221782 User submitted reviews online!!
Grove Campground was rated 8 out of 10 based on 10 user reviews. Phone: (606) 528-6156
CGID6237

Grove Campground

Camp Information
Sites
60
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$27



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   9   8   10   9   10   1   10   7   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2014
$27
Beautiful paved sites with large patios, surrounded by gorgeous forest. Good water and power. Our site (B2) was level and easy to get into with our small RV. Most of park is for tents, with only a limited number for RVs. Toilets were located conveniently but didn't seem to be serviced regularly. Some were dirty and out of toilet paper. There is only one shower building for the entire park and the showers were dirty and some needed repair -- missing benches, spider webs, dead bugs. Camp host was pleasant and helpful. The roads are rather narrow and twisty, so I would hesitate to try to get in with a big rig. Cost reflects senior discount. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2014
$26
This campground has the nicest, largest and most private campsites of any campgrounds we have ever visited. We stayed in B08 and absolutely loved the site. The campground was very clean and well maintained. The campground hosts were very friendly and helpful. The only reasons why I can't give this campground a "10" are because there are no sewer hook-ups and there is no pool or playground area. If it had these amenities, it would be an easy 10. Also, although there is probably nothing that the campground itself can help, be warned that ticks and gnats were pretty bad the days we were there. Regardless of the these few things, we would definitely stay at this campground again when visiting this area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2014
$26
Very nicely maintained, friendly hosts, level campsites. We had site B2, a reservable site, it was perfect for our 45' MH and toad. 25W is narrow with no shoulder. Turn into CG was tight with toad but we made it okay. B loop had no shower facility, just toilets. No Satellite reception on B2. AT&T service decent. Only received 3 TV channels with antenna. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2013
$27
This is probably one of the best campgrounds we have been to. We stayed in B-7 which was fantastic. We absolutely love the two tiered sites where the fire is away from the camper. Even though its only 35 feet or so. The picnic tables are heavy duty wood and extremely nice. The lake access is maybe a three minute drive where Grove marina is. We rented a pontoon boat for the day and they were extremely friendly. Not sure what the reviewer below was expecting from a park in a national forest but camping in the woods is a benefit of this park. The sites are huge. Our 36' TT fit just fine. It gorgeous and we will return every chance we get. The only negative I can possibly post is that the reserved sites are not available after labor day which makes no sense. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$16
Wonderful USDA park operated by American Land Management. Park hosts very pleasant, attentive, and readily available. Beware of reservation fee as even though this is USDA Federal Facility, commercial contractor has 'bite.' With senior golden age pass, we got $16 discount rate. 30amp service with water. Back-in site in Loop A was wonderful. Most sites have multi-tiered level (MH on one level, picnic/fire pit, etc on lower level). Great privacy and wonderful forest. Sadly, there was not any HOT water; minimal WARM water as attested to by the yelling of little kids trying to take showers. Facilities were clean; but, we did not use them as we prefer our hot water. Unique feature of this CG is 'double sites' for fun with friends. Great CG - definitely return as we stayed 2 days. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2012
$24
Really enjoyed this campground. One of the nicest sites we've stayed in, although without a sewer hook up. There was a beach for swimming, a marina, and hiking trails. The campground hosts were very nice. Also, the site we stayed in was one of the easier back-ins we've done, as it was positioned at an angle to the road. Also, the site had a very unique tiered structure. There was our parking pad and then there was a set of steps leading down to our picnic area in the woods: really nice. Would stay here again! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
May 2010
$24
We read all reviews and checked all we could find on this park, sounded good. Paid for 8 days in advance site unseen. WE got here and immediately tried to find a better site, no luck. Said it was on lake, it's not even near, only if you look though some of the trees, can you see water. The only trail goes nowhere, cannot get to lake! Only way to get to the lake was at the commercial boat dock (very unfriendly). Our site is in the reserve area. The pad is right at the road in untrimmed weeds with no view of anything. The table was 40 feet away on big rock with a 20 foot drop-off at the edge into trees. Nothing to do here, would have been better in my driveway. We gave up our money spent after 2 days and moved out. Checked out Holly Cove a few miles away: much better. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2007
$24
Beautiful park with large private sites. Clean and well managed. This is a COE park. One of the best camping sites we have ever stayed at. Highly recommended. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2007
$20
The park itself is still as nice as it was since my last review however personnel issues have made the camping experience very bad. American Land Leisure are the operators of this campground for the federal government. The campground manager has proven to be a very rude and enforces the rules of the campground beyond what is called for. My last experience was very miserable and I won't be back until American Land and Leisure has fixed this problem. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2006
$20
This is a federal campground and has 40 sites in 2 sections that are first come first serve and another section that has 12 sites that is reserve only thru an 800 number. All site have large blacktop pads and numerous trees due to it being in a national forest. All sites have a rock area with picnic table and fire ring. There is a bathroom in each section however there is only one shower house with 3 showers per side and the are handicapped accessable. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com