220830 User submitted reviews online!!
Cutty's Des Moines Camping Club, Inc was rated 6 out of 10 based on 46 user reviews. Phone: (515) 986-3929
CGID6191

Cutty's Des Moines Camping Club, Inc

Camp Information
Sites
525
Date of Stay
July 2013
Latest Rate
$10



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   4   8   9   5   5   5   8   10   1   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$10
Past reviews are pretty much current. The WIFI is very slow and only available at the clubhouse. Sites are gravel and need maintenance. The internal roads are dated and rough. Spaces are very tight. The campground is filled with many long term campers. I would stay at a near by COE CG before I would stay here in the future. My C to C Premium rate was $0.00 We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2012
$10
Rate was coast to coast rate. The sign at the gate says it is a 5-star resort, but that must be only in their dreams. When checking in, I asked for a site away from others and away from dogs. I even commented the person in front of us had a dog. When we got to our site, I realize the guy at check-in did not care and put us right beside the people in front of us in line. The sites are extremely close together and they look like the park does not even try to make them level. We called the office and told them we were moving to another site a few rows over. The map we received of the park was outdated and the laundry room was closed near where we were parked. The only laundry room was in an odd location forcing you to go through the shower and pool locker room to get to it. It also only had 3 washers and dryers for over 500 sites, but only cost one dollar per wash. At least the room had air conditioning and was clean. There was a lot of old dried up dog crap outside the building to give you an idea of how they maintain the grounds. The map we received had a hand written note no parking on grass, but with such small sites most people ignored that. The roads in the park are all gravel and rutted with some sites having deep ruts to go through just to get into your site. The traffic noise from the interstate is endless, but we kept our A/C on to drown out the noise. Some good things about the park is there are a lot of facilities such as indoor pool, exercise room and a lake with lots of ducks. We will probably look for a quieter park when we come through here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$10
The rate was a Coast to Coast rate. This is an older, member owned park and as such is very well kept. The gravel interior roads are dusty but everyone we saw was considerate and drove slow. The on-site camping store had a lot of commonly needed parts on hand. The electrical system is new and offers 20/30/50A on each post. The only drawback for us was being at the end of the park beside I-80 so noise was loud. Next time we will ask to be in a back-in site away from the highway. We will camp here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$10
Rate Coast to Coast. Very nice campground, the only problem was we were unable to get a Wi-Fi signal where we were parked. Staff was friendly. Would go back if we are in the area again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2012
$22
Camped here for one night. Site was grass and not level even though I asked for a level site. We had no sewer hookup, just water and electric. Excellent VZW 3G signal so I didn't miss the fact that the Wi-Fi is only at hot spots at the store and the club house. Site was shaded and pleasant, though unpaved. There is some highway noise. There are two indoor pools here, but we did not use any of the facilities as we were passing through. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2012
$10
The first night the water for showers was barely lukewarm. The second night I got scalded everytime someone flushed a toilet and the shower flooded due to a plugged drain. My site was a gravel/dirt premium pull through site with good shade; some sites are out in the open. It was about 55 feet long and so close to the interstate that loud traffic noises lasted all night. Roads were gravel and narrow making for tight turns. They like speed bumps here. Rate is coast to coast. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2012
$44
Sites not level, interior roads poor and narrow, campsites close together. Wouldn't stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$22
Rate quoted is PA. Excellent Verizon data & voice. Excellent air TV. level sites. Very large campground, near freeways, but noise not excessive in north sites. Indoor and outdoor pool. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2012
$22
I just love when Coast to Coast and Passport members rate a park so critically all the while they're paying 1/2 price or less. Ain't right. Look folks, if you want primo, pristine facilities then look for - and be willing to PAY for - those type of RV parks. We are full timers who wanted a place to lay over several days for the Easter holiday to attend church. We paid the PA rate of $22 a night. We arrived with a great attitude and were treated like royalty. They allowed us to drive through and chose our level, back-in, shady site right by the interstate. And loved it. We were greeted by a couple of regular campers who couldn't have been nicer, helped us park, and gave us tips for a restaurant in the area. Cutty's has been a private camping club for 35 years. Is it showing it's age? Yep. But like this old woman, functions just fine ;) Would absolutely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
March 2012
$22
Whoever rates this place a 10 or even close is not being honest and may be connected to the club. We are full timers and have RV'ed all over the country and Cutty's is the worst of any that we have ever stayed. Even at the $22.00 half price rate for passport and coast to coast it is not a good deal. The Corp of Engineers Parks at nearby Saylorville Lake are much nice and less money. The Lake at Cutty's is a mud hole and has no fish other than the over populated Carp. The Place is run down and un-repaired with very few level sites. The Wi-Fi is only available to a small percentage of sites, TV channels are hard to get and the Interstate noise is VERY LOUD ! The only good thing I can say is the place is well kept and looks good out front but once you get in it's a different story. Not even worthy of an over night stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2011
$22
Nice setting, but the interior roads are a little narrow and needed some upkeep. Good utility hookups. The pull-throughs are back-to-back hookups, and something I didn't realize until the morning I left was that my pull-through was a tandem back-to-back site designed for 2 RV's front to back on one pull-through drive. That's the first time I've run into that kind of setup. The $22 price represents the Passport America rate. In the paper directory, they show a $13.75 PA rate, but it's gone up. Had I known that I might have made another choice. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2011
$24
Very nice campground, we stayed here for 1 week, had a nice site on the lake, we enjoyed the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2011
$10
Wonderful campground that always has something going on. They have an indoor pool and an outdoor pool, so can swim any time. Very helpful staff. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2011
$10
Well, we loved this park. Coast to coast for $10 & no additional charges as most coast to coast parks. Since our front AC is out, we asked for a shady space. The friendly staffer gave us a space in the Y section with great shade, and pull through. We gave up sewer for the shade, but there is a dump. Our site is set up to hold additional campers, but there were none, so plenty of space, overlooking the playground & lake. Our site was level and with 50 amp, good power. They give everyone a coupon for a free ice cream cone. Which we enjoyed along with purchasing a second one for my spouse. Hot food at the store looked great. Saw a pork tenderloin that looked wonderful & big enough for 2. Also saw someone take out 5 huge pizza's. People were bragging on the food. Each Fri. & Sat. at 7 is a hayride. There is a church service at 10 on Sun. Seems like a great family park. The store & putt putt are closest to the interstate, but sites close to those would surely have road noise. We would definitely camp here again when in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2011
$22
Although I was careful to read reviews regarding RV park campgrounds prior to setting up our traveling agenda, I must have misread something regarding this park. Even though it is billed as a "resort", I fail to see how much enjoyment can be had by extremely crowded, narrow aisle roads, and uneven sites could bring. Unfortunately we were disappointed in this choice and would not be back again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2011
$22
We paid Passport America rate. CG would be a rip-off at full rate. Very few channels with antenna. Good laundry: $1 dry and $1 wash. Well-stocked RV parts store. Some roads crumbling and very narrow; narrow sites w/side-by-side hookups. Lots of road noise from I-80. Not level. The shady sites were reserved for members. The CG looks good on paper/internet, but it disappoints. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$22
After reading previous reviews we were skeptical. However, we were treated professionally, both over the phone and in the office upon arrival. We were in the "Y" section of the huge park and didn't get the Wi-Fi. When I called I mentioned muddy spots from previous posts and they commented that those issues had been remedied. No noisy teens. Overall very quiet. We were here for just one night so we didn't even see the bath houses or pool, nor did we need to unhook the car. There is a beautiful lake in the center of the park and the premium sites close by seem to be available for their members only. All spots are very close together, but getting in and out was no problem. When hooking up we noticed that the sewer pipe was broken just below ground level, but the hose still fit in and was held in place using the metal sewer cap provided. No problems with draining our tanks. We had a good 3G cell signal, so with our smart phone as a modem, we had no issues with net access. We also got a good satellite signal. We were told that we could move to another site nearby if necessary to access our satellite, but it wasn't necessary. Overall, very comfortable and easy to access while traveling through Des Moines. Their address is not correct in the PA book. It is 10500 NW 54th Ave. The city apparently changed the address recently. GPS took us right there. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2011
$44
There is not a good thing to say about Cuttys in Grimes, Ia. Most everything they advertise is exaggerated. Wi-Fi is only available in a handful of sites, sites are ALL unlevel, most employees are unfriendly, rude & usually unable to help because they just don't know. I could go on and on so I'll just say that it is very poorly managed, although it looks good out front that's where it ends, maintenance and upkeep are almost nonexistent. Too many teenagers roaming around late at night, quiet hour isn't until 11pm but there is no security around so it can be loud even later. The rates are higher than advertised, $44.40 is the new rate. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2011
$22
Park gets a higher rating and the site gets a lower rating so this is the average. Passport America rate including tax. Site was not level and supposed to be gravel but hardly any gravel left so when it rained, which it did in record numbers, it was a mud pit. Free WiFi was spotty. We may stay here again as family is planning a mini-reunion next year, but will hope for more sun and more gravel. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2011
$22
According to our new Passport America book, the PA rate here is $13.75 and there are 4 "comfort stations". We arrived on a day when it had been raining all day. The sites were full of mud puddles and ruts. The lady at check in informed me the price had gone up. Yup, from $13.75 to $20.20! Then we discovered the showers/bathrooms (comfort stations) were not open yet. She said the water had just been turned on. Yikes. There is no cable TV, but we got 19 channels with our converter box. The internet is iffy, at best, and when I called the office, the lady knew absolutely nothing about it. There is a lake here and many amenities for families. I'm sure on a sunny day we would have been impressed with it. The setting is quite lovely. We just stayed at another PA for $15 that had this place beat all to heck. Guess we are spoiled. Might check this place out again on a sunny day, or not. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$14
A wonderful park! We stayed one night using Passport America for $13.75 and found the staff to be very friendly and the amenities were great. They offer a repair service and since our slide-out topper was giving us a problem, I asked for someone to look at it. The maintenance man came and fixed it for me and wouldn't take payment! I would highly recommend this park to anyone. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2010
$14
This park is a prime example of "you get what you pay for". Wireless internet broadcast is very weak. We did laundry here, and while it's cheap ($1.25 for 28 minute wash and $1.00 for 44 minute dry), the laundry room smelled like a cat had gotten locked in there for a week! On the plus side, staff is friendly, the lake is pretty, our site was level, and there are plenty of shade trees. Good for a short stay, but do your laundry elsewhere. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2010
$14
Priced right at $14 a night for CCUSA members. Had full hookups with 50 amps. Interior roads need work due to being washed out. Site wasn't very level. On way out of the park the automatic gate wasn't working so they had to call repairman to fix it to allow us to leave. Did this all pretty quickly. If you have a tow car this park was conveniently located as a jumping off place to see Bridges of Madison County in Winterset, Iowa. All in all not bad for the money. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2010
$13
We stayed 3 nights at PA rates. Pull through sites are down a hill on gravel roads that had washed out with big ruts. They gave us an option of a clear site so we could set up satellite dish. WiFi only at clubhouse. Interstate noise not an issue on pull through sites. Many trees need trimmed to keep roads and overhead clear. Park is older with many of the roads and sites in need of maintenance. Buildings need repair and paint. Park should open up for all public to increase usage, not just camping club members and use the increased revenue for maintenance. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2010
$14
Lousy method for check in. Huge park, lots of RV's and they line you up at the gate to check in one at a time. Those returning to the park can wait in the same long line if they don't get a card for the alternate gate. We believe because we used our PA discount we were given a spot in the least desirable area of the park. The first spot we were directed to had poor drainage, and due to recent rains it was a swamp. We set up in another spot that was better, but water was oozing out of the sewer area and due to the leaking water and mud you couldn't use one end of the pull through space. Had to call security because of fireworks in the park. Pools looked nice. Advertised jacuzzi, couldn't use as was drained. Shower rooms was too hot to use, no air conditioning. It was quiet for us most of the time. Other RV'ers weren't as lucky with so many rowdy children in the park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$10
We stayed here on Coast to Coast and were pleased to have full hookups and 50 amp which some don't provide to visitors. It poured for days while we were here and it was extremely muddy. Some interior roads are not in good condition and dirt, but as soon as the rain stopped they were grading them. They broke a water fixture of ours and made a point of telling us, replacing it and then following up to be sure we were okay with the replacement. Good location to Des Moines and West Des Moines. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2010
$1
We belong to this campground and have camped here many times, and have always enjoyed staying here. They are very friendly and extremely helpful whenever we have needed help. There are many special activities and regular activities for the family. Very kid friendly and pet friendly. We are looking forward to this summer season. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2009
$14
Big facility, but well-kept and clean. Wi-Fi only in clubhouse area. Clean showers & Bathrooms. Great value and convenient location to Des Moines area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2009
$14
Prior post complained about tight roads. We had no problem with access in our 38 ft Diesel Pusher plus toad. We did have a problem with the sites being seriously out of level. Even on leveling blocks we were not level. The pull thru sites are side-by-side facing opposite directions. So, one one side there is lots of room. On the other side, you are butted up tight against your neighbor. The showers and bathrooms were clean. Great exercise room. Super indoor pool heated to about 90 degrees. The hot tub and sauna were both closed for the season by mid-October. Wi-Fi available only in the clubhouse/pool area. Highway access is very good. Highway noise would be a problem for us if we camped here in warm weather with the windows open. For $14 a night on Passport America, not a bad deal. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$10
The people who work here are very nice. The place is enormous, I never even saw all of it. Lots of kids whizzing around on bicycles. Lots of geese and ducks at the lake, lots of droppings where they hang out. The Coast to Coast sites are open so no problem getting satellite. Wi-Fi was spotty. There's a Super Target just down the street which is handy, also a Home Depot. I will stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2009
$12
This campground was a Coast to Coast. So that is why the price is only $12. The bathrooms were so filthy, the showers would not drain, and the faucet was confusing for the hot water. We will not go back to this campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$10
Big Rig access is checked, I won't dispute this but sure doubt it. We were super tight with our 35' fifth wheel. Check in is extremely slow and inefficient. Spaces are very tight and very close and virtually, or literally, no place to park tow truck or toad. Two out of 3 laundries do not work (one has no appliances). The sites are unlevel, picnic tables if you happen to get one, are old and dilapidated. Just a tough spot for rigs over 30'. We camped here as a Coast to Coast guest (hence the $10 rate). On the positive side the water and electric are good (although you may need an extension cord to reach the electric). For $10 I might stay here again but doubt it. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$14
We stayed here several years ago and didn't remember a lot about the park, but it was much nicer than we anticipated. It was quiet and clean. Our only complaint was when we came back to the park one time the line to get in was very long with the lead vehicle conducting business in the gatehouse. Finally one of the staff came and opened the other gate for those of us just trying to get in. Later we found that if we left our Passport America card they would give us a key card for the keyed gate. Thank goodness because we didn't get back one night until after the gatehouse was closed. We wish they would have informed us of that option when we checked in. It's nice that they pick up your trash twice a day. The space we were in was small, but OK since we were only there 2 nights. We would absolutely stay here again when in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
May 2009
$27
For a so called 5 star resort, this does not live up to what it should be. Very run down and "shoddy". Would only stay there again if there was no alternative. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2008
$42
This resort was a real surprise. They have a nice recreation center with a good assortment of exercise equipment (weights and cardio) also some machines that you lay on and they exercise you. Pretty settings with a lot of green space and some ponds. The laundry and showers were immaculate. They also have a Rv repair onsite, and also a store with good assortment of camping/RV supplies. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2008
$14
We found Cutty's via the Passport America book, which is why we stayed for such a low rate -- they honored the 50% PA discount. This is a very large, very nice, well-kept park and they appear to run quite a tight ship around here. Everything is immaculately mowed and maintained. I can see where a previous reviewer would have a point about room between rigs in certain areas -- we lucked out, I suppose, in that they (even without me asking for it) placed us in a nice, pull-through spot with no neighbors anywhere close. In a park this crowded, that's quite a trick. At full price, I'd say this park is a good deal. At the price we paid, an absolute steal. It's a little too proximate to I-80/I-35 to be a "peace and quiet" camp, but the overall feel here is relaxing and we'd gladly stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2008
$14
Would not stay here again unless it was an absolute emergency. This park is a "Coast to Coast 5 Star Resort" according to the plaque at the most impressive park entrance and from first appearances, it looked like that's what we were pulling into. However, once around the bend and we could actually see the sites, it was a totally different story. Tiny little sites so narrow that if you could get your awning out at all, you'd have the neighbor's sewer and electric/water hookups under your awning. Out of 525 sites, only 20 were 50 amp. There were big rigs in here but there was barely room. Main roads were fine but the paths the sites were on were way too narrow for comfortable manuevering. Tons of kids. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2008
$27
This is a very large park and is kept very nice. The location is excellent in regards to the city of Des Moines. The park is Coast to Coast and also takes Passport America. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2008
$14
We found this park in Passport America. It is not listed in Trailer Life. There are lots of amenities that we did not use because we only stayed overnight. Close to the interstate and Des Moines. Great place for an overnighter, especially if you have Passport, and, although we didn't use any of the amenities, it looks like a lot of people stay there and do. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2008
$27
This is a very nice campground considering it suffered some problems after all the flooding that occurred in the area. Some of the sites didn't have sewer due to the flooding. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2008
$27
This is a camping club park and most of the sites are reserved for members. The sites available were for the most part not level. The park does have lots of amenities including a nice club house, miniature golf, pool, c-store and snack bar, among others. This is a PA park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2008
$10
Rate is for C2C. Could be very busy in season. We had to change sites because the first site they assigned to us was under water (3 to 6 inches deep). The next site was dirt and very muddy. They had a lot of rain, several days before, but did little to get off their butts and see what the sites looked like. A park this big should escort you to your site. Many many seasonal sites, but neat, not trashy. This could have been a much better experience if they took time to practice good guess relation. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
April 2008
$13
Good for 1 night stopover. Sites are close. We had 3' between us and the motor home next to us. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2007
$27
I do not think there is a level spot in this entire park. We spent the first few nights parked directly across from a travel trailer that was very noisy. The door into the camper was in such bad shape that the folks had to really slam the door to get it to latch. There never was any adult supervision at that camper. Someone was coming or going from that camper constantly. I am convinced that whoever occupied the camper slept all day and partied all night. It was extremely annoying. The park management allowed us to move when we asked them. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2007
$27
For the time we were there the manager and wife spent most of their time trying to hook us up some sort medicine plan that would fix us for life. For a minimum of 12 hundred dollars we could start the program. My wife is a disabled vet and takes several prescriptions and they promised that within 6 months she could drop at least half of them. The park was nasty and I picked up over 3 bags of litter in my area alone during the time we were there. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2006
$27
Many amenities; sauna, hot tub, indoor pool, two outdoor pools, RV shop and repair all with a small lake in the center. Listed as a 4 star resort. Caution, this is a coop resort that sells permanent spots. Many full time units on site. Sites are very close together and the camp was pretty full for November. Nice place, like Holiday Inn deluxe meets KOA, but not the place for privacy. Looks to be great for young families with children. May be hard to get a spot in the summer especially on the week end. Open year round. Would stay again if close quarters were okay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com