206705 User submitted reviews online!!
Buena Vista KOA was rated 7 out of 10 based on 21 user reviews. Phone: (719) 395-8318
CGID6234

Buena Vista KOA

Camp Information
Sites
93
Date of Stay
August 2013
Latest Rate
$50



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   3   9   8   7   2   5   3   10   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2013
$50
We rarely stay at KOAs, in fact we try our very best to avoid them due to their high prices and usually narrow and crowded sites. However, once in a while it's the best we can find in an area to accommodate our 65' overall length. This KOA has a few water and electric only sites and a few full hookup sites very few of which could handle our length. The interior roads are dirt, but they treat them to keep the dust down. Our site was terraced to the point that we couldn't swing out our large passenger-side bay door, it hit the dirt before it opened fully. There was okay maneuvering room for us but we were near the entrance. The fenced dog run is tiny so don't plan on playing ball with your border collie here. They have six washing machines of which only two of them are hot water, the other four are cold water only and they are expensive - $2.00 for a load. The six dryers are $0.50 for 15 minutes. The laundry room was very clean and the machines were well maintained. There is a rustic restaurant near the horse stables that was open from, I think Wednesday to Sunday, but we didn't have a chance to try it. By the way, the horse operation is operated by a contractor and not the KOA owners. This is a busy KOA in the summer season and you better make reservations or be disappointed. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2013
$45
The 50 amp sites did not work. We had to wait hours until the owner managed to replace the breakers, which had never been done in 9 years, according to him. He blamed our coach for the problem; yet we had no problem at another KOA the day before. The owner was also VERY difficult when we asked if we might stay beyond checkout time. we were told we could not, nor could we park our coach on the very edge of the property and allow the generator to run to keep from losing food in the refrigerator since we are all electric. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$40
Very friendly staff. Beautiful setting with rock formations on the grounds, and awesome mountain views. Nice clean and well-maintained showers. (Though they did run out of hot water one night.). Impressive laundry facility. Some sites have shade. Quiet, with almost no traffic noise from Hwy 24. Staff was very accommodating in helping us find a site with shade and electrical hookups to suit our needs. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$40
I like this park and stayed here twice this year. My partner does not like it; something about the way the horses are treated. I don't know anything about horses. The owner is a Texan and his BBQ on summer weekends is to die for. In fact ALL of the fixings at the cook shack are (say this with a Texas drawl) "real good". Spots are wide as are the access roads to them. Most sites share a single shade tree with adjacent site. Wi-Fi and Internet are fine. Good cellular reception. This is not a high-class resort with paved roads for blue-haired ladies. It is an Old West type of place for dudes, 4-wheelers and people who like to put their hiking boots down onto Real Dirt. Excellent place to spend a week if you're an outdoor recreation enthusiast. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2011
$42
(Rate reflects KOA Rewards Kard discount) I used to rate this as one of the best parks we have ever stayed; but have to diminish that. The view is to die for; main reason we stay there. The staff was "just OK" - some very good and others with a "could care less" attitude. We used to love their hot tub; no longer there, and we miss it after hikes. Laundry room clean, limited folding table, etc area - and cold water wash only. The thing that got to me was that the sewer for our site was uphill so that I was trying to dump up about a foot! At first the pressure dumped some but could not truly dump the tanks. On top of that they put and extension on it to make it even higher! We would go there again as we feel it still is the best place in town. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
August 2011
$45
Campground is very unattractive with dirt, sand, and weeds. Owner was rude when we were trying to tell him why we were unhappy. Stated he didn't want to "hear any more complaints". He should probably be in a different line of work. We left early and lost the fee for the second night, but would have probably stayed if we had been offered a better site. The only good thing about this KOA is the view of the mountains and the people who work there, with the obvious exception of the ungracious owner. We will never stay here nor recommend it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2011
$40
Nothing but dirt and sage, but the views are the best we have found in a campground in Buena Vista. They only have 1 50 amp, so bigger rigs will have to use 30 amp. No problem with using dish. Sites could be more level. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2011
$45
This is a dusty park with very few trees. Most of the sites are electric and water only. The water has an unpleasant sandy taste. There is a horse trail ride center within the campground. The horses are tied up short all day, in a small feed lot, saddles on, in the sun with no shade. They are left in the same feed lot at night. I will no go back or recommend this campground for this reason. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2011
$30
Amazing location overlooking a couple mountain ranges. The camp really wasn't open, they did us a favor by letting us stay which we appreciate. Great people! The camp store is quaint with all the basics. The WiFi worked well and the electric was good. Great place! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2010
$51
The views of the mountains are spectacular. My cabin looked across the valley and it made it worth it all. Many sites are tucked away among boulders and the few trees. Very rustic, but nice. Also, one of the only campgrounds open this time of the year. The shower rooms were heated and very clean. The host was incredibly nice and helpful. We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
September 2010
$42
I echo the review two below this one. Beautiful location, lots of activities and good food. Bathrooms and showers were clean and most of the staff was nice. The female co-owner, however, is overly aggressive, nastily rude and simply should NOT be in this business. When we arrived she was loudly berating a female customer who wanted to exchange sites with another customer and both parties were in agreement. She loudly complained about the extra paperwork, etc, etc. It didn't matter who was in the office, she just kept going. When one of the Dads in our party went to check out the store with his son, the son picked up one of the animal hats and tried it on, she yelled at the kid to put it back. When the Dad explained he was trying it on to see if it fit, she said he had to buy it first. Who buys a hat without seeing if it fits, he asked. You heard me, she yelled back. She left no opportunity to be mean and nasty untouched. As nice as this campground is, we won't be back because of her. She just put a damper on the entire weekend and there are other places in the area with great owners who know how to treat their customers. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$45
Nice park with spacious sites. Previous reviews mentioned cable TV, but that is only available in the office. View of the mountains was better than any TV station. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2010
$39
The park was great, lots of activities, beautiful area, friendly staff, good food. The only problem we had was with the ownership. The female co-owner was very rude to customers, condescending to staff (no wonder they've had a high staff turnover), and very inflexible and not customer-service oriented. Where she could have been accommodating and friendly, she chose to be rude and haughty with customers. Many campers were talking about it. She even got to the point of yelling at customers in the office. We were embarrassed for her staff. We had hoped to stay longer but decided to check out early the next morning. It was a shame because we loved everything else about the campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2009
$35
This is our second visit here - were here a year ago for a couple nights and six nights this time. Probably the best KOA we have stayed at - great view out our back window (but we knew what spot to reserve based on last year!). And one of the best RV parks we have stayed at, bar none (have been to about 150, give or take a handful). Place is very clean. Staff is outstanding and always spotless in their yellow shirts and all. One little touch that really impressed us. Our site was not only spotless to pull in to but they rake it from front to back which gives you the impression they really care, and that they were there to take care of it. We plan to go back and highly recommend it. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$30
This is one of our favorite campgrounds. The owners are friendly, and there are lots of activities. The view is spectacular and is in a great locations. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$40
This is one of the nicest campgrounds we have visited this year. The sites are well spaced, the staff is exceptionally nice and the views are wonderful. We plan to go back next month. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2008
$36
If you're looking for a quiet, peaceful place to park with beautiful views then look no further. All other RV parks in this area are located right along the highways. This KOA is located well off the highway yet very easy to access. We stayed here 4 nights and it was an excellent location from which to explore this beautiful area. The owner was friendly, fun and very accommodating. We asked for a back-in site near the top of the hill and even though he had turned off the water to that part of the park, he readily offered to turn it back on during our stay. We parked in B47 which offered us a spectacular view of the Collegiate range but also of the 100 plus mule deer in the field across the road. It was quiet, convenient and relaxing. We would happily stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$39
We really liked this park and will definitely go back again. The only reason I downgraded them was the Wi-Fi. However, they are limited by having only one provider in town who simply does not respond to them. They gave me his number to call, and I did; he did not return my call. The managers and staff are great, and there are lots of activities. They work hard to get group tent camping for teenagers, and they really do a job to educate them on the area and history. Just great people and a great program. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2008
$45
Phenomenal view of 7-8 14ers from the campsite. Campground sits at about 8,000 feet altitude. Convenient to whitewater rafting & other adventures in the Buena Vista area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2007
$38
Very clean park with fantastic mountain views. A very friendly couple was running the park and delivered firewood to our site for a campfire. They have a really nice rec-room if you just want to relax outside of your trailer and watch some TV. We also liked that the site is far off the highway and was very quiet. We would gladly stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2006
$30
Beautiful surroundings, rock outcropings, 14,000+ mountains, called the Collegiates and clear lakes. The Arkansas River, where some of the best whitewater rafting in the country is sought after, is only 1 mile from the campground. The owners are helpful, campground is well run and customer service is their primary goal. We will return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com