218149 User submitted reviews online!!
Hidden Valley RV Park was rated 7 out of 10 based on 27 user reviews. Phone: (210) 623-6737
CGID6220

Hidden Valley RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
24
Date of Stay
March 2014
Latest Rate
$28



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   5   8   8   9   5   9   6   7   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2014
$28
Friendliest camp hosts ever! They were the most helpful and friendliest people. They are the owners and take pride in making your stay everything you could hope for. They arranged for a tour bus to pick us up at the park. When the bus was delayed by an accident they invited us into their home to wait. We had a great visit with them while they continued making phone calls to the tour company. They also will pet sit if you are gone for the day. Walk you dog or whatever you need. Our family visited us at the campground and they gave us some bait to fish the river that runs through their place. If you are looking for a quiet place to stay, this is it! Close to San Antonio and Lackland AFB. Will stay here again for sure when our other two grandsons graduate from basic training. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2013
$28
First of all, I would like to give the manager a 10/10. This lady is truly a nice and very helpful person. I have never had a RV park manager call to check up on us to see if we needed any help or directions before I even arrived. She set up our tours printed coupons for us and when we called she was there - thank you. Now the park. Long, dusty, but smooth road into the park, don't plan on keeping anything clean. The park was in the middle of some renovations and things were kinda out of place. You park on flat level gravel spots, the utilities were in place and working. This place could be a real mess if it rains. They have Wi-Fi that didn't work in our visit and Verizon had one bar and limited 3G. Restrooms and laundry were a bit of a walk up the road and off the beaten path. There is a small stagnant creek that runs thru the park - don't know if it has fish. There's no activities in the park so we stayed out and about until it was time for dinner and bed. I recommend the river walk tours, Alamo and the Toyota tour which manager can help you with. It has the potential for a higher rating. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2013
$23
This was a very nice campsite away from the big city hassle. The trees and grass made it nice to just sit outside relax and grill. The owner was very nice and very knowledgeable about current downtown events. I would camp here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2013
$22
It is very important to be self contained here, as the unisex bathroom/shower is the bathroom in the mobile home clubhouse which is a fair walk from the campsites. This campground is about a 15 minute interstate drive from downtown San Antonio, with the end of the drive down a long, dirt road. Electric/water/sewer were good. It takes Passport America for the first night for a rate of $17.50 then additional nights are $28 with discount. The owner/hostess was super pleasant and provided lots of great information about the area. We took the Toyota plant tour she sent us info on and really enjoyed it. Small, quiet campground with several working permanents. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2013
$23
Rate reflects Passport America discount for one night. We have stayed at Hidden Valley several times, and it always feels like "home" when we get here. The manager welcomes you with a big smile and a "Howdy" that always makes us smile. She will also give you a lot of information about the local area including directions to the downtown attractions, best parking based on what you will be driving, and much more. If you are looking for a park with a lot of amenities, Hidden Valley is not for you. But, if you want a quiet, peaceful park completely away from the city, then this is the place you need. Yeah, there is a long gravel road to drive after turning off Fisher Rd., but believe me, it's worth it. Just go slow so not to kick up a lot of dust. Although the WiFi can be slow at times, it's free. We will be back! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2013
$24
Conveniently located near San Antonio. FHU 50 amp pull through site on grass. Free decent wi-fi. This is a bare bones park. No bathhouse. There is a single bathroom available in a mobile home that they are using as a "clubhouse". A few pay washers and dryers available in a garage, but were not clean and I would not use them. The lady at check in was very nice and gave us tourist information for the area and a good tip on inexpensive parking in San Antonio. A one mile gravel road to access campground. We would probably not stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2013
$20
Small park on the south side of San Antonio very convenient to the I-35, but far enough away that there is no traffic noise at all. Very friendly owners. The rate reflects the Passport America discount available for one night. We liked the park and being close to, but out of San Antonio "in the country". We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
February 2013
$28
As mentioned previously, the folks who run this place are great. They have a clubhouse/bathroom/shower in a nicely finished out mobile home. Looks very comfy and homey. The shower is a mobile home shower/tub set up. If there is a draw back to the park the shower is it. The folks we camped with were all great. You are a bit tight, but there's a large open area all around the perimeter of the the sites and it feels very open. Their Wi-Fi is fast and slow depending on the load. Verizion MiFi works OK down here too. Roads and sites are gravel, and it can get dusty on the way in but it's not an issue in the campground due to low traffic volume. A note on the rate: they take PA but only one night at 17.50 then additional nights are 28 with discount. This is a nice quiet park, and I'd stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2013
$32
Park was "Hidden." Down a long and dusty road. Very friendly manager/owner. She hooked us up with a tour of San Antonio that we enjoyed, and the bus came to get us there. We'd stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2013
$16
This rate was a monthly rate which was cheaper than the daily rate. A quiet campground down in a small valley 15 minutes from downtown San Antonio. Close to flea markets and less than 10 minutes from a mall and major shopping area. There is a mile long gravel road into the park and if you drive slowly it is no problem. There is a creek you can fish in close to the campsites. The couple that run the park are great and go out of their way to help you find places and with any other problems you may have. It is a small campground set back from the roads and it provides for a quiet stay, we enjoyed our stay and would stay there again We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2012
$32
We stayed one night. It was very quiet and you get great views out of the back of your RV no matter which spot you get. Wi-Fi worked. It is down a mile long dirt road but don't let that put you off, it was well maintained. It is an excellent park to stay in while visiting the San Antonio area (safer than staying in the city), about 10 minutes from downtown and an RV friendly gas station just a couple of mile away (at the exit off I-35). We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2012
$17
This park is convenient to San Antonio, about 15 minutes easy driving on I-35. About 10 minutes away on interstate to a good market: HEB. It is as others said, down a long bumpy road but we just went slow and it was worth it to be out in the countryside. The sites are on grass, and set in a wagon train circle rather close together. Wi-Fi worked fine, but is restricted when you use it too long, so it slowed down later. We used Passport America for first night at $17, then a 15% discount was offered for 2nd night. We had a pull through space, as I said, very tight for a 38' rig with slides but we fit. Owner was extremely gracious and helpful. We didn't use the facilities. It was a great price for a stopover in a beautiful city like San Antonio. We would come back. Great area for pet walking, lots of open mowed grounds to wander around. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2012
$17
Price reflects the Passport America rate. Very friendly - Terri, the person we spoke with on the phone when we called ahead, called us by name when we drove up. Nice touch. A definite "out in the country" type place, close to the big city. Good, level sites; grassy, wide-open feel. We did not use the showers, which are in a mobile home near the entrance. The only downside of this park is the unpleasant washboard entrance road, about 7/10 of a mile... the speed limit is 10 mph, but if you try to drive that fast (?), you may lose some fillings. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2012
$23
Hidden Valley should be called Hidden Gem in the Country. Great place for a stop over of for extended stays. If you want a park with concrete pads, club house, pool and all the people, this is not the place for you. If you want a country spot in the city, then this is your spot. Hidden Valley is country living yet close enough to all the Amenities San Antonio has to offer. We will return. Owners and hosts are very friendly people. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2012
$25
Two drawbacks for us: 1) the restroom/showers and laundry room were too far from the RV site so we didn't use them and 2) there is about a mile of bumpy dirt road to drive over before you get to the RV park. However the staff is very helpful and the RV setting is woodsy and green. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2011
$20
I ranked Hidden Valley as a 5 and my wife said it was a 7 even though there were no restrooms or showers. The roads are gravel and everyday a man on a tractor was filling and grading them. The road from the highway to the campground is a washboard nightmare and will literally shake your RV apart if you travel too fast. The management is good and helpful. Verizon is weak in the park, but their Wi-Fi was quite strong. We stayed for a week, but wouldn't stay that long again. Maybe a day or two would be better. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2011
$32
This park is not located right next to the interstate which gave it privacy and peace and quiet (hard to find these days as most parks are located near a busy interstate, a train track, or an airport). You must go back a long gravel road to enter the park which is part of what used to be a farm (there are still a few horses there). The sites are mostly level and gravel. Some are pull through and some have shade and trees (the back in spots next to some woods that surround the campground). There are lots of trees for shade, especially around the back-in sites (the pull throughs are more open). There was lots of areas to walk next to a creek which our dog loved. There was full hookup available and 50 AMP service. The sites are a bit rustic (no picnic tables or cement pads) but this added to the more park-like feel of the park (versus the parking lot feel you have at most parks). The sites were not real roomy but there was plenty of room for our slide outs. There was Internet Wi-Fi which was not very fast but worked fine for email, etc. You could pick up some TV Channels out of San Antonio. The owners were very friendly and helpful. We love scenic parks such as this and would definitely stay there again if we are in the San Antonio area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2011
$11
Rate reflects monthly. This is our second time staying here, this time for three months. The park is about 15 miles from downtown San Antonio, away from all the traffic and noise of the city. Getting to the park is very easy off I-35. Yes, you have to drive down a long gravel road but it’s worth it to be “in the country”. Quiet, secluded and dark at night is exactly what we like. Has an outstanding manager: going above and beyond the call of duty to make your stay here the best it can be. We’ll be back in November. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2011
$14
We have stayed at this park 3 times and always find the manager to be top notch. It is quiet and away from highway noise and close to San Antonio shopping. There are large grassy areas to exercise your pet's and yourself. We will always stay here when we are in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2011
$15
We stay at Hidden Valley on a monthly basis. The manager and park host can't be beat. It is a small park, quiet and very informal. I wish there were more like it i n my travels. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
November 2010
$14
Reflects PA rate and 30 AMP service. They have very few 50 amp sites and they were full. At least a mile of dirt road to get into this place. Nice manager but the only reason we would stay here again is the PA discount. About 15 miles S/W of San Antonio. Sites are rock...not gravel. Lots of ants. Didn't use laundry but it is away from the sites. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2010
$14
Easy access to the park, even though it is down a long dirt road. Check in was easy. Terry actually came to the rig the second day we were there because we parked and were gone all day the day before. We have stayed here before and the park is in better shape now. This is a good park to be away from all of San Antonio traffic. We usually don't stay in the park all day anyway. We are off seeing the sights, since there are not any amenities we don't mind. Then you don't have to pay for what you don't even use. We would always stay here when we are in the area. Nice wide level pull thru spots , strong water pressure. We could use our Verizon phone and air card plus Dish here. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
February 2010
$14
As with one of the older reviews on this campground we had a great experience with the lady that owns it, but . . . we got there to discover it's really in the middle of a farmer's field and not much grading or paving has been done anywhere. You have to go down a steep hill to get to the stalls and it's a dirt road. The guy that drove in right ahead of us got stuck in the field trying to turn into the pull-through sites. They had to use the tractor to pull him out and he sustained some damage to the back of his rig when he backed into the tractor. We need to have wi-fi for a course I'm taking and we couldn't pick it up in the spot we were in - so we were supposed to move over where the other guy was when he left in the morning. The couple over from us said they were leaving early because the rain was coming and because we were in a low lying area in a field that's all dirt and a dirt road with a big hill up to get out. We decided not to risk getting stuck, too, so we just stayed the one night and left. Also, I didn't even think to ask because we've never camped at a park without them - but there were NO bathrooms! No showers either. Just a laundry room at the top of the long hill. I would not have been happy to pay the full price of $28, but In the end we gave her $20 and moved over to another RV park. If you want a really quiet park out of the way - NOT during rainy season - go ahead and stay here. Otherwise I'd look around. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2009
$13
We are PPA full time RV'ers. We were here to tour the sights of San Antonio. This park was very handy to San Antonio and access was easy. The entrance to the park is a rough long road, but the owner is very friendly and helpful. Sites are big and easy to maneuver. We will stop here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
June 2007
$14
We had planned on staying at this park. Spoke to the host on the phone a few times and she was VERY nice. She mentioned that the park had some rain issues and they had closed for a few days to let it dry out. She mentioned that we may want to come look and then decide if we wanted to stay. We had thought the location was right so we didn't let it all scare us and went to the park anyhow. When we got there the host was still there and she was once again very nice and helpful. The problem was that the park was in bad repair, no restrooms, things in the middle of the road etc. We were the only ones in the park except for an old camper which was sitting there with nobody in it. I hate to give the park a bad review because the host was so nice but if I had seen this review I could have saved myself a lot of hassle. So, hopefully this will save others the hassle. I think the park could be nice but honestly it doesn't look like much care is put into the park at all and for that reason I am not sorry for telling about my experience here. I would not recommend this park until they can spend some time and money getting it in better shape or at least pick up the trash and things like logs in the middle of the road. In the end my family and I decided to go somewhere else as much as we hated to have to start looking for a new place at 7pm or so. Considering we were the only campers there it was a little on the odd side and we felt less than comfortable. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2007
$15
This park is in a rural area not far from San Antonio. RV sites are in a small valley surrounded by trees with a small creek nearby. Pretty, but it rained heavily while we were here making some of the sites very muddy. The owners were very friendly and helpful in directing us to the local attractions. No restrooms or showers and the laundry consists of 1 washer/1 dryer located up the hill from the RV area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
December 2006
$10
This is a very rustic, no frills park located in the countryside 15 miles southwest of downtown San Antonio. The sites are level grass, gravel/dirt. Although children are welcome there is no playground or other activities for kids. There are no restrooms or showers at this time. Tents are allowed with prior management approval. We had a strong cell signal and clear satellite access. The nightly rate was actually $9.50 and reflects a Passport America discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com