214562 User submitted reviews online!!
Wilderness State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 12 user reviews. Phone: (231) 436-5381
CGID6206

Wilderness State Park

Camp Information
Sites
290
Date of Stay
May 2014
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   5   8   8   8   9   7   9   9   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2014
$25
Our favorite park in Michigan. Staff are friendly and helpful. Have stayed in both lakeside sites and up in the pines (a lot nicer up there during cold weather). Absolutely love the access to the donuts down the road! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2013
$27
Very appropriate name for the park. We followed the directions in the CG Book that said to follow the signs. There was 1 sign in Mackinaw City and no more. The road was so rough on the way that we could not go over 20 mph. The 10 miles was more like 15 miles. You will get a true idea of dark when you go out at night. There is nothing to do there unless you are a reader. I finished 2 books while sitting there a day. The park is nice but not worth the trip on those roads. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$20
Nice size sites in the Pines Campground area, little smaller and closer together in the lake front campground. Historic Civilian Conservation Corp site. Lots of shade. Great, extensive hiking trails. Two stores, one located at each end of the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$23
We were in the Pines section of this state park. The Lakeshore section is like an entirely different park. The road in the Pines was excellent and all the sites had paved pads and electric hookups. The water fills were very conveniently placed. The road in the Lakeshore section are basically gone and the sites are grass or dirt. The sites in the Pines are quite large where those in the Lakeshore section are much smaller. I would say that if you have a big rig you would want to be in the Pines section even though it is not on the water. The restrooms in the Pines section were very clean and tiled. I did not go into the Lakeshore bathrooms. The road into this park is in need of some work and quite rough. We would definitely come back but only to the Pines area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2010
$24
Road in although paved is very rough. Stayed in campground section on the lake. Sites are medium size, suitable for modest size rigs. Roads are wide. Trees leaning over road that show signs of being hit before were being removed. Sites along lake are sandy and relatively open; interior sites are shady and covered in pine needles. Lots of beach area. Hope to go back! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$28
Beautiful country. There are wooded sites in 'Lakeshore' loop. Some of the lakefront sites are wide enough to pull the trailer curbside facing the lake. It is family friendly with lots of trails. There is a great pond for the youngins to go fishing. The outdoor theater is a treat. A good sandy beach areas on Lake Michigan. There is a nice little general store/coffee bar just a mile up the road. The youngsters loved the nature center- very informative. The 'Pines' loop is more wide open. Too bad most Michigan State Park's don't have full hooks, otherwise it would be a '10'. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2008
$27
Had site right on water with views of UP. You could walk from your site through a trail and site on the beach. Nice. Tons of bike and walking trails. Close to town and UP. Only complaint is showers. You had to keep pushing the button on the wall for the shower water to keep running. Not a problem, they did get you clean, just annoying. The sites along the beach were all sand, so be prepared with a broom. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2008
$28
Beautiful beaches to walk, fish and swim. Wonderful woods with nature trails. A large wilderness area. Sites have fire pits and picnic tables. Sites are at least 40' wide. Paved pads and access roads. Plenty of staff. Very family friendly. Twenty minutes from town with all the major tourist attractions. This would be a ten if it had water and sewer at sites. In the newer Pines campground many sites are close enough to a water tap to run a hose to fill fresh water tanks. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2008
$27
I believe we were the first campers for the 2008 season. We arrived mid April in mid week to find a maintenance guy hooking up the power. All the picnic tables were still neatly stored on their sides for the winter. Snow was still under trees. Ice was still 50' out from the beach. Beautiful park & we had it all to ourselves for a couple nights. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2007
$27
Resting on the shores of Lake Michigan this park is a gem. Many sandy water front sites or if you prefer, wooded sites with long asphalt pads for big RVs are available. The park is remote - 11 miles from town but offers great camping with a beach and other camping activities offered by state parks. We were able to get satellite in the beach campground after carefully selecting our site. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2007
$27
One of the best campgrounds we have been to. This campground is very close to the beach and the beach is great. They have many trails and the park is very close to Mackinaw city where you adults and children can do just about anything. We will be back next year. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2006
$25
Great State Park. Beach and sand for kids and young folks and paved sites in the Pines for us older folks. Fresh donuts at the Wilderness General Store every morning. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com