223427 User submitted reviews online!!
Sturbridge Outdoor World Campground was rated 5 out of 10 based on 9 user reviews. Phone: (508) 347-7156
CGID6179

Sturbridge Outdoor World Campground

Camp Information
Sites
101
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$1



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
3   1   1   4   6   7   5   7   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2014
$1
The only good thing about this campground is the full hookups. Only a handful of sites that will accommodate a 40 ft class A, and those are out in the open (no shade) with extremely small campsites; you are elbow to elbow with your neighbor. Nowhere to park your car but in alongside the rig, so what little site is available is taken by your auto/truck. I'd say close to 50% seasonal. Roads are mostly dirt with very little gravel, when it rains you can imagine the mud. The cable is very limited and the picture poor quality. It is convenient to I-84, and there is a Pilot Diesel and Mobil with diesel right off the Exit 1 in MA, and the prices are low compared to CT. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2013
$1
TTN Rate. There is a new sign on Mashapaug Road, but nothing else has changed. Call the office from the gate, get the access code, and drive down the hill to the stop sign at the lodge, and do your check-in, and go look for a site. With the fifth wheel we made the left u-turn, and parked it in the middle of the road, and walked to the area suggested. The mud holes mentioned before are still there, including the messed up road & site with the water leak (leak has been repaired but nothing else has). The road is a pit and cordoned off where the hole is, so access is difficult. We chose a site which has actually two sites back to back with one half blocked by barricades off the road. I backed into the "good" half, and had no problem with setup, AND didn't need to worry about taking up another space (there really isn't room for two in each site). The manager did say they had a big problem with water this spring-their opening was April 1-and it still isn't resolved. The pool isn't open, and the manager told us it was because they are waiting for an inspection by a state health inspector for water quality and condition of the pool. The manager wasn't helpful at all, and the entire campground is nasty. We walked the entire campground, and there may be 101 sites, but 43 of them are rental units, and in addition to that, are the seasonal sites. There just aren't many sites open to the public here. Tengonet Wi-Fi is terrible, but our server did pull in a fair signal. Full hookups were good and accessible. Based on the overall condition of the park and attitude, we may not be returning. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
May 2013
$22
Rate is based on PA rate. The best part of the campground was the sign at the entrance -- nice sign. Everything went down hill from there. Dirt roads in the campgrounds with huge pot holes. Site was so unlevel the wheels were off the ground. The "ranger" told us to select our site. When we went to the designated section, there were only 2 open pull throughs. One of the open sites appeared to have a huge mud hole which was covered with piled up picnic tables (one which was ours). So naturally we selected the dry site. When we hooked up to the water, the main stem to the cutoff valve was pouring out water. The electric was OK. When we went back to the "ranger" to tell her which site we selected and the terrible condition of the one site, she explained a water main did break there. As to our problems, she simply said "It is, what it is". Wi-Fi is available for a charge. Due to the conditions of the grounds, attitude of the staff, and difficulty booking a reservation, we would never return. It is obvious no effort or money is used to maintain this park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2011
$23
We weren't too happy with this campground. First it was difficult to locate as there's no street sign and no camping sign as you get further off the main roads. Then roads to the campground and entry into the grounds are tough for a large motorhome like ours, with low limbs and rough roads. The signage leaves a lot to be desired too. We watched everyone do the same thing we did - trying to figure out where to pull over to register and there's a nasty turn as you enter the grounds, so large RV's have only one way to go. Then we're told to pick out our own site so we had to unhook and drive the car around looking for a decent site that had full hook-up. The map wasn't very good and the sites weren't marked with full hook-up or not! We finally settled for a site near the main entrance despite concerns over the noise level. But many of the sites were barely big enough for a large tent let alone any RV. Even the sites big enough for an RV are very narrow and short. There seems to be a lot a permanent residents here, which is never a good thing. The Saturday after we arrived, a company was brought in to hold a wrestling match and there was an announcer and yelling and it was a bit much! We were also given a notice about thefts being a problem in the area which is not too comforting, the lake was closed due to goose infestation and the pool was closed. So, overall not a good experience but our membership in Encore at least got us a rate of $23/night so we don't feel so bad. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2009
$1
We camp here because it is very convenient off Interstate 84 exit 1. Though some big rigs can get in this campground, there is a very difficult turn to the left at the bottom of the hill as you enter, so many big rigs refuse to stay here. This park's roads are the pits! Dirt and some gravel, when it rains the roads are nothing more than potholes and mud, and some of the 50amp section campsites get waterlogged too. They have known about this issue for at least a year, but no improvements so far. All of the 50 amp full hookup sites are in one area with many back to back "back in" sites. Problem is that if there is a 40+ft motorhome in one, then the site behind it will only have 20-30ft available (depending on the location in this area), so the full number of sites will not really be available for motorhomes/5th wheels/travel trailers that require the 50amp service. The CG has lots of weekend activities for children and adults, and it really fills up the CG & cabins to the max. Some of these activities (wrestling for example) can be VERY loud and may not appeal to everyone. Check the CG web page for the schedule prior to your visit. Lakefront sites do not have sewer (the few that do are taken by "seasonals") and are best suited to tents and small campers. The staff is not overly ambitious and often can be seen taking numerous smoking breaks. Still, we will return, as this CG is convenient and meets our basic needs. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2008
$40
Nice place with what seemed to be many nice amenities for families. Many kids around. Lots of sites were those seasonal, house types. We stopped here because we were too late in the evening to get to our destination and arrived just before dark. I chose this park out of a Woodall's book, contacted their 800 number to confirm site availability and size and was assured 'big rig' accessibility; found out later that the 800 number was not even located in the same state and the operator was reading from a handout. The biggest problem with this park was the hairpin turn to get in - you have to make what basically amounts to a 180 degree turn. We made the mistake of attempting this with the tow vehicle still attached and ended up blocking the entire entrance/exit when the RV/tow combo could not make the turn (which was also on a hill). Had to unhook, back up the car, back up the motorhome and go again. After that it was smooth sailing but we certainly caused quite a commotion getting to that point. I believe we were the evening's entertainment and I had several people comment on how 'large' our motorhome was, and that they didn't see anything like that very often. The road leading to the park should have been our first warning sign - we had to dodge some low hanging branches (our motorhome is 13+ ft tall). Again, for a smaller rig (less than 40') I think this would probably have been a great stop. Next time I will just do my homework a little better; we chalked this up to a learning experience. :) We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2008
$20
Very bad turn to get to larger pull-tru sites with 40+ length motorhomes. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2007
$5
Membership Park now in Thousand Trails Management which hopefully will be good for this place. Nice but tight pull through sites plus many seasonal sites around the lake and in the trees. The pull throughs are in the middle of a flat section and have clear sight for satellite. Muddy if it rains. Poor security and no rules, which is the manager's way of staying popular. Hopefully Thousand Trails will remedy this situation. Otherwise a nice place to stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2006
$20
This park is off the beaten path. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com