223434 User submitted reviews online!!
Patten Pond RV Campground was rated 6 out of 10 based on 10 user reviews. Phone: (866) 917-4300
CGID6178

Patten Pond RV Campground

Camp Information
Sites
90
Date of Stay
August 2013
Latest Rate
$52



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
4   8   3   7   9   7   8   2   7   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  no  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  no  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2013
$52
Our rate reflects Good Sams discount. First, the good. The site was level. Second, the bad. The bill was wrong, someone was in our site, the cable would not work. We would not stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$37
We are retired full-time RVers from S. CA traveling the USA in a 24' travel trailer. We reserved our 4-night stay through our RPI membership which provided us a discount. Maine campgrounds are very pricey. We required satellite reception so it was recommended that we pick a site near to the office. The pond is very pretty. The staff is friendly. There is a nice gift store. While in the area, we visited Main Street in Ellsworth. Nice town. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2013
$41
Maine is beautiful this time of year. Campgrounds are really expensive, $600.00 for two weeks. We are at Patton Pond Encore Resort in Ellsworth, Maine. This park is advertised as a resort. A resort it is not. Resorts have things going on, entertainment, etc. This place even had outdoor toilets. More like a fish camp. It is an old KOA park. I should have known when we pulled in that when KOA gets out of a park, it is way outdated and not up to standards for today's parks. The problem was that they already had my money and a NO REFUND policy. The only good is that it is fairly quiet except on weekends when locals come in. It seems they bring in the whole family, and the place gets noisy. The dirt entrance road is about 3/4 mile long and full of potholes and wash boarding. You could damage your RV coming in. It is so dusty I had to wash our car before I opened the door. A posting on the internet said the road was this bad over a year ago. Nothing has been done to improve it. Our motorhome has a basement air conditioning unit. We had it running and it pulled in so much dust, we had to wash it out to make it work. I suggested to the office that Calcium Carbonate on the road would take care of the dusting problem after grading. The season rentals have all kinds of junk stored outside and under the units. The lots are small and really close together. Lots of large rock that makes it difficult to park. The place has ten showers, but five are out of order. The remainder were so dirty that I would not wash our dog in them. They have been out of order for over a three years. I confirmed the time line on the internet. The game room is locked most of the time. It is easy to tell that Thousand Trails/Encore is simply sucking all they can out of this park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$44
FIRST THE GOOD: Quiet at night in the upper level, a bit noiser in the lower level where there is a nice playground for the kids and lots of seasonals. Sites, at least in the upper level where we stayed, were roomy and pretty level. The "pond" which is really a lake, is beautiful, clear and warm enough for swimming. The sound of the loons at night is wonderful. Free showers. The shower rooms are cubicles that lock and are clean. Cable is OK. NOW THE NOT-SO-GOOD: Signage could be better; it's easy to miss from the highway and it's hard to find a place to turn around. Then you drive down a heavily wash boarded gravel road about a half mile that's guaranteed to shake your fillings loose. You're charged a $3 "resort fee" - why? This isn't a resort. "Resorts" have a pool - there isn't a pool. "Rec Room" is locked a lot during posted open hours. Office has short hours during the week. Not much in the store and personnel aren't particularly helpful. The pull through sites aren't very long and there are large boulders you have to be careful of when pulling in and out. The laundry room is small and hot and two of the five washers were out of order the entire time we were there: machines are expensive for their quality. Nothing is near - you have to go into Ellsworth to get anything, about eight miles. Poor water pressure. Wi-fi doesn't reach far from the office. We would probably try one of the resorts nearer Bar Harbor if we come back again. I don't think we'd stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$40
This is a well-kept park with comfortable sites. We arrived after-hours and were escorted to the site by the resident manager. The staff was friendly and very helpful. Laundry room was clean and well kept. We did not use bath/shower-rooms. We weathered Hurricane Irene here with minimum inconvenience. We spent 3 weeks and would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2011
$46
Except it is "Patten" Pond. Wide open sites to wooded depending on what you want. We camped up top in an open site with room for slide outs and awnings. It can be noisy on weekends but during the week is quiet. Tries to do it all and reminds me of a KOA run campground: kids areas, tent areas, seasonal area, big RV area and even has cabins. I would stay here again if I ever get back this way. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$18
We were during off season so was very quiet. The rate cited is for Coast to Coast members. Sites are tight for larger rigs. Huge boulders marking sites and some large trees make it difficult to back in and make swing on way out. We found the bathrooms to be reasonably clean but not spotless. Showers need some attention but were very usable, good hot water and water pressure. It seems that at the end of the season all places neglect showers a bit. There are many seasonals but the place appears to be well kept. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
August 2008
$44
Camped here for the last 5 years and enjoyed our stay. CG is around 40 minutes to Acadia NP, but was worth the commute, NOT ANYMORE!!! We had booked our site in April and asked for a specific site, they said it was booked and we moved on, but while there the site we requested was never full. When we arrived, pouring rain on Sunday afternoon, we were never told about a "Boil Water Order" that was in place. Went to use the restroom after waiting an hour for the rain to slow, noticed the order, went to the office which was closed (only open 8-5) and got the attention of the woman still in the office. After finally getting her to open the door, was greeted rudely with "I have been using it all week and my dog has been drinking it, everything is FINE!" We actually spoke to someone who had called earlier in the day to inquire about a site and they were never told about the notice as well. They checked in after 5pm and had a sheet of paper notifying them about the notice, but no verbal notice when calling that day. We decided we would still give it a chance until I decided to take a shower at the CG facilities and it wasn't terrible until the hot water ran out after approx 4 minutes of a shower. Had to finish in ice cold water. As stated earlier, we camped here the last five years and really enjoyed it but we will not be going back. Over this last off season it was bought out by a Corporation and is not worth the time. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2007
$44
Sites are generally tight. We stayed on site 435 (a pull-thru) and not enough room to put our awning down. Campground is 9 miles West of Ellsworth and about 30 minutes+ from Bar Harborn. Very quiet. Beach is rocky. They have boats for rent and dockage. All gravel roads- many trees- small sites with grass. Cable TV is free. WiFi cost $4.95 a day. Would stay here again, but would need a larger site??? We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2006
$34
Nice quite park away from the noise and crowds of Bar Harbor yet still close. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com