218844 User submitted reviews online!!
Moosemeadow Camping Resort was rated 6 out of 10 based on 17 user reviews. Phone: (860) 429-7451
CGID620

Moosemeadow Camping Resort

Camp Information
Sites
122
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$45



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
no
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   5   4   5   8   3   9   4   9   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  no  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  no  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2014
$45
We now plan on stopping here before the final push home to Maine. It's a nice park with level lots and pleasant hosts. They even have an adults-only swim hour each afternoon. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2013
$50
We have camped there for approximately 8 years as a seasonal and have been treated like we are not welcome for most of the time. Rules are made up according to what management feels for the moment and when the property is abused it is assumed that the seasonal people can be the only ones responsible for any damages. Not handicap friendly - no pool access, bathrooms entrances too narrow, all buildings have stairs only no ramps. They boast holiday weekends packed with family fun, however it usually consists of one activity appealing to the pre-teen and mid-teen ages and a very bad DJ. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
September 2013
$42
This is a rustic park about 8 miles off the interstate. As mentioned in previous reviews the road to the campground is narrow and we would have had to pull over if another vehicle was coming towards us. They didn't have a pull thru site for us, but they let us pull across two electric/water sites so that worked fine. The amenities seem very nice, but we were only there overnight so we didn't use them. There is a very tight left turn on the way out. We thought we would have to unhook to make the turn, but we just made it. That certainly would have made having the pull thru pointless. Overall, it was a nice campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2013
$55
I wouldn't say this park is "big rig" friendly. The access road is a very narrow, a twisting road with trees rattling your antennas. Our site was grass and not level. Front jacks fully extended, wheels off the ground. We thought there was an emergency when we heard a very loud siren. It was the owner (or staff) giving kids rides around the park in an old fire engine. Painfully loud but the driver was wearing ear protection! Leaving the park was not fun. Had to unhook to make the tight turn at the exit. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$40
Nice, small park - little pricey for it's amenities. Pretty setting and nice staff. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
September 2011
$40
I really don't know where to begin with this review! We have never had to stop over in this area on our way to Maine but due to motorhome problems, this year was an exception. I called about an hour away to make sure they had pull though sites available since we didn't want to unhook the car from motorhome for a quick overnight stay, which the woman that answered the phone assured me they did. Getting to this campground is a problem since it is a very narrow road. We met a few school buses, and either we stopped or the school bus stopped because there is no way a motorhome and school bus can pass safely beside each other. When we checked in we asked for a pull through and the lady just laughed. In fact that is all she did - started wondering if she wasn't on something - really weird! What we actually got was strange - never in 30 years of RVing have we run across this. She had us pull in length wise to 4 back in sites (which means we were blocking 4 back in sites) and that is what she was calling a pull through!!! I will say it worked out fine, just seemed strange! Also at check in the price quoted on the phone an hour before we got there ended up being $10 higher when we got there!!! Although Woodalls and the woman stated they have pull throughs, I did not see one. When we were leaving the next morning, we exited the way the campground instructs. Oh boy, what a mess. In the motorhome we had to take a hard left, which is a very narrow area with rocks on the right hand side of the road. I got out of the motorhome and the right hand side of the motorhome came within inches, and I really mean inches of the rocks!! This is not a place we would stay again and hope we will never have to! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2008
$50
This was my first time back to Moosemeadow since 1995. While the campground has been downsized significantly since that time, it is still the same great family campground it has always been. The same family has been running Moosemeadow since the 70's and they have it right. They do not have extensive rules and regulations. As long as you respect your fellow campers, you will be fine. We were there over Memorial Day weekend for my grandchildren's (1&3 y/o) first camping experience. Moosemeadow is the same place I brought my own kids for their first experience many years ago. This is a true family campground with many activities for everyone. Over the holiday weekend there were 3 musical acts and a hypnotist show. There is a playground with 2 climbing structures w/slides, a sandbox (bring your own toys), and swings in both toddler and regular sizes. There were 2 firetruck rides and a wagon ride offered for children only. 3 movies were shown in the club house. There were softball and horseshoe tournaments. The campground also has a (dated) mini gold course, tennis courts and shuffleboard. The campground was sold out for the holiday weekend, and it seemed that every camper had at least one dog, but I honestly never saw any problems with them, and there was a shockingly low incidince of barking. The only swimming available here is in the pool (large, clean) and toddler wading pools. It was too chilly to make use of them this early in the season. There is also a very small "fishing" pond, but the only thing we saw anyone catch was tadpoles and crayfish. There is a small camp store that was well stocked and carried wonderful baked goods, a small game room with 2 pool tables, air hockey, and a few video games, and a coin op laundry. We will definitely be back again We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2007
$45
The staff was just plain old mean. I was forced to move my camper 3 times. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2007
$40
This campground has a ton to offer and lots of activities for the kids. We visit here at least 2- 3 times a season. Friendly people. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2007
$45
Like the 1st review on this CG, we also stayed over for the night after returning from Maine to NJ. I wasn't looking for anything great & I found it. Paid $45 e/w site. The pool was nasty, so no swimming. The grounds were dirty with bottles & dog treats. The turn into the dump stations was a tight & steep rocky turn. They did have a DJ on Saturday eve & it was a busy hot weekend for them. I didn't like being charged $1.00 per minute for internet, since I only logged on for 2 minutes for some banking. Good overnight stop only 5 miles west of 84. Next time I'll dump for free at the Rte-84 info station by exit 70 & crashed there for a few hours. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2007
$45
Great park, used to camp here when I was a kid, even though we live only a few miles away. Would love to camp here again! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2007
$42
This could be a very nice campground except for its poor interior roads and even worse electrification . The voltage available on the 30 amp sites was between 100 and 105 . Not high enough to run appliances without slowly damaging them . The interior roads were narrow and dusty and the banked curve before the dump station banks much to steeply. The infrastructure of this campground needs work before we will return . We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2006
$32
It's a great campground. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2006
$30
We have stayed in this park several times, usually as a one-night stopover. We've found it to be quiet and pretty well run, although we have always been there mid-week and the park has been far from full. There is a large field in back of the park where one can exercise your dog. The pool looks nice, although we have never used it. We found it to be an okay place. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2005
$34
This is a nice smaller campground, great for a weekend getaway. The staff is very friendly and the campers I met were all very friendly. The sites are good size and well maintained with a nice full lawn areas. I would recommend this campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2004
$33
I was pleasantly surprised to find such a nice campground in a rural area in Connecticut. The campground was clean and well maintained. It has a lot of facilities and a great activities program for children and adults. We were planning to stay for only one night but ended up staying for four nights. I highly recommend Moosemeadow to any and all families. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
2004
$35
Restrooms were dirty, toilets plugged in mens room, no soap provided. Qiuet hours were not monitored or when asked to--not enforced so we left a day early. Water at site came out brown--Health dept. may be interested in this. Dump station cover was a rubber flap with a rock on top. They allowed drinking so the voices got loud and music/radios was heard many sites away. Campground Rep that I complained to said "I cannot ask people to stop talking" No but you can ask them to turn down the radios, talk softly so not to disturb sites next to them, stop swearing, keep the kids quiet, do not slam doors, keep dogs from barking. We had just driven 360 miles from Maine on our way home to NJ --to break up our 560 mile trip home--it was one of our worst experiences camping in 15 years. We were in the minority at this campground about the definition of quiet hours meaning to us: during quiet hours the sound from your site should not keep anyone from sleeping on another site or disturb them from enjoying a campfire or other activity they were trying to enjoy. And we were in a travel trailer! It was so bad, we put out our fire and went inside the travel trailer trying to escape the noise. We had to turn on the AC to try to drown out some of the noise. It is a party atmosphere there (they allow the drinking of alcohol--which is fine if done sensibly and monitored by the park staff (it was not)--so we will never go there again and discourage others from making the same mistake we did. And $35 for water and electric--totally overpriced for the quality provided. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com