220090 User submitted reviews online!!
Matagorda Bay Nature Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 29 user reviews. Phone: (979) 863-7120
CGID6186

Matagorda Bay Nature Park

Camp Information
Sites
70
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$60



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   10   5   9   9   8   8   9   10   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2014
$60
This campground is very well maintained by LCRA. The sites are all level, concrete with large concrete patios, full hookups, and some spacing with grass between sites. Some sites back up to the river and I can say there's not a bad site in this park. There are two very nice lighted fishing piers available to all in the park and day visitors as well. The beach is a pretty good walk from the park so I suggest driving to the public beach access road and going on down a ways to get a nice private piece of gulf front property to enjoy but be prepared to pay a $10 yearly permit fee to drive on the beach. I would have rated this park higher but the day fee per person is a little high to me, we paid $5.00 per person per day in addition to our daily site fee; we had five people so this was $25.00 per day in day use fees. Maybe LCRA could justify this if they offered more than a few lighted fishing piers, especially considering the beach is sometimes not an option due to massive amounts of seaweed being present. Maybe the park should consider adding a swimming pool and hot tub or some other amenities to warrant such high day use fees. Everyone that we encountered that worked at the park was very kind and helpful. We would return here. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2014
$32
One of the nicest places I have stayed. It is clean and well-taken care of. Sites are paved with newly-paved picnic table areas. I nearly always stay in state and national parks, and this also is government-owned. Beautiful beach on Gulf of Mexico and fishing pier is about 1000 feet away. I could not get their Wi-Fi signal but Verizon was decent and I used my hotspot. One nice thing is that they offer winter weekly and monthly rates. Yes, they do charge a daily rate plus the camping fee, but it is only $2 for Texas residents who are over 65. (I am not a Texas resident but they charged me only $2 anyway.) I will definitely come back for a longer stay sometime. Sites do vary in cost depending on location, so check before you reserve. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2013
$35
I am posting this as a fee warning for all potential campers. We were to stay here for a week at $245/week. However, what is not clear to you upon making reservation, is that the park charges you a daily user fee in addition to your daily or weekly rate. The daily user rate is $5/day per person. For 4 persons that is an additional $20/day for 7 days if we had gone thru with our reservation. An additional $140 per week to equal $390/week. That is a bit steep for a week for us. They told us that they just starting charging the additional daily entrance fee. Well, I think it is a bad idea. We chose not to stay. Wish we would have known earlier. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$35
Very clean park. River access and a short stretch of beach front. Wi-Fi access is only available in the half of the park closest to beach, the other half only has access of you walk over to the headquarters (small inconvenience). The only negative thing I can say about this park is the lack of shade trees, otherwise the park is immaculate and very well maintained including showers, and restrooms. There is also a small play area for the kids. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2013
$41
This park was really nice. We hit it at a very quiet time with lots of open sites. Level concrete site for the trailer. A small area of gravel with a table and then grass all around that. Trails along the river leading to a small pier. Great for the kids and dog. Walking distance to the gulf with a much bigger pier with about 10 people hauling in fish left and right. There was some trash on the beach but not much and mostly just in about 3 or 4 places where there had been a campfire. Due to our arrival time I did not get properly checked in so I did not get a code to try the WiFi but I did have a strong signal. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2013
$35
Previous posts are accurate. Over spring break the place was packed, but as soon as Monday came around the CG emptied out and was peaceful. Off of the beaten trail. Verizon kept dropping from a good 3G to a poor 1xRTT even with my external antenna and booster. Was useable but annoying at times. Park was very clean, but the beach nearby was filthy. People just camped on the beach and then left their garbage. I don't get it. We'd come back if in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2013
$32
Very nice site layout. Grounds and building are well maintained. Park is a long way off major highways, so not an overnighter. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2012
$35
A great park to stay at! Bordered by the Colorado River on one side and just a short walk to the Gulf of Mexico on the other. Long back-in concrete sites with good power. Water and sewer hook-up conveniently located. Some pull-through sites are also available. The Nature Center offers classes, lectures, and kayaking in the wetlands. Wi-Fi was recently added and was available at the sites close to the Nature Center. The previous reviews are accurate. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2012
$20
Wonderful place to get away from it all. You have Colorado River on one side and the Gulf of Mexico on the other. Very friendly and helpful personnel. Wide roomy sites. Fishing piers on the river and the Gulf. Good shelling along the beach. Wi-Fi was being installed when we left. Would recommend this campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2011
$28
This is an outstanding RV park with huge sites, well distant from the neighbor, full concrete pads, with a large concrete picnic table at each site. Everything, from each site to the facilities, is kept immaculately clean and groomed. While on a river, it is a two minute walk to the Gulf of Mexico beaches. This is a great place to enjoy beaches, to kayak, and to do what is mainly done in Matagorda: fish. There are fish cleaning stations and piers in the RV park, and a huge pier for fishing in the Gulf. Shore birds are abundant in the area. The only negative is mosquitoes which are also abundant. When the wind blows, the mosquitoes stay away, but if only a breeze blows, they are back. Repellent is a must here as is bringing in all your own cooking and drinking water. This is a top notch RV park in a superior serene location. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2011
$15
Very clean, extremely well maintained park. Staff is great. Sites are level concrete. Nearby shopping and services are very limited. Supermarket and major chain stores are 30 miles away. Verizon signal was good. No Wi-Fi but they started installation the day I left. After a recent upgrade to the local system, water was rather unappealing though I was assured it was safe to drink. One of the maintenance men told me that, due to the recent drought, they weren't allowed to flush the system as much as they wanted after the upgrade. The water should improved with time. Price is based on the monthly rate. I plan on returning for an extended stay next winter. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2011
$30
Great park but remote. Great place to fish, shell, and walk the beach. Bathrooms are spotless. Bring water since it has a funny taste. Light breeze keeps the mosquitoes away - so without a breeze you need your spray. Enjoyed our whole campground experience - very quiet and relaxing. Internet should be working soon. Rate is for preferred site. $25 for general camping and $35 for waterfront (river). We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$32
We had the best time with the grand kids at this park. Thanks for making it a memorable occasion. We will return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$30
If you like to fish this is a good place. There are serveral small fishing piers as well as a very large one at the gulf beach part of the park. The RV park is park of an LCRA park that includes substantial river and gulf frontage. There is a very limited Nature Center. Sites are paved and the picnic tables are concrete in granite gravel patios. This is a very barren area. Two of the last three times we have been there, there has been a congregation of horse back riding groups that take over a large portion of the park with their attendent loud music. During our stay, fishing and crabbing were poor. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2010
$30
All concrete sites. Can handle even the largest rigs with slides. Very limited over the air television service and pay Wi-Fi. Price of sites determined by needs / wants: 50 amp service more, waterfront (river) sites more. Laundry available but not used. Restrooms and showers clean. Nearby Nature Center (walking distance) offers lectures and small "hand-on" displays. Short walk to the beach and fishing pier. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2010
$30
Nice park right on the river. Nice play area for the kids. Within walking distance of the Gulf beach. Caught fish right behind our trailer in the river. Two lighted piers as well. Stayed in #61 which is a back in site right on the water. They have huge pull through sites as well. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2010
$25
Park was OK, site almost level but not quite. Office has short hours but camp host is available. It was hot when we were there and mosquitoes and biting flies were a problem. Fishing was poor. Nature center is very small. If we go back it will be during the winter when it is cooler and pests are not so annoying. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2010
$35
We thoroughly enjoyed our first weekend in Matagorda. The park was very clean. Our site (#5) was level and provided ample space for our 36' fifth wheel and pickup. There were three other trailers in our caravan and all of us agreed we would certainly camp here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2010
$25
A meticulously kept park. With that comes lots of rules; don't do this, don't do that! Sites are very spacious, level, easy access to hook-ups. Absolutely NO parking on the grass, yet of the cement slabs are not really long enough to park 5th wheel and pick-up on it. NO parking on other sites even though there were only 5 units in the campground. The campground area was clean. It rained while we were here, and there was standing water all around the slab. I'm glad we didn't pay the extra fee to get a waterfront site! Construction of a jetty on the gulf shore, limited ease of getting to walk on the shore around the campground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2009
$25
The Gestapo is still here. But I had driven the wrong way on the one way camping loop and parked my car head end to my RV like I prefer to do. Rules are for the benefit of all campers. But the park is 80% vacant this time of the year. I only drove 1/3 of the way around the loop. I had just parked and within 2 minutes, I was told that I should not be parked nose to nose with my RV as that would encourage other campers to drive the wrong way on the camping loop. Then he took off in his cart to nab another miscreant. No swimming on the adjacent beach on the Gulf. The pier has been closed for repairs since hurricane Ike. The sewer connections are located conveniently only if the RV sewer connection is in the middle of the RV, not if it is at the end of the RV like most of our RVs. I will have to move my RV forward in order to dump. Many sites are too short to be able to park both the RV and your tow vehicle on the pad. There is off-site parking if you can't locate both on your pad. Upon arriving I was told to stay on the paved pads. The angle of the pads off the two campground loops can make this difficult sometimes. No trees except for some scattered palms that give little shade. Lots of birds. I consider the $25 (30 amp standard site), $30 (30 amp premium or 50 amp standard), and $35 (50 amp premium) rate pricey for this park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2009
$30
An excellent family park. The sites were all level and very spacious. We were greeted by Park management at the entrance as soon as we arrived. The park is very clean with several fishing options all within walking distance of our camp site. The nearby beaches were clean and the sand packed hard for easy driving. I use to go to Port Aransas and Rock Port but now: this as my favorite place on the Texas coast. Not many places to spend money. A bait shop is up the road less than a mile. We plan on returning for at least one more visit this season. This might be the best kept secret on the coast. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2009
$30
The RV Park is fine, the best you could expect for a beach RV park. The reason for the 1 rating is the "campground manager" as he calls himself. This "campground manager" is brand new to this RV park and had only been there 2 weeks. I have never had any problems in 22 years of camping, Don't drink, smoke, I go to church, etc. The park is beautiful, but you cannot have any fun because the manager will ride around on his cart and harass every camper. I will NEVER be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2009
$25
My family and I stayed at this park for a weekend getaway. We live in Matagorda county, but we wanted to camp near the beach for the weekend. This is a great park situated where the Colorado river meets the Gulf of Mexico. The sites have concrete pads and are level. There is lots of room between each site so that you don't feel cramped by your neighbors. It is a short walk to the beach and the jetty pier. If you are accustomed to having lots of entertainment by way of restaurants and shops, this is not the place for you, but if you want a peaceful beach setting and fishing opportunities within a few yards of your rig, this is the perfect place. There are a few restaurants to choose from that are good including the Reef and Riverbend, but if you normally do the cooking, be warned that the grocery store is several miles back into town. LCRA has a lighted pier within walking distance of the park and there are lots and lots of birds to watch and take pictures of if you are a bird watcher. Beware during the summer months that mosquitos may be a problem; so, come prepared. Also, as with anything near the beach, be prepared for wind gusts. If you have small children, take care to go further down the beach away from the jetties because of strong rip currents. The only reason this park did not receive a 10 rating from me is because while we were here, we had a very bad thunderstorm and about 5 inches of water was left standing in our site. We had several objects floating around because of it. I did notice that the other sites did not have the same problem; so, we must have been in a low area. We stayed in site #39. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2008
$25
Excellent, very well maintained park. Concrete, level pads throughout. The park is operated by LCRA and that's a pain, but overall, excellent. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2008
$20
This is a nice site on the Colorado River. A short walk takes you to the beach on the Gulf of Mexico. Very clean and quiet site with nice people in the office. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2008
$30
This is a Lower Colorado River Authority Park (LCRA) built with taxpayer dollars. The very nice concrete sites have patios and tables. It was extremely windy and the sea spray mixed with the sand left a gritty film all over the rig. It is close to the beach area and public parking, etc. There is surf fishing and river fishing. Make sure you are fully supplied as it is a long way to the store. If it wasn't for the wind it would have been OK. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2007
$25
This was our third time to go to Matagorda and now the park is finished but not complete. I was told that Wi-Fi would be coming soon and they are still getting the nature area set up (but it is open, sometimes) no regular hours yet. The park is getting better all the time, the mosquitoes were not bad at the time we were there and I was told that the fishing was great on Friday but it went downhill on Sat. when the cold front blew in. A great time was had anyway. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2006
$25
This is a new park, only opening Summer of 2006. we were very impressed with the spaciousness of the campsites and there were quite a few waterfront sites. The fish were not biting but others have told us the fishing is really good. Our only compliant was not with the park but with the swing bridge to get there. The bridge master did not have the bridge adjusted properly, it was a low tied, and that cost us over $750 in damage to our 40' coach. Needless to say we will not be returning until a new bridge is built, they say in about 2 years! It is a shame with the park being so nice, also beach combing was great! Anyway, motor coaches beware the swing bridge! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2006
$25
This park was still under construction at the time we were there, rest rooms/showers and nature center were not finished but sites are very nice and completed. Great fishing both on the river and on the gulf pier, both are free. The grounds are well kept but the mosquitoes were real bad at times, make sure to take repellent and/or something to treat the grounds, the campground tries hard to treat them but it is a losing battle. Will definitely go back for the fishing. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com