The drain is also about 10"-12" above ground level. OK, the negatives are out of the way. Excellent cable TV, and strong Wi-Fi. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2011
$30
The staff is very nice, the spaces are very big and have plenty of room on both sides. The laundry room is small and gets really hot, but it gets the job done. Overall this campground is really great. However, the location is not. The area is not the safest (the gas station next door gets robbed about twice a month). If you're just staying the night, then it shouldn't be a problem. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$30
Well maintained campground. First choice was Capitol City, but they were full. This is a good alternative. Wide level pull through sites, all utilities worked well. Had air on,so didn't hear any traffic, but sure you would with windows open. Perfect for overnight. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2011
$27
This is a nice older park. It's large, and I've never seen it half full and I've stayed there a number of times. This time was on a Saturday so they wouldn't accept Passport America. The Good Sam rate was $27.50. The park is just fine, but the area of town is poor. You must drive quite a way to get to the good parts of town. We always find this a good overnight place to stay in Montgomery. We like the full cable TV. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2011
$16
We spent a single night but were treated as friends! The park is very well kept and the bathrooms and showers were very clean and spacious! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
January 2011
$16
This park is a PA park. Very long pull throughs so easy in easy out. The older lady in the office was very rude and didn't want to be there. We ask for a site toward the rear and were put in the very front near the road noise. We later walked the park to find many sites in the rear that were vacant. The park was dusty and dry. However, when we returned the keys to the restroom in the morning another lady was very nice and friendly. Excellent cable selection and Wi-fi. My wife won't stay here again, but I would given it was in our route. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2010
$24
Entrance not well marked. Used concrete highway slabs, even with yellow lines on them, positioned on each site for patio. Good hook-ups. Not an attractive park but priced right and convenient for overnight stop. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2010
$16
I was ready to give a "7", but the campground is over run with ants. The ants crawled up the power cord (only connection we made for overnight stop.) We woke in the morning to find our RV had thousands of tiny ants inside. AWFUL. The site, minus the ants, was good; long level pull through, with 50 amps power. Cable TV selection was excellent. We will not return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$29
A nice park, friendly staff. You have to look for the road to the entrance and it if you leave during rush hour in the morning, turning left could be a little hard. But we didn't have any problems entering or leaving. We will always stay here when we are in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$17
When looking for an RV Park for overnight, we look for Passport America, level sites, 50 amp, big rig access, enough room for 4 slides, and convenience to the highway/interstate. This park had all of this as well as excellent Wi-Fi included in the price. We would stop here again when in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2010
$18
We have used this campground three times now. It is a well maintained park and the sites were level. Staff were friendly and helpful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2010
$30
Convenient, quiet level park with much space to walk dog. Close to all replenishment needs. Large pond on grounds with shady area for a quiet walk. They give a Camp Club discount. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2010
$25
We stayed here overnight on our way home from Florida. There was a big storm moving in when we arrived, and the staff got us checked in quickly and due to the threat of tornados they gave us written instructions on where to go in case the warning siren went off. The campground is well laid out with all level pull-through lots. The WiFi and cable TV where excellent. We will stay here again when passing through the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
April 2010
$16
Rate is PA rate. This is an overnight stop only. Just a parking lot with pull throughs and a lake at the back of the property. No woods except around the park! It is easy on/off freeway, and a TA across the street, not a good area of Montgomery. Staff was very friendly and helpful, except the older lady who acts very put out by you. WiFi didn't work. Sloppy when it rains and has many long term, construction workers, etc. Key didn't work well in the bathhouse. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
April 2010
$32
We stayed here about 3 years ago under Passport America and had a pleasant experience. The park is conveniently located to interstate 65. We decided to use it again. I was surprised that they do not accept Passport on the weekends anymore. This was made very clear by the lady in the office when she pulled out her guide from under the counter with it opened to the highlighted page. I have a 2009 version which does not mention this. She did not indicate that the rules had changed; instead she told me that I had misread the book. Later she acknowledged that they had recently changed the rules. The sites are very long, but narrow. For example, the fire pit of our neighbor is under our slide. The roads are all dirt and dusty. This was made worse when the park decided to cut the sparse grass next to our site to spruce it up for an expected arrival. Dust was flying all over our coach, but they indicated that they did not care, and no RV washing allowed even thought they were the ones getting the coach dirty. We could not check out the washrooms as they were locked. We were not offered a key. We will be back in the area within a couple weeks but will not stay here again. We would not describe this as a friendly park. We are full timers and on the road almost 4 years. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2010
$28
Stayed here one night while traveling. I think the roads must have been scraped as they weren't too bad. Felt very comfortable here. The woman I talked to was still in the office at 7:30PM when I arrived, and she came down and helped me into my site. I really appreciated that as I could not read the site numbers. The Wi-Fi was very good. Would stay here again for a day or two. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2010
$29
We stayed here two nights. We were greeted warmly by the staff. The campground was less than 33% full. Quite a few permanents whose sites were not well kept. The roads are dirt and the sites gravel. I would have given it higher marks but the roads through the campground were in very poor condition. Almost as bad as I-65 out of Birmingham. The roads really need to be scraped and the pot holes (one reportedly swallowed a VW), filled in. I would not stay here again unless it was a convenient waypoint in our journey from point A to point B. The nearest trees were in another zip code. Pros: it had great Wi-Fi and cable TV and was easy to find. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2010
$17
Passport America Daily Rate. This RV Park is located just off Interstate 65 and near many fast food outlets. Good Wi-Fi and Cable TV with good sized washrooms. Friendly staff and for the price a great deal. Good for overnight or short stay, not a long term park as it has no activities and pretty barren as it has no trees. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2010
$15
This is a great campground. We enjoyed ourselves and stayed 3 days. Mostly because it was raining so hard. We would come back here again. We are on the way to Gulf Shores. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2010
$25
Very good for overnight stop or longer if you need to be in the Montgomery area. Friendly staff, pull through sites, Cable TV and Wi-Fi, clean restrooms: what more could you want? Stayed here in December 2009 and January 2010 on our way to and from Florida. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2009
$25
Nice Park for easy overnight stay. Friendly staff. Good pull through sites. Fire-rings available. Close to fast food. On our way to Florida. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2009
$32
Good location for us to visit Tuskegee and far enough off the Interstate to avoid road noise. It was rainy weather when we arrived, and were told to chose an RV site, either one of three. By the next morning it was still wet, but the gravel was easy to walk on. Office staff was knowledgeable, friendly, and easy RV park to get into and out of. All in all a good few-nights' stay RV park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
November 2009
$19
We spent a week here on our way down to Florida. Aesthetically, it wasn't much to look at. It had been raining when we arrived and the water puddled up really bad on the grass next to our site. I had to be careful where I stepped or else I'd be ankle deep in red clay mud. The bathrooms were clean and the laundry was decently priced. We met one of the owners and she was very sweet. The park is very convenient to the freeway and some fast food places, but not in a very good part of town. We would stay here again, but not for a week. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
November 2009
$28
This park is great for an overnight. No shade, so I'm not too sure where they got the name, but the park was clean, with level sites, easy in and out, plenty of room to stay hooked up. Hosts were very friendly. We would stay there again when passing through. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2009
$16
We stopped here on our way to Gulf Shores. Great for overnight stay. Park is barren of trees, so it would be pretty hot in the summer, but all the sites are well laid out and pull through. Wi-Fi and cable TV were excellent. They have recently upgraded their Wi-Fi. Owner and her daughter were very personable and polite. There are places to eat within walking distance, which was great for us as we did not want to unhook the 5th wheel just for one night. Rate is for Camping Club USA. We will definitely stay here again next time we are passing through. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2009
$16
Convenient location. Unfortunately we picked up ants on our lot that took us 5 days to get rid of. OK for overnight stay. Saw owner's son trying to get rid of stray dog by shooting it with a rock rocket gun. Would prefer they just call dog pound or take the dog to pound. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2009
$33
We stayed here for one night on the way to Florida. I had called to reserve two sites and after talking to the lady on the phone discovered that we could not make reservations with the use of Passport America. She told me there should not be a problem. When we checked in and showed our Passport America card we were told that it was not accepted on Friday night. She immediately got a PA book that was opened to their page and yellow hi-lighted to show PA was not valid on weekends. The park was okay but the staff, which was only one person, was not very friendly. Hopefully will not have to use this park again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2009
$23
We had previously stayed at The Woods and found it to be a friendly park. When we arrived for this stay we actually were given the very same site. Our experience this visit was not as favorable for the following reasons: 1. Poor drainage on the site. When it rains the water has nowhere to go and pools. 2. The voltage on the site when we visited the second time was very low. Our meter stayed in the red area. The voltage was about 106 volts. When the air conditioners very running they were straining. Since it was very hot our air ran all the time. The wiring seemed inadequate. 3. Wifi was very low signal at times disappearing. Our issue with both the electricity low voltage and the "disappearing wifi" brought a response that it must be us because they had even had an electrician check the electricity just the week before our visit and everything was fine. As for the wifi, we have 2 laptops neither of which could consistently maintain a signal. We also have a desktop with an external wifi antennae and even it was sporadic. The sites are long and are pull throughs which is good. Exiting the park onto the busy roadway and construction in the area takes patience. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$17
One of the friendliest campgrounds we've visited across the country (and we are fulltimers). Worse right now because of construction at I 65. The campground is owned, managed and maintained by a family who do so with care. We appreciated their friendliness and welcoming spirit. The campground is conveniently located off I 65 at exit 168 just across the road from a TA Travel Center. The only drawback here is that it takes patience to get back across the highway if you are going to go onto I 65. The park has large pull through sites that are graveled and pretty level. We had quite a bit of rain so water was standing in spots. The WiFi service was wonderful. Cable TV with great stations. Nice park. We will definitely be back. Would recommend to all. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2009
$24
First impression: what woods? Campground is completely open & unshaded (though tall trees on west of property do give some late-afternoon shade to some sites.) Sites are very level & gravelled, with grassy areas between. There is a fishing pond at the south end, and all utilities worked well. Owner is continually upgrading - this park is only 5 years old. Owner very friendly. Bathhouse & laundry fairly new & basic, but clean. Utilities, cable & Wifi worked well. A few sites are really long, at least 80-100 feet in length, for truly big rigs, double-towing, etc. Gas & fast food nearby. Convenient to I-65 but left-hand turn out of campground across busy 4-lane road may mean a bit of a wait on departure. Some road noise from I-65, not too bad. Good overnighter. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2009
$16
Convenient, easy access,with all sites gravel pull through. Staff is very friendly. Passport America makes it a reasonable rate. WiFi decent, though I asked for a good WiFi site. The cable is very good. It appears this park honors discounts for most anything. A good overnight stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
February 2009
$16
This is a good campground for a short stay at the Passport America rate. If you need to stay longer the weekly rate is very reasonable, $115 + tax for 30 amp service. There are quite a few permanent park residents staying at this RV park. This is not what you would call a pretty park, but serves it's purpose as a secure place to stay at a reasonable price. The free cable TV had a good signal and included HBO and Showtime as a bonus. The wifi worked well, but I requested a site with a good signal and was put close to the office. I'm not sure how well it would have worked way out by the fishing lake. The laundry facility was clean and had 3 newer washers and 3 newer dryers. The managers/staff were very friendly. I would stay here again. Please be advised that 50 to 30 amp adapters and autoformers are not allowed. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
December 2008
$18
Very friendly and helpful owners live on site. The park is gravel, dirt and grass. Sites are level. They don't allow you to step down to 30 amp if your rig is 50 amp due to problems with electric connections. Which means you pay for 50amp even if you don't really need it. Not too much of a problem since this is a Passport America park and has a reasonable rate. Water was good. It could use some landscaping upkeep. Convenient to interstate but no noise from the highway. Nice stocked pond for fishing on site. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2008
$28
This is a good place with good service. The staff is friendly and helpful. Sites are level with full hook up, and Wi-Fi service is good. There are some long term tenants but the park is well maintained and close to fuel and fast food. I would stay here for quick stop. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2008
$28
The park is pretty basic. It is a good Park for a short visit. All level gravel sites with plenty of room. Staff were very friendly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2008
$18
Overall a very pleasant park. We will absolutely stay here again. Right from the minute you walk through the door the owners make every effort to make you feel comfortable. Sites are all pull throughs and very long, wide and accommodating. This IS a big rig park! You are escorted to your site. Laundry and restrooms are always clean. We had no problems with our electricity and we have a surge processor that would have indicated high or low current. We felt at home and secure. Sites were as close to level as I have seen in my travels through 33 states. Small stock pond at the rear of the park. Check out a movie, it's free, and relax. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2008
$30
I stayed here during a hurricane evacuation, and the owner/operators were very helpful getting me to the campground under hectic driving conditions. They even helped me find the stores I needed to get supplies for the trip back. Staff was very friendly, it's family owned and operated. I am a new full timer so they helped me get a Good Sam card and then discounted my rate to the GS rate. All the sites were pull through and offered cable, along with Wi-Fi. Wi-Fi is semi restricted, so only slight drawback. The washroom and bathrooms are very clean and well kept. Overall it's a very nice friendly park and would stay here again. It has several restaurants within walking distance I think 5 or 6 with in 3 blocks, mostly fast food. There was also a very large park on the next exit up, which was very nice for walking about or for families. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2008
$25
This is a great stopping point off of the interstate. The sites are long enough for a big rig and a toad and are fairly level. The 70 or so cable channels worked good too. Bath house was large and clean. Men's had 3 full size shower stalls, but only one commode stall. The operators were very friendly and helpful with any questions. They had free movies & books that you could "check out" at the office. Laundry facilities are also available. There is no shade. Another drawback is that there are a lot of locals (possibly transient workers) living in the park and they are always using the bath house & laundry. The interstate noise was minimal. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2008
$28
Previous posts are accurate, but we had trouble with electric power. Voltage was too high, 128 volts or more, and as a result our protection circuits in our coach kept shutting off the power. I was able to stop this from happening only by moving my electric cord from 50A to 30 service. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2008
$25
A great 'pass-through' park! Right off I-65, and very close to I-85, but even as close as the major roads are, trees around the edge of the park blocks a good deal of the road-noise. Every site is pull-through, with FHU and 70 some-odd cable channels, and they are all reasonably level. WiFi has been recently updated with more routers, and signal is now good throughout most of the park. The only bummer is: no shade. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2008
$19
Good overnight stop for visiting Montgomery. Near I-65 but no noise from it. Friendly owner. Could use some upkeep. Piles of dirt around, and grass needed mowing. All pull through sites. Several local worker rigs present but it wasn't an issue. Not a pretty park but a good parking spot. Nice shelter for use. Passport America rate for the 3 nights we stayed was good. You do pay extra for 50amp but this also moves you back in the park further, nearer the fish pond. Stocked fish pond to use if you'd like. Nice place to walk the dog beside the pond. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2008
$18
This park had a lot of FEMA trailers from the hurricane, but only one or two were still there. We stayed only over night. This is a fairly good place to stay. I would stay here again if I were passing through. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2008
$13
Good place for an overnight stay. Elaine in office was very helpful. The previous review is very accurate. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2008
$13
This park is convenient to I-65. It was only about half full during our visit and appeared that some were longer term residents. All of the RV's were well maintained and the grounds appeared to be undergoing renovations. There is a new picnic pavilion and child's play area. The restroom/laundry facility and office building appeared to be relatively new. All of the sites are pull throughs. There are no shaded sites. There is a large amount of open space around the perimeter of the park for a dog walk and a small pond. A good overnight stop and a Passport America Park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2008
$13
The park is conveniently located to I-65 and since most of their sites are pull through, it is a good place for a one night stay. Most of the residents of the park appear to be long term but there are not many old and junky campers. The Wi-Fi is free and worked fine for us though we were parked fairly close to the office. They have planted lots of new grass since we stayed here one year ago. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2007
$12
Nice big, level full hook up pull through sites, very clean bathhouse and great laundry with all new machines. The four-days that we were there the wifi worked about 20% of the time and it was a very poor signal. About a ten-minute drive from downtown Montgomery and attractions (easy on & off for the freeway). The staff was very friendly and helpful. We will stay here again when in the area. Be sure to get a key for the bathhouse when you check in. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2007
$13
After being treated badly at another campground (I am going to be staying for a long term) where one of the owners (of the other campsite) felt that they got enough business that niceties such as decent attitude and behavior was not required. I had to find another campground while my husband was driving it down to meet me. Talked with a lady at the Woods. She was a breath of fresh air compared to the other campground. She was so nice, that I agreed to stay here sight unseen. It is nice to know that there are still decent people in the world. I needed to know that I was going to be safe, and that access to Wi-Fi was there. She went out and surveyed her lots to find one that would meet my needs, even before I had agreed to stay there! When we said that we were going to be late: she said that she would stay open and wait for us! What service! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2007
$23
We stayed here overnight and found it a very friendly campsite, the site was pull-through and very big, we were able to get LP gas on site and while staying found in their campsite brochure a mechanic to service our RV next morning, I know this is about campsites but we had been having trouble getting a mechanic to do a service without making a booking of usually a week in advance, this mechanic shop opened at 8.30am and serviced our RV within one and a half hours and put us back on the road happy and ready to move on, if we ever go through Montgomery we will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2007
$18
The staff here is friendly. We stopped here overnight because it was in the Passport America book. Half of the regular $25 rate is $12.50, but they added on $5.00 for 50 amp service. I pulled in at 5 pm and left at 7 am and used one A/C for about two hours. The $5 surcharge is NOT mentioned in the Passport book or web directory, and it's excessive. The Wi-Fi was very spotty and so slow it was unusable. At $13 for an overnight stop, it's worthwhile, but not at $18. We'll go elsewhere on our next trip in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2007
$22
We spent one night at this park as a stop over on the way home. It is basically an open field with gravel sites and full hook-ups. It is nothing special-just adequate. I can't imagine why anyone would stay more than one night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2007
$14
A work in progress. Very friendly and family run. A new bathhouse and laundry is very nice. The office modem was very convenient. Large cable selections. I do think it is misnamed as there is not a tree to be seen. The entrance could be improved by moving the old units to the back, instead of them being the first thing you see as you drive in. I almost turned around and left because of the look. I'm glad I stayed and gave it a chance. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2007
$25
PA rate is $12.50. Great for overnight, located just off I65 south of I85. Plenty of fuel and food stops in area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
May 2007
$13
Here's the good: 72 channels of cable TV free. Very clean facilities, friendly people, open sky for satellite dishes. But this place is very like a large urban parking lot/truck stop with grassy patches added. When we opened the windows at night, the breeze was cool, but it smelled of nothing but the deep fat fryers from the fast-food restaurants all around us. Traffic noise is constant. Wifi is free but very inconstant, as is water pressure. I honestly can't see staying here except for a swift overnight unless you really had to be in Montgomery for business or medical needs. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2007
$13
We used Passport America to get the $13 nightly rate. The campground is convenient for a stopover. All of the sites are pull-throughs. Wi-Fi is available at an additional charge. The day we stayed there it had just rained and the space between the sites was very muddy but the parking spaces were still very firm. Spaces are quite close together but since it is a large campground it is probably not full very often. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2006
$23
We stayed five (5) nights and had no problems. Park is 1/8 mile East I-65 between Arbys & BP gas station Good stopover park. Would enjoy staying again in warmer weather. Bathrooms were clean and nicely heated. Nightly rate was $22.50 with Good Sam discount. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2006
$13
Good place for an overnight stop. Very friendly staff. Long pull throughs. Fairly level sites on gravel. The description in Passport America book is a little misleading - it is WAY less than 1 mile from the exit off of I-65. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com