218896 User submitted reviews online!!
Monterey Fairgrounds was rated 6 out of 10 based on 29 user reviews. Phone: (831) 372-5863
CGID6217

Monterey Fairgrounds

Camp Information
Sites
27
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$50



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
2   1   6   7   8   7   5   7   7   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
June 2014
$50
A campground has to be exceptional for me to rate it a 10. On the other hand it has to be really poor for me to rate it a 1 or 2. I gave the campground a 2 just because of location (plus voltage was a steady 120 volts). That being said, this is not really big rig friendly. A big dip coming in, so your going to drag, I removed my tow bar and did not hook up until I departed. They advertise wide sites, but our was only 15-16' wide, did not open slide on drivers side, so we would not infringe on our neighbors. Sites not level, so bring plenty of cribbing. Wife did a load of laundry (1 washer 1 dryer) and was satisfied. So unless you want to be close to Monterey, or have an event at the fairgrounds, I would suggest another campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2012
$50
Absolute disgrace. The entry showed that obviously many vehicles had grounded upon entry or exiting, so very rough. The host has a table out front full of rubbish and a very untidy area. Very little room to maneuver into site which was very narrow. The (mens) toilet room was disgusting and over the 3 nights and 4 days we stayed it was never cleaned. Laundry has one washer, one dryer and no water or tubs. Worst bathroom facilities we have seen. Obviously this is just a money maker where the fairgrounds get the attention. Planes taking off and landing right overhead due to the airport next door and we had to sign a waiver in case of golf ball damage from the golf course over the fence. We would definitely not stay again or recommend this to anyone. In our opinion this is $30 per night overpriced and whoever is overseeing this facility needs to inspect other campground to see how it should be done. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
February 2012
$40
Call first to make a reservation before arriving. Access through fairgrounds gate 6. Site paved back-in and very unlevel. The campground is no more than a paved parking lot with a few trees. Utilities are shared between two sites. With only one power pedestal one RV gets 50 amp and the other 30 amp. One of the water taps leaked. Sewer drains recessed which worked well. No cable TV, but plenty of channels from antenna. Wi-Fi weak and useless half of the time. Adjacent airport meant a certain amount of noise beginning at 5:30 AM. One redeeming feature was its proximity to Monterey downtown; just a quick bus ride. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2012
$40
Tight to get in and out of is correct. Eyes must be looking five directions. Be watchful of low branches, while maneuvering I kissed a tree branch with the top of my fifth wheel. Thankfully I was going slow and watching. Camp host was friendly and courteous. Agree with posts about some sites not being level. Restrooms were clean and functional. When camping here and you have a longer rig bring extra water/sewer hoses because half of the spaces connect on the door side of unit. Wi-Fi was worthless and not reliable during our visit. Stayed here for three nights. Pleasant stay for a reasonable price. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2011
$40
Not a bad place to RV for the price considering the alternatives in the area. We called and made reservations with the camp host, who was very helpful both on the phone and when we arrived. The sites “share” pedestals and can be quite narrow if the grounds are full, but the host tries to keep spaces open between people for this reason. Odd numbered sites have the pedestal on the correct side of the RV, but it’s first come first served for the 50A connection. Have power plug adapters ready, but there are double water lines and double sewer connections at each site. You have a choice of either asphalt or grass parking. The asphalt paved area is noticeably sloped downwards towards the street from where you enter. Take note if you end up against the golf course, you will NOT be able to use the sewer drain unless you have either a macerator pump or you can suspend the laws of gravity for a few minutes. No dump station on site. The grass parking area is pretty much level and didn’t seem to get muddy at all during the weekend rains. The host put us in an asphalt spot with the rear window facing the public golf course. I was concerned about errant golf balls hitting the camper and wouldn’t you know it, within 10 minutes of being unhooked: ”Wham!” No damage, but not anyone’s fault really. In retrospect, probably should’ve taken one of the spots down in the grass area as the other asphalt spots against the horse stables (preferable for avoiding golf balls AND for the slope of the parking area), were already filled up. Bring plenty of leveling blocks as you will certainly need them in the asphalt area. Airport flight path is overhead, but since the airport has limited traffic during the day and has a curfew at night, we didn’t find it to be an issue. There are some BRIGHT lights in this campground so be prepared with blackout window coverings if you need that kind of thing to sleep. We will definitely return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2011
$36
Agree with previous evaluation. Some of the parking lot is level, while blocks are needed on others. Quiet except for late afternoon plane arrivals that go over the golf course next door. Campers have to ask for the 10% senior discount. Some sites have 50 amp. Wi-Fi about average during quiet hours. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
November 2011
$40
Nice and close to Monterrey and Pacific Grove so was convenient for our 3 day stay and the price was good, but the wi-fi was not working and the uneven spot we selected required blocks under our jacks to level the motorhome. Be careful when entering through Gate 6. The dip may cause your hitch to drag as you will see as you approach the driveway from the drag marks in the pavement. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2011
$25
Tight to get in and out of many spaces especially when busy but the camp host was a really friendly and efficient guy who seemed more than happy to help anyone out. Basic campground but really close to Monterey and lots of great things to do - and MASSIVELY less expensive than all the other RV sites on this coastline. Just drive REALLY slowly in and out as it's very easy to drag rear jacks/RV undercarriage on the asphalt due to water drainage channel creating a dip. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2011
$40
Basically a parking lot on the fairgrounds, but with clean facilities, good Wi-Fi (if you ask for a spot with reception), and very nice host. Great location near Monterey. We stayed here one night and would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
November 2010
$40
We spent on night here when traveling through - we thought we wanted to be as near Monterey as possible - recommended for totally self contained units only - the shower house has one toilet and one shower each with no benches, clothing hooks, or privacy - in fact the doors don't even lock and there is no security to the outside neighborhood - paved parking area that is on a slant! bring all of the leveling blocks you can find! PLUS, all hookups will be at the rear of your unit (and maybe even on an adjoining site) so bring extensions! - the campground host was awesome and most accommodating helping everyone as best he could to have an enjoyable stay (and recommended an awesome restaurant close by) We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$36
Camp host was accommodating and friendly. Sites on asphalt are sloped making leveling difficult. Could not get satellite reception from our site under the trees. WiFi did not work from our site but Verizon air card worked great. However, you can't beat the location and the price. Bob Dylan was in concert and we could see the stage from the RV lot. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2010
$36
Reason for the 5 rating. RV park is very tight, sites are very narrow (18ft) with no room to park a toad if you have a 40' motorhome. Lot is all asphalt with shared hookups for every two sites: one pedistal with one 50A, one 30A, one 20A. If both sites need 50A, first come first served. Water pressure was the highest I've ever come across, definite need for a pressure reducer. Sites are not level, my air leveling couldn't compensate enough, ended up with slight downhill for my stay. The good points: it's clean and convenient. Close to Canery Row and the Aquarium. IMHO the best site in the park is Site #25: get it if it's available. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
October 2009
$36
I read the reviews that were posted with a rating of 8 and 9, and based on what they had to say, I don't understand how they gave it such a high rating. Yes, it has Wi-Fi, but the camp host told us that it is not available in some sites. We were able to use it, but it was slow and usually our own air card was better. There are only 2 things that make this "campground" better than the others in Monterey; the first and most obvious is the price. Our price of $36. included a 10% senior discount (the regular rate being $40., while the other parks are charging $65-$70 per night). The second thing is the close proximity to the things we wanted to see in Monterey. Basically it is just an asphalt parking lot with hookups, albeit they are on the wrong side of the rig for half of the sites because they are shared. The sites are narrow as well. Yes, we can hear the planes, and yes, they are loud. However, they are not as frequent as some parks we have been in. Getting into the RV section of the fairgrounds is awkward because the camp host is not clearly mark, and if fact the sign that designates the camp host was laying down when we got here. Look for the camp host at the beginning of the RV parking, not in a building office. Also, the camp host has a large dog that is not always on a leash. He is a friendly puppy, but that doesn't make me feel any more comfortable when he comes running up to me, as I have physical limitations. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2009
$36
We found this park a little challenging. The street in front of the gate is grooved where rigs have scraped entering and leaving. Our site had the hook-ups on the back right (about which we were warned), but even had they been on the correct side, it would have been difficult to drain the tanks up the incline to the sewer. The spot was tight, requiring us to park the car across and down the lot from our coach, and our slides nearly touched the neighbor's slides. There is nice shade and the host was helpful. There is airport noise and potential for damage from golf balls. Our rate reflects a 10% senior discount. We would stay again if unavoidable. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2009
$40
Based on prior reviews of this campsite, we stayed 2 nights for an annual Irish Wolfhound get-together in Monterey. Use Gate 6 when you enter the Fairgrounds. The entire area is paved and the host was very friendly. We were originally given site 18, but with our 28', it was a bit tricky to park (there's a tree directly in front of the site). We took site 17 instead, but be aware that hookups are shared and I believe the odd numbers need extensions on sewer, water and electric. There's horse stables and a golf course on either side; very clean and peaceful. There is an airport nearby, but the planes didn't bother us. I thank everyone for being good canine citizens; there was no dog waste to be seen. I will definitely stay here again! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2008
$40
Its a basic site with only one toilet and shower for the men and one for the women. Wi-Fi worked well and the location is excellent for Monterey - we walked into town quite easily. I had considered staying at the Marina Dunes RV park but at $70/night in mid Dec it was too expensive - I could look down on it from the freeway when I drove past and it was quite empty so they are obviously over-pricing. Anyway, the host seemed a nice guy, would recommend if you are visiting Monterey area for a few days and are fully self contained. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2008
$35
Super place to camp to check out the whole beautiful area. Totally paved area with all hookups in the rear of the back-ins. The sewer hookup is probably going to be a bit far away; so you may need to add length to your sewer hose to dump. The host was super friendly and gave us the best spot in the park. The front of the spot was a bit downhill but we got as level as we could. Still wonderful. The airport provides a bit of noise from time to time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2008
$40
This "RV park" is the parking lot right between all the horse stables and a golf course. Each site comes with full hookups, free WI-FI and if you are lucky like we are, a direct view of the stables. It is very clean, well maintained, the host is very helpful and there are several large live oaks that provide shade for some of the sites. This location puts you very close to the old downtown area of Monterey and Fisherman's Wharf, and with a little ambition you could even ride bikes to these areas. Although the Fairgrounds is next to the airport, there is not constant air traffic so the noise is minimal. A couple negatives which caused us to rate this a 6, rather than a 7 - every 2 sites share an electrical box with one 50 amp, one 30 amp, and one 20 amp, so if you're not the first one to get the amps you want, then you're stuck. Also, every-other site has sewer on the passenger side of the rig, so if your sewer hook-up to your rig is on the driver side, you need a long 30' sewer hose (and water and electrical cord too). All that being said, we would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2008
$40
This is good for overnight. They have closed off the grassy area for groups only. Host said they would use the lower grassy area for overflow if needed. Nicest Host but man are we jammed in here! You can sit outside your door 3 ft to the guest next to you..This is a parking lot and a very BRIGHT like Airport light on at night. Clean for a parking lot!! No real privacy. Could not put our awning out!! Close to downtown which is the only good thing. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2008
$40
Convenient to Monterey, and costs, are the biggest draws to this park. Its basically a parking lot in the fairgrounds with some degree of slant. We only stayed 2 nights which was probably the limit. Airport traffic started early and ended late. Spotlight in park was nice for security but very bright. Bathrooms were only cleaned on the second day we were there and Men's sink was broken. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2008
$28
Sites are either asphalt, or grass. We were in an asphalt site which are on quite a bit of a grade and close together. Grass sites appear to be more level. There is an airport near by with takeoff's and landings until 11 at night and starting about 8 AM. So if you are sensitive to noise not a good choice. Amenities are limited, it is a fairgrounds first and foremost, they have bathrooms and shower. They also have 1 set of washer & dryers. Security in some respects is better than most campgrounds. The gates close at 5:30 in the evening and guests have a code for the gate. No code no entry. While the list of Amenities is short it is the only RV park within Monterey and the price definitely beats the alternative at Marina the next nearest park. We would stay here again when in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2008
$70
We camped here for the 23th annual Monterey Blues Festival June 26 - 30, 2008. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2008
$35
The RV sites are just a parking lot and real uneven but very clean. The fairgrounds is a great area for walking the dogs. For the price this was a great deal for the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2008
$35
Wonderful location a few blocks from the action in Monterey. Very helpful camp host. We rode bicycles to the wharf, cannery row, maritime museum, Pacific beach, etc. The only problem we had was the RV park is sloped so much that we were on the lower side of the parking lot and fluids flowed downhill from the campers higher up. I think it was water. And they must be redoing the golf course. Heavy equipment was working nearby into the night, one night. The white noise wasn't too bad. Good value for the location. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2008
$35
This is a great little campground if you're going to be in the Monterey area. Very basic, but has full hookups, and is only minutes from the beach. Would typically rate a place like this a 6, but the camp hosts are so accommodating that I bumped it up to a 7. The Wi-Fi works fine if you're within 50' of the router, but drops off significantly beyond that. Do note, this campground is at the end of a runway, and jets shoot over your head all day long. Which usually isn't too bad since you spend most of the day touring Monterey. We've stayed here three times, and will certainly go back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2008
$35
Very convenient location, close to Monterey tourist sites and highways. Campground hosts are friendly and helpful. Spaces in upper paved area are narrow; hookups are at the back of the sites, I needed 20' foot of sewer hose to connect. TV reception is poor, but there is free WI-FI with strong signal strength. Ten million watt overhead lights on all night - bring blackout shades, you can read inside by these lights. All in all a good RV park with reasonable rates for the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2007
$35
This park is in a central location. It cost $12 to take a cab to Cannery Row. We decided to rent a vehicle and the Camp Host gave me a ride to get a vehicle from the airport rental lot. I was planning on riding my bicycle as it is only 1.5 miles away. We stayed on the concrete with a view of the golf course. Our rig however did get hit by a golf ball. Depending on the site you will need an extra long sewer hose. I needed 30' to make it work. The gate closes at dusk, but the host will give you the code to open the gate after dark. There is only one bath on site (one male. and one female) and I always had a brief wait for a shower. If you are coming to Monterey to see the sites, I highly recommend this site because of the central location. Site also has easy access to public buses. There were not many children, but it was real easy for the kids to bike around and play football. I think kids are welcome, but not many were here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2007
$35
If you want to be really close to Monterey and the surrounding towns, the fairgrounds is the place to stay. However, we're talking very basic. The sites in the "upper level" are paved and "parking lot" style and straight back in. There are some sites in the grassy area and this is the area where we stayed since we did not have the experience to back into the paved sites. In the grassy area, there is some road noise from Fairground Road but it is quiet enough at night. The park is in the flight path to Monterey airport which houses private jets so mornings (6am) and evenings (5pm) were noisy with lots of planes buzzing by. We weren't in the campground in the afternoon to comment on the noise during the day. A washer and dryer were recently installed. We would stay again since we prefer the easy access to the surrounding areas not to mention the cost. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
December 2006
$35
If you want to visit Monterey, this is the place to stay. We were here in the winter, it might be busy in the summer. It's basically a parking lot (the sites aren't dead level but we found it tolerable without levellers) next to a golf course, with some lovely big trees shading some of the spots. Ideally located for touring - 1/2 mile to outstanding Coastal Bik Trail, and 1 block from frequent bus service. Bathrooms could have done with more frequent attention, but since we were almost the only people there we didn't complain. Quite a bit of noise from planes to-ing and fro-ing the airport, which is close by. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com