206485 User submitted reviews online!!
Deschutes River SRA was rated 8 out of 10 based on 13 user reviews. Phone: (541) 739-2322
CGID6176

Deschutes River SRA

Camp Information
Sites
58
Date of Stay
August 2013
Latest Rate
$28



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   8   7   10   9   10   8   7   5   3   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2013
$28
Clean and comfortable. Easy to back into our spot. We happened to get there when there were a lot of moths. They were annoying. Trains were pretty loud. We had to close the windows and turn on the air conditioning to drown out the noise. Probably will not stay again. Rate reflects online booking fee. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2012
$25
This is a great park if you're a fisherman because that is the main attraction here. The park is pretty, but very tight for a big rig. We were in A23, about the only site big enough for our 43 ft RV. Getting in and out took patience and helpers. The camp host was friendly and knowledgeable. Had a nice hike along the Deschutes River. I'd stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2012
$16
Rate reflects off-season. Pretty, wooded park on the Deschutes River. Sites are flat and paved, but small and close together- better make a reservation if your rig is over 37'.(site #26 is the nicest- long and with river frontage). Park was very full on this Saturday in April. Slow but adequate AT&T air card signal, no service at all with Verizon. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2011
$16
Deschutes River SRA is beautiful. We did hear a lot of loud trains and the buzz of the highway but I am not sure there is a campground in the Columbia River Valley that does not have train and road noise. The host couple were terrific. The grounds are very clean. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2010
$21
Beautiful site--think green meadows with tall trees and picnic tables. We had a river site (back in) and watched 3 gentlemen catch their limit one morning of steelhead, I think. Would definitely return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2010
$20
Deschutes River is a GREAT campground. Has a brand new shower facility and restroom which was always kept very clean. The park sits right on the Deschutes river and our children had a great time swimming and building sand castles. Some of the hookup sites were very tight to back into. The lawns are watered daily making this park a beautiful green oasis in the desert landscape. Great grassy tenting area on the other side the park is perfect for larger groups. We enjoyed our stay and will be back for sure! We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$21
Lovely little park, with tall shady trees; able to set up satellite dish by the river. Nice trail for walking. Helpful camp host and rangers. Ranger says there is fabulous salmon/steelhead fishing in July: park is full then. Close enough for day trip to waterfalls and Mt Hood. Would have rated the park higher if it had sewer connections, had more facilities, and if it was closer to town/grocery/conveniences. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2010
$12
At $12 a night this park was a bargain. We stayed in the A-loop. There is construction going on, it looked like a new restroom unit is going in. Several sites were closed. This is a small park, and yes, you can hear the trains, much like at Maryhill State Park across the Columbia. But we found our off-season stay to be relaxing nonetheless. We did have to go to Maryhill to dump our holding tanks. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2008
$16
Was a little disappointed in this park. Very dry and dusty, sparse grass at the campsites. Very crowded with vehicles half spilling from their pads onto the road. Nicely shaded. We stayed in the A loop, and I would say that A11 is probably the best site - not directly on the water, but it's long and has a big grassy area facing the river if you drive in rather than back in. Due to the trees, I don't recommend it for big rigs. The train noise wasn't too bad for us but it was frequent. If there are showers, we didn't see them. Restrooms looked ok for the amount of use they probably get. Didn't see a sign for a dump station either. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
March 2008
$12
The campground was clean and nice, and the setting could be great, but I have to disagree with the reviews that state the trains are "not too bad." The train bridge over the river is about 200 yards away from Loop A, and throughout the night, at least every hour, a train would go over the bridge with its horn blowing for 10-15 seconds, sometime much longer. I had to peel myself off the ceiling all through the night. That, and the guy in the tent about 4 or 5 spots over was playing his stereo loud enough that I could hear it quite clearly while inside my motorhome until well after midnight. I will not go back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2007
$16
I have to agree with the last review, this is an oasis in the desert. Nice mature shade trees to relax under, many sites are right on the river. There are a couple hiking trails in the park. This was a nice place to stay to explore the Columbia River Gorge area. The trains are a little annoying at times but I would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2007
$16
Rate is for water and electric sight near the restrooms. All other sights are dry camp only and are $8 per night, no flush toilets for them, no showers at all and no dump available anywhere in the camp or area. Nice park, oasis in the desert. Right on the Deschutes river for easy fishing access. You get to listen to the trains go by at night (day too) but they are not all that bothersome. We would stay here again, great access for steelhead and salmon fishing in the late summer and fall. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2006
$17
Gorgeous park where the Deschutes River meets the Columbia. Railroad enthusiasts will enjoy this park as they roll past the campground. Use as a base camp or just relax - this is a campground definitely worth visiting. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com