220931 User submitted reviews online!!
Trap Pond State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 25 user reviews. Phone: (302) 875-5153
CGID622

Trap Pond State Park

Camp Information
Sites
153
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$29



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   8   7   7   8   10   9   8   8   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2014
$29
Very good shade, pull-through (Loop D) was fine for my 30' motorhome; however, I saw the longer RVs struggling with the tight spaces between trees. Other loops (A-C) were more accommodating for the longer RVs; however, the electrical and water services were installed so that adjoining spaces shared a common water facet and the electric boxes were back to back. Swimming is not allowed in the pond; however, can boat and kayak. The conditions for bicycling were excellent within the park and the surrounding state and county roads (wide shoulders both directions). Bathrooms need updating. Laundry was $1.50 per load for each of the washers and dryers. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2014
$29
Nice state park. Our site was fairly level and was a pull through with excellent W/E service. GPS directions on our Rand were a little sketchy both going and coming. Staff was friendly and helpful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2012
$25
Good services, nicely laid out park. Loop D is the only loop allowing pull-throughs, but it doesn't have it's own shower house as the others do. Would stay again. Price reflects 10% Golden Age Pass Discount. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2012
$28
Stayed here over Labor Day weekend and every site in the entire park was reserved. Water pressure was amazing, although the water had a bad taste to it and was kind of cloudy looking. 50 AMP power was fine and the bath house, although dated, was always being cleaned. It rained a lot over the weekend and lots of sand was tracked into the bath houses. The pond was very low on water but was still able to go out in a boat. You have to check each site to see if you will fit, cause some of them have trees all over. No sewer sites at all, but 2 dump stations at the exit. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$28
A very woodsie campground and well maintained. Sites are close together and on the small size but fine on the weekdays. Weekends are a bit noisy. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2012
$28
Wonderful campground. Right by the lake, with great kayaking! Level, wooded spot. Would stay again and recommend to others! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$25
I try to camp here often because of the friendly staff and the activities here. The park is always super clean and security is great. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$24
This was our second stay at Trap Pond. Stayed on B Loop, but would prefer to stay on D Loop. Our site had trees that prevented us from fully extending our awning. Bathrooms always clean. Park is very safe. Lots to do, but we prefer to do a whole lot of nothing when we camp. Full hookups would be nice, but definitely worth settling for W/E. Easter is a fun time to stay here as well as Halloween, but good luck getting in on Halloween weekend. Reservations need to be made in March. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$28
This was a great experience for overnight on our trip. Easy access to the park but if you are using trip routing software, use Highway 24, not Highway 30. Some of the turns inside the park looked tight for my 38 foot fiver, but I had no problems navigating around the various loops looking for a site. My only gripe is the reservation system. When we checked in with no reservations, we were told to pick a site without a yellow reservations tab on the post and come back to the office and let them know which site we selected. We were forced to bypass several "reserved" sites that would have been easy to get into, finally ending up in one that required backing to within 3 inches of a fallen tree stump with 3 inches clearance on each side for the slides. Most of the "reserved" sites were still empty the following morning. We had good local television, 3G data and cell phone service here. The sites are not cramped, but the trees make parking interesting. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2010
$28
$28 for an out of state camper depending if you get the senior or golden age discount. This campground is in the pines with over 142 sites on the north shore of Trap Pond. The whole park is huge with public areas for group and family get together, volleyball courts, hiking, biking, boating and places for just sitting and enjoying the water fall and geese. There are cabins and yurts for rent some facing the water and a great tenting site. There are two walk in tent sites on an island for a group or family that was beautiful and so private with areas to put in a kayak or canoe. Four loops are for tent and RV camping with water and electricity under the pines. One loop D has pull through sites but all the sites are on pine needles not paved spots. We enjoy that especially with the nice smell of the pine trees. The ranger check-in cabin was a log cabin with a store in it – very cute. The rangers were very nice and helpful. We would definitely come back to camp here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2010
$24
We camp here routinely with our two boys! Where else can you camp for $24/night as an in stater? We try to stay next to the playground, pavilion and bath house. We walk less then 200 feet down a path to the vinyl dock to fish. It is very laid back, very serene and not a lot of extras. The bathrooms are older but always clean! We have never once, in over a dozen trips had any problems with staff being rude on our sites. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$30
Very nice state park campground. Only down side is the pull-thrus. Unless you really no how to manuever large trees and tight spots, request a back-in. Very nice bike trail and many other great state park type activities. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2009
$28
Overpriced and very poor design in this campground. It's like the electric & water hook ups were an afterthought. In loop C the electric & water are shared with other sites. Shouldn't be a big deal but the hook ups are at the road - not in back! You MUST bring extra lengths of hose & electric cord (or make the trip to WalMart). Tough sites to back into with many, many trees left in odd places. Water in the shower was SCALDING HOT! Watch out!! Quiet hour was enforced but blaring loud music for 4 hours before quiet hour was allowed. Never know what jerk will end up next to your site! Note - we brought a dump tank and were told to dump the night before leaving. It's a good thing because with only 1 dump station it can take 2 or 3 hours waiting to dump. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2008
$28
Very good state park COG. I was there 3 nights during the week and practically had the place to myself. I was in loop D, which their online reservation site said has pull throughs. Yes, but not for big rigs. You can pull through, but even with my rig, at a shade less than 29' counting hitch and spare tire hanging off the back, I had to back up to get it where I wanted to, on my site. Once there, I had a great site #2, with no one closer than about 10 sites away! I'd give it a 10 if it were about $5 cheaper. This close to $30 is on the high side for a state park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2008
$28
My family and I had a fantastic time at Trap Pond. The park was quiet and well maintained- the prices were great - considering it is a state park with hook ups. Do not come to the park looking for a commercial setup - just the basics. There is a really nice lake that for a small fee you can rent a kayak, canoe, or take the pontoon boat ride (we did). I would strongly recommend this park for a family that just wants to relax. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$26
Nice park, large site, activities, hiking paths, boat rentals, dock. All in all a nice relaxing camp experience We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2007
$23
We always enjoy camping at Trap Pond. You can fish from a dock or bring a boat and go out. You can rent a paddleboat from the other side of the pond. There is an awesome walking/bike trail around the pond. There is a small playground in the campground or a real big one on the other side of the pond. They are real strict on quiet time! We will go back! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2007
$23
Very clean park. We have camped here numerous times and have been very pleased. We like the wooded sites and there is access to the lake. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2007
$23
We camped 3 nights on C8 and C10. Originally we rented C13 and C15 for my brothers family and ours when we arrive the path to the bath house with a fence divided our sites. The staff were more then willing to allow us to switch to a more accommodating site. We like to set up face to face so our kids can all play we cook all our meals together and sit by one fire at night. The bath house was a little croweded but can't expect much less prime summer season. We loved it and the state parks are so affordable! We will definitely go again maybe fall. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2007
$28
Stayed at this cg for only 1 night. The so called pull-thru site I had reserved was a total joke! First, the sites are almost on the road, they are small & ours had a tree smacked in the middle making impossible to pull thru. Our tow vehicle & travel trailer would have been completely jack-knifed & sticking out into the road. Look at the site maps to see how these p/t's are designed to understand what I'm talking about. The roads are narrow & a lot of the sites are very small. Nice flat area to bike around though. The park is very shaded. The dump station is located on a horse-shoe road, which is isolated & even if someone's behind you, no one else is being blocked. We would not go back to this park. Killens Pond, north this cg, is much better! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2007
$27
Trap Pond campground is well run by the state. It sits on one edge of a lake. A short walk to the opposite bank of the lake you can rent canoes and paddle boats, which makes for a nice time because the far end of the cypress lake is quite beautiful. A canoe is a good choice because you can go back quite far on "canoe trails" as they call them. The campground itself is wooded and well maintained with adequate facilities. My only complaint would be that, like other Delaware state parks, the camp sites are a little close to each other. This was a problem on my weekend trip because the campground was full and there wasn't a lot of space to buffer you from the nearby kids. We had a a lot of kids tromping through our campsite unsupervised. If that is a problem, I would recommend taking a site on the far end away from the bathhouses and playground. At $27/night for out of state residents, the price is a bit steep, too. But the campground fills up so I guess the market can easily bear that amount. It was interesting that, while the campground was full, the park itself wasn't very busy. Clearly a lot of people camping there had no interest in the park itself. Just sitting all day at your picnic table stuffing your face all day isn't my style. But I can tell you it was for a lot of people camping last June. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2007
$32
This was our 3rd time camping here and we love it. The camp ground is on a small lake and all the sites are wooded. This time we went was the the day it opened for the year and some cleaning up was still needed, the sites had sticks and leaves on them. Really not a big deal. If you never been here before, you may want to ask to drive through and look at the sites if you have a big rig. Some of the sites have trees that may hinder your slides or long rig. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2006
$25
Large pull-thru sites available as well as back-in sites. Each loop has a pier for access to the lake. Enjoyed the time there. I'd also suggest taking the guided nature walk at the conservation center. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2006
$21
Nice campground, great price. The pull-through sites are small for big rigs. Great trails and lake. We will be back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2003
$20
Each loop of the campground has its own dock, we were able to dock the canoe and kayak and get lunch at the camper. The pond is large and flows from a Bald Cypress swamp that provided very interesting paddling. Campground/restrooms were clean, Playground was very modern and well maintained. The only negative is that the sites closest to the water front tend to flood when it rains, however with the sandy soil it drains quickly. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com